Onkyo SC5508 Surround processor [No Price Talk] - Page 10 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #271 of 2743 Old 12-24-2010, 02:12 PM
Wireless member
 
pepar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Quintana Roo ... in my mind
Posts: 24,914
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 20 Post(s)
Liked: 131
Sure, and one can upgrade the preamp independently of the power amps, and vice versa. That is my numero uno.
pepar is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #272 of 2743 Old 12-25-2010, 06:25 AM
Advanced Member
 
kkpro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 878
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by RoboRay View Post

No, it does not affect any HD source signals. Even 720p conversion to 1080p is fine. It's only when you upscale 480i/p content that the wrong colorspace is applied. Even then, the effect is pretty minor.

Thanks for the clarification.
kkpro is online now  
post #273 of 2743 Old 12-25-2010, 08:43 AM
Senior Member
 
hawkster27's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 200
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by hulkss View Post

Also, I feel there are compromises made to stuff everything into one box.

Separates also give you more flexibility. My 5508 is the fourth preamp to front my fifteen-year-old Adcom amps. The preamp features have changed considerably, amp technology hardly at all. Plus there are irrational intangibles, the sense that separates mark you as more of an audio/videophile. FWTW.
hawkster27 is offline  
post #274 of 2743 Old 12-25-2010, 10:30 AM
Wireless member
 
pepar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Quintana Roo ... in my mind
Posts: 24,914
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 20 Post(s)
Liked: 131
Quote:
Originally Posted by hawkster27 View Post

Separates also give you more flexibility. My 5508 is the fourth preamp to front my fifteen-year-old Adcom amps. The preamp features have changed considerably, amp technology hardly at all. Plus there are irrational intangibles, the sense that separates mark you as more of an audio/videophile. FWTW.

I think it marks one as discerning and knowledgeable.

Jeff
pepar is offline  
post #275 of 2743 Old 12-25-2010, 05:57 PM
Newbie
 
someet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 14
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by hawkster27 View Post

Separates also give you more flexibility. My 5508 is the fourth preamp to front my fifteen-year-old Adcom amps. The preamp features have changed considerably, amp technology hardly at all. Plus there are irrational intangibles, the sense that separates mark you as more of an audio/videophile. FWTW.

I am getting TX-NR3008 for $1200, TX-NR5008 for $1500 and the 5508 is for about $2200 . Why should I pay extra to loose the amplifier part if the processor part is the same? The TX-NR3008 and 5508 can still be used with Rotel 1575 to add power. And when it is ime to change the processor, I can change the receiver instead of the processor. I am not convinced why I should pay much more to get the SC5508
someet is offline  
post #276 of 2743 Old 12-25-2010, 07:56 PM
Wireless member
 
pepar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Quintana Roo ... in my mind
Posts: 24,914
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 20 Post(s)
Liked: 131
Quote:
Originally Posted by someet View Post

I am getting TX-NR3008 for $1200, TX-NR5008 for $1500 and the 5508 is for about $2200 . Why should I pay extra to loose the amplifier part if the processor part is the same?

Duh! It's not the same.
pepar is offline  
post #277 of 2743 Old 12-25-2010, 08:50 PM
Senior Member
 
hawkster27's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 200
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by someet View Post

I am not convinced why I should pay much more to get the SC5508

Then you should not, sir. We are not here to convince you, but rather to share our own decisions. For an even more integrated solution, rather than Onkyo you might want to consider Bose Lifestyle.

http://www.bose.com/controller?url=/...lass/index.jsp

Also, it is disingenuous to compare the 5508's MSRP of $2200 to (what I assume is a discount online price that you found) $1500 for the TX-NR5008. The MSRP of the TX-NR5008 is $2700. Please, at least make a direct comparison.
hawkster27 is offline  
post #278 of 2743 Old 12-26-2010, 01:54 AM
Member
 
orangeblast's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 80
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Is it necessary to see the front panel screen on this onkyo?

I plan on putting this beast behind my 58inch Plasma in a closet area and I will not have access or be able to see the front panel. Does the Onkyo provide some kind of visual on-screen menu for navigation or is that ONLY for setup purposes?
orangeblast is offline  
post #279 of 2743 Old 12-26-2010, 02:12 AM
Senior Member
 
ezervoud's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Athens, Greece
Posts: 250
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi guys and Happy Holidays - just got mine but still waiting for my Emotiva power amps
I have temporarily hooked it up with an old Yamaha AVR and I cannot really comment on it
On of the things I can comment on, is the poor web interface which really gives you a bit over nothing.

