Marantz AV7005 - Page 325 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Baselworld is only a few weeks away. Getting the latest news is easy, Click Here for info on how to join the Watchuseek.com newsletter list. Follow our team for updates featuring event coverage, new product unveilings, watch industry news & more!


Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #9721 of 9744 Old 04-28-2015, 10:34 AM
AVS Special Member
 
m. zillch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 4,946
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 581 Post(s)
Liked: 377
Quote:
Originally Posted by Harsha1000 View Post
Hello, I have got a 7.1 setup with MarantzSR7005, Focal Speakers, Panasonic AE4000 series Projector.
PS3, Denon Blu-ray player, TV DTH all connected through HDMI. Output of AMP is connected to Projector through HDMI...
Any suggestion will be of great help. Thanks in advance for the help.
I have the Panasonic AE4000 and the prepro version of the SR7005 receiver (pretty much the same but with no internal amps) AV7005, so I guess I'm better qualified to respond than most. The image indeed goes black from time to time and I've noticed it seems triggered by certain images, namely a bright flash of light in a scene or fades to black and especially fades to white.


A sudden bright flash might occur in a movie with a scene showing a strobe light, which is not terribly common, however fades to black and fades to white are quite common at the ends of TV commercials.


There's nothing that can be done to fix this, as far as I know, I just live with it. HDMI has many problems and the industry has always taken a finger pointing approach to "solving" the issues: if you consult Marantz they will point the finger at Panasonic and claim the problem lies with them, and if you consult Panasonic they will point the finger at Marantz! Especially considering all these models are discontinued at this point, I'd be surprised if any engineers at either company are spending any time at addressing this problem. I also later bought the Panny 7000 and it has the same issue, BTW.

In A/V reproduction accuracy, there is no concept of "accounting for taste". We don't "pick" the level of bass, etc., any more than we pick the ending of a play. High fidelity means an unmodified, neutral, exact copy (or "reproduction") of the original artist's tonal balance, timing, dynamics, etc..

Last edited by m. zillch; 04-28-2015 at 10:37 AM.
m. zillch is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #9722 of 9744 Old 04-29-2015, 07:00 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Thank you @M.Zillch and @jdsmoothie . I don't think extender is a problem, the same works fine with pioneer VSK model.
I brought a standby pioneer A/V receiver. I love Marantz for its sound though, that's the reason I wanted to see if someone from Marantz forum can help me out or faced similar problem.


@M.Zillch - This doesn't happen as a flickering and it is random. doesn't happen only when I watch blu-ray or high definition movies or during any action sequence. It happens for no reason every 2 minutes even while watching some channel over DTH. Sad part is even when I just play songs from laptop through HDMI this happens. Annoying it is because my whole family looses interest while watching a movie.


I have to restart the A/V and re-plug the laptop to A/V and it works fine for 2 to 3 minutes, before the problem crops again.
isn't the firmware released for Indian and Singapore Marantz av7005? Does the update loop mean I cannot upgrade the firmware anyday?
Harsha1000 is offline  
post #9723 of 9744 Old 04-29-2015, 07:01 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Thank you @M.Zillch and @jdsmoothie . I don't think extender is a problem, the same works fine with pioneer VSK model.
I brought a standby pioneer A/V receiver. I love Marantz for its sound though, that's the reason I wanted to see if someone from Marantz forum can help me out or faced similar problem.


@M.Zillch - This doesn't happen as a flickering and it is random. doesn't happen only when I watch blu-ray or high definition movies or during any action sequence. It happens for no reason every 2 minutes even while watching some channel over DTH. Sad part is even when I just play songs from laptop through HDMI this happens. Annoying it is because my whole family looses interest while watching a movie.


