Help with ARC with Samsung PN58C800 and Denon AVR-591 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 12 Old 08-15-2010, 02:15 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
jcthrillhouse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 17
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have a Samsung PN58C8000 TV and a Denon AVR-591 receiver. I get my TV over the air with an antenna and I was hoping to use ARC to pass the audio to the AVR, but I can't get it to work. I've got the TV connected to the AVR in the HDMI 2 (ARC) slot on the TV and the TV audio set to external speakers. The AVR is set to have HDMI control on. Is there something I'm doing wrong? Any help would be greatly appreciated!

-Jim
jcthrillhouse is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 12 Old 10-07-2010, 11:11 AM
Newbie
 
mgfarr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Penfield, NY, USA
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
The ARC only works with HDMI #1 and will work with any receiver.

Mike Farrington
mgfarr is offline  
post #3 of 12 Old 10-07-2010, 04:38 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
jcthrillhouse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 17
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
[quote=jcthrillhouse;19052966]I have a Samsung PN58C8000 TV and a Denon AVR-591 receiver. I get my TV over the air with an antenna and I was hoping to use ARC to pass the audio to the AVR, but I can't get it to work. I've got the TV connected to the AVR in the HDMI 2 (ARC) slot on the TV and the TV audio set to external speakers. The AVR is set to have HDMI control on. Is there something I'm doing wrong? Any help would be greatly appreciated!


I figured out the problem a couple of months ago, so I though I'd share it in case anyone else has the same problem. Samsung Anynet+ with ARC on the Samsung TV works with the Denon AVR (and I believe most AVRs). You have to have the AVR hooked up to the HDMI 2 slot. Also, you can't have any non-HDMI cables hooked up to the AVR. I had a computer connected with a DVI to HDMI cable, which interferred with the Anynet+ system. Once I removed that, it worked great.
jcthrillhouse is offline  
post #4 of 12 Old 10-07-2010, 04:44 PM
AVS Special Member
 
JChin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Mesquite Tx
Posts: 8,528
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 86 Post(s)
Liked: 133
Hi Jim, was the DVI to HDMI cable connected to the reciever or Tv?
JChin is offline  
post #5 of 12 Old 10-07-2010, 05:20 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
jcthrillhouse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 17
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
It was connected to the AVR, but it still interfered with Anynet+
jcthrillhouse is offline  
post #6 of 12 Old 10-20-2010, 09:43 AM
Newbie
 
kian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
i might have a problem that can be fixed by your approach:
Currently i have an HTPC and a XBOX via HDMI connected to my Denon 3311 AVR. My TV is connected vie ARC.

When I turn on the TV to watch cable tv via the integrated TV Tuner, I do not have any sound via Denon AVR (input source is set to TV, ARC and Anynet is activated).

Accidentally I found the workaround: when I turn on the HTPC in the background without doing any source changes etc at both TV and AVR, my Denon suddenly plays sound coming from the TV channel.

When I turn on the TV and switch to XBOX or HTPC I have sound directly but when watching TV I need to activate the HTPC (it does not work though if I start the xbox). When I turn off the HTPC shortly afterwards I still have sound.

It seems that switching on the HTPC it triggers the sound for my TV channels on Denon.

How could that be possible? Any solution to that?
I will try disconnecting my CD PLayer, which is connected via cinch to my Denon. And also the XBOX and HTPC and check whether I will have sound directly without the workaround.

In the meantime, can you tell me where the problem might stem from?

Thanks.
Kian
kian is offline  
post #7 of 12 Old 08-12-2011, 04:35 AM
Member
 
jeremyp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Canada
Posts: 17
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have a different problem. I have a Samsung UN55D6420 and a Denon 2112 receiver. I would like to use ARC to send my OTA tv signal to my amp. I also have a mac mini with HDMI to the amp and into HDMI 2 (ARC) on the TV. When I turn on everything and go to use my Mac Mini it gets hijacked and turns the input on my receiver to TV. How do I get it to not do this?
jeremyp is offline  
post #8 of 12 Old 08-12-2011, 05:38 AM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 44,523
Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1047 Post(s)
Liked: 1510
You posted in a thread that is almost 1 year old and also would be much better served posting further questions in the Denon XX12 Owner's thread linked in my sig.

That said, when you set Anynet+ to ON on the Sammy to pass audio via ARC, the default is for the AVR to switch to the "TV" input. The solution is to turn Anynet+ OFF when you are not using it.

---------------------------------
"JD" –
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
; shop.avscience.com ; 585-645-1006, AVScience - Authorized dealer AVRs, Speakers, etc. 

Mon - Fri: 10am – 10pm EST (Sat/Sun too if you leave message)
Call for pricing on Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Def Tech, Atlantic Tech, Parasound
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is online now  
post #9 of 12 Old 09-01-2011, 03:24 PM
Newbie
 
dschuell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 12
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have a Sony 55hx929 connected via HDMI to my Denon 3312. How to I get Netflix which is streaming on the TV to have audio through the 3312?
dschuell is offline  
post #10 of 12 Old 09-01-2011, 03:38 PM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 44,523
Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1047 Post(s)
Liked: 1510
^^
As this is a 3312CI related question, you're much better served posting in the XX12 Owner's thread linked in my sig.

---------------------------------
"JD" –
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
; shop.avscience.com ; 585-645-1006, AVScience - Authorized dealer AVRs, Speakers, etc. 

Mon - Fri: 10am – 10pm EST (Sat/Sun too if you leave message)
Call for pricing on Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Def Tech, Atlantic Tech, Parasound
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is online now  
post #11 of 12 Old 12-07-2012, 04:03 AM
Newbie
 
noobnoob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi,

I had the same problem with my Samsung ue46es6300 and Denon 2113.

I solved it with a new HDMI cable (HDMI Highspeed,ethernet ,ARC and 3D support)

Regards
noobnoob is offline  
post #12 of 12 Old 12-07-2012, 11:18 AM
Newbie
 
hansu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi noobnoob,

I have almost the same setup. Samsung UE55ES6800 + Denon 2113.

Did you do any tricks? I can't get the TV audio through the HDMI cable. Just to make sure I already replaced the HDMI cable.

I'm using "TV Audio" source in the Denon 2113 and I also tried to change Audio Inputs, but I could not get the audio working. Did you do any changes on the TV side?

Thanks a lot for your support.

-hansu
hansu is offline  
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off