Marantz AV7005 - Page 322 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #9631 of 9639 Old 06-03-2014, 07:59 AM
Newbie
 
kirbyhart57's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10

New to site. Quick questions regarding sr7005. First, how do I switch back and forth between HDMI and analog input for say the music on a cd coming from my Oppo .2. Do the labeled analog inputs on sr7005   (i.e. BD,DVD,CD)  still perform all the room corrections and audyssy functions. I realize that the 7.1 analog inputs are not processed. 3. I kind of like multi-channel sound mode at times. Is there a way to just set the volume levels for that one mode permanently.

kirbyhart57 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #9632 of 9639 Old 06-03-2014, 09:29 AM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 43,037
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 360 Post(s)
Liked: 1327
^^
1. Use the INPUT MODE (A/D) button on the remote.
2. Yes.
3. No.

---------------------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; shop.avscience.com ; 585-645-1006, AVScience - AVSForum sponsor for 15 years  
Mon - Fri: 8am – 8pm EST (Sat/Sun, leave message)
Call for pricing on Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Onkyo, Klipsch, Def Tech, Oppo, Parasound 
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #9633 of 9639 Old 06-05-2014, 05:58 AM
Newbie
 
kirbyhart57's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10

Thanks for the quick and concise response !!! Best Wishes!!!

kirbyhart57 is offline  
post #9634 of 9639 Old 06-16-2014, 08:18 AM
Newbie
 
kirbyhart57's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdsmoothie View Post
^^<br>
1. Use the INPUT MODE (A/D) button on the remote.<br>
2. Yes.<br>
3. No.
Hey JD. Thanks for answering my questions about the marantz 7005avr. Are you located in Orlando. I'm in Tampa. Looking for some newsurrounds for my new system. Loving my 7005 except for the phono section. Can i hook my tube audible illusions preamp up to the 7005 without doing any damage or would it be getting double gain. Do you have a web site?? Thanks Kirby
kirbyhart57 is offline  
post #9635 of 9639 Old 06-16-2014, 05:57 PM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 43,037
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 360 Post(s)
Liked: 1327
No reason to as the AV7005 has a pre-amp. The AVScience website is shop.avscience.com, but the warehouse is located in Rochester, NY.

---------------------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; shop.avscience.com ; 585-645-1006, AVScience - AVSForum sponsor for 15 years  
Mon - Fri: 8am – 8pm EST (Sat/Sun, leave message)
Call for pricing on Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Onkyo, Klipsch, Def Tech, Oppo, Parasound 
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #9636 of 9639 Old 06-27-2014, 07:14 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Kevin. W's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,473
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Denon AVR A100 as pre/pro or the Marantz AV7005. What would be better? Paired with an Anthem PVA 5
Kevin. W is offline  
post #9637 of 9639 Old 06-28-2014, 01:01 AM
AVS Special Member
 
m. zillch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 3,820
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 14 Post(s)
Liked: 103
Wink Not a typical response

The AVR100 has Audssey MutiEQ XT32, the AV7000 only the "lowly" MultiEQ XT. XT32 is said to have finer, higher resolution which 99% of forum members [and audio magazine reviewers] tacitly accept is discernible to human hearing and "better", although nobody, anywhere, has ever conducted a carefully controlled experiment to determine if when presented with literally the exact same room information if XT32 is distinguishably different [let alone "better"] than XT, using either music or specially designed test signals.


There are subtle, small differences between one calibration run to the next, even when using the same device and mic positions, so doing a fair comparison test to battle XT against XT32 is not exactly easy. It might be better, at least in some particular rooms, I don't know, but anecdotal evidence from sighted comparisons are subject to expectation bias, so I ignore them, personally.


The Multi Sub EQ of the AVR100 makes phasing/level matching two subs an easier, automated affair, although I describe a method to do it manually, but using the AV7005's microphone to determine matching SPL [critically important or the net result is as if you only own one sub] earlier in the thread.


You do want to go with the general consensus, don't you?

In A/V reproduction accuracy, there is no concept of "accounting for taste". We don't "pick" the level of bass any more than we get to pick the ending of a play. High fidelity is an unbiased, neutral, exact copy (or "reproduction") of the original source's tonal balance, timing, dynamics, etc..


Last edited by m. zillch; 07-17-2014 at 12:13 PM.
m. zillch is online now  
post #9638 of 9639 Old 07-17-2014, 10:33 AM
Newbie
 
crowy1939's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Av 7005 and Netflix

When selecting Netflix from my smart tv I get the sound source from netflix plus the sound from the last watched channel on the tv. I have my direct tv hdmi connected to sat/3 on the Marantz and arc out hdmi1 back to the set top connection on tv. Tried a multiple of different combinations with no luck. I can get netflix thru the tv speakers and not powering the AV7005.
crowy1939 is offline  
post #9639 of 9639 Old 07-17-2014, 11:00 AM
Senior Member
 
ndskurfer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Bismarck, ND
Posts: 406
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Liked: 25
Quote:
Originally Posted by crowy1939 View Post
When selecting Netflix from my smart tv I get the sound source from netflix plus the sound from the last watched channel on the tv. I have my direct tv hdmi connected to sat/3 on the Marantz and arc out hdmi1 back to the set top connection on tv. Tried a multiple of different combinations with no luck. I can get netflix thru the tv speakers and not powering the AV7005.
Run an optical cable from the TV into the AV7005. Make sure that your input on your AV7005 is assigned to the optical in from the TV.

I'm doing that with my Marantz Receiver, which also has ARC, just found the optical to be more reliable.
ndskurfer is offline  
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors

Tags
Marantz Av7005 Pre Processor
Gear in this thread

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off