I have a Denon 3910 player and wanted to ask you, if anyone knows, what would be the best way to get SACD sound out of it since the Denon is not passing it over HDMI (I had it connected via DenonLink with my previous AVR)
ezervoud is offline  
post #280 of 2743 Old 12-26-2010, 06:46 AM
Wireless member
 
pepar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Quintana Roo ... in my mind
Posts: 24,914
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 20 Post(s)
Liked: 131
Quote:
Originally Posted by ezervoud View Post
Hi guys and Happy Holidays - just got mine but still waiting for my Emotiva power amps
I have temporarily hooked it up with an old Yamaha AVR and I cannot really comment on it
On of the things I can comment on, is the poor web interface which really gives you a bit over nothing.

I have a Denon 3910 player and wanted to ask you, if anyone knows, what would be the best way to get SACD sound out of it since the Denon is not passing it over HDMI (I had it connected via DenonLink with my previous AVR)
Your only option is to decode in the 3910 and output over multichannel analog.

Jeff
pepar is offline  
post #281 of 2743 Old 12-26-2010, 08:20 AM
Senior Member
 
ezervoud's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Athens, Greece
Posts: 250
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by pepar View Post
Your only option is to decode in the 3910 and output over multichannel analog.

Jeff
I was afraid it would come down to that. Nothing over the IEEE1394 port of the Denon?
ezervoud is offline  
post #282 of 2743 Old 12-26-2010, 09:06 AM
Senior Member
 
hawkster27's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 200
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by orangeblast View Post
Is it necessary to see the front panel screen on this onkyo?

I plan on putting this beast behind my 58inch Plasma in a closet area and I will not have access or be able to see the front panel. Does the Onkyo provide some kind of visual on-screen menu for navigation or is that ONLY for setup purposes?
The 5508 provides an OSD of source, volume, and listening mode.
hawkster27 is offline  
post #283 of 2743 Old 12-26-2010, 09:15 AM
Wireless member
 
pepar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Quintana Roo ... in my mind
Posts: 24,914
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 20 Post(s)
Liked: 131
Quote:
Originally Posted by hawkster27 View Post
The 5508 provides an OSD of source, volume, and listening mode.
Is it displayed for a 24p source? Previous models did not.

Jeff
pepar is offline  
post #284 of 2743 Old 12-26-2010, 09:34 AM
Wireless member
 
pepar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Quintana Roo ... in my mind
Posts: 24,914
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 20 Post(s)
Liked: 131
Quote:
Originally Posted by ezervoud View Post
I was afraid it would come down to that. Nothing over the IEEE1394 port of the Denon?
Oops, I was wrong.

From an online review - "The DVD-3910 supports DTCP (Digital Transmission Content Protection) allowing SACD content transmission over the IEEE 1394 connection as long as the processor being used also supports DTCP. The HDMI connection is also capable of carrying both stereo (all formats, including SACD) and multi-channel (DVD-A, LPCM, P.PCM, DTS/DD, PCM only) unless encoded with CPPM (Content Protection for Pre-recorded Media), which cannot be transmitted over HDMI. "

Further research - and reading the manual - shows that there is a lot of "fine print" to read for outputting DVD-A/SACD over HDMI and/or IEEE1394. You should read the manual pgs 17, 18 and 19.

Jeff
pepar is offline  
post #285 of 2743 Old 12-26-2010, 09:51 AM
Senior Member
 
ezervoud's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Athens, Greece
Posts: 250
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Jeff, I know that you cannot play SACD over HDMI on the Denon. That's where Denon link comes into play
You can use the IEEE1394 port for that but where and how would you connect it since there is no relevant port on the Onkyo?
ezervoud is offline  
post #286 of 2743 Old 12-26-2010, 10:08 AM
Wireless member
 
pepar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Quintana Roo ... in my mind
Posts: 24,914
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 20 Post(s)
Liked: 131
Quote:
Originally Posted by ezervoud View Post

Jeff, I know that you cannot play SACD over HDMI on the Denon. That's where Denon link comes into play
You can use the IEEE1394 port for that but where and how would you connect it since there is no relevant port on the Onkyo?

Good point. Might be time to move the 3910 to a lesser system, or sell it on ebay. I got a very nice price for mine, and then bought an Oppo which does everything over HDMI.

