Onkyo clicking noise - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 19 Old 07-26-2010, 03:04 PM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
dx31698's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 386
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
So I just got a rc260, little brother to the 608. And when the audio formats are changing, the receiver clicks every time. It's very annoying especially when starting off a movie with all the previews and stuff. I previously owned a 705 and it did the clicking as well but I was able to get rid of it but I don't remember how and I don't have it anymore. Does anybody have any solutions
dx31698 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 19 Old 07-26-2010, 03:58 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
MichaelJHuman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Colorado Springs, CO
Posts: 18,745
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 161 Post(s)
Liked: 99
It might just be the relays switching between stereo and multi-channel.

"But this one goes up to 11"
MichaelJHuman is offline  
post #3 of 19 Old 07-26-2010, 04:19 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Secret Squirrel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Midwest U.S.A.
Posts: 2,252
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Yep, It's the relays switching according to the incoming source material. Im an Onkyo owner so Im familiar with this. They all do this.
Secret Squirrel is offline  
post #4 of 19 Old 07-26-2010, 04:24 PM
AVS Special Member
 
N8DOGG's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Canada
Posts: 5,664
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 96 Post(s)
Liked: 270
yup and it annoying as hell! lol Just make sure you set the audio on all the inputs then it will only do it once you switch to a different input.

Blasting brown notes for 10 years and counting!

N8DOGG is offline  
post #5 of 19 Old 07-26-2010, 04:33 PM
Senior Member
 
kmike's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 369
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by dx31698 View Post

So I just got a rc260, little brother to the 608. And when the audio formats are changing, the receiver clicks every time. It's very annoying especially when starting off a movie with all the previews and stuff. I previously owned a 705 and it did the clicking as well but I was able to get rid of it but I don't remember how and I don't have it anymore. Does anybody have any solutions

The accepted answer on the clicking is it a relay that shuts down and brings up the amps as the input switches from 5 channel to 2 channel, usually Dolby Digital. Try this to see if it helps: Setup->Listening Mode Preset-> (select the source where having the problem, usually DVD/BD or CBL/SAT->D.F.2ch-> All Channel Stereo or any other listening mode that keeps 5 channels active with 2 channel input.

This is supposed to keep all 5 amps engaged when the input switches from 2.0 DD to 5.1 DD, like trailers on a DVD or TV show/movie cutting to commercial.

Hope this helps...worth a try. BTW, it worked on my RC180 until Onkyo isssued a firmware update that helped tremendously. There's still some clicking but it's muted now so I guess the buffered the input voltage to the relay.

Mike
_____________
I may be a rookie but I'm the expert at what sounds good to me.
kmike is offline  
post #6 of 19 Old 07-26-2010, 04:37 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Gooddoc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 3,437
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 48 Post(s)
Liked: 160
I get it with my 875, but it doesn't bother me anymore. I guess I got used to it.

JTR Noesis 212HT x 3 (LCR) powered by Lab Gruppen 10000Q amp
CHT SHO-10 x 4 (sides and rear) powered by Denon 4311
JTR S2 x 2
CHT 18.1 x2
Oppo BDP103D bluray player/Sonos/PS3
Gooddoc is online now  
post #7 of 19 Old 07-26-2010, 05:15 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Tulpa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 10,025
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 58
Both of my Onkyos (TX-NR807 and HT-R540) click. I always thought it was a design feature to let you know the audio signal changed. Guess it never bothered me.

Don't believe everything on the Interwebz! A duck's quack DOES echo!
Tulpa is offline  
post #8 of 19 Old 07-26-2010, 09:06 PM
AVS Special Member
 
RoboRay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 2,155
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by kmike View Post

The accepted answer on the clicking is it a relay that shuts down and brings up the amps as the input switches from 5 channel to 2 channel, usually Dolby Digital. Try this to see if it helps: Setup->Listening Mode Preset-> (select the source where having the problem, usually DVD/BD or CBL/SAT->D.F.2ch-> All Channel Stereo or any other listening mode that keeps 5 channels active with 2 channel input.

This is supposed to keep all 5 amps engaged when the input switches from 2.0 DD to 5.1 DD, like trailers on a DVD or TV show/movie cutting to commercial.

This is the usual way to eliminate the clicking. You can use All Channel Stereo, ProLogic II, or whatever matrix-sound mode you prefer to direct the incoming stereo sound to all speakers. No more clicks.
RoboRay is offline  
post #9 of 19 Old 07-27-2010, 04:54 AM
AVS Club Gold
 
joerod's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: MIDWEST (just outside Chicago)
Posts: 22,047
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 41 Post(s)
Liked: 94
Did we really need a new thread for this?

Search or copy and paste-> Joe Rod Home Theater .Com <-to check out my latest Reviews.

Check out these new Lighted Cup Holders:
http://hstrial-jrodriguez996.homeste...=1402680301175
joerod is offline  
post #10 of 19 Old 07-27-2010, 05:12 AM
Senior Member
 
kmike's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 369
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by joerod View Post

Did we really need a new thread for this?

