Marantz AV7005 - Page 328 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 54Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #9811 of 9823 Old 02-09-2017, 03:01 PM
Newbie
 
kt2730's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by jermar View Post
I was amazed to see a popup for new firmware today. It downloaded in about 5 min. Anyone know what this update does?
Since the latest software load my AV7005 turns on and off itself. Still trying fo find out what's wrong! Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Kris
fgsouza likes this.
kt2730 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #9812 of 9823 Old 02-09-2017, 06:51 PM
Member
 
WIN27's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 66
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by kt2730 View Post
Since the latest software load my AV7005 turns on and off itself. Still trying fo find out what's wrong! Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Kris
I was skeptical about installing it. I haven't noticed any changes but haven't really used it. I can't believe there's no info on what it supposedly fixed.
fgsouza likes this.
WIN27 is offline  
post #9813 of 9823 Old 02-09-2017, 07:23 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 70,514
Mentioned: 360 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 14623 Post(s)
Liked: 6959
Quote:
Originally Posted by jermar View Post
I was amazed to see a popup for new firmware today. It downloaded in about 5 min. Anyone know what this update does?
Fixed the inability to log on to Pandora.

http://marantz.custhelp.com/app/answ...tail/a_id/3943
jdsmoothie is online now  
 
post #9814 of 9823 Old 02-10-2017, 10:31 AM
Newbie
 
mactoast's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 12
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Thanks Smoothie, saved us some time! 1st update in years on the old girl.
schalliol likes this.
mactoast is offline  
post #9815 of 9823 Old 02-27-2017, 06:20 PM
Newbie
 
rayfes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: downtown Austin
Posts: 13
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Hooray on the pandora firmware update!

--Rayfes
rayfes is offline  
post #9816 of 9823 Old 05-19-2017, 06:36 PM
Senior Member
 
jbauer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: San Francisco, CA
Posts: 237
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 61 Post(s)
Liked: 35
Hi All,

Well, after many many years of great performance by my AV7005, a few days ago - my right front channel became very static-y.

I factory reset my AV7005 and that didn't help. I also switched the front left speaker with the right, and it's definitely that channel that's problematic. I am not quite sure if it's my AV7005 or the MM9000 that it's plugged into. I need to do some cable swapping to see if the MM9000 is to blame.

Not sure what happened, but I'm pretty sure it would cost a lot to fix. :-(

Anyone have any advice or other tests before I resort to a repair shop?

- Thanx
- Jon

Last edited by jbauer; 05-19-2017 at 06:39 PM.
jbauer is offline  
post #9817 of 9823 Old 05-20-2017, 02:59 AM
Member
 
WIN27's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 66
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by jbauer View Post
Hi All,

Well, after many many years of great performance by my AV7005, a few days ago - my right front channel became very static-y.

I factory reset my AV7005 and that didn't help. I also switched the front left speaker with the right, and it's definitely that channel that's problematic. I am not quite sure if it's my AV7005 or the MM9000 that it's plugged into. I need to do some cable swapping to see if the MM9000 is to blame.

Not sure what happened, but I'm pretty sure it would cost a lot to fix. :-(

Anyone have any advice or other tests before I resort to a repair shop?

- Thanx
- Jon
Hopefully it's just a bad cable. Switch the bad speaker input (interconnects coming from preamp) on the back of the amp with a good one. If the problem is still in the same channel, then it's the amp. Switch speaker wire to rule that out as well. If it changes with the cables, try to change it with another one. If the problem follows the cable, replace it. If not, the problem is the preamp. Once we narrow it down, we can try to troubleshoot further. Best of luck
WIN27 is offline  
post #9818 of 9823 Old 05-20-2017, 06:51 AM
Senior Member
 
jbauer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: San Francisco, CA
Posts: 237
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 61 Post(s)
Liked: 35
Quote:
Originally Posted by WIN27 View Post
Hopefully it's just a bad cable. Switch the bad speaker input (interconnects coming from preamp) on the back of the amp with a good one. If the problem is still in the same channel, then it's the amp. Switch speaker wire to rule that out as well. If it changes with the cables, try to change it with another one. If the problem follows the cable, replace it. If not, the problem is the preamp. Once we narrow it down, we can try to troubleshoot further. Best of luck
Thanks for the note.

This morning, I determined that it's definitely the AV7005. I moved the cable that was feeding my front left to the front right on the AV7005, and the static stayed on the same channel.

Ok, so other than bringing it to a shop, any other ideas for things I might be able to do?

- Jon
jbauer is offline  
post #9819 of 9823 Old 05-20-2017, 01:41 PM
Member
 
WIN27's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 66
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by jbauer View Post
Thanks for the note.