Jeff
pepar is offline  
post #287 of 2743 Old 12-26-2010, 10:42 AM
Senior Member
 
ezervoud's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Athens, Greece
Posts: 250
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
It's a good piece and I hate to waste it like that :-(
Having said that, I do have an eye on the upcoming BDP-95
For the time being, I guess I will have to settle with analog connections
ezervoud is offline  
post #288 of 2743 Old 12-26-2010, 11:23 AM
Wireless member
 
pepar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Quintana Roo ... in my mind
Posts: 24,914
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 20 Post(s)
Liked: 131
Quote:
Originally Posted by ezervoud View Post

It's a good piece and I hate to waste it like that :-(
Having said that, I do have an eye on the upcoming BDP-95
For the time being, I guess I will have to settle with analog connections

Unfortunately, Audyssey processing is not engaged with the mc analog ins.

Jeff
pepar is offline  
post #289 of 2743 Old 12-26-2010, 11:31 AM
AVS Special Member
 
LarryChanin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 1999
Location: Sarasota, Florida
Posts: 6,810
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by hawkster27 View Post

The 5508 provides an OSD of source, volume, and listening mode.

Hi,

That is correct, and as the original poster states some setup menus are also available via an On Screen Display. However, on page 65 of the manual there is a vague cautionary note, when discussing enabling the On Screen Display function.

Quote:


Even when On is selected, operation details may not be
output if the input source is connected to an HDMI IN.

Do you have feel for this issue?

I have not done an exhaustive study of the manual for every function, but I think it is fair to conclude that not every function displayed on the front panel is also available on an On Screen Display. For example, there is a feature for displaying detailed source information, i.e. sampling rate, video input/output resolution, etc., that I do not believe is available on an OSD.

Likewise, the manual is not clear on this point, but it is possible that certain setup functions, may only be visible via the front panel display. For example, in setting up radio stations, etc., the manual uses illustrations of the front panel display, it doesn't show or explicitly state that this can also be done via an OSD.

While the vast majority of functions are available from the remote control, I believe that in at least one case a function is only available from the front panel. If a user has both HDMI and component video connected to the prepro, there may be occasions where the user needs to manually switch the Monitor Out setting, from HDMI to Analog, or vise versa. In this case I believe this can only be done via a button on the front panel of the unit.

These issues to me are certainly not deal killers, but there may be infrequent occasions where the original poster may have to visit his equipment closet to perform a function.

Larry
LarryChanin is offline  
post #290 of 2743 Old 12-26-2010, 12:37 PM
Senior Member
 
ezervoud's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Athens, Greece
Posts: 250
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by pepar View Post

Unfortunately, Audyssey processing is not engaged with the mc analog ins.

Jeff

That's not a big problem for me, I would use pure audio on music listening
For video, HDMI would fully work so I'll be Ok
ezervoud is offline  
post #291 of 2743 Old 12-26-2010, 12:49 PM
Senior Member
 
hawkster27's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 200
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by pepar View Post

Is it displayed for a 24p source? Previous models did not.

Jeff

Do you mean 1080p 24Hz? If so, yes.
hawkster27 is offline  
post #292 of 2743 Old 12-26-2010, 01:05 PM
Senior Member
 
hawkster27's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 200
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by LarryChanin View Post

Hi,

That is correct, and as the original poster states some setup menus are also available via an On Screen Display. However, on page 65 of the manual there is a vague cautionary note, when discussing enabling the On Screen Display function.

...there may be infrequent occasions where the original poster may have to visit his equipment closet to perform a function.

Larry

Here's what the manual says about OSD:

■On Screen Display
This preference determines whether operation details
are displayed on-screen when an AV controller function
is adjusted.
On: Displayed.
Off: Not displayed.
Even when “On” is selected, operation details may not be
output if the input source is connected to an HDMI IN.

“Auto Power Down” will display on the display and OSD
from 30 seconds before the Auto Power Down functions.
Default setting: On (European and Asian models), Off
(North American models)

In addition, the onscreen display (OSD) allows you to
view, navigate, and select your iPod model’s contents on
your TV, and with the supplied remote controller, you can
control your iPod from the comfort of your sofa. You can
even use the AV controller’s remote controller to operate
your iPod.

