AVS Forum banner

Onkyo SC5508 Surround processor [No Price Talk]

231K views 3K replies 218 participants last post by  GeorgeHolland 
#1 ·
#2 ·
It looks like all it's changing is the HDMI to 1.4 compatible. If that's important to you, then you should have waited. I've been using my 5507 for about 8-9 months now and have been absolutely thrilled with it from all standpoints (it's in a closet, so the clicking with input changes/decoding isn't an issue). At this point, I have no interest in 3D, nor is it something I have any interest in pursuing within the forseeable future, i.e. 2-3 years, so I would opt for the 5507, but that's just me.

#3 ·

Quote:
Originally Posted by schroedk /forum/post/18999841

It looks like all it's changing is the HDMI to 1.4 compatible. If that's important to you, then you should have waited. I've been using my 5507 for about 8-9 months now and have been absolutely thrilled with it from all standpoints (it's in a closet, so the clicking with input changes/decoding isn't an issue). At this point, I have no interest in 3D, nor is it something I have any interest in pursuing within the forseeable future, i.e. 2-3 years, so I would opt for the 5507, but that's just me.

Yeah, I don't get the 3D thing, either. Also, why on earth would one want an audio return line from the TV to the pre/pro? I use a fiber connection between my satbox and the 5507.

#4 ·

Quote:
Originally Posted by kitchen_space /forum/post/19001809

Yeah, I don't get the 3D thing, either. Also, why on earth would one want an audio return line from the TV to the pre/pro? I use a fiber connection between my satbox and the 5507.

The only reason I can think of is if you have an internet (Netflix, etc. etc..) capable TV. The audio return line within the HDMI cable would save you from having to run an additional optical cable back to your AVR or pre/pro.

#5 ·

Quote:
Originally Posted by Easyaspie /forum/post/19001890