Onkyo SC5508 Surround processor [No Price Talk] - Page 2 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #31 of 2743 Old 09-07-2010, 02:29 AM
AVS Club Gold
 
Hugo S's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: France
Posts: 489
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 57 Post(s)
Liked: 34
Hi Kal,

Quote:
Originally Posted by Kal Rubinson View Post

Is that a real consideration? If you like(d) your Onkyo, why would you not go directly to Integra when you need to update? If you didn't like your Onkyo, why would you consider Integra?

Yes it is (a real consideration). Because as you indicated, in the US you have the choice. But when you are in EUrope, where only Onkyo exists, there is no choice...

So if one wants an Audyssey Pro ready product, it's Denon or ... Denon!

Hugo


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Hugo S is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #32 of 2743 Old 09-07-2010, 04:25 AM
AVS Special Member
 
RichB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 1999
Location: Massachusetts
Posts: 8,749
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 236 Post(s)
Liked: 242
Quote:
Originally Posted by asterix007 View Post

I'm not aware of that... which kind of problem ?

Many have problems where the 8's never get past "Networking Initializing".
There are also "Cannot Play" errors from the network and from Pandora.

A work around is to change inputs from the Network, change back, quickly unplug the cord and plug it back in.

Another is to enable Network control, however, this approach leaves the Receiver on all the time using a lot of power.

Check out the 708 and 808 threads for additional information.

- Rich

Oppo Beta Group

Oppo BDP-105D | Oppo HA-1 | Oppo PM-1 | Parasound A51 | Revel Salon, Voice, Studio | Velodyne HGS-15
RichB is online now  
post #33 of 2743 Old 09-07-2010, 07:19 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Kal Rubinson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: NYC + Connecticut
Posts: 28,456
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 77 Post(s)
Liked: 134
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hugo S View Post

Hi Kal,



Yes it is (a real consideration). Because as you indicated, in the US you have the choice. But when you are in EUrope, where only Onkyo exists, there is no choice...

So if one wants an Audyssey Pro ready product, it's Denon or ... Denon!

Hugo

I agree that in Europe it would be an issue. AFAIK, the policy of keeping Pro-compatibility to the Integra line as expressed to be applicable to US distribution.

Kal Rubinson

"Music in the Round"
Senior Contributing Editor, Stereophile

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

Kal Rubinson is offline  
post #34 of 2743 Old 09-07-2010, 05:55 PM
Member
 
solarrdadd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Virginia
Posts: 96
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by RichB View Post

Many have problems where the 8's never get past "Networking Initializing".
There are also "Cannot Play" errors from the network and from Pandora.

A work around is to change inputs from the Network, change back, quickly unplug the cord and plug it back in.

Another is to enable Network control, however, this approach leaves the Receiver on all the time using a lot of power.

Check out the 708 and 808 threads for additional information.

- Rich

hey richb, i own the 5507 and about a month ago i had the "cannot play" error from pandora. it turned the pre-amp on & off several times same issue but the next morning i turned it on and since then music plays fine from pandora. i am under the impression this was a pandora problem. i never had it before and haven't had it since and i listen to pandora all the time.

of course i'm not saying those folks aren't having a problem with their units but perhaps, some of the time they are experiencing a problem that's on pandora's end. wonder if you have that issue if you are using the pay service from pandora, we are getting the low-rez freebee!, just saying...

oh yeah, i love my 5507 and won't be buying the 5508 and that's not a knock at it either. i would love the option for heights & widths at the same time but it's not that important to me. as for 3D, i will wait for Oppo to come out with a 3D blu player which i suspect will have 2 HDMI's one for 3d + audio and one for just audio so we can still get our HD audio from one and direct to the 3D-HDTV with the other and I'm good to go! so far, the 5507 has never given me one problem and in all this time only one no connect to pandora, i'm not looking back. mind you for folks looking to buy a pre-pro, yeah, i would tell them get the 5508 and be done with it. 5507 or 5508, Onkyo looks to have a couple of good products on their hands. very happy, very happy for 6+ months!

55" Sony SXRD 1080P, PS3 & XBOX 360,
AppleTV, iPhone5,iPad4 both 64gb
Oppo BDP-105D, 105, 93, Onkyo PR-SC5507P & TX-NR525.
Emotiva XPA5,UPA2, UPA200 & Mini X Amps
Speakers, Polk SDA-2, Monitor 10 & 5Jr, Axiom M80,
VP180, QS8, M2, QS4, NYGiants!
solarrdadd is offline  
post #35 of 2743 Old 09-07-2010, 06:13 PM
AVS Special Member
 
