Marantz AV7005 - Page 324 - AVS | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
Reply
Thread Tools
post #9691 of 9708 Old 01-04-2015, 08:49 PM
Member
 
ThomasH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Tucson, AZ
Posts: 117
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have the AV7005 and a Pioneer BDP-62FD.
The connection is HDMI and the Pioneer is set to Bitstream.


When set to Auto, all the AV7005 will display is STEREO.


I thought it was an issue with the questionable RedBox discs but I just tried it with a boxed Ironman II.


Both the DVD and Blu-Ray only result in Stereo.


Any ideas?


Thanks
ThomasH is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #9692 of 9708 Old 01-04-2015, 11:33 PM
AVS Special Member
 
m. zillch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 4,492
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 410 Post(s)
Liked: 303
You need to select the soundtrack you wish to hear in the movie's on screen menu. The default on many is stereo.

In A/V reproduction accuracy, there is no concept of "accounting for taste". We don't "pick" the level of bass any more than we get to pick the ending of a play. High fidelity is an unbiased, neutral, exact copy (or "reproduction") of the original source's tonal balance, timing, dynamics, etc..


Last edited by m. zillch; 01-05-2015 at 03:00 AM.
m. zillch is offline  
post #9693 of 9708 Old 01-05-2015, 01:31 AM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 48,274
Mentioned: 26 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2729 Post(s)
Liked: 1928
Quote:
Originally Posted by ThomasH View Post
I have the AV7005 and a Pioneer BDP-62FD.
The connection is HDMI and the Pioneer is set to Bitstream.


When set to Auto, all the AV7005 will display is STEREO.


I thought it was an issue with the questionable RedBox discs but I just tried it with a boxed Ironman II.


Both the DVD and Blu-Ray only result in Stereo.


Any ideas?


Thanks
You can select a different surround mode by pressing the SURR button on the AV7005 remote.

---------------------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; Call me --> 585-645-1006, AVScience - AVSForum sponsor and authorized dealer for AVRs and Speakers 

7 days a week 8am – 8pm EST
Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Pioneer, Onkyo, Def Tech, Atlantic Tech, Oppo
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #9694 of 9708 Old 01-06-2015, 09:03 AM
Senior Member
 
roadster-s's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Montreal Canada
Posts: 379
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 16 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Need help :)

I'm stuck with a surround problem and desperately need advise. When I listen to a DVD-Audio disc, the surround balance is out of wack, sounds like the volume level is the same coming from all channels...

I have no such problem when watching a movie or concert video (all playing on same Oppo BDP-93). I understand that the codec is different but I'm just not able to figure out why ONLY my DVD-A's are so unbalanced front to rear. On Steely Dan's Two Against Nature for example, the voice is so far and muffled, overwhelmed by the surround tracks....


When I bring up ''audio info'' on screen, the 5.1 individual db levels appear OK however.

Last edited by roadster-s; 01-06-2015 at 09:08 AM.
roadster-s is offline  
post #9695 of 9708 Old 01-06-2015, 11:52 AM
AVS Special Member
 
m. zillch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 4,492
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 410 Post(s)
Liked: 303
The AV7005 stores some settings not globally, but rather locally, so just because you calibrated or set the balance and settings that you like for one input, for example, doesn't mean you've done it for other inputs, codecs, video resolutions, etc.


You may need to reset the surround balance and calibration of the other parameters separately for that input, with that codec, with that video resolution. [And also consider maybe what you are hearing on that disc is indeed just how it was mixed.]

In A/V reproduction accuracy, there is no concept of "accounting for taste". We don't "pick" the level of bass any more than we get to pick the ending of a play. High fidelity is an unbiased, neutral, exact copy (or "reproduction") of the original source's tonal balance, timing, dynamics, etc..

m. zillch is offline  
post #9696 of 9708 Old 01-06-2015, 09:21 PM
Senior Member
 
roadster-s's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Montreal Canada
Posts: 379
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 16 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by m. zillch View Post
The AV7005 stores some settings not globally, but rather locally, so just because you calibrated or set the balance and settings that you like for one input, for example, doesn't mean you've done it for other inputs, codecs, video resolutions, etc.


You may need to reset the surround balance and calibration of the other parameters separately for that input, with that codec, with that video resolution. [And also consider maybe what you are hearing on that disc is indeed just how it was mixed.]
Agree. I'm aware that some settings are set locally but I thought I might be missing something else. I'm very familiar with the few (only two) DVD-A's that I own and it's very obvious that neither one is playing properly. Never had that problem before (always with the same components) I probably went a full year since last listening to either one, so the problem became obvious as soon as they started to spin. I guess I have no other choice but to manually reset the parameters for that codec then.
roadster-s is offline  
post #9697 of 9708 Old 01-08-2015, 06:16 PM
Newbie
 
DocTock993's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 14
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Ground loop hum SOLVED! (sort of - at least the annoying hum is gone!)
I finally gave up chasing the exact source and put a "cheater plug" in at the wall before my Panamax power strip.
The only thing I hear from the L,C,R speakers is a very faint hiss.

