Marantz AV7005 - Page 4 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #91 of 9658 Old 09-04-2010, 09:33 PM
Newbie
 
geokat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
The European Marantz page lists the AV7005 with a picture of the rear panel.

Can not post a the URL.
Go to Marantz.eu and look under products, Home Theatre, AV-Amplifer, AV7005
geokat is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #92 of 9658 Old 09-05-2010, 12:47 AM
Member
 
timkeeler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Kenmore. WA
Posts: 91
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by geokat View Post

The European Marantz page lists the AV7005 with a picture of the rear panel.

Can not post a the URL.
Go to Marantz.eu and look under products, Home Theatre, AV-Amplifer, AV7005

Thanks for the tip! Here is the rear panel picture:



Looks like the specs from the site are more accurate too, such as 85W power consumption...

http://www.marantz.eu/en/products/273/av7005/

timkeeler is offline  
post #93 of 9658 Old 09-05-2010, 09:32 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Stereodude's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Detroit Metro Area
Posts: 9,955
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 526 Post(s)
Liked: 549
Made in Japan too!
Stereodude is offline  
post #94 of 9658 Old 09-05-2010, 10:21 AM
Senior Member
 
Rick88's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Horseheads, NY
Posts: 283
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
It doesn't matter to me, but I see that there is no support for XM or Sirius Satellite radio. Are manufacturers starting to omit this feature on newer models?

"Life is one grand, sweet song, so start the music." ~ Ronald Reagan

"If you don't know the blues... there's no point in picking up the guitar and playing rock and roll or any other form of popular music." ~ Keith Richards
Rick88 is offline  
post #95 of 9658 Old 09-05-2010, 10:41 AM
AVS Special Member
 
SnellKrell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Upper East Side - Manhattan
Posts: 2,146
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I would think that certain features are ommitted omitted to bring in a new product at a certain price point.

Marantz has also excluded DSD decoding and "S" Video connections. Although I wanted them, I will still buy this unt.
SnellKrell is offline  
post #96 of 9658 Old 09-05-2010, 10:53 AM
Senior Member
 
Rick88's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Horseheads, NY
Posts: 283
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I am thinking about purchasing this unit myself. The lack of DSD decoding *could* be the deal breaker for me though.

"Life is one grand, sweet song, so start the music." ~ Ronald Reagan

"If you don't know the blues... there's no point in picking up the guitar and playing rock and roll or any other form of popular music." ~ Keith Richards
Rick88 is offline  
post #97 of 9658 Old 09-05-2010, 11:28 AM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
Kabillyhop's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: True North Strong and Free
Posts: 692
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
The spec sheet wouldn't draw attention to all the missing features unless there is a higher end model coming that has those features. I'm waiting for that one.

The bitterness of poor quality lingers long after the sweetness of low price has passed.
Kabillyhop is offline  
post #98 of 9658 Old 09-05-2010, 11:29 AM
Advanced Member
 
Blindamood's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: South Florida
Posts: 708
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rick88 View Post

It doesn't matter to me, but I see that there is no support for XM or Sirius Satellite radio. Are manufacturers starting to omit this feature on newer models?

Would the European model have this? I do see a similar-looking port in the upper-left, but I'm not sure what it is. The SR7005 has Sirius, so I would still expect this one would, too....guess we'll see.

Brad
Blindamood is offline  
post #99 of 9658 Old 09-05-2010, 11:57 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Stereodude's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Detroit Metro Area
Posts: 9,955
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 526 Post(s)
Liked: 549
So it doesn't have Audyssey MultEQ XT32... But, is it Pro Capable / Installer Ready?

FWIW, Audyssey says the SR7005 is pro capable, so it seems likely the AV7005 will be...
Stereodude is offline  
post #100 of 9658 Old 09-05-2010, 01:54 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Warpdrv's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 7,350
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Yes, the AV7005 will have Audyssey XT, upgradable to Pro.....

I'm liking that it doesn't have too many frilly extra options which I dont need or want... I'm going to grab one for sure when they come out...


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

Warpdrv is offline  
post #101 of 9658 Old 09-05-2010, 10:30 PM
Member
 
jedrgy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 77
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Here is my question... How many of the audio outs can be active at once? I'm not sure I'll ever use more than a 7.1 setup in my theater room, however, I want to add automation one day. I think it is controllable over IP at least the sr7005 is and I might want to run 7.1 and another zone at the same time.
jedrgy is offline  
post #102 of 9658 Old 09-06-2010, 01:39 PM
Advanced Member
 
ravenous's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Northern Germany
Posts: 508
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rick88 View Post

It doesn't matter to me, but I see that there is no support for XM or Sirius Satellite radio. Are manufacturers starting to omit this feature on newer models?