RichB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 1999
Location: Massachusetts
Posts: 8,749
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 236 Post(s)
Liked: 242
Quote:
Originally Posted by solarrdadd View Post

hey richb, i own the 5507 and about a month ago i had the "cannot play" error from pandora. it turned the pre-amp on & off several times same issue but the next morning i turned it on and since then music plays fine from pandora. i am under the impression this was a pandora problem. i never had it before and haven't had it since and i listen to pandora all the time.

of course i'm not saying those folks aren't having a problem with their units but perhaps, some of the time they are experiencing a problem that's on pandora's end. wonder if you have that issue if you are using the pay service from pandora, we are getting the low-rez freebee!, just saying...

oh yeah, i love my 5507 and won't be buying the 5508 and that's not a knock at it either. i would love the option for heights & widths at the same time but it's not that important to me. as for 3D, i will wait for Oppo to come out with a 3D blu player which i suspect will have 2 HDMI's one for 3d + audio and one for just audio so we can still get our HD audio from one and direct to the 3D-HDTV with the other and I'm good to go! so far, the 5507 has never given me one problem and in all this time only one no connect to pandora, i'm not looking back. mind you for folks looking to buy a pre-pro, yeah, i would tell them get the 5508 and be done with it. 5507 or 5508, Onkyo looks to have a couple of good products on their hands. very happy, very happy for 6+ months!

My 5507 Preamp and HT-RC180 Receiver have been streaming Pandora for 9-months now with issues on only a few occasions. Those "Cannot Play" errors I would attribute to Pandora.

The 708's that I had would not properly network initialize and even when they they did, Pandora did not work well (on the same network).

- Rich

Oppo Beta Group

Oppo BDP-105D | Oppo HA-1 | Oppo PM-1 | Parasound A51 | Revel Salon, Voice, Studio | Velodyne HGS-15
RichB is online now  
post #36 of 2743 Old 09-07-2010, 08:05 PM
Newbie
 
Revenoor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 9
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by asterix007 View Post

PR-SC5508 ordered today !

I have been looking for a new pre pro and having a little difficulty. I decided to buy the 5507 and then couldn't find one. A on-line store in state told me they were in stock and then after I ordered I found that not to be true. The company rep that I talked to said that they were told within the last few days that the 5508 would not be shipped until Oct but not to hold my breath on that estimate or the price I was quoted (seemed low to me).



I found a 5507 later in the morning and ordered it, this new company said they bought the last 40 this past Friday (at least this time I have a UPS tracking number for one so it may be real).



This will replace my trusty Denon AVR4306.
Revenoor is offline  
post #37 of 2743 Old 09-08-2010, 04:45 AM
Member
 
asterix007's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Belgium
Posts: 162
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Just receive information from Onkyo, that 3008+5008+5508 are delayed to end of september.

Probably due to solve the Audyssey XT32 problem.

Par Toutatis !
Asterix !
asterix007 is offline  
post #38 of 2743 Old 09-08-2010, 05:56 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Bill Mac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 11,498
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 105 Post(s)
Liked: 451
Quote:
Originally Posted by asterix007 View Post

Just receive information from Onkyo, that 3008+5008+5508 are delayed to end of september.

Probably due to solve the Audyssey XT32 problem.

What is the problem with Audyssey XT32?

Bill


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
, watch it grow and my wallet shrink ;-).

 

Denon 4311 (in preamp mode), Parasound 2100, Boston Acoustics A7200 amp, Oppo BDP-103, Consonance CD120, Panasonic TC-P60GT50 plasma, Panamax 5100EX, Salk Song Towers, Song Center, ADS 300C (surrounds) and two Rythmik F12SEs.
Bill Mac is online now  
post #39 of 2743 Old 09-08-2010, 06:02 AM
AVS Special Member
 
gurkey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 2,751
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 22
Onkyos implementation of the Audyssey MultEQ XT32 seems to have a significant bug in the current firmware for the 3008, 5008 and 5508, as reported elsewhere already.
The problem seems to be related to Onkyo not Audyssey as far as it is known...
gurkey is online now  
post #40 of 2743 Old 09-08-2010, 06:28 AM
Member
 
asterix007's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Belgium
Posts: 162
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by gurkey View Post

Onkyos implementation of the Audyssey MultEQ XT32 seems to have a significant bug in the current firmware for the 3008, 5008 and 5508, as reported elsewhere already.
The problem seems to be related to Onkyo not Audyssey as far as it is known...

Yes, problem in the firmware Onkyo !

Par Toutatis !
Asterix !
asterix007 is offline  
post #41 of 2743 Old 09-08-2010, 11:21 AM
AVS Special Member
 
RoboRay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 2,155
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by asterix007 View Post

Yes, problem in the firmware Onkyo !
__________________
Par Toutatis !
Asterix !

Oh no !
RoboRay is offline  
post #42 of 2743 Old 09-08-2010, 01:36 PM
AVS Special Member
 
CBdicX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 1,095
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 15 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hugo S View Post

Hi Kal,



Yes it is (a real consideration). Because as you indicated, in the US you have the choice. But when you are in EUrope, where only Onkyo exists, there is no choice...

