The Official Marantz SR7005 Receiver Page!! - Page 8 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #211 of 2410 Old 10-19-2010, 02:45 PM
Advanced Member
 
unclemat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 683
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Marantz has Dolby PLIIx that upmixes 5.1 source to 7.1 output. Applies to HD codecs such as TrueHD as well as long as their sampling frequency is 96 kHz or less (not a big problem, very few titles come in 192kHz).
unclemat is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #212 of 2410 Old 10-19-2010, 03:34 PM
Advanced Member
 
kevin_mahaney's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Springfield, MO
Posts: 617
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by sgupta View Post

Unfortunately, I can't answer your question but funnily enough have been wondering the opposite. That is, I have 5.1 speakers, and I'm wondering for 7.1 sources if the Marantz will combine the surround backs with the surrounds so I hear all channels without using a special mode.

I will say the one thing I have found that *might* be answering our questions to some degree is, I have a THX disk (DVD, not Blu Ray, so this is regular Dolby) including the THX audio tests, and when I do the room setup test, front, center, left, and sub all work normally. Surrounds work normally too, but what's interesting is, when it tests the surround backs, my regular surrounds make the tone.

From that, I'm inclined to think for 7.1 sources, it outputs both the surround and rear surround channel to the physical surrounds of a 5.1 speaker system.

How it handles the reverse I couldn't say. Though I'm wondering if it would actually be optimal to upmix 5.1 to 7.1 - wouldn't that change where the sound appears to be coming from? In other words, I can see why you'd want to downmix 7.1 to 5.1 so you hear everything even if directional sound isn't 100% accurate (as it's not going to be anyway without those extra speakers), but upmixing 5.1 to 7.1 sounds like it might make the sound field less accurate without adding any real benefit.

Just my thoughts - sorry I can't give you a defnitive answer.

I know what you're saying about upmixing, but I'm pretty sure that all DTS HD MA and DD True HD soundtracks are "flagged" for the rear channels. That is, there is built-in encoding for those with 7.1 setups. We have a less-than-optimal seating arrangement, but it is the only option, and it really helps to have the rear surrounds (you notice when they're inactive). Thanks for the info, sgupta, and if anyone else out there can comment, it would be much appreciated!

All persons, living and dead, are purely coincidental. - Kurt Vonnegut Jr.

kevin_mahaney is offline  
post #213 of 2410 Old 10-19-2010, 03:41 PM
Advanced Member
 
kevin_mahaney's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Springfield, MO
Posts: 617
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by unclemat View Post

Marantz has Dolby PLIIx that upmixes 5.1 source to 7.1 output. Applies to HD codecs such as TrueHD as well as long as their sampling frequency is 96 kHz or less (not a big problem, very few titles come in 192kHz).

Good to know. I'm wondering if, when you simply play a 5.1 DTS HD-MA soundtrack, you still get sound from the rear channels? With my SC-25, when playing a 5.1 DTS HD-MA movie, you get the rear channels, too. This is when the receiver is in "DTS HD-MA" standard surround mode with no other modifications. On the front, it just says "DTS HD-MA" and has only the L,C,R,SL,SR, and SW lights lit, but still plays out of the rears.

All persons, living and dead, are purely coincidental. - Kurt Vonnegut Jr.

kevin_mahaney is offline  
post #214 of 2410 Old 10-19-2010, 04:27 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Cattledog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Atlanta
Posts: 1,709
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Does anyone have a pic of the GUI overlay on video? (OTA, Sat, Cable, BD)

CD

Reality Based.
Cattledog is offline  
post #215 of 2410 Old 10-19-2010, 05:46 PM
AVS Special Member
 
cmryan821's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: New Orleans, LA
Posts: 1,007
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Is there a consensus as to whether or not the unit's amp can drive 4ohm speakers well?
cmryan821 is online now  
post #216 of 2410 Old 10-19-2010, 06:18 PM
Advanced Member
 
kevin_mahaney's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Springfield, MO
Posts: 617
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by sgupta View Post

I don't want to overblow this out of proportion. It's a bit annoying at first, but certainly by no means any sort of dealbreaker, at least for me. I'm pretty used to it at this point and point it to the right spot without thinking a lot about it. So I'd say it's a small issue. It's just something to get used to if you're coming from something with a wider angle.

Also, I noticed you too have a VT25, so there's an interesting workaround via HDMI. You can set the TV to control volume on the AVR. IE, you send the IR signal to the TV to decrease volume, and it adjusts the AVR.