I have to restart the A/V and re-plug the laptop to A/V and it works fine for 2 to 3 minutes, before the problem crops again.
isn't the firmware released for Indian and Singapore Marantz av7005? Does the update loop mean I cannot upgrade the firmware anyday?
Harsha1000 is offline  
post #9724 of 9744 Old 04-29-2015, 08:44 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 53,704
Mentioned: 64 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5300 Post(s)
Liked: 2677
Quote:
Originally Posted by Harsha1000 View Post
I don't think extender is a problem, the same works fine with pioneer VSK model.
Moot point as they are different brands.

--------
2015 Denon AVR thread ----> http://www.avsforum.com/forum/90-rec...dcp-2-2-a.html

Think your AVR is defective? Check the Owner's manual and do a factory reset 4-5 times if necessary.
jdsmoothie is online now  
post #9725 of 9744 Old 05-21-2015, 03:04 PM
Newbie
 
dadsnave's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 10
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Issue sounds like ground noise -- *not* a ground loop

Quote:
Originally Posted by DocTock993 View Post
Ground loop "solved" in a safer manner by use of an Ebtech Hum X..
DISCLAIMER: I'M A CERTIFIED ELECTRONICS TECHNICIAN AND A HOME THEATER "ENTHUSIAST" (NUT?), BUT I'M *NOT* A LICENSED ELECTRICIAN (though I've done plenty of wiring that's passed code inspection). IF YOU'RE NOT FAMILIAR WITH BASIC HOME WIRING, DO *NOT* TRY THE ACTIONS BELOW. INSTEAD, HIRE A LICENSED ELECTRICIAN TO HELP YOU. IF YOU DON'T KNOW WHAT YOU'RE DOING, FROM THIS POINT FORWARD, JUST READ -- DO *NOT* TAKE ACTION.

As mentioned a bit further down from the post quoted above, m. zillch is correct that the Ebtech has no where near the power handling ability that your rig needs. So, now what to do...?

I strongly suspect that the ground to your wall outlet is NOT truly "at ground" -- there is noise on the ground line. You can verify this if you have a pal/buddy who has an oscilloscope and you check for ANY "signal" present between: (a) the "ground" that your equipment is plugged into (at the wall plug that is) and (b) a "guaranteed good/known ground". If the ground is good, you'll see a straight horizontal line on the scope. If you see anything else, you're observing some sort of noise being "overlayed" onto the wall plug's ground. (Yes, it could be 60hz hum from somewhere -- a compressor or a motor.)

What would the source of a "guaranteed good/known ground" be for testing? The BEST would be to locate the structure's earth ground. They're copper rods (usually electrical code requires 2 rods connected together a few feet apart driven vertically several feet into the ground) that the ground wire to the home's main breaker panel is directly connected too -- no junctions. The top of the rods are typically slightly below ground level, but not at ground level. An alternative source could be a metal water pipe after the water meter where the pipe exits the house into the ground outside.

To get the two ends [(a) and (b) above] near enough to each other to be measured with a scope probe, you could connect/clamp some #14 (for 15 amp circuit) or #12 wire (for 20 amp circuit) to the grounding rod and pass the wire via shortest route through doors/windows to get it near the wall plug.

If you can't get your hands on a scope, you could try TEMPORARILY running the described "test ground wire" to the outlet, and TEMPORARILY replace the original ground wire with the test ground wire at the outlet. You are effectively TEMPORARILY substituting an alternate/test ground, and using your ears instead of a scope for observing/testing.

If you fire everything up and there is no hum/buzz, you've proven the root cause is noise on the existing ground wire. If there's *still* a buzz that goes away when NO ground wire is attached, then the same noise present on the original ground could be being back-fed all the way to the rods and through your test ground! (NOTE: Again, I'm no expert, but I believe that is not likely -- but who knows?) To test that theory, try the water pipe alternative instead.

In the still-noise-with-test-ground-connected-to-outlet case, you could purchase and pound a new, dedicated ground rod and connect the test ground wire to the new rod instead of the original rod(s) and re-test. If either: (i) the test ground with the original rod(s), or (ii) the new rod/wire combo solves the problem, you can make the solution permanent by re-running the ground wires in a code-legal and safe manner. If you aren't absolutely sure what that means AND how to do it -- HIRE A LICENSED ELECTRICIAN.

