Marantz AV7005 - Page 22 - AVS | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Baselworld is only a few weeks away. Getting the latest news is easy, Click Here for info on how to join the Watchuseek.com newsletter list. Follow our team for updates featuring event coverage, new product unveilings, watch industry news & more!


Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
Old 10-27-2010, 05:01 PM
AVS Special Member
 
m. zillch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 4,766
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 521 Post(s)
Liked: 351
Yes, that sounds reasonable. Thanks for the explanation.

In A/V reproduction accuracy, there is no concept of "accounting for taste". We don't "pick" the level of bass, etc., any more than we pick the ending of a play. High fidelity means an unmodified, neutral, exact copy (or "reproduction") of the original artist's tonal balance, timing, dynamics, etc..
m. zillch is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 10-27-2010, 05:28 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Bill Mac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 12,034
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 525 Post(s)
Liked: 703
Quote:
Originally Posted by sgupta View Post

Sorry for any confusion - let me clarify as I was unintentionally unclear.

After setup Audyssey MultEQ is ON for all inputs by default with default options (and it asks if you want to enable dynamic volume during setup). My point is if you turn it off or customize one input, it remains as it was for the others, so you can have different settings for different inputs.

As far as Audyssey mic setup, no, you only have to run that once for the whole system.

Hope this clarifies things.

sgupta,

I looked at the SR7005's manual and I did not see where in the setup menu you could enable or disable Dynamic EQ/Volume per input. I'm sure I missed it as the manual is a bit confusing but could you point out (page number) in the manual where it shows how to do this. I think it is a great option to be able to configure each input with or without Dyanmic EQ/Volume. Does it also allow one to set different level settings per input for DV as well?

Bill

My SACD collection, watch it grow and my wallet shrink ;-).

Emotiva XMC-1, Wyred 4 Sound SX-500s, ST-500, ST-250, Oppo BDP-105D, Panasonic TC-P60GT50 plasma, Panamax 5100EX, Salk 1801-TLs, Salk 1801b center, ADS 300C (surrounds) and two Rythmik F12SEs.
Bill Mac is online now  
Old 10-27-2010, 05:43 PM
Member
 
indian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 167
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by exm View Post

Yes, i have experience with this.

I used to own a Lexicon MC-12 (before the MC-12, I had a DC-1 and a MC-1), and I purchased the Onkyo Pro 885 (Integra 9.8) without listening to it first - mainly because of the positive reviews. Boy, what a disappointment going from the wonderful Lexicon Logic 7 to a more or less receiver sound.

After that, I sold the Onkyo Pro and purchased a Marantz AV8003 and a used Lexicon MC-8 to have the best of both worlds. The Marantz is far better than the Onkyo Pro, but the Lexicon still wins using analog or coax/optical sources. For HD Audio audio obviously the Marantz wins.

So.... I have a few options:
1. Continue with my current setup: love the sound, having 2 processors is a bit annoying although my Logitech Harmony remote helps. I am missing processing (7.1/Audessey/etc) over HD Audio signals and the newer developments in surround land (Dolby Volume is really something I want)
2. Hope that the AV7005 will be a true winner, but I have serious doubts it will sound as good as the AV8003
3. Wait for the new Lexicon platform that *IS* confirmed to be under development, but no details/specs have been released yet. For this it makes sense to keep your Lexicon processor if Lexicon continues their trade-in policy.

Hope this helps...

i could be wishful thinking here and will never really know for sure as i don't own the av8003, but i just read a 1st impression on another forum stating that the 7005 sounded cleaner and clearer than the 8003 he just replaced.

lets keep an open mind and see what the pro reviews say. i'm sure marantz will not disappoint.
indian is offline  
Old 10-27-2010, 06:40 PM
Senior Member
 
sgupta's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 349
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bill Mac View Post

sgupta,

I looked at the SR7005's manual and I did not see where in the setup menu you could enable or disable Dynamic EQ/Volume per input. I'm sure I missed it as the manual is a bit confusing but could you point out (page number) in the manual where it shows how to do this. I think it is a great option to be able to configure each input with or without Dyanmic EQ/Volume. Does it also allow one to set different level settings per input for DV as well?

