Marantz AV7005 - Page 5 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #121 of 9688 Old 09-08-2010, 02:42 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Legairre's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Posts: 4,831
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 25 Post(s)
Liked: 70
Per the chart on page 105, it looks like you can overlay Audyssey with bitstreamed TrueHD and DTS-HD MA as long as it's not more than 96kHz. Since there are only 3 titles over 96kHz, this shouldn't be a problem for people who can only bitstream blu-rays.

"What do you mean it's too loud? My ears aren't even bleeding yet!"

Legairre is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #122 of 9688 Old 09-08-2010, 03:07 PM
Advanced Member
 
Smackrabbit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Portland, OR, USA
Posts: 895
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 32
Quote:
Originally Posted by SnellKrell View Post

The AV7005 supports HDMI 1.4a which has ARC - Audio Return Channel function.
This will only work if the HDTV supports ARC.

Am I correct in assuming that only the latest TVs will be able to use this?

Thanks!

Yes, you would need to have a recent TV with HDMI 1.4 that also supports Audio Return Channel (it's not a required spec, just like Ethernet over HDMI is in HDMI 1.4, but not required), and then that device has to be hooked up to the HDMI 1 output on the AV7005, as the HDMI 2 output does not support ARC.

Chris Heinonen
Senior Editor, Secrets of Home Theater and High Fidelity, www.hometheaterhifi.com
Displays Editor, AnandTech.com
Contributor, HDGuru.com and Wirecutter.com
ISF Level II Certified Calibrator, ReferenceHomeTheater.com
Smackrabbit is offline  
post #123 of 9688 Old 09-08-2010, 03:11 PM
AVS Special Member
 
SnellKrell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Upper East Side - Manhattan
Posts: 2,146
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Thanks, my old glass optical cable will be used once more!

SnellKrell
SnellKrell is offline  
post #124 of 9688 Old 09-09-2010, 11:58 AM
Advanced Member
 
Blindamood's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: South Florida
Posts: 708
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by Legairre View Post

AV7005 is now on the US Marantz site with user manua,l and images of the front, back etc... http://us.marantz.com/Products/2290.asp

Funny...it WAS there yesterday (along with the new amps), but now it's gone!

Brad
Blindamood is offline  
post #125 of 9688 Old 09-09-2010, 12:03 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Legairre's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Posts: 4,831
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 25 Post(s)
Liked: 70
Quote:
Originally Posted by Blindamood View Post

Funny...it WAS there yesterday (along with the new amps), but now it's gone!

For some reason they took the AV7005 off their site, but the user manual is in the same place: http://us.marantz.com/AV7005_U_EN_UG_v00.pdf

"What do you mean it's too loud? My ears aren't even bleeding yet!"

Legairre is online now  
post #126 of 9688 Old 09-09-2010, 12:24 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Legairre's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Posts: 4,831
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 25 Post(s)
Liked: 70
Looks like they took it off the "separates" page, but you can still get to the page directly. http://us.marantz.com/Products/3255.asp

"What do you mean it's too loud? My ears aren't even bleeding yet!"

Legairre is online now  
post #127 of 9688 Old 09-10-2010, 06:55 AM
AVS Special Member
 
gurkey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 2,757
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 22
Why should they being of almost identical origin ?


[quote=Bill Mac;19040480]
Quote:
Originally Posted by jedrgy View Post


Thats interesting, I wonder when Marantz will make it official?



Unless the dealer is very knowledgable in all aspects (internal components etc.) of the new Denon AVRs, the new Marantz AVRs and the not yet released AV7005 I would not take his opinion as a definite. I hope he is correct and the new Marantz AVRs and the AV7005 have better internal components (DACs and analog stage) than those of the Denons.

Bill

gurkey is offline  
post #128 of 9688 Old 09-10-2010, 07:31 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Bill Mac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 11,603
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 181 Post(s)
Liked: 503
Quote:
Originally Posted by gurkey View Post

Why should they being of almost identical origin ?

That looks like my post so my thoughts are that many in the past when discussing Marantz AVR/prepros commented that the analog section was of better quality than other companies offerings.

So I was hoping that was still true if not then if a comparable AVR from Denon that might cost less might be a better choice. It is similar to the debate that the Integra 9.8/9.9 had better internal components than the Onkyo 885/886. Forum member alanl715 who is an authorized dealer of both and has a repair facility indicated that many internal part numbers were the same.