This morning, I determined that it's definitely the AV7005. I moved the cable that was feeding my front left to the front right on the AV7005, and the static stayed on the same channel.

Ok, so other than bringing it to a shop, any other ideas for things I might be able to do?

- Jon
How did you move the cable? If it didn't change I would suspect the amp.
WIN27 is offline  
post #9820 of 9823 Old 05-20-2017, 01:45 PM
Senior Member
 
jbauer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: San Francisco, CA
Posts: 237
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 61 Post(s)
Liked: 35
Quote:
Originally Posted by WIN27 View Post
How did you move the cable? If it didn't change I would suspect the amp.
I tried replacing the cable from the MM to the AV (the right front cable) with a whole new one - same static.

Then, I plugged the cable that was going to the left front channel on the AV into the right front channel on the AV, and I still had the static.

That points to an issue on the AV, right?

- Jon
jbauer is offline  
post #9821 of 9823 Old 08-10-2017, 02:09 PM
Member
 
bvaneman's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 80
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Help with Marantz Pre/Pro

Hello everyone. I have a Marantz Preamp AV7005 which is probably 6-7 years old (somewhere around there anyways). For the past several months, out of the blue if I'm using it (listening to two channel audio or watching a movie), it will shut it self off, and then immediately turn itself back on. It will then repeat this process over and over again until you physically push the power button to turn it off manually. Volume doesn't seem to make a difference either whether loud or soft. Currently the only connected components are two Emotiva amplifiers, wired network (RJ-45), HDMI blu-ray, HDMI Roku, and HDMI out to my projector. This unit is plugged into a Furman Elite-15 which is plugged into a dedicated 20amp run to my breaker.

If I unplug it and let it sit for a few days, sometimes it will go weeks before this problem presents itself again.

Any thoughts on what to do? It's obviously out of warranty at this point and I don't want to spend a ton of money shipping it to a repair center.

I'm sure my fiance' won't be thrilled at the idea of buying an equivalent replacement with a wedding around the corner either.......lol

Thanks in advance for any advice!

"That reminds me Marty, you might not want to hook up to the amplifier; there's a slight possibility of overload." - Doc
bvaneman is offline  
post #9822 of 9823 Old 08-12-2017, 07:59 AM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
Kabillyhop's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: True North
Posts: 659
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 14
AV7005 DACs

Also posted in the Chromecast Audio thread.

I have been using a few of these devices to provide whole house audio for a year or so. A few months back I switched two of them from analog audio to digital audio out. One is connected to a Marantz AV 7005, an AV processor from 5 or 6 years ago. The AV 7005 can handle digital audio files up to 96 KHz. It cannot play 192 KHz 24 bit files. The Chromecast Audio device can play the 192 KHz files, and outputs PCM audio to the AV 7705. I was surprised that in this configuration the 192 KHz files can be played through the AV 7005.

What is going on here? Does the 96 KHz limit in the AV 7005 only apply to decoding the FLAC files and the DAC's can actually handle 192 KHz PCM? Or is the Chromecast Audio device downconverting the 192 KHz files to 96K PCM (or less) output?

I've tried to find specs on the Chromecast Audio devices, but can't find this level of detail.

Can any of you shed any light on this?

Thanks!

The bitterness of poor quality lingers long after the sweetness of low price has passed.
Kabillyhop is offline  
post #9823 of 9823 Old 08-12-2017, 04:10 PM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
Kabillyhop's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: True North
Posts: 659
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kabillyhop View Post
Also posted in the Chromecast Audio thread.

I have been using a few of these devices to provide whole house audio for a year or so. A few months back I switched two of them from analog audio to digital audio out. One is connected to a Marantz AV 7005, an AV processor from 5 or 6 years ago. The AV 7005 can handle digital audio files up to 96 KHz. It cannot play 192 KHz 24 bit files. The Chromecast Audio device can play the 192 KHz files, and outputs PCM audio to the AV 7705. I was surprised that in this configuration the 192 KHz files can be played through the AV 7005.

What is going on here? Does the 96 KHz limit in the AV 7005 only apply to decoding the FLAC files and the DAC's can actually handle 192 KHz PCM? Or is the Chromecast Audio device downconverting the 192 KHz files to 96K PCM (or less) output?

I've tried to find specs on the Chromecast Audio devices, but can't find this level of detail.

Can any of you shed any light on this?

Thanks!
I was able to confirm on a new receiver that the Chromecast Audio optical out downconverts to 96KHZ PCM.

The bitterness of poor quality lingers long after the sweetness of low price has passed.
Kabillyhop is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors

Tags
Marantz Av7005 Pre Processor

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off