There is no XM or Sirius in Europe. So the Denon Receivers are missing the features here also.

The socket in the upper left is for the optional Bluetooth module.

HD-EP35 & PS3 & (soon to be) Regionfree Oppo BD-93. 148 : 481
ravenous is offline  
post #103 of 9658 Old 09-06-2010, 02:33 PM
Senior Member
 
Rick88's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Horseheads, NY
Posts: 283
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by ravenous View Post

There is no XM or Sirius in Europe. So the Denon Receivers are missing the features here also.

The socket in the upper left is for the optional Bluetooth module.

So the US version may have Satellite radio support? That's probably good news for some people here.

Like I said, the lack of DSD could be a dealbreaker for me. My $700 Pioneer Elite VSX-23TXH that I use for a pre/pro has it, and I'm not sure I can get past a $1500 unit not having it. I'm waiting to check the Marantz out when it comes out though.

"Life is one grand, sweet song, so start the music." ~ Ronald Reagan

"If you don't know the blues... there's no point in picking up the guitar and playing rock and roll or any other form of popular music." ~ Keith Richards
Rick88 is offline  
post #104 of 9658 Old 09-06-2010, 06:26 PM
Member
 
msilverz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 194
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Given that most players that can output DSD can also output high resolution PCM, and given that any prepro will have to convert DSD to PCM in order to apply bass management and room EQ, why is it such a big deal that the Marantz can't decode DSD?

Matty
msilverz is offline  
post #105 of 9658 Old 09-06-2010, 06:53 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Kal Rubinson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: NYC + Connecticut
Posts: 28,459
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 78 Post(s)
Liked: 134
Quote:
Originally Posted by msilverz View Post

Given that most players that can output DSD can also output high resolution PCM, and given that any prepro will have to convert DSD to PCM in order to apply bass management and room EQ, why is it such a big deal that the Marantz can't decode DSD?
Matty

Agreed.

Kal Rubinson

"Music in the Round"
Senior Contributing Editor, Stereophile

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

Kal Rubinson is offline  
post #106 of 9658 Old 09-06-2010, 07:58 PM
Member
 
jedrgy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 77
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by msilverz View Post

Given that most players that can output DSD can also output high resolution PCM, and given that any prepro will have to convert DSD to PCM in order to apply bass management and room EQ, why is it such a big deal that the Marantz can't decode DSD?

Matty

Second that..
jedrgy is offline  
post #107 of 9658 Old 09-08-2010, 07:25 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Legairre's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Posts: 4,786
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11 Post(s)
Liked: 58
AV7005 is now on the US Marantz site with user manua,l and images of the front, back etc... http://us.marantz.com/Products/2290.asp

"What do you mean it's too loud? My ears aren't even bleeding yet!"

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Legairre is offline  
post #108 of 9658 Old 09-08-2010, 07:27 AM
AVS Special Member
 
SnellKrell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Upper East Side - Manhattan
Posts: 2,146
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Including a link to the "User Guide" manual.
SnellKrell is offline  
post #109 of 9658 Old 09-08-2010, 07:47 AM
Advanced Member
 
Blindamood's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: South Florida
Posts: 708
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by SnellKrell View Post

Including a link to the "User Guide" manual.

Yeah, all 26+ MB of it!

Brad
Blindamood is offline  
post #110 of 9658 Old 09-08-2010, 07:58 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Legairre's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Posts: 4,786
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11 Post(s)
Liked: 58
According to the "Note" at the bottom of page 48, we have to choose between either surround backs, front height or wide and can't do surrounds back with height or wide. Well at least we can connect all 11.2 speakers and switch between surround back, front height or wide on the fly though.

Darn looks like it also won't output to HDMI 1 and 2 at the same time either.

"What do you mean it's too loud? My ears aren't even bleeding yet!"

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Legairre is offline  
post #111 of 9658 Old 09-08-2010, 08:02 AM
Advanced Member
 
Smackrabbit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Portland, OR, USA
Posts: 893
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 30
It also looks like there aren't individual delay and level adjustments for each subwoofer output. I wasn't really expecting there to be, but I was hoping for that.

Chris Heinonen
Senior Editor, Secrets of Home Theater and High Fidelity,
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

Displays Editor,
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

Contributor,
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
and
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

ISF Level II Certified Calibrator,
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Smackrabbit is offline  
post #112 of 9658 Old 09-08-2010, 08:16 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Stereodude's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Detroit Metro Area
Posts: 9,955
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 526 Post(s)
Liked: 549
So do I understand the manual correctly that the AV7005 can't do 9.2 or 11.2 and will only output 7.1 at any given time though you can pick which channel (surround back, front height, or front wide) are used in the 7.1?