So it would be interesting to see if comparably priced Denon and Marantz AVRs have the same internal components or do they differ slightly.

Bill

My SACD collection, watch it grow and my wallet shrink ;-).

 

Denon 4311 (in preamp mode), Parasound 2100, Boston Acoustics A7200 amp, Oppo BDP-103, Consonance CD120, Panasonic TC-P60GT50 plasma, Panamax 5100EX, Salk Song Towers, Song Center, ADS 300C (surrounds) and two Rythmik F12SEs.
Bill Mac is offline  
post #129 of 9688 Old 09-10-2010, 08:52 AM
AVS Special Member
 
DonH50's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Monument CO
Posts: 6,385
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 276 Post(s)
Liked: 305
Interesting that the Denon 3311 ($1200) has XT, the 4311 ($2k) XT32. I had decided on an Integra DHC-80.2, but a number of comments have me looking at the Marantz line again, and now Denon. XT32 adds quite a bit of power to the room EQ so I was really hoping for that. Like many others, the lack of it in the 7005 is a bummer for me.

Guess I'll wait a bit and see what shakes out. - Don

"After silence, that which best expresses the inexpressible, is music" - Aldous Huxley
DonH50 is offline  
post #130 of 9688 Old 09-13-2010, 02:00 PM
Senior Member
 
Jon SS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 468
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Been reading the manual, am I right in assuming that if you use the video upconversion feature it works on all HDMI inputs vs setting so it only upconverts some inputs and not others. I want to use it to upconvert DVD player only (not my blu-ray player).

Thanks
Jon SS is offline  
post #131 of 9688 Old 09-15-2010, 08:36 AM
TRT
AVS Special Member
 
TRT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 1,351
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rick88 View Post

I am thinking about purchasing this unit myself. The lack of DSD decoding *could* be the deal breaker for me though.

IS a deal breaker. This is one of the few technologies they actually got to work correctly!
TRT is offline  
post #132 of 9688 Old 09-15-2010, 08:53 AM
AVS Special Member
 
SnellKrell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Upper East Side - Manhattan
Posts: 2,146
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by TRT View Post

IS a deal breaker. This is one of the few technologies they actually got to work correctly!

I had felt the same way until I looked at the many posts on the Oppo DSD thread.

It appears that many cannot discern the difference between DSD going directly to receiver/processor from when it's converted to PCM.

With that in mind, I've ordered the AV7005 and awaiting its release.
SnellKrell is offline  
post #133 of 9688 Old 09-15-2010, 08:54 AM
Member
 
Mandrake2003's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: New Hampshire, USA
Posts: 91
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by SnellKrell View Post

I've ordered the AV7005 and awaiting its release.

Ordered from who? How?
Mandrake2003 is offline  
post #134 of 9688 Old 09-15-2010, 09:02 AM
TRT
AVS Special Member
 
TRT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 1,351
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by SnellKrell View Post

I had felt the same way until I looked at the many posts on the Oppo DSD thread.

It appears that many cannot discern the difference between DSD going directly to receiver/processor from when it's converted to PCM.

With that in mind, I've ordered the AV7005 and awaiting its release.

I've listenned to SACD's from my PS3 via LPCM and CX777ES via DSD. I can't tell the difference. It does strike me as odd that this product has no support for DSD, yet fully supports VCR's. Not one mention in the manual! Very strange?????
TRT is offline  
post #135 of 9688 Old 09-15-2010, 09:17 AM
AVS Special Member
 
SnellKrell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Upper East Side - Manhattan
Posts: 2,146
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I would imagine that there would be additional expenses involved in direct DSD, not only hardware but licensing fees.

The only logicial reason I can see for the VCR,HDMI connection is that almost the only way to buy a VCR today is in combination with a DVD - therefore, the justification for the VCR/HDMI.
SnellKrell is offline  
post #136 of 9688 Old 09-15-2010, 09:49 AM
TRT
AVS Special Member
 
TRT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 1,351
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
I just talked with a Marantz rep in N.J. Marantz will no longer support DSD because "the new industry standard" mandates that players internally convert DSD signals into a LPCM output (such as the original PS3). This probably won't fly with purist. Purist (like myself) are not too impressed by the HDMI revolution anyway!