I couldn't find a cautionary note; it's not on pg 65. That page covers the Net/USB input.
hawkster27 is offline  
post #293 of 2743 Old 12-26-2010, 01:13 PM
Senior Member
 
hawkster27's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 200
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
After living with my 5508 for a couple of weeks now, these are the advantages and disadvantages (in no particular order)I see over the 885 it replaced:

PROS:
.. The price is right if you're itching to upgrade (PM me if you're interested in what I paid).
.. Improved sound, overall.
.. Internet connectivity. I use vTuner and Pandora all the time. Slacker and Mediafly are interesting but less valuable to me. The free stuff is so good I don't see any value in paying for Rhapsody (I had a free two-week trial for Rhapsody on another device I didn't renew) or Napster. However, they may be worthwhile if you follow the latest rock/pop/rap, which I don't. SIRIUS is worth paying for if you want the breadth of their offerings, or something specialized like Howard Stern.
.. Neural Digital Music mode.
.. Can function as a Digital Music Server (it works, but it skips more often than my WDTV, which is connected directly to my system).
.. 3 more HDMI connections
.. Audyssey XT32 an obvious improvement.

CONS:
.. Audible relay switching. This is my biggest complaint, and it seems like a real step backward; I wonder why Onkyo allowed it. My 5508 is exposed, not in a cabinet, and the clicking is clearly audible throughout the living room. It's especially annoying on certain satellite TV channels; some commercials are encoded in Dolby, some are not. The 5508 clicks with every change. Of course, just one more reason to rely on the DVR.
.. No digital out (DRM paranoia, I assume).
.. No HD Radio. Not that big a deal for me; you can buy an outboard HD Radio receiver from Onkyo for $150 if you really want it, but I'm guessing Onkyo decided that Internet Radio will soon make HD Radio irrelevant, and perhaps Broadcast Radio, as well. (And, for those few of you who didn't already know, HD in this context stands for Hybrid Digital, not High Definition.)
.. No Internet Radio display Screen Saver.
.. No Pandora Like / Don't Like support (although the manual says there is).
.. Just one blue LED at the top of the volume knob, which still looks like a mistake.
.. 2 fewer Video/AudioL/AudioR connections (these are the ancient yellow/white/red connections).

NEUTRAL:
.. 9.2 vs 7.1 (I'm still happy with 5.1)
.. The output level of the 5508 is lower than that of the 885 (at least on my two units). Dsiplaying volume as Relative(THX), I would start my 885 at "30." I start the 5508 at "20" for approximately the same volume (smaller number is louder).

This is purely subjective, but it seems to me that with the 5508, in comparison to the 885, Onkyo has put more emphasis on the audio rather than video features. Which I think is just as well, because blu-ray players and TVs seem to have plenty of adjustability. I know mine do.
hawkster27 is offline  
post #294 of 2743 Old 12-26-2010, 01:16 PM
Senior Member
 
ezervoud's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Athens, Greece
Posts: 250
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by orangeblast View Post

Is it necessary to see the front panel screen on this onkyo?

I plan on putting this beast behind my 58inch Plasma in a closet area and I will not have access or be able to see the front panel. Does the Onkyo provide some kind of visual on-screen menu for navigation or is that ONLY for setup purposes?

Onkyo says that by the end of January they will have an iPod/iPhone app for full control of the x08 and subsequent products
ezervoud is offline  
post #295 of 2743 Old 12-26-2010, 01:55 PM
AVS Special Member
 
jmschnur's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: VA MD DC area
Posts: 2,940
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 26
On screen is an option
jmschnur is offline  
post #296 of 2743 Old 12-26-2010, 02:08 PM
AVS Special Member
 
LarryChanin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 1999
Location: Sarasota, Florida
Posts: 6,810
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by hawkster27 View Post

Here's what the manual says about OSD:

■On Screen Display
This preference determines whether operation details
are displayed on-screen when an AV controller function
is adjusted.
On: Displayed.
Off: Not displayed.
Even when On is selected, operation details may not be
output if the input source is connected to an HDMI IN.


Auto Power Down will display on the display and OSD
from 30 seconds before the Auto Power Down functions.
Default setting: On (European and Asian models), Off
(North American models)

In addition, the onscreen display (OSD) allows you to
view, navigate, and select your iPod model's contents on
your TV, and with the supplied remote controller, you can
control your iPod from the comfort of your sofa. You can
even use the AV controller's remote controller to operate
your iPod.

I couldn't find a cautionary note; it's not on pg 65. That page covers the Net/USB input.

Hi,

My apologies, I should have said page 59, however, the cautionary note I referenced is highlighted in your quote above.