Bill

Please check out pages 76 and 77 of the manual. (Note if using the PDF manual, it's pages 76 and 77 PAPER, but 80 and 81 in the PDF).

And yes, I just tried this, and with Audyssey On, you can configure Dynamic EQ, Dynamic Volume, Volume Level, and Reference Level Offset, all PER INPUT. So each input could have these configured completely differently and will hold those settings for you. =)
sgupta is offline  
Old 10-27-2010, 07:16 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Bill Mac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 12,034
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 525 Post(s)
Liked: 703
Quote:
Originally Posted by sgupta View Post

Please check out pages 76 and 77 of the manual. (Note if using the PDF manual, it's pages 76 and 77 PAPER, but 80 and 81 in the PDF).

And yes, I just tried this, and with Audyssey On, you can configure Dynamic EQ, Dynamic Volume, Volume Level, and Reference Level Offset, all PER INPUT. So each input could have these configured completely differently and will hold those settings for you. =)

Thanks! Thats great to know and a nice improvement over my 886.

Bill

My SACD collection, watch it grow and my wallet shrink ;-).

Emotiva XMC-1, Wyred 4 Sound SX-500s, ST-500, ST-250, Oppo BDP-105D, Panasonic TC-P60GT50 plasma, Panamax 5100EX, Salk 1801-TLs, Salk 1801b center, ADS 300C (surrounds) and two Rythmik F12SEs.
Bill Mac is online now  
Old 10-28-2010, 06:47 AM
Member
 
indian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 167
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
tracking info says on truck for delivery!!!!!

sorry for the updates but i'm so excited i can't wait to hook it up tonight!
indian is offline  
Old 10-28-2010, 06:57 AM
Advanced Member
 
Minge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Minneapolis
Posts: 754
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 46 Post(s)
Liked: 19
Oh sure rub it in that yours will be here today...Congrats, I plan on spending some quality time with mine this weekend.

Cant wait myself. Have Iron Man 2 as my first blu-ray ready to fire up on Saturday night. Popcorn is waiting...
Minge is offline  
Old 10-28-2010, 07:18 AM
Advanced Member
 
Smackrabbit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Portland, OR, USA
Posts: 899
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 33
My AV7005 arrived yesterday, but all I had time to do was remove the Pioneer VSX-32 that was in my rack, box it up, and put the AV7005 in it's place. I'll hopefully dig my amp out tonight and get the AV7005 hooked up, though it might take until the weekend. I will say it was lighter than I expected it to be when I lifted it up, but after recent experience with the NAD T785 (incredibly heavy) and other gear, it was nice to not have to struggle with it. If there are certain features that people want tested to show up in a review of it, please let me know and I can try to accommodate requests.

Chris Heinonen
Writer, The Wirecutter
Founder/Editor, ReferenceHomeTheater.com
ISF Level II Certified Calibrator
Previously: Senior Editor, Secrets of Home Theater and High Fidelity, Displays Editor, AnandTech.com, Contributor, HDGuru.com and Electronic House
Smackrabbit is offline  
Old 10-28-2010, 07:34 AM
Member
 
enigmascv's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 43
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Smackrabbit View Post

My AV7005 arrived yesterday, but all I had time to do was remove the Pioneer VSX-32 that was in my rack, box it up, and put the AV7005 in it's place. I'll hopefully dig my amp out tonight and get the AV7005 hooked up, though it might take until the weekend. I will say it was lighter than I expected it to be when I lifted it up, but after recent experience with the NAD T785 (incredibly heavy) and other gear, it was nice to not have to struggle with it. If there are certain features that people want tested to show up in a review of it, please let me know and I can try to accommodate requests.

