"Official" Yamaha RX-A1000/RX-A2000/RX-A3000 thread - Page 2 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #31 of 8862 Old 08-08-2010, 12:13 AM
AVS Special Member
 
miimura's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Cupertino, CA
Posts: 1,345
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I just happened upon the Aventage series on the Yamaha site while looking for a new receiver for my brother today. He has a Onkyo 605 that just failed. It looks like all the analog video inputs collectively bit the dust. So, I talked him into getting a receiver that has Zone 2 video capability and it looks like the A800 fits the bill. Does anyone know if the Zone 2 can really select any audio or audio/video source while the main zone is using any source, same or different? There is a paragraph in the manual that says the analog Zone 2 out must be used for analog sources, but does that mean that the HDMI inputs will pass audio to the analog audio out? to the Ch6/7 speakers assigned to Zone 2? to the HDMI Out 2 assigned to Zone 2?

The Onkyo and source components would also limit the audio negotiation to the TV capability if HDMI audio passthru was turned on. In my brother's case, he would lose DD 5.1 in this case, so he was forced to leave it off because it was too much of a hassle to turn it on in cases where he would have used the TV speakers. It appears that the Standby Audio Passthru feature on the Aventage mitigates this somewhat. What happens on the A800/A1000/etc. when you have the HDMI Audio Passthru turned off to the Main Zone TV, but on for Zone 2 and they're both playing the same source? The source component can't possibly negotiate with both displays, can it?

- Mike
miimura is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #32 of 8862 Old 08-08-2010, 06:23 AM
AVS Special Member
 
kriktsemaj99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Montreal, Canada
Posts: 5,942
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 107 Post(s)
Liked: 152
Zone 2 will only play analog sources, as the manual says. This is very common in AVRs in general. So you won't get audio in zone 2 from an HDMI source, unless you run an extra analog audio cable between the source and the receiver. That's not too bad, because the main zone will still automatically take the audio from the HDMI cable, while zone 2 will take it from the analog input.

I think one exception is when you want to play the same source in both zones you can use the "Party Mode", which should work for any input including HDMI.

And you said you were looking for zone 2 video capability. The A800 doesn't really have that, as the two HDMI outputs can't output two different sources. So it can work as zone 2 with video if nobody wants to use the main zone at the same time.
kriktsemaj99 is offline  
post #33 of 8862 Old 08-08-2010, 05:34 PM
AVS Special Member
 
miimura's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Cupertino, CA
Posts: 1,345
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
So what you're saying is that the functionality of the electronics behind the second HDMI output is more like a distribution amp than a matrix switch. Bummer. I guess this means that the HDMI 2 always outputs the same content as HDMI 1 and is not controlled by Zone 2 at all. I thought maybe this receiver was more special than it really is. Oh well. I guess the thing that tripped me up was the following on the web site:

"Versatile Zone Control
* HDMI out for Zone B"

I guess Zone B != Zone 2 !!!

- Mike
miimura is offline  
post #34 of 8862 Old 08-08-2010, 08:42 PM
AVS Special Member
 
kriktsemaj99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Montreal, Canada
Posts: 5,942
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 107 Post(s)
Liked: 152
The term "Zone B" on the web site is confusing, because the manual doesn't use that term at all. Nobody has this receiver yet to be 100% sure, but on previous models HDMI 2 is just a copy of HDMI 1.
kriktsemaj99 is offline  
post #35 of 8862 Old 08-08-2010, 09:15 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Addicted Member
 
MichaelJHuman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Colorado Springs, CO
Posts: 18,742
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 161 Post(s)
Liked: 99
Been looking at the zone section in the manual. So far, seems just like my Z7.