P.S. Alternative (more work/more risk) option if noise verified to be coming from original ground wire:

Isolate the source of the noise and get rid of it. Source could be anywhere in house and troubleshooting would require removing the breaker box's front panel (*RISK*) and disconnecting ground wires one-by-one (*WORK*) at the main breaker box until identifying the offending circuit. (NOTE: Simply turning off the breakers one-by-one won't do the trick since that only disconnects each circuit's hot leg, leaving the neutral and ground connected.) Once isolated to a single circuit...

P.P.S. Since I've not posted enough on this site to have the rights to PM folks, I cannot PM DocTock993 to give him a heads-up regarding this addition to this now-getting-stale issue for him. Would someone who can, please PM him to let him know this now exists? (Thanks in advance -- I invested too much time here for him not to hopefully benefit from these ideas/suggestions.)

Last edited by dadsnave; 05-22-2015 at 06:40 AM. Reason: Add/edit PM request.
dadsnave is offline  
post #9726 of 9744 Old 07-18-2015, 11:31 AM
Newbie
 
cellexjohn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Columbus, IN
Posts: 13
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Greetings,

It would appear that I am having an HDMI issue with my AV7005 inputs not working. I can still see the menu, volume, and MARANTZ on the monitor so it appears that HDMI out is working. Changed HDMI cables and still no input. Direct feed to TV from sources works. I reset microprocessor and no change. Waiting for a response from a service center on repair costs. Anyone have this issue and a repiar price? Not sure if I want to fix it or replace it. It's 9mo out of warranty. Not sure what's comparable for a replacement as the last time I researched was before buying this unit in 2011. I don't feel I got my $1700 worth in under 4 years from this product.

Bummed,
John
cellexjohn is offline  
post #9727 of 9744 Old 07-18-2015, 11:31 AM
Newbie
 
cellexjohn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Columbus, IN
Posts: 13
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Greetings,

It would appear that I am having an HDMI issue with my AV7005 inputs not working. I can still see the menu, volume, and MARANTZ on the monitor so it appears that HDMI out is working. Changed HDMI cables and still no input. Direct feed to TV from sources works. I reset microprocessor and no change. Waiting for a response from a service center on repair costs. Anyone have this issue and a repiar price? Not sure if I want to fix it or replace it. It's 9mo out of warranty. Not sure what's comparable for a replacement as the last time I researched was before buying this unit in 2011. I don't feel I got my $1700 worth in under 4 years from this product.

Bummed,
John
cellexjohn is offline  
post #9728 of 9744 Old 07-18-2015, 02:59 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 53,704
Mentioned: 64 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5300 Post(s)
Liked: 2677
Quote:
Originally Posted by cellexjohn View Post
Greetings,

It would appear that I am having an HDMI issue with my AV7005 inputs not working. I can still see the menu, volume, and MARANTZ on the monitor so it appears that HDMI out is working. Changed HDMI cables and still no input. Direct feed to TV from sources works. I reset microprocessor and no change. Waiting for a response from a service center on repair costs. Anyone have this issue and a repiar price? Not sure if I want to fix it or replace it. It's 9mo out of warranty. Not sure what's comparable for a replacement as the last time I researched was before buying this unit in 2011. I don't feel I got my $1700 worth in under 4 years from this product.

Bummed,
John
Try first powering off and unplugging the unit for 10 minutes. Then do a series of 4-5 microprocessor resets. If still no joy, and if purchased with a credit card, check with your credit card issuer, as many will add an extra year of warranty making it 4 years from date of purchase.