Smackrabbit

Is the AV7005 made in China or Japan? Just curious. I plan to pick one up regardless. Enjoy your new toy!!
enigmascv is offline  
Old 10-28-2010, 07:42 AM
AVS Special Member
 
SnellKrell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Upper East Side - Manhattan
Posts: 2,147
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Japan!
SnellKrell is offline  
Old 10-28-2010, 07:52 AM
Member
 
indian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 167
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Minge View Post

Oh sure rub it in that yours will be here today...Congrats, I plan on spending some quality time with mine this weekend.

Cant wait myself. Have Iron Man 2 as my first blu-ray ready to fire up on Saturday night. Popcorn is waiting...

Same here! i did not see iron man 2 in theaters and bought it the day it came out so that i can watch it with the new marantz! it's been very hard not watching it yet but i'm glad i waited.
indian is offline  
Old 10-28-2010, 09:19 AM
AVS Special Member
 
m. zillch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 4,766
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 521 Post(s)
Liked: 351
Quote:
Originally Posted by Smackrabbit View Post

If there are certain features that people want tested to show up in a review of it, please let me know and I can try to accommodate requests.

Congrats on being the first one reported in the field! I have wire rack shelving (which is difficult to re-configure easily) and am curious if the AV7005's feet are screwed on and if so how much height would be saved by removing them?

Thanks.

In A/V reproduction accuracy, there is no concept of "accounting for taste". We don't "pick" the level of bass, etc., any more than we pick the ending of a play. High fidelity means an unmodified, neutral, exact copy (or "reproduction") of the original artist's tonal balance, timing, dynamics, etc..
m. zillch is offline  
Old 10-28-2010, 09:24 AM
Member
 
indian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 167
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Are the rca connection in the back silver or gold plated?
indian is offline  
Old 10-28-2010, 09:28 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Cattledog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Atlanta
Posts: 1,728
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Silver from pics I've seen.

Reality Based.
Cattledog is offline  
Old 10-28-2010, 10:23 AM
Advanced Member
 
Smackrabbit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Portland, OR, USA
Posts: 899
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 33
Quote:
Originally Posted by m. zillch View Post

Congrats on being the first one reported in the field! I have wire rack shelving (which is difficult to re-configure easily) and am curious if the AV7005's feet are screwed on and if so how much height would be saved by removing them?

Thanks.

I'll see if I can take a look quick tonight. I've thrown it into the AV rack already, but since it's not hooked up I can probably pull it out quick and look.

The jacks are silver plated as well, no gold plating on them unfortunately.

Chris Heinonen
Writer, The Wirecutter
Founder/Editor, ReferenceHomeTheater.com
ISF Level II Certified Calibrator
Previously: Senior Editor, Secrets of Home Theater and High Fidelity, Displays Editor, AnandTech.com, Contributor, HDGuru.com and Electronic House
Smackrabbit is offline  
Old 10-28-2010, 10:26 AM
AVS Special Member
 
SnellKrell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Upper East Side - Manhattan
Posts: 2,147
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 12
The User Guide has the measurement of the feet as - 11/16".
SnellKrell is offline  
Old 10-28-2010, 11:17 AM
Advanced Member
 
Buttabean's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Long Island,NY
Posts: 639
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 24
Got conformation AVS is shipping mine out tomorrow

Joe.T
Buttabean is offline  
Old 10-28-2010, 12:26 PM
AVS Special Member
 
WiWavelength's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 1,818
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 28 Post(s)
Liked: 21
Quote:
Originally Posted by indian View Post

Are the rca connection in the back silver or gold plated?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Cattledog View Post

Silver from pics I've seen.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Smackrabbit View Post

The jacks are silver plated as well, no gold plating on them unfortunately.

That "silver," it is called aluminum.

AJ
WiWavelength is offline  
Old 10-28-2010, 12:51 PM
Member
 
enigmascv's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 43
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by SnellKrell View Post

Japan!


cool
enigmascv is offline  
Old 10-28-2010, 01:59 PM
Senior Member
 
Gradius2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Iquique, Chile
Posts: 412
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 19 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Please, keep up us informed if the unit really performed like the pros said (on pre reviews).

If any issues, or problem, well, anything.