"But this one goes up to 11"
MichaelJHuman is offline  
post #36 of 8862 Old 08-09-2010, 11:32 AM
AVS Special Member
 
westa6969's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: From Michigan now Retired to Naples, FL
Posts: 6,849
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 110 Post(s)
Liked: 145
While some don't care regarding the VP Chips in their AVR I've owned an HD and BD player with HQV and they were excellent on both and the HQV Vida Chip is supposed to be the latest and improved upon VP from HQV. MY Elite Farouda Chip comparatively sucks IMO (at least I don't see a difference) and my 4 yr old Elite has been crashing regularly since I've added my Def Tech Mythos System Speakers and so I'm thinking either this 2000 series or the Denon 3311 as I'm not all that impressed with my Pioneer Elite's performance over the past 4 years.

Samsung 65F8000, 60D8000, 40HU6350, Panasonic 50E60 LCD's
westa6969 is online now  
post #37 of 8862 Old 08-09-2010, 11:52 AM
AVS Special Member
 
mastermaybe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 7,147
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 41 Post(s)
Liked: 154
It's disappointing to learn that an AVR nearing $2k won't push even 2 channel PCM to a 2nd or 3rd zone.

Just 4 more sets of RCAs to ensure every component I want to listen to in the 2nd and 3rd zones can be heard.

James

Actual phone call (see pic to left):

 

Tech (responding to laughter): "I'm sorry sir, did I miss something?"

Me: "Yeah, a case of Diet Mountain Dew walking across my living room."

mastermaybe is offline  
post #38 of 8862 Old 08-09-2010, 12:50 PM
AVS Special Member
 
mastermaybe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 7,147
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 41 Post(s)
Liked: 154
Now this:

it appears that the amp assigning function is not nearly as flexible as Denon's version.

For instance: it appears that it is impossible for me to pre-out the 7 main channels in a traditional 7.X array and have the 3000 simply provide the power for the front and rear presence channels, as it's simply not listed amongst the options.

Worse still, I cannot use what would be 3 remaining channels to amplify zone 2.

I'm not knocking some of the flexibility they've added here, but man, Denon really got this right.

James

Actual phone call (see pic to left):

 

Tech (responding to laughter): "I'm sorry sir, did I miss something?"

Me: "Yeah, a case of Diet Mountain Dew walking across my living room."

mastermaybe is offline  
post #39 of 8862 Old 08-09-2010, 12:57 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Addicted Member
 
MichaelJHuman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Colorado Springs, CO
Posts: 18,742
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 161 Post(s)
Liked: 99
Quote:
Originally Posted by mastermaybe View Post

It's disappointing to learn that an AVR nearing $2k won't push even 2 channel PCM to a 2nd or 3rd zone.

Just 4 more sets of RCAs to ensure every component I want to listen to in the 2nd and 3rd zones can be heard.

James

You know of one that does??

I don't. So I am curious if you had one in mind when making this comment.

Remember that to truely support digital in all zones you need a DSP and DAC and associated circuitry for each zone.

I think it would be nice if they gave you the ability to listen to what's in the main zone as I think that would require a minimal change in circuitry (I could be wrong.)

"But this one goes up to 11"
MichaelJHuman is offline  
post #40 of 8862 Old 08-09-2010, 04:11 PM
Member
 
PuckDaddy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 42
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I look forward to hearing more about this
I see it does Rhapsody ..... but no Pandora / Slacker ?
PuckDaddy is offline  
post #41 of 8862 Old 08-09-2010, 08:27 PM
AVS Special Member
 
mastermaybe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 7,147
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 41 Post(s)
Liked: 154
Do I know of an AVR that allows digital inputs in the 2nd/3rd zones?

Yea, every Denon CI model made. I'm currently using a $750 3310 that does.

James

Actual phone call (see pic to left):

 

Tech (responding to laughter): "I'm sorry sir, did I miss something?"

Me: "Yeah, a case of Diet Mountain Dew walking across my living room."

mastermaybe is offline  
post #42 of 8862 Old 08-09-2010, 08:28 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Addicted Member
 
MichaelJHuman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Colorado Springs, CO
Posts: 18,742
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 161 Post(s)
Liked: 99
Quote:
Originally Posted by mastermaybe View Post

Do I know of an AVR that allows digital inputs in the 2nd/3rd zones?