Larry
LarryChanin is offline  
post #297 of 2743 Old 12-26-2010, 02:20 PM
AVS Special Member
 
LarryChanin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 1999
Location: Sarasota, Florida
Posts: 6,810
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by hawkster27 View Post

After living with my 5508 for a couple of weeks now, these are the advantages and disadvantages (in no particular order)I see over the 885 it replaced:

PROS:
.. The price is right if you're itching to upgrade (PM me if you're interested in what I paid).
.. Improved sound, overall.
.. Internet connectivity. I use vTuner and Pandora all the time. Slacker and Mediafly are interesting but less valuable to me. The free stuff is so good I don't see any value in paying for Rhapsody (I had a free two-week trial for Rhapsody on another device I didn't renew) or Napster. However, they may be worthwhile if you follow the latest rock/pop/rap, which I don't. SIRIUS is worth paying for if you want the breadth of their offerings, or something specialized like Howard Stern.
.. Neural Digital Music mode.
.. Can function as a Digital Music Server (it works, but it skips more often than my WDTV, which is connected directly to my system).
.. 3 more HDMI connections
.. Audyssey XT32 an obvious improvement.

CONS:
.. Audible relay switching. This is my biggest complaint, and it seems like a real step backward; I wonder why Onkyo allowed it. My 5508 is exposed, not in a cabinet, and the clicking is clearly audible throughout the living room. It's especially annoying on certain satellite TV channels; some commercials are encoded in Dolby, some are not. The 5508 clicks with every change. Of course, just one more reason to rely on the DVR.
.. No digital out (DRM paranoia, I assume).
.. No HD Radio. Not that big a deal for me; you can buy an outboard HD Radio receiver from Onkyo for $150 if you really want it, but I'm guessing Onkyo decided that Internet Radio will soon make HD Radio irrelevant, and perhaps Broadcast Radio, as well. (And, for those few of you who didn't already know, HD in this context stands for Hybrid Digital, not High Definition.)
.. No Internet Radio display Screen Saver.
.. No Pandora Like / Don't Like support (although the manual says there is).
.. Just one blue LED at the top of the volume knob, which still looks like a mistake.
.. 2 fewer Video/AudioL/AudioR connections (these are the ancient yellow/white/red connections).

NEUTRAL:
.. 9.2 vs 7.1 (I'm still happy with 5.1)
.. The output level of the 5508 is lower than that of the 885 (at least on my two units). Dsiplaying volume as Relative(THX), I would start my 885 at "30." I start the 5508 at "20" for approximately the same volume (smaller number is louder).

This is purely subjective, but it seems to me that with the 5508, in comparison to the 885, Onkyo has put more emphasis on the audio rather than video features. Which I think is just as well, because blu-ray players and TVs seem to have plenty of adjustability. I know mine do.

Hi,

Thanks for the helpful comparison.

The 885 also was XM Satellite Radio ready. That feature is no longer available in the 5508.

Larry
LarryChanin is offline  
post #298 of 2743 Old 12-27-2010, 02:20 PM
Advanced Member
 
Jrunr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 917
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Does anyone know where I can get one of these for less that $2200? Please pm me.

Thanks.
Jrunr is offline  
post #299 of 2743 Old 12-29-2010, 12:02 PM
Member
 
KRP-600M's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 33
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hello

Can anyone check and confirm the 5508 OSD is working while the source connected via HDMI set to 24?
On older models as 886 and 5507 the OSD was limited and didn't work while the source was set to 24 but works when source set to 60 Hz.

I was surprised to see on the manual the EQ setting starting only from 63 Hz while the older 886 starting from 25 Hz through 40 Hz and then 63 Hz. What the reason for this limitation in new model?

Thank you
KRP-600M is offline  
post #300 of 2743 Old 12-29-2010, 12:11 PM
Senior Member
 
hawkster27's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 200
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by KRP-600M View Post

Hello

Can anyone check and confirm the 5508 OSD is working while the source connected via HDMI set to 24?
On older models as 886 and 5507 the OSD was limited and didn't work while the source was set to 24 but works when source set to 60 Hz.

Thank you

OSD in 1080p 24Hz over HDMI in my setup works. My 1080p 24Hz source is an LG BD390 blu-ray player.
hawkster27 is offline  
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors

Tags
Onkyo Pr Sc5507 Pre Amplifier Home Theater Av Controller Preamp 9 2 Channel New
Gear in this thread

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off