I have audio dropouts with bitsteaming the newer CODEC's. When I use older technology and analog in/outs or 75ohm/optical digital outs---no problems. Frankly, even though I've spent a fortune, I'm ready to can all of my HDMI connections and return to last decades technologies. At least they work without audio dropouts, popping sounds and handshake issues. Seeing DTS-HD MASTER on the information window is meaningless if the sound reproduction is intermittent. And yes; I've tried internal decoding and output via HDMI, too. Not much better! The HDMI may be required to pass 1080P to a display, but the audio transmissions of hi-rez CODEC's are a joke. No wonder high-end companies have blown off this technology. It works sometimes???? Trying to sell a 30K+ pre-pro that has audio droputs???? No, sir!

Edit: In all fairness, I have never had issues with SACD playback via HDMI. It's the movies on some of my BD's, hi-rez video games and SAT TV. That equates to 75% of my activities in front of the TV. Not good!
TRT is offline  
post #137 of 9688 Old 09-15-2010, 09:58 AM
Member
 
msilverz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 194
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Let me ask again: given that most players which output DSD will also output PCM, and given that the AV7005 would have to convert DSD to PCM in order to apply bass management and room EQ, why is the lack of DSD decoding a big deal?

Matty
msilverz is offline  
post #138 of 9688 Old 09-15-2010, 10:32 AM
AVS Special Member
 
mrjktcvs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 1,432
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by msilverz View Post

Let me ask again: given that most players which output DSD will also output PCM, and given that the AV7005 would have to convert DSD to PCM in order to apply bass management and room EQ, why is the lack of DSD decoding a big deal?

Matty

Check out this link....

http://www.hydrogenaudio.org/forums/...hp/t37717.html
mrjktcvs is offline  
post #139 of 9688 Old 09-15-2010, 11:49 AM
Member
 
msilverz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 194
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by mrjktcvs View Post

Check out this link....

http://www.hydrogenaudio.org/forums/...hp/t37717.html

This does not answer my question.

Matty
msilverz is offline  
post #140 of 9688 Old 09-15-2010, 01:14 PM
AVS Special Member
 
cmryan821's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: New Orleans, LA
Posts: 1,086
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 37 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by TRT View Post

No wonder high-end companies have blown off this technology. It works sometimes???? Trying to sell a 30K+ pre-pro that has audio droputs???? No, sir!

Do you really think this is why the high-end companies have given up, or do think it may have something to do these companies not having the resources to devote and/or know-how to get hdmi equipped prepros done correctly? Seems much more profitable to go with simpler tech with no additional r&d to eat up funds. Then again maybe I'm totally off. Just a thought.
cmryan821 is offline  
post #141 of 9688 Old 09-15-2010, 02:43 PM
AVS Special Member
 
mrjktcvs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 1,432
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by msilverz View Post

This does not answer my question.

Matty

Well, if it doesn't, your use of the phrase "most players" instead of "all players" should answer itself.

What I gleened from that page is that not all DSD to LPCM conversions result in the same digital output -- it is implementation-specific.
mrjktcvs is offline  
post #142 of 9688 Old 09-15-2010, 02:44 PM
AVS Special Member
 
graphicguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Ohio Valley
Posts: 3,646
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by msilverz View Post

Let me ask again: given that most players which output DSD will also output PCM, and given that the AV7005 would have to convert DSD to PCM in order to apply bass management and room EQ, why is the lack of DSD decoding a big deal?

Matty

It isn't a big deal!

Music so high you can't get over it....music so low you can't get under it!
graphicguy is offline  
post #143 of 9688 Old 09-15-2010, 02:52 PM
Senior Member
 
the_phew's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 307
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I'm more concerned about the lack of Audyssey MultiEQ XT32 on this unit than DSD decoding. For a similar street price, the Onkyo SC-PR5508 will offer everything the Marantz has, plus the new Audyssey with 32 times as many filters.

I'm starting to think that room correction is the single most important thing a pre/pro does (at least in terms of audible improvement per $ spent), and I can't imagine paying $1.5k and not getting state-of-the-art room correction.
the_phew is offline  
post #144 of 9688 Old 09-15-2010, 03:03 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Kevin R. Anderson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: Salt Lake City, UT
Posts: 1,341
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I agree that the absence of MultiEQ XT32 is surprising if this is to be their "flagship" processor. Hopefully Marantz is working to get that feature included before the release date.

ISF Certified
Kevin R. Anderson is offline  
post #145 of 9688 Old 09-15-2010, 03:10 PM
Advanced Member
 
Smackrabbit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Portland, OR, USA
Posts: 895
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 32
Quote:
Originally Posted by the_phew View Post

I'm more concerned about the lack of Audyssey MultiEQ XT32 on this unit than DSD decoding. For a similar street price, the Onkyo SC-PR5508 will offer everything the Marantz has, plus the new Audyssey with 32 times as many filters.