--------
2015 Denon AVR thread ----> http://www.avsforum.com/forum/90-rec...dcp-2-2-a.html

Think your AVR is defective? Check the Owner's manual and do a factory reset 4-5 times if necessary.
jdsmoothie is online now  
post #9729 of 9744 Old 07-18-2015, 05:08 PM
Newbie
 
cellexjohn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Columbus, IN
Posts: 13
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
jdsmoothie,

Thanks for the response. I did as you suggested. Powered off and then unplugged for 15 minutes. Microprocessor reset 5 times in a row. No change.

I was researching the credit card adding a year and it appears that VISA adds up to a year to any warranty 3 yrs or under. So it's a VISA thing for anyone else in this boat. Going through the process with our CC company. I will need the the estimate to try the process. It appears that they cover AV pre/pros by the listings on the website. So we will see. This could be a bit of good luck Hopefully the process isn't too painful.

On a side note, I tried to use component video and it appears to not be working either.

I am listing to "Jazz at the Pawn Shop" on my Arcam CD player so audio still works via analog.

Thanks for the suggestion,
John

Marantz AV7005
B&K Reference 200.7 S2
Paradigm Studio v.4's
SVS Sub
BFD
cellexjohn is offline  
post #9730 of 9744 Old 07-21-2015, 11:20 AM
Newbie
 
dadsnave's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 10
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
LED -- is it ever green? AND Constant Power Cycling

Have refurb unit. Front panel LED (visible on left even with "door" closed) is either not on at all, or red when in passthrough.

Have searched manual and web and no mention of green for LED. Have noted it going green momentarily after memory/reset functions, but not other.

Unit started power cycling off and back on every 15-20 seconds last night. Before sending it in for repair, want to know if I should complain about LED too.

Thnx in advance...

P.S. Yes, I did the unplug/reset thing at least 10 time before giving up.
dadsnave is offline  
post #9731 of 9744 Old 07-21-2015, 11:27 AM
AVS Special Member
 
m. zillch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 4,946
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 581 Post(s)
Liked: 377
^.
Quote:
Originally Posted by m. zillch View Post

red= normal standby
orange= standby with HDMI control turned on or Network Standby turned on
green= firmware upgrade has completed
blinking= protection mode; there is some issue that may or may not resolve itself (like a shorted connection).

In A/V reproduction accuracy, there is no concept of "accounting for taste". We don't "pick" the level of bass, etc., any more than we pick the ending of a play. High fidelity means an unmodified, neutral, exact copy (or "reproduction") of the original artist's tonal balance, timing, dynamics, etc..
m. zillch is offline  
post #9732 of 9744 Old 07-21-2015, 11:27 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 53,704
Mentioned: 64 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5300 Post(s)
Liked: 2677
^^
Yes, of course, list any abnormal issues to include the LED when sending in for repair.

--------
2015 Denon AVR thread ----> http://www.avsforum.com/forum/90-rec...dcp-2-2-a.html

Think your AVR is defective? Check the Owner's manual and do a factory reset 4-5 times if necessary.
jdsmoothie is online now  
post #9733 of 9744 Old 07-22-2015, 09:36 AM
Newbie
 
dadsnave's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 10
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdsmoothie View Post
^^
Yes, of course, list any abnormal issues to include the LED when sending in for repair.

Thanks, but...

I was trying to determine what "normal" was since, other than in reference to component video connections, the word "green" appears nowhere in the entire manual.

Thanks to m. zillch, I now know I have no abnormal LED condition to report.

Also, the problem worsened overnight -- the unit now cycles on/off continuously -- even in standby/passthrough mode. As former electronic repair tech, my guess is bad power supply caps.

Someone at accessories for less suggested that if I told Marantz support that this was 2nd in a row defective refurb from them (unfortunately the issue on this 2nd unit didn't show up until 6 weeks after shipment) that Marantz might consider a replacement instead of a repair.

Anyone have any experience with either a problem of the nature I'm describing, or of Marantz doing such a thing?