So if one wants an Audyssey Pro ready product, it's Denon or ... Denon!

Hugo

No problem to buy Integra in Holland, we have 2 Integra dealer......
CBdicX is offline  
post #43 of 2743 Old 09-08-2010, 01:41 PM
Member
 
asterix007's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Belgium
Posts: 162
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by CBdicX View Post

No problem to buy Integra in Holland, we have 2 Integra dealer......

Who are they ?

Par Toutatis !
Asterix !
asterix007 is offline  
post #44 of 2743 Old 09-08-2010, 01:58 PM
AVS Special Member
 
ssabripo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Plantation, Floriduh
Posts: 6,008
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 13
well, looks like I'm still gonna stick with my old and trusty PR-SC886 for now.... the 5507 didn't add anything of importance to me but rather took away features (PRO installer), and the 5508 doesn't add anything extra either.

I guess I'll wait and see what 2010/2011 brings.... hoping for a new integra/onkyo pre that has a better video processor than the Reon, upgraded DACs, and some other features.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
ssabripo is offline  
post #45 of 2743 Old 09-08-2010, 03:08 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
Hugo S's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: France
Posts: 489
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 57 Post(s)
Liked: 34
Hi,

Quote:
Originally Posted by CBdicX View Post

No problem to buy Integra in Holland, we have 2 Integra dealer......

Do they sell official CE products?

Hugo


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Hugo S is offline  
post #46 of 2743 Old 09-17-2010, 02:39 AM
Member
 
asterix007's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Belgium
Posts: 162
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
New Firmware :

Firmware Update TX-NR3008/5008, PR-SC5508
2010-09-17
We are pleased to offer this firmware update for the best possible performance of your AV Receiver.

TX-NR3008/5008, PR-SC5508


Improves Audyssey MultEQ XT32 processing
Enhances the operability and display of network/USB-related functions

Please carry out auto speaker setup again by using Audyssey MultEQ XT32 after upgrade.

Further information about the firmware update can be found in the service area.

http://www.eu.onkyo.com/firmware/fir...en_8722058.php

Par Toutatis !
Asterix !
asterix007 is offline  
post #47 of 2743 Old 10-02-2010, 05:08 AM
Member
 
CDJayRFU's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 71
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Just got this reply from Onkyo asking about the 5508 and Pro Installer functionality:

"The PR-SC 5507 can handle " Audyssey Pro" depending on the firmware version.
Beginning from main version 1.18

Regarding PR-SC 5508 unfortunately we do not have this info at the moment"

Which is interesting, as I think previously it had been stated that this was intended as the primariy difference between the Onkyo and equivilant Integra model.

CDJay
CDJayRFU is offline  
post #48 of 2743 Old 10-04-2010, 08:43 AM
Newbie
 
ronny06's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi to all.
Sometimes, turning on the PR-SC5508 there isn't any sound in output (similar push mute).
Then, restarting the system, sound is regularly.
Resetting the system the problem persists.
Another user updated system with latest firmware release without success.
ronny06 is offline  
post #49 of 2743 Old 10-04-2010, 03:32 PM
Advanced Member
 
alanl715's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: tejas
Posts: 932
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
CDJ...Integra will not admit to anything until the product is released and on their website ! As of today...the dhc80.1 IS the only 80 series pre-pro avail...but tomorrow is another day haha! OPro is the same...no 5508 on the 'books' either.
alanl715 is offline  
post #50 of 2743 Old 10-05-2010, 03:14 AM
Newbie
 
ronny06's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by alanl715 View Post

CDJ...Integra will not admit to anything until the product is released and on their website ! As of today...the dhc80.1 IS the only 80 series pre-pro avail...but tomorrow is another day haha! OPro is the same...no 5508 on the 'books' either.

I did not understand what you say. In Europe there is integra mod. 80.2 that is identical to Onkyo PR-SC5508. The only difference is that Integra have 3 years warranty and onkyo 2 years. If Onkyo have problems, integra have the same issues.
ronny06 is offline  
post #51 of 2743 Old 10-05-2010, 12:07 PM
Member
 
asterix007's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Belgium
Posts: 162
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by ronny06 View Post

Hi to all.
Sometimes, turning on the PR-SC5508 there isn't any sound in output (similar push mute).
Then, restarting the system, sound is regularly.
Resetting the system the problem persists.
Another user updated system with latest firmware release without success.

Hello, I have exactly same problem.
We hear mechanical relay switching, but no sound, restart unit solve problem...

Par Toutatis !
Asterix !
asterix007 is offline  
post #52 of 2743 Old 10-05-2010, 01:30 PM
Newbie
 
ronny06's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by asterix007 View Post

Hello, I have exactly same problem.
We hear mechanical relay switching, but no sound, restart unit solve problem...