Yea, every Denon CI model made. I'm currently using a $750 3310 that does.

James

I would be curious how that works.

"But this one goes up to 11"
MichaelJHuman is offline  
post #43 of 8862 Old 08-09-2010, 09:06 PM
Member
 
race1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 27
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Ok Guys, as a yamaha dealer Im quoting this from my distributor. Please see the bold wording. it looks like yamaha is going the route of Sony with its ES series for some custom integrator dealer protection.
AVENTAGE is a dramatic, inspired step forward in audio/video component design.
AVENTAGE brings studio grade sound and sophisticated video enhancements to the
home as a result of unparalleled attention to detail in design, engineering, and fabrication.
Details that, at first glance, would not seem to affect the quality of sight, sound, and
control, when brought together within an AVENTAGE component, produce a work
of visual and acoustic art.
This is an exclusive Custom Integrator line of receivers which
will not be sold at "BIG BOX" locations allowing the integrator to have access to the
high levels of features and control.
race1 is offline  
post #44 of 8862 Old 08-09-2010, 09:09 PM
Member
 
race1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 27
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Retail pricing as follows
700-$649.95
800-$799.95
1000-$1099.95
2000-$1499.95
3000-$1899.95
race1 is offline  
post #45 of 8862 Old 08-09-2010, 11:18 PM
AVS Special Member
 
MandM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Kamloops B.C.
Posts: 1,203
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by PuckDaddy View Post

I look forward to hearing more about this
I see it does Rhapsody ..... but no Pandora / Slacker ?

Really Yamaha. Were is Slacker and Last.fm?
MandM is offline  
post #46 of 8862 Old 08-10-2010, 12:02 AM
Member
 
Craig Mecak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Sydney, NSW, Australia
Posts: 35
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 10
New receivers, but still no Pro-Logic IIz? Even though there are Presence speakers? And no DTS-Neo:x either.

Seems strange to leave those out, despite supporting both front and back Presence outputs.

Craig.
Craig Mecak is offline  
post #47 of 8862 Old 08-10-2010, 03:18 AM
AVS Special Member
 
SoundChex's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: USA, west coast
Posts: 2,635
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 71 Post(s)
Liked: 79
Quote:
Originally Posted by Craig Mecak View Post

New receivers, but still no Pro-Logic IIz? Even though there are Presence speakers? And no DTS-Neo:x either.

Perhaps in response to DPLIIz(?) this model year, Yamaha deployed its 'better' Front Presence technology [CinemaDSP 3D] -- previously a feature on premium models -- on all its mid-range models, from the RX-V667/RX-A700 up. That might provide 'an opportunity' for Yamaha to offer a next generation (vertical) surround technology on any new 'high end' models targeted at Christmas 2010 (and maybe announced near CEDIA...?)

As an aside: If it is to be an effective product in its own right, DTS-Neo:x must operate on source material other than that encoded for DTS-HD. So I would expect it to include a feature set 'similar to DPLIIz' for use on that non-encoded/other-encoded material...?!

[Home Office system schematic]
"My AV systems were created by man. They evolved. They rebelled. There are many speakers. And they have . . . A PLAN."

SoundChex is online now  
post #48 of 8862 Old 08-10-2010, 05:48 AM
AVS Special Member
 
kriktsemaj99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Montreal, Canada
Posts: 5,942
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 107 Post(s)
Liked: 152
Quote:
Originally Posted by mastermaybe View Post

Do I know of an AVR that allows digital inputs in the 2nd/3rd zones?

Yea, every Denon CI model made. I'm currently using a $750 3310 that does.