[]s,
Fernando
Gradius2 is offline  
Old 10-28-2010, 02:48 PM
AVS Special Member
 
cmryan821's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: New Orleans, LA
Posts: 1,220
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 110 Post(s)
Liked: 24
Just wanted to let y'all know that Amazon has a few in stock right now.
cmryan821 is online now  
Old 10-28-2010, 07:36 PM
AVS Special Member
 
fyzziks's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Altadena, CA
Posts: 1,512
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by WiWavelength View Post

That "silver," it is called aluminum.

AJ

Not aluminum - usually it's either a copper/tin alloy or nickel plating.
fyzziks is offline  
Old 10-29-2010, 04:38 AM
Member
 
alour's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 176
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Anyone here plan on hooking up their AV7005 to a Emotiva amp? I am curious as to this setup and how it would sound. Am considering the SR7005 and also the Denon 4311ci. Any feedback on the this would be appreciated.
alour is offline  
Old 10-29-2010, 06:51 AM
AVS Special Member
 
cmryan821's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: New Orleans, LA
Posts: 1,220
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 110 Post(s)
Liked: 24
Quote:
Originally Posted by alour View Post

Anyone here plan on hooking up their AV7005 to a Emotiva amp? I am curious as to this setup and how it would sound. Am considering the SR7005 and also the Denon 4311ci. Any feedback on the this would be appreciated.

They'll all probably sound similar(or indistinguishable at low volume) unless you have speakers that are difficult on the amp and/or your primary listening spot is far back and you listen loud. If your situation fits either of these descriptions then you'll likely gain an audible benefit from the emo amp.
cmryan821 is online now  
Old 10-29-2010, 07:06 AM
Advanced Member
 
Smackrabbit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Portland, OR, USA
Posts: 899
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 33
Quote:
Originally Posted by alour View Post

Anyone here plan on hooking up their AV7005 to a Emotiva amp? I am curious as to this setup and how it would sound. Am considering the SR7005 and also the Denon 4311ci. Any feedback on the this would be appreciated.

I'll be hooking it up to an Emotiva UPA-5 tonight. I don't have the 4311 so I can't do any direct comparisons between the two unfortunately.

Setting up the AV7005 was easy enough last night, though I only configured the inputs and video scaling due to time, and didn't run Audyssey or anything else. I will be doing that over the weekend, but the HDMI Information is really nice as it lets you know the details on the source, and what it's outputting (for example, an input of 480i, 4:2:0 at 8 bits, or 720p 4:4:4 8-bit, etc...).

Chris Heinonen
Writer, The Wirecutter
Founder/Editor, ReferenceHomeTheater.com
ISF Level II Certified Calibrator
Previously: Senior Editor, Secrets of Home Theater and High Fidelity, Displays Editor, AnandTech.com, Contributor, HDGuru.com and Electronic House
Smackrabbit is offline  
Old 10-29-2010, 07:11 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Cattledog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Atlanta
Posts: 1,728
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Front and iPhone app
LL
LL
LL

Reality Based.
Cattledog is offline  
Old 10-29-2010, 07:15 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Cattledog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Atlanta
Posts: 1,728
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 16
More views
LL
LL

Reality Based.
Cattledog is offline  
Old 10-29-2010, 07:42 AM
Senior Member
 
volta's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Colorado
Posts: 297
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 22
Quote:
Originally Posted by alour View Post

Anyone here plan on hooking up their AV7005 to a Emotiva amp? I am curious as to this setup and how it would sound. Am considering the SR7005 and also the Denon 4311ci. Any feedback on the this would be appreciated.

I plan on getting the AV7005 and using it with my XPA-5. I think it will look and sound great together.
volta is offline  
Old 10-29-2010, 08:06 AM
AVS Special Member
 
rick240's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Calgary, AB
Posts: 3,565
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 51
Any pro reviews of this yet?

rick240 is offline  
Old 10-29-2010, 08:39 AM
Advanced Member
 
par4's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 971
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 20
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cattledog View Post

More views

Cool.
par4 is offline  
 

Tags
Marantz Av7005 Pre Processor
Thread Tools


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off