Sgupta, I forgot to ask, I assume you mean this is possible by turning on VieraLink in the Panny and whatever HDMI control in the Marantz, right? Also, does this allow you to view things like the surround mode on the TV screen when it's changed rather than looking under the front panel on the Marantz?

All persons, living and dead, are purely coincidental. - Kurt Vonnegut Jr.

kevin_mahaney is offline  
post #217 of 2410 Old 10-19-2010, 06:53 PM
Senior Member
 
sgupta's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 349
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by unclemat View Post

Marantz has Dolby PLIIx that upmixes 5.1 source to 7.1 output. Applies to HD codecs such as TrueHD as well as long as their sampling frequency is 96 kHz or less (not a big problem, very few titles come in 192kHz).

Cool and thanks - do you know if the receiver knows to apply it automatically or if I have to manually enable it each time?
sgupta is offline  
post #218 of 2410 Old 10-19-2010, 06:55 PM
Senior Member
 
sgupta's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 349
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by kevin_mahaney View Post

I know what you're saying about upmixing, but I'm pretty sure that all DTS HD MA and DD True HD soundtracks are "flagged" for the rear channels. That is, there is built-in encoding for those with 7.1 setups. We have a less-than-optimal seating arrangement, but it is the only option, and it really helps to have the rear surrounds (you notice when they're inactive). Thanks for the info, sgupta, and if anyone else out there can comment, it would be much appreciated!

Ahhh okay that makes sense. (The reason I didn't go 7.1 is no real room for it). Sorry I can't answer you more directly, but I'm interested in hearing more about this also.
sgupta is offline  
post #219 of 2410 Old 10-19-2010, 07:12 PM
Senior Member
 
sgupta's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 349
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cattledog View Post

Does anyone have a pic of the GUI overlay on video? (OTA, Sat, Cable, BD)

CD

Here are a few to give you an idea; to get clear menus, I had to use flash on the camera, so you can't see the video too well - rest assured you actually can in person; it's just dimmed a bit.

http://www.flickr.com/photos/46070476@N08/5097938855/
http://www.flickr.com/photos/46070476@N08/5097940233/
http://www.flickr.com/photos/46070476@N08/5097941427/
sgupta is offline  
post #220 of 2410 Old 10-19-2010, 07:20 PM
Senior Member
 
sgupta's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 349
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by kevin_mahaney View Post

Sgupta, I forgot to ask, I assume you mean this is possible by turning on VieraLink in the Panny and whatever HDMI control in the Marantz, right? Also, does this allow you to view things like the surround mode on the TV screen when it's changed rather than looking under the front panel on the Marantz?

Correct - it's the VIERA Link that allows this control. Some people don't like VIERA Link as it by default means turning on or off devices with the TV, but you can turn that *part* of it off and leave the main setting on (this is in the wrench -> VIERA Link settings).

You can see volume up and down on the TV (not the numbers, but a small overlay comes up just indicating a volume change) as well as Mute, but that's about it audio-wise via the TV controls unless I'm missing something. (Info button displays stuff about the video, but nothing audio-wise). You can, of course, pull this up on the overlay for the Marantz on the TV screen, but that's using the Marantz control, so VIERA Link won't help there.
sgupta is offline  
post #221 of 2410 Old 10-19-2010, 08:13 PM
Advanced Member
 
kevin_mahaney's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Springfield, MO
Posts: 617
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by sgupta View Post

Correct - it's the VIERA Link that allows this control. Some people don't like VIERA Link as it by default means turning on or off devices with the TV, but you can turn that *part* of it off and leave the main setting on (this is in the wrench -> VIERA Link settings).

You can see volume up and down on the TV (not the numbers, but a small overlay comes up just indicating a volume change) as well as Mute, but that's about it audio-wise via the TV controls unless I'm missing something. (Info button displays stuff about the video, but nothing audio-wise). You can, of course, pull this up on the overlay for the Marantz on the TV screen, but that's using the Marantz control, so VIERA Link won't help there.

Thanks for the follow-up, sgupta. About half an hour ago, I realized that it is 2010 and we do have such a thing as the Internet, so I could stop being such a pest and go ahead and read the manual online, which I did. I'm pretty sure it answered most of my questions. I am not promising I won't bother you again, but I think I'm content for this evening. I HATE WAITING FOR MY GEAR TO GET HERE! Thanks again for your patience and help!