Last edited by dadsnave; 07-22-2015 at 09:38 AM. Reason: fix typo
dadsnave is offline  
post #9734 of 9744 Old 07-25-2015, 10:45 AM
Newbie
 
cellexjohn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Columbus, IN
Posts: 13
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I took the 7005 to a repair shop. Video board is bad. They are sending the video board in to see if can be refurbished. I will know in a week. Estimate is around $500.

Visa is waiting for the repair price to move forward. Not sure what they do if it cant be replaced. Hopefully buy me a new one.

Will update with results.

Enjoy,
John

Marantz AV7005
B&K Reference 200.7 S2
Paradigm Studio v.4's
SVS Sub
BFD
cellexjohn is offline  
post #9735 of 9744 Old 07-31-2015, 08:53 PM
Newbie
 
dadsnave's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 10
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Marantz Replaced Refurb AV7005 with Refurb AV7702

Not kidding!

Got 2 problematic AV7005 refurbs in a row from a4l. (Yes, it's an aging model, but it had everything I NEEDED and price had dropped to more affordable price point.) 1st unit showed problem right away. Exchanged by seller. 2nd unit didn't show problem till 2 weeks past 30 day return mark.

Local (MI) Marantz warranty shop has lousy reputation. Called Marantz Customer Service and they told me to ship it to the shop that does all their factory repair in E Syracuse.

Didn't want to pay shipping costs or to wait for repair time turnaround. Called seller to ask if they'd consider courtesy extension of return policy. They said no, but suggested calling Marantz back and mention purchase was from them specifically and ask if anything could be done.

Called Marantz Customer Service back. Rep said he'd pass request to sales to see if they'd do anything. 2 days later was emailed pre-paid shipping label to return AV7005 and told as soon as drop-off was confirmed by shipping company that another refurb replacement unit would be cross-shipped.

Called Marantz again to ask if I should include all accessories. Was told to include them as new unit was not same model and would come with all accessories. Asked which model -- hoping for newer 7701...

Just received refurb AV7702 today! YAY!

Here's hoping I have better luck with this one that the first two...

For now... THANKS MARANTZ!

Last edited by dadsnave; 08-01-2015 at 05:09 AM. Reason: fix typo
dadsnave is offline  
post #9736 of 9744 Old 07-31-2015, 09:34 PM
AVS Special Member
 
m. zillch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 4,946
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 581 Post(s)
Liked: 377
Quote:
Originally Posted by dadsnave View Post
Got 2 problematic AV7005 refurbs in a row from a4l.
Out of curiosity was the same thing broken on both?

In A/V reproduction accuracy, there is no concept of "accounting for taste". We don't "pick" the level of bass, etc., any more than we pick the ending of a play. High fidelity means an unmodified, neutral, exact copy (or "reproduction") of the original artist's tonal balance, timing, dynamics, etc..
m. zillch is offline  
post #9737 of 9744 Old 08-01-2015, 05:09 AM
Newbie
 
dadsnave's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 10
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by m. zillch View Post
Out of curiosity was the same thing broken on both?
No.

#1 : Continuous crackling in one of the back channels -- even with volume all the way down.

#2 : Intermittently powering itself off and then back on. Increased in frequency until it was doing it every 10-20 seconds.
dadsnave is offline  
post #9738 of 9744 Old 08-08-2015, 05:45 AM
Newbie
 
cellexjohn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Columbus, IN
Posts: 13
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Got my AV7005 back from repair yesterday 8/7. The video chip was replaced. Got it set back up and all is good!

Repair bill was $450. I'm happy to have it back. 90 day warranty on repair.

I need to send the invoice to VISA to continue the repair process. Hopefully that works out.

Enjoy,
John

Marantz AV7005
B&K Reference 200.7 S2
Paradigm Studio v.4's
SVS Sub
BFD
cellexjohn is offline  
post #9739 of 9744 Old 08-13-2015, 10:42 AM
Newbie
 
cellexjohn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Columbus, IN
Posts: 13
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Update:

Visa approved the claim!