I think that limited to 2 channel PCM from optical or digital coax (no HDMI sources). Still, it's better than nothing.
kriktsemaj99 is offline  
post #49 of 8862 Old 08-10-2010, 05:54 AM
AVS Special Member
 
kriktsemaj99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Montreal, Canada
Posts: 5,942
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 107 Post(s)
Liked: 152
Quote:
Originally Posted by race1 View Post

Ok Guys, as a yamaha dealer Im quoting this from my distributor. Please see the bold wording. it looks like yamaha is going the route of Sony with its ES series for some custom integrator dealer protection.

Well, they can already be pre-ordered on the internet (link). And I doubt they really have many superior components to the x67 series, it looks more like the price premium just pays for the extra warranty (but perhaps I'm being over cynical).
kriktsemaj99 is offline  
post #50 of 8862 Old 08-10-2010, 05:57 AM
AVS Special Member
 
mastermaybe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 7,147
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 41 Post(s)
Liked: 154
^ Of course it is "better than nothing" (2 channel digital operation), as it allows 2 channel music from virtually every source: CD players, media players (like my apple tv), SAT and Cable boxes, PS3, etc.

Not to mention I can also relay the ballgames from my DirecTV box with it as well.

Again, not that it needs (nor do I expect it) to be on every AVR in existence, but when you're paying near $2,000 AND they're labeling this a "Custom Integrator" line, give me a break.

Nearly ditto for the neutered amp control system. Not being able to utilize a 7 channel amplifier for the main room and re-assign the other 7 channels to useful work (other zones and presence speakers) is disappointing too.

Now the Denon would be an easy choice if it offered 11 channel operation instead of 9.

The most interesting/damning aspect of this limited availability will likely be them freezing these at or very near MSRP for a torturous good while.

James

Actual phone call (see pic to left):

 

Tech (responding to laughter): "I'm sorry sir, did I miss something?"

Me: "Yeah, a case of Diet Mountain Dew walking across my living room."

mastermaybe is offline  
post #51 of 8862 Old 08-10-2010, 06:02 AM
AVS Special Member
 
kriktsemaj99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Montreal, Canada
Posts: 5,942
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 107 Post(s)
Liked: 152
Quote:
Originally Posted by mastermaybe View Post

^ Of course it is (2 channel digital operation), as it allows 2 channel music from virtually every source: CD players, media players (like my apple tv), SAT and Cable boxes, PS3, etc.

Except that many people are now using HDMI connections from CD players, cable boxes, PS3 etc. So they still have to run an extra optical cable on the Denons for zone 2/3 (I checked the 4310 manual, and it doesn't work from HDMI). If you're running an extra cable anyway, it could easily be analog.

So I don't think it's quite as useful as it sounds, but I agree that it's better to have it than not.
kriktsemaj99 is offline  
post #52 of 8862 Old 08-10-2010, 06:16 AM
AVS Special Member
 
mastermaybe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 7,147
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 41 Post(s)
Liked: 154
It's useful to people like me who no longer use analog interconnects and would now have to purchase them and hook them up. Nevermind the degradation in SQ and leveling going to the analog outs of these devices.

It's just about time to move on.

James

Actual phone call (see pic to left):

 

Tech (responding to laughter): "I'm sorry sir, did I miss something?"

Me: "Yeah, a case of Diet Mountain Dew walking across my living room."

mastermaybe is offline  
post #53 of 8862 Old 08-10-2010, 08:29 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Tom Bley's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: IL. USA
Posts: 2,217
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 20
Quote:
Originally Posted by kriktsemaj99 View Post

Well, they can already be pre-ordered on the internet (link). And I doubt they really have many superior components to the x67 series, it looks more like the price premium just pays for the extra warranty (but perhaps I'm being over cynical).

Link doesn't work for me.
Tom Bley is offline  
post #54 of 8862 Old 08-10-2010, 08:43 AM
AVS Special Member
 
mastermaybe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 7,147
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 41 Post(s)
Liked: 154
worked for me...it's simply a pre-order screen at Crutchfield for the 1000. You're not missing much. Try this: http://www.crutchfield.com/S-RDuIm0z...-RX-A1000.html

James

Actual phone call (see pic to left):

 

Tech (responding to laughter): "I'm sorry sir, did I miss something?"