Now what?
Basically, what does this "lifting" of the ground tell me?
Does it eliminate anything from the equation?
Is the slight hissing noise a sign of RF being picked up by my interconnects or speaker cable? Can this be eliminated too?

Last edited by DocTock993; 01-08-2015 at 06:19 PM.
DocTock993 is online now  
post #9698 of 9708 Old 01-08-2015, 07:59 PM
AVS Special Member
 
m. zillch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 4,492
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 410 Post(s)
Liked: 303
Quote:
Originally Posted by DocTock993 View Post
I finally gave up chasing the exact source and put a "cheater plug" in at the wall before my Panamax power strip...
Now what?
Maybe Clark Griswold's wife, Beverly D'Angelo can come over to help?


Sorry, couldn't resist. Good luck.

In A/V reproduction accuracy, there is no concept of "accounting for taste". We don't "pick" the level of bass any more than we get to pick the ending of a play. High fidelity is an unbiased, neutral, exact copy (or "reproduction") of the original source's tonal balance, timing, dynamics, etc..

m. zillch is offline  
post #9699 of 9708 Old 01-08-2015, 10:22 PM
Newbie
 
DocTock993's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 14
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by m. zillch View Post
Maybe Clark Griswold's wife, Beverly D'Angelo can come over to help?


Sorry, couldn't resist. Good luck.
Funny! At this point I might have been willing to make a plug system like that to get rid of the hum.

But seriously, what now? At least I feel like it's not inherent in the components, but a grounding issue.
DocTock993 is online now  
post #9700 of 9708 Old 01-09-2015, 01:04 AM
AVS Special Member
 
m. zillch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 4,492
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 410 Post(s)
Liked: 303
Like I said, it is a system problem not an individual plug's fault. You said in an earlier post that you could get your system to be free of hum but then after doing absolutely nothing (but I presume listening) it crept back in. That could happen again, right?


Cheater plugs are dangerous long term but if you keep all pets, plant watering devices, drinks, kids, falling objects away I doubt anything will happen if you just leave it with the cheater on it. [if by fluke there is an internal fault though, and the outer casing of some device gets shorted to the AC hot lead and if touched you or your cleaning person could be electrocuted, but what are the odds of that?
See if the issue stays good. If it does then you need some sort of heavy duty isolation transformer as a bandaid approach to fixing your setup since you don't seem capable of using a star grounding topology like I originally pointed out.

In A/V reproduction accuracy, there is no concept of "accounting for taste". We don't "pick" the level of bass any more than we get to pick the ending of a play. High fidelity is an unbiased, neutral, exact copy (or "reproduction") of the original source's tonal balance, timing, dynamics, etc..

m. zillch is offline  
post #9701 of 9708 Old 01-22-2015, 09:53 AM
Member
 
sjordan93436's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Lompoc, CA
Posts: 74
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
My receiver has a problem (I think).

System: Sharp Elite TV, AV 7005, Anthem amp, Dish, Bluray, Roku. All connected with HDMI, some with analog, one with digital audio.

A couple of days ago, there was audio with no video. Different source, same no video. TV showed video on different source. I toggled HDMI. I turned everything on and off. I finally "fixed" it by plugging my HDMI output directly to the Dish. When I replace the HDMI out back to the AV7005 as it was, then video. Everything was skating in the right direction. Yeah team.

Then today, video with no audio. Audio in Zone 2 from multiple sources, No audio in zone 1 from any source. Amp appeared to be on. After toggleing a few settings, sound came back on. In retrospect, I should have did a reset and /or swapped HDMI cables. I run the system in significant other mode, IOW I just turn it on and switch to the proper source. Of course, these kind of problems bother my wife. She turns it on and it does not work. I cannot fix over the phone.

I suspect my HDMI cables. I did replace the cables with proper cable of the correct length. I hope it is not the long HDMI out, which is old. Since the Dish never goes totally off, perhaps the system gets out of sync and cannot get back to work.

Next time, I will try resetting Dish. Then unplugging HDMI cables, one source at a time. Then resetting the AV7005.