Sure

EDIT...maybe it should be a sticky

Mike
_____________
I may be a rookie but I'm the expert at what sounds good to me.
kmike is offline  
post #11 of 19 Old 07-27-2010, 07:49 AM
AVS Special Member
 
mbyrnes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Media, PA (outside Philly)
Posts: 3,414
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 62 Post(s)
Liked: 161
I keep my 805 in Pure Audio and don't hear the clicks. Don't know if the 260 has that option.

Xbox Live: TheRealMaxPower --- PSN: TheRealMaxPower

 

Panasonic TC-P65VT60    Vienna Acoustic Mozart Grands    Onkyo TX-SR805   Sony BDP-S790

Astro Mixamp 2013   Schiit Modi    AKG K702 65th Anniversary   Antlion ModMic    Sennheiser PC360

Theater- Benq W1070    Elite 120" projection...

mbyrnes is offline  
post #12 of 19 Old 07-27-2010, 09:59 AM
 
runnin''s Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 1,557
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 42
Quote:
Originally Posted by RoboRay View Post

This is the usual way to eliminate the clicking. You can use All Channel Stereo, ProLogic II, or whatever matrix-sound mode you prefer to direct the incoming stereo sound to all speakers. No more clicks.

I've heard this 'complaint' from different Onkyo owners, some of whom were quite irate about it. I have the 876 and have NEVER had the issue simply because I have it set as suggested above. That's right folks, no clicking whatsoever. Because you simply set all sources to Dolby Prologic. And you never hear clicks. Again.
runnin' is offline  
post #13 of 19 Old 07-27-2010, 10:38 AM
AVS Special Member
 
hdtv00's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: ill
Posts: 1,705
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Actually great topic I've had my 876 for 2 yrs wasn't aware of this "solution" to the clicking. It doesn't bother me really but I won't miss it for sure. Hope I set it all right.

i7 4770K/16 gig 2133/GTX 680 840 PRO SSD

Paradigm Studio 100/570/20's/2200 Sub

Onkyo 809 42" LCD/Panny AE4000
 

hdtv00 is offline  
post #14 of 19 Old 12-31-2010, 12:15 AM
Senior Member
 
kyotousa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 202
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by kmike View Post
The accepted answer on the clicking is it a relay that shuts down and brings up the amps as the input switches from 5 channel to 2 channel, usually Dolby Digital. Try this to see if it helps: Setup->Listening Mode Preset-> (select the source where having the problem, usually DVD/BD or CBL/SAT->D.F.2ch-> All Channel Stereo or any other listening mode that keeps 5 channels active with 2 channel input.

This is supposed to keep all 5 amps engaged when the input switches from 2.0 DD to 5.1 DD, like trailers on a DVD or TV show/movie cutting to commercial.

Hope this helps...worth a try. BTW, it worked on my RC180 until Onkyo isssued a firmware update that helped tremendously. There's still some clicking but it's muted now so I guess the buffered the input voltage to the relay.
Cool...i'll try that tomorrow.
kyotousa is offline  
post #15 of 19 Old 02-15-2011, 06:50 PM
Senior Member
 
JN99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Seattle, WA - Eastside
Posts: 402
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Sorry to dredge up an old thread but I have a 180 and tried the recommended fix posted here of selecting a listening mode preset but no luck. I get still get a rathe rloud click when the input source changes from multi channel to 2 channel, regardless of the listening mode preset.

This is extremely annoying when watching cable because this happens repeatedly during every commercial break going back and forth with multi channel to 2-channel source. Just wondering if there are any other tips or tricks to try to eliminate this?
JN99 is offline  
post #16 of 19 Old 02-15-2011, 07:01 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Bill Mac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 11,464
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 79 Post(s)
Liked: 423
Quote:
Originally Posted by Secret Squirrel View Post

They all do this.

Maybe I got lucky but my 805, 885 and 886 never had or presently have the clicking issue with audio format changes with cable TV. So you might want to change that to almost all do this. I setup all these Onkyos as already mentioned using DD PLIIx and never had an issue with clicking

Bill

My SACD collection, watch it grow and my wallet shrink ;-).

 

Denon 4311 (in preamp mode), Parasound 2100, Boston Acoustics A7200 amp, Oppo BDP-103, Consonance CD120, Panasonic TC-P60GT50 plasma, Panamax 5100EX, Salk Song Towers, Song Center, ADS 300C (surrounds) and two Rythmik F12SEs.
Bill Mac is online now  
post #17 of 19 Old 02-15-2011, 08:12 PM
Senior Member
 
eliteconcept's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 237
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Normal...mine does this too.. somewhat a annoyance but oh well
eliteconcept is offline  
post #18 of 19 Old 02-06-2013, 06:04 AM
Newbie
 
stephen123456's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have a onkyo ht-r390 change listening mode put not pre set , is there any other way of stoping clicking because its doing my tits in !!
stephen123456 is offline  
post #19 of 19 Old 02-06-2013, 06:06 AM
Newbie
 
stephen123456's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I can enter listening mode but can't pre set y is this ? I have a HT-R390
stephen123456 is offline  
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off