John

Marantz AV7005
B&K Reference 200.7 S2
Paradigm Studio v.4's
SVS Sub
BFD
cellexjohn is offline  
post #9740 of 9744 Old 08-13-2015, 11:00 AM
AVS Special Member
 
m. zillch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 4,946
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 581 Post(s)
Liked: 377
Good news! Glad your baby is fixed and there was no charge to you.

Video boards going bad seems to be a common occurrence on this unit. I'm glad mine seems fine.

In A/V reproduction accuracy, there is no concept of "accounting for taste". We don't "pick" the level of bass, etc., any more than we pick the ending of a play. High fidelity means an unmodified, neutral, exact copy (or "reproduction") of the original artist's tonal balance, timing, dynamics, etc..

Last edited by m. zillch; 08-13-2015 at 11:13 AM.
m. zillch is offline  
post #9741 of 9744 Old 08-23-2015, 06:58 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Arrow av7005 an upgrade comparing to sr6008?

Quick question here: I have the sr-6008 and only using it as pre/pro. (As i didn't think the unit had enough umff to power my b&w 604s and got a rotel to do that... the rotel makes the difference). I see some av7005 coming available second hand. Why is that and is it an upgrade for me?

Any feedback is welcome
Derkie is offline  
post #9742 of 9744 Old 08-23-2015, 07:04 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 53,704
Mentioned: 64 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5300 Post(s)
Liked: 2677
Quote:
Originally Posted by Derkie View Post
Quick question here: I have the sr-6008 and only using it as pre/pro. (As i didn't think the unit had enough umff to power my b&w 604s and got a rotel to do that... the rotel makes the difference). I see some av7005 coming available second hand. Why is that and is it an upgrade for me?

Any feedback is welcome
The AV7005 is 5 years old so no surprise it's available second hand, especially with newer Atmos/DTS:X and 4k models be released. Other than perhaps adding Zone 3 capability, the AV7005 would not be an upgrade over the newer SR6008 as they both use the same version of Audyssey MultEQ XT.

--------
2015 Denon AVR thread ----> http://www.avsforum.com/forum/90-rec...dcp-2-2-a.html

Think your AVR is defective? Check the Owner's manual and do a factory reset 4-5 times if necessary.
jdsmoothie is online now  
post #9743 of 9744 Old 08-23-2015, 08:16 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Talking

Yeah, i thought the same. Things in favour i can think of are powerconsumption, an extra display, but was also hoping soundquality and maybe a better internal cpu or something.
Things against it is maybe outdated software,upgradeissues etc. but if it does solid networkstreaming and arc i am fine.

I can lose the sr-6008 for 450E and buy the av7005 for maybe 500-600 so moneywise it isnt that big of a deal. Still in doubt. Leaning towards not doin it although i have the hots for that extra display. (totally aware of my upgradebug)
Derkie is offline  
post #9744 of 9744 Old 08-24-2015, 02:48 PM
Member
 
roadkill401's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Ontario Canada
Posts: 15
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Has anyone figured out how to get the update to work properly. I called up Marantz and they were as helpful as taking to a wall. Would not recognize that they have a problem and blame the "network" as being the issue. But without a solution to fix the network, and my internet is pretty darn good and reliable, what solution do I have. Is it a port issue. I can't take my receiver to another location as I don't really have one. is there something else to try??

Update:

Talked with a local service center and was told that the issue is that the DM860 ethernet controller chip in the unit is what is causing the issue. The problem is that you can't change the chip without replacing the main board on the unit and that was over $300. He suggested that I just get an AppleTV and use that to get the airplay streaming function. I guess I am back to getting my Linux box with Wine and FooBar2000 working again.

Last edited by roadkill401; 08-24-2015 at 03:08 PM.
roadkill401 is offline  
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors

Tags
Marantz Av7005 Pre Processor
Gear in this thread - Av7005 by PriceGrabber.com

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off