I don't know if new firmware solve problem. I wrote to onkyo but without any answer. I'm very angry for this problem on my new PR-SC5508. Please send also you a message to onkyo.
ronny06 is offline  
post #53 of 2743 Old 10-06-2010, 01:49 PM
Member
 
asterix007's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Belgium
Posts: 162
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by ronny06 View Post

I don't know if new firmware solve problem. I wrote to onkyo but without any answer. I'm very angry for this problem on my new PR-SC5508. Please send also you a message to onkyo.

Message to Onkyo also sent !

Par Toutatis !
Asterix !
asterix007 is offline  
post #54 of 2743 Old 10-06-2010, 07:10 PM
Advanced Member
 
dookie1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 632
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by CDJayRFU View Post

Just got this reply from Onkyo asking about the 5508 and Pro Installer functionality:

"The PR-SC 5507 can handle " Audyssey Pro" depending on the firmware version.
Beginning from main version 1.18

Regarding PR-SC 5508 unfortunately we do not have this info at the moment"

Which is interesting, as I think previously it had been stated that this was intended as the primariy difference between the Onkyo and equivilant Integra model.

CDJay

very interesting...

i was recently told, 'no way, no how. buy integra.' regarding pro support on the 5507, by onkyo support.

just did a firmware check on my 5507 and lookie here...an update.

downloading now...

looong install...

checksum OK. now reporting 1291-2403-0511-4103.

short of attempting to buy a pro licence, how can i confirm pro support? mind sharing the tech that sent you the email? pm me, if you'd rather not make it public.
dookie1 is offline  
post #55 of 2743 Old 10-06-2010, 07:18 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Kal Rubinson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: NYC + Connecticut
Posts: 28,456
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 77 Post(s)
Liked: 134
Quote:
Originally Posted by dookie1 View Post

very interesting...

i was recently told, 'no way, no how. buy integra.' regarding pro support on the 5507, by onkyo support.

just did a firmware check on my 5507 and lookie here...an update.

downloading now...

looong install...

checksum OK. now reporting 1291-2403-0511-4103.

short of attempting to buy a pro licence, how can i confirm pro support? mind sharing the tech that sent you the email? pm me, if you'd rather not make it public.

As of today, Audyssey's website still says that the 5507 is not Installer Ready (Pro compatible).

Kal Rubinson

"Music in the Round"
Senior Contributing Editor, Stereophile

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

Kal Rubinson is offline  
post #56 of 2743 Old 10-07-2010, 08:27 AM
Member
 
CDJayRFU's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 71
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Let's hope dookie1 can put this to rest, at least for the 5507, one way or another.

*perches anticipatively*

CDJay
CDJayRFU is offline  
post #57 of 2743 Old 10-07-2010, 09:27 AM
Advanced Member
 
dookie1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 632
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
after seeing the email referenced by cdjay, it would appear that his comments are in regard to the euro version and mine to the US...perhaps therein lies the difference.
dookie1 is offline  
post #58 of 2743 Old 10-07-2010, 12:19 PM
Newbie
 
ronny06's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by asterix007 View Post

Hello, I have exactly same problem.
We hear mechanical relay switching, but no sound, restart unit solve problem...

The problem show selecting "port" input, when the last (previous) input selected was NET/USB.
In this condition there isn't any sound in output.
To solve the problem I must switch from other input as DVD or other and than return to "port" input setting.
I receive PR-SC5508 with latest firmware 103 installed.
Please, all users that have the same problem, write to onkyo to solve this scandalous issue!!
ronny06 is offline  
post #59 of 2743 Old 10-10-2010, 07:42 AM
Advanced Member
 
Yves Smolders's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Belgium
Posts: 655
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
As a long time Denon user, I have a question about PR-SC5508 - and Onkyo in general.

Denon remembers surround modes based not only on input, but also audio format.

For example I'm having a PS3 on one of the inputs, and it automatically does the following (because I set it once)

* 2 channel 176khz in (PS3 upsampling for CD's) - Direct
* 5.1 channel LPCM - Audissey engaged
* 2 channel 48khz - Audissey engaged + prologic decoding

This is very handy as I never have to get the remote and change surround parameters.

Does Onkyo have a similar system?

Yves
Yves Smolders is offline  
post #60 of 2743 Old 10-10-2010, 09:31 AM
AVS Special Member
 
gurkey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 2,751
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 22
Its your choice, to have last mode selected or a preset default modes for every input.
gurkey is online now  
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors

Tags
Onkyo Pr Sc5507 Pre Amplifier Home Theater Av Controller Preamp 9 2 Channel New
Gear in this thread - Sc5507 by PriceGrabber.com

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off