Any suggestions?
sjordan93436 is offline  
post #9702 of 9708 Old 01-29-2015, 11:16 AM
Senior Member
 
Luis5150's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: The Valley of The Sun
Posts: 344
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 80 Post(s)
Liked: 88
Guys,

Something seems odd with my AV7005 and "missing" Audyssey EQ modes. I am only able to set "Audyssey" or "OFF". "Audyssey L/R Bypass", "Audyssey Flat" and "Audyssey Manual" are missing. Could there be a bug in my unit?

| Panasonic TC-P65S2 HD Plasma | Oppo BDP-93 | Paradigm Studio 100's v2 (mains) | Paradigm Studio CC-570 v3 (center) | Paradigm ADP-370 v3 (sides surr.) | Paradigm Studio 20's v2 (sides + back surr.) | SVS PB13-Ultra(x2), Hsu Research VTF3-HO | Marantz AV-7005 pre/pro | Emotiva XPA-5 (x2) |
Luis5150 is offline  
post #9703 of 9708 Old 01-29-2015, 11:21 AM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 48,274
Mentioned: 26 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2729 Post(s)
Liked: 1928
^^
First step in troubleshooting any strange/weird behavior is to unplug the power cord for 10 minutes and see if that doesn't resolve the issue.

---------------------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; Call me --> 585-645-1006, AVScience - AVSForum sponsor and authorized dealer for AVRs and Speakers 

7 days a week 8am – 8pm EST
Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Pioneer, Onkyo, Def Tech, Atlantic Tech, Oppo
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #9704 of 9708 Old 01-29-2015, 11:53 AM
AVS Special Member
 
m. zillch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 4,492
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 410 Post(s)
Liked: 303
Page 115 of the manual discusses how to lock all the values of speaker size, distance, EQ, x-over, radio presets, input source renames, etc. into the non-volatile memory, then resetting the microprocessor to cure hiccups, and finally re-instating all the values stored in that deep memory you did in the first step [so you don't need to re-run Audysey, re-name the inputs, etc.].

In A/V reproduction accuracy, there is no concept of "accounting for taste". We don't "pick" the level of bass any more than we get to pick the ending of a play. High fidelity is an unbiased, neutral, exact copy (or "reproduction") of the original source's tonal balance, timing, dynamics, etc..

m. zillch is offline  
post #9705 of 9708 Old 01-29-2015, 03:13 PM
Senior Member
 
Luis5150's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: The Valley of The Sun
Posts: 344
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 80 Post(s)
Liked: 88
Quote:
Originally Posted by m. zillch View Post
Page 115 of the manual discusses how to lock all the values of speaker size, distance, EQ, x-over, radio presets, input source renames, etc. into the non-volatile memory, then resetting the microprocessor to cure hiccups, and finally re-instating all the values stored in that deep memory you did in the first step [so you don't need to re-run Audysey, re-name the inputs, etc.].

Yep... that is exactly what I did and is all good again... Thank you guys.

| Panasonic TC-P65S2 HD Plasma | Oppo BDP-93 | Paradigm Studio 100's v2 (mains) | Paradigm Studio CC-570 v3 (center) | Paradigm ADP-370 v3 (sides surr.) | Paradigm Studio 20's v2 (sides + back surr.) | SVS PB13-Ultra(x2), Hsu Research VTF3-HO | Marantz AV-7005 pre/pro | Emotiva XPA-5 (x2) |
Luis5150 is offline  
post #9706 of 9708 Unread Today, 01:10 PM
Newbie
 
DocTock993's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 14
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Ground loop "solved" in a safer manner by use of a Ebtech Hum X



On a separate note:

Is it possible to control the "Trigger" lines? In other words create a different "on state" for Trigger 1 and Trigger 2?
I'd like to have only my mono-block amps turn on when I am in Stereo mode. There is no need for my 5 channel amp to be on if I am not running surround mode.
I do have the ability through an RJ 45 Ethernet connector to connect to my multi-channel amp (Krell Chorus 5200), but my system does not have a computer controlling any aspect.
Also, I'm not likely to add a computer any time soon - the hum issue was sufficiently frustrating!
DocTock993 is online now  
post #9707 of 9708 Unread Today, 02:16 PM
Advanced Member
 
stash64's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Packer country
Posts: 866
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Is there an android/kindle app available to access the network functionality of our AV7005? I downloaded the Marantz Remote App but discovered it does not work/recognize the AV7005, only the models that followed the AV7005. A little disappointed that Marantz has already forgot about us.

Sean
stash64 is offline  
post #9708 of 9708 Unread Today, 02:16 PM
AVS Special Member
 
m. zillch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 4,492
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 410 Post(s)
Liked: 303
Quote:
Originally Posted by DocTock993 View Post
Ground loop "solved" in a safer manner by use of a Ebtech Hum X
That's only rated for perhaps 600 to 700 watts of AC power consumption. Your 250 stereo power amp alone draws
"Max. 1850 W"

In A/V reproduction accuracy, there is no concept of "accounting for taste". We don't "pick" the level of bass any more than we get to pick the ending of a play. High fidelity is an unbiased, neutral, exact copy (or "reproduction") of the original source's tonal balance, timing, dynamics, etc..

m. zillch is offline  
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors

Tags
Marantz Av7005 Pre Processor
Gear in this thread - Av7005 by PriceGrabber.com

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off