It also appears there is only 1 subwoofer distance setting.
Stereodude is offline  
post #113 of 9658 Old 09-08-2010, 08:18 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Legairre's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Posts: 4,786
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11 Post(s)
Liked: 58
I'M trying to decide between the AV7005 and the Integra 40.2. feature wise the 40.2 can connect 9.2 at once and the AV7005 11.2(balanced outputs is nice since my amp has them). So these are a plus for the AV7005.

The 40.2 does simultaneous output over HDMI 1 & 2 and has crossover setting in increments of 5 Hz starting at 40Hz while the AV7005 doesn't do simultaneous HDMI output and has crossover setting in increments of 20Hz starting at 40Hz so these are a plus for the 40.2.

I'll have to see what other features one has the other doesn't, but sound wise I can't say because I have heard either yet.

"What do you mean it's too loud? My ears aren't even bleeding yet!"

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Legairre is offline  
post #114 of 9658 Old 09-08-2010, 08:18 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Legairre's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Posts: 4,786
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11 Post(s)
Liked: 58
Quote:
Originally Posted by Stereodude View Post

So do I understand the manual correctly that the AV7005 can't do 9.2 or 11.2 and will only output 7.2 at any given time though you can pick which channel (surround back, front height, or front wide) are used in the 7.2?

Yes that is correct.

"What do you mean it's too loud? My ears aren't even bleeding yet!"

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Legairre is offline  
post #115 of 9658 Old 09-08-2010, 09:18 AM
EJD
Member
 
EJD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Oregon
Posts: 113
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
From what I can gather, the only way this differs from the SR7005 receiver is the addition of the balanced outputs (and obviously the lack of an internal amplifier).

Am I missing anything else?
Is it reasonable to assume that's the only thing that will differentiate the two pieces?
EJD is offline  
post #116 of 9658 Old 09-08-2010, 09:29 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Legairre's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Posts: 4,786
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11 Post(s)
Liked: 58
Also AV7005 has 11.2 pre outs and SR7005 has 7.2 pre outs. Only matters if you want to be able to switch from surround back, front height or front wide speakers on the fly.

"What do you mean it's too loud? My ears aren't even bleeding yet!"

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Legairre is offline  
post #117 of 9658 Old 09-08-2010, 09:32 AM
EJD
Member
 
EJD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Oregon
Posts: 113
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I'm interested in the 7005's FLAC playback ability via network or attached USB - however:

In describing playback from USB memory device (pg28), the manual states "when an MP3 file includes album art data, the album art can be displayed while playing the file"

In describing network audio (pg34), the manual states "when a WMA(Windows Media Audio), MP3, or MPEG-4 AAC file includes album art data, the album art can be displayed while playing the file"

It sounds like one will be out of luck if they want to display the album art from their FLACs. This would be my first networkable/USB capable receiver - is this lack of album art support for FLAC typical of other receivers as well?
EJD is offline  
post #118 of 9658 Old 09-08-2010, 11:47 AM
Advanced Member
 
Smackrabbit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Portland, OR, USA
Posts: 893
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 30
I believe with the AV8003, the Marantz just looked for the folder.jpg image in the folder with the album that you were playing. I recall it had an issue where it would also display a folder.png file, but with incorrect colors (the cover of Wilco's Yankee Hotel Foxtrot was blue on my display). Perhaps it doesn't support embedded artwork in the file, but only the folder artwork. How the AV8003 works is from memory, however, and I could easily be confused, but I hope the AV7005 can at least support that.

Chris Heinonen
Senior Editor, Secrets of Home Theater and High Fidelity,
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

Displays Editor,
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

Contributor,
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
and
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

ISF Level II Certified Calibrator,
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Smackrabbit is offline  
post #119 of 9658 Old 09-08-2010, 11:53 AM
AVS Special Member
 
SnellKrell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Upper East Side - Manhattan
Posts: 2,146
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
The AV7005 supports HDMI 1.4a which has ARC - Audio Return Channel function.
This will only work if the HDTV supports ARC.

Am I correct in assuming that only the latest TVs will be able to use this?

Thanks!
SnellKrell is offline  
post #120 of 9658 Old 09-08-2010, 11:57 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Legairre's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Posts: 4,786
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11 Post(s)
Liked: 58
Anyone know if the AV7005 can apply Audyssey with hi res audio codecs like DTS-HD MA and TrueHD? I've read that previous Marantz gear could not.

"What do you mean it's too loud? My ears aren't even bleeding yet!"

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Legairre is offline  
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors

Tags
Marantz Av7005 Pre Processor
Gear in this thread - Av7005 by PriceGrabber.com

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off