I'm starting to think that room correction is the single most important thing a pre/pro does (at least in terms of audible improvement per $ spent), and I can't imagine paying $1.5k and not getting state-of-the-art room correction.

Well, as a quick note, the Marantz does have the option to have someone with an Audyssey Pro kit come and do a full room measurements and individually adjust the filters, there the Onkyo does not have the Audyssey Pro option. It's something that most people aren't going to use, but one that is supposed to make a large difference if you have it done.

Chris Heinonen
Senior Editor, Secrets of Home Theater and High Fidelity, www.hometheaterhifi.com
Displays Editor, AnandTech.com
Contributor, HDGuru.com and Wirecutter.com
ISF Level II Certified Calibrator, ReferenceHomeTheater.com
Smackrabbit is offline  
post #146 of 9688 Old 09-15-2010, 03:27 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Stereodude's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Detroit Metro Area
Posts: 10,136
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 666 Post(s)
Liked: 633
Quote:
Originally Posted by the_phew View Post

I'm more concerned about the lack of Audyssey MultiEQ XT32 on this unit than DSD decoding. For a similar street price, the Onkyo SC-PR5508 will offer everything the Marantz has, plus the new Audyssey with 32 times as many filters.

Isn't it 32x the resolution for the filters, not that it has 32x as many filters?
Stereodude is offline  
post #147 of 9688 Old 09-15-2010, 03:28 PM
Senior Member
 
Rick88's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Horseheads, NY
Posts: 283
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Alright, after studying up more on the whole DSD/PCM topic, I realize it is nothing to fret about. However I recently discovered something strange.

I have the Oppo BDP-83 hooked up to a Pioneer Elite VSX-23TXH receiver (used as a pre/pro) via HDMI. I hadn't listened to any SACD's for a few months until last week. The front panel display on the Elite reads "SACD" when playing a disc. I swear it used to read DSD. I downloaded the latest firmware update for the Oppo sometime in June. Could the firmware possibly have changed anything here? When I hit the "status" button on the Elite remote it reads "DSD->PCM" and a sampling rate of 88.2khz.

I am not worried about it or anything as it still sounds great, it just seems odd to me.

"Life is one grand, sweet song, so start the music." ~ Ronald Reagan

"If you don't know the blues... there's no point in picking up the guitar and playing rock and roll or any other form of popular music." ~ Keith Richards
Rick88 is offline  
post #148 of 9688 Old 09-15-2010, 03:40 PM
AVS Special Member
 
mrjktcvs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 1,432
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mandrake2003 View Post

Ordered from who? How?

http://www.wildwestelectronics.net/m...e-theater.html
mrjktcvs is offline  
post #149 of 9688 Old 09-15-2010, 03:44 PM
Advanced Member
 
Yves Smolders's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Belgium
Posts: 657
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 11
OK, what I really like about my old Denon 4306 is that audissey/processing settings aren't just dependent on input but on what the source puts out.

So for example, direct mode/no audissey on 2.0 176khz over HDMI from my PS3 streaming music, while 2.0 from a DVD movie (48khz) goes to prologic+audissey, etc, etc... very easy, I don't need to fiddle with settings and I always seem to get what I want out of my main source, the PS3.

I don't want to go to a receiver where I have to set direct/pure direct/prologic/audissey modes every time I change media on the same source.

I was wondering if existing Marantz (since they seem to be based on Denon?) are acting in the same way? Then the AV7005 is something for me (...right after I upgrade all my amplification to hypex UCD class D)

Thanks for feedback on this.

Yves
Yves Smolders is offline  
post #150 of 9688 Old 09-15-2010, 04:09 PM
AVS Special Member
 
cmryan821's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: New Orleans, LA
Posts: 1,086
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 37 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kevin R. Anderson View Post

I agree that the absence of MultiEQ XT32 is surprising if this is to be their "flagship" processor. Hopefully Marantz is working to get that feature included before the release date.

+1

I was completely sold on the av7005 when I thought it had MultiEQ XT32. The dual sub correction that XT32 has is a big selling point for me. I may still buy it but now I have to consider the new Onkyo/Integra units.
cmryan821 is offline  
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors

Tags
Marantz Av7005 Pre Processor
Gear in this thread - Av7005 by PriceGrabber.com

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off