Me: "Yeah, a case of Diet Mountain Dew walking across my living room."

mastermaybe is offline  
post #55 of 8862 Old 08-10-2010, 10:25 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Tom Bley's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: IL. USA
Posts: 2,217
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 20
Thanks, the original link now worked for some reason.
Tom Bley is offline  
post #56 of 8862 Old 08-10-2010, 10:30 AM
Advanced Member
 
snoots's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 823
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I am intrigued by the web browser control interface. Looks like iphone/ipad/ipod touch would allow full control of this series of receiver. I need to replace my old STD-DA777es that i have been controlling with Cinemar interface via old slink. Have any of you had experience with any newer gen receivers that allow web control?
snoots is offline  
post #57 of 8862 Old 08-10-2010, 12:06 PM
AVS Special Member
 
kriktsemaj99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Montreal, Canada
Posts: 5,942
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 107 Post(s)
Liked: 152
Quote:
Originally Posted by snoots View Post

I am intrigued by the web browser control interface.

Some pics of the RX-V3900 browser interface were posted here. It gives you control over many things, but not everything. For complete control (normally used for setup) Yamaha have a separate application that runs on a Windows PC (called Receiver Manager), but that's not really suitable for use as a remote control. I don't know if the A series web browser interface will do more, but likely it'll be similar to the 3900.

Yamaha also provide a free iPhone app for remote control, but the current version is quite limited (much more limited than the web browser interface). There are also 3rd party remote control apps for iPhone/iPad etc. that are user configurable and can give complete control, but these are not free. The Yamaha network receivers use a complex protocol however, and some 3rd party apps might not support them.
kriktsemaj99 is offline  
post #58 of 8862 Old 08-10-2010, 01:19 PM
Newbie
 
coldmist's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
So, I'm in the market for something like the A1000.

I currently have an old RX-V2095 with a new Samsung C8000 55" screen and a HTPC, plus analog DVD player, VCR. Polk Audio speakers in a 5.0 config right now.

I have an external equalizer right now that I would like to get rid of if the receiver had it built-in.

For the price range up to $900 retail, what's the best deal? This? Denon 3311CI? Onkyo? Pioneer 1120? etc? Others?

Any thoughts on overall reasons for the choice would be appreciated.

I've got a chance to get this for a little under $900, and am wondering if that's the best bang for the buck right now.
coldmist is offline  
post #59 of 8862 Old 08-10-2010, 01:53 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Addicted Member
 
MichaelJHuman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Colorado Springs, CO
Posts: 18,742
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 161 Post(s)
Liked: 99
Quote:
Originally Posted by kriktsemaj99 View Post

Some pics of the RX-V3900 browser interface were posted here. It gives you control over many things, but not everything. For complete control (normally used for setup) Yamaha have a separate application that runs on a Windows PC (called Receiver Manager), but that's not really suitable for use as a remote control. I don't know if the A series web browser interface will do more, but likely it'll be similar to the 3900.

Yamaha also provide a free iPhone app for remote control, but the current version is quite limited (much more limited than the web browser interface). There are also 3rd party remote control apps for iPhone/iPad etc. that are user configurable and can give complete control, but these are not free. The Yamaha network receivers use a complex protocol however, and some 3rd party apps might not support them.

I wonder, could I publish my external IP addr, and let people here control my 3900?

"But this one goes up to 11"
MichaelJHuman is offline  
post #60 of 8862 Old 08-10-2010, 02:54 PM
Advanced Member
 
snoots's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 823
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
The user manual for the 2000 has some pictures of the web interface and it looks decent. Volume input selection scene selection etc. It's a little hard to judge from the pdf, also says you can browse through attached IPOD or USB drive for content.
snoots is offline  
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off