All persons, living and dead, are purely coincidental. - Kurt Vonnegut Jr.

kevin_mahaney is offline  
post #222 of 2410 Old 10-19-2010, 10:18 PM
Senior Member
 
sgupta's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 349
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by kevin_mahaney View Post

Thanks for the follow-up, sgupta. About half an hour ago, I realized that it is 2010 and we do have such a thing as the Internet, so I could stop being such a pest and go ahead and read the manual online, which I did. I'm pretty sure it answered most of my questions. I am not promising I won't bother you again, but I think I'm content for this evening. I HATE WAITING FOR MY GEAR TO GET HERE! Thanks again for your patience and help!

LOL - not a pest at all; happy to help if I can and discuss these things. The manual does help but it's still a bit confusing in parts until you actually see everything in action. Yeah the wait for the gear is always the most nerve-wracking bit! I hope you really enjoy yours once you receive it - let us know! =)
sgupta is offline  
post #223 of 2410 Old 10-20-2010, 05:49 AM
Senior Member
 
henningh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Posts: 298
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Does the SR6005 use the same menus as the SR7005?
henningh is offline  
post #224 of 2410 Old 10-20-2010, 12:49 PM
Advanced Member
 
unclemat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 683
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
^ Yes, based on the user manual. I.e. the "Commodore" menus from Denon 3311ci.
unclemat is offline  
post #225 of 2410 Old 10-20-2010, 01:52 PM
Senior Member
 
henningh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Posts: 298
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by unclemat View Post

^ Yes, based on the user manual. I.e. the "Commodore" menus from Denon 3311ci.

Thanks! The screenshots I've seen look fine. Much better than "Commodore".
henningh is offline  
post #226 of 2410 Old 10-20-2010, 02:01 PM
Senior Member
 
sgupta's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 349
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
I'm more than happy with the menus. They're probably not quite as pretty as, say, current Denon models, but Marantz is known for being a step behind technology wise, which isn't always a bad thing as long as sound quality and the important stuff comes first.

Also, I'd say this is still a nice step up from the Pioneer models (including Elites) since it can actually overlay and you don't have to keep switching inputs back and forth to access the meu.
sgupta is offline  
post #227 of 2410 Old 10-20-2010, 02:32 PM
Advanced Member
 
unclemat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 683
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I like Marantz's simpler menus better. The fancy Denon ones do one serious blunder. They change presentation of the menu options as you drill into them. I.e. when you scroll to a main menu via an icon, it shows a submenu as a list of text (description of each submenu item). Then the text submenu transforms into list of icons and reveals another submenu.

Basically a list of (purely) text suddenly because a ribbon of icons. The icons are not displayed with the text, so you don't see correlation between the submenu (now top level menu) and have to scroll to each position and read it title.

You get used to it after a while, but it's very confusing and an example of a badly designed UI, where the goal was form and function was ignored (I mean really where do they get those user experience specialists is beyond me).

On Marantz everything stays as text, and you simply enter next level of a menu. Pretty simple, but feels natural.
unclemat is offline  
post #228 of 2410 Old 10-20-2010, 04:18 PM
Advanced Member
 
kevin_mahaney's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Springfield, MO
Posts: 617
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by sgupta View Post

Harmony 900 here (not currently using RF addon; just IR) - seems to be about the same; the Harmony might work slightly better (that was perception) but in testing them side by side I can't reliably see the Harmony making a big performance difference.

I've got a Harmony One, and I noticed the 7005 isn't recognized in the Harmony database yet. Did you learn the remote buttons or use a different Marantz model?

All persons, living and dead, are purely coincidental. - Kurt Vonnegut Jr.

kevin_mahaney is offline  
post #229 of 2410 Old 10-20-2010, 04:24 PM
 
Daniel Hutnicki's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2000
Location: On the Internet
Posts: 6,183
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
looks like a great machine. I will probably order one for myself. Let me know if anyone has any questions about it
Daniel Hutnicki is offline  
post #230 of 2410 Old 10-20-2010, 04:34 PM
Senior Member
 
sgupta's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 349
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by kevin_mahaney View Post

I've got a Harmony One, and I noticed the 7005 isn't recognized in the Harmony database yet. Did you learn the remote buttons or use a different Marantz model?

Not home ATM to check but I think it used a similar model based on a few buttons it sensed on my remote - I'll check when I can.
sgupta is offline  
post #231 of 2410 Old 10-20-2010, 05:04 PM
Advanced Member
 
kevin_mahaney's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Springfield, MO
Posts: 617
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by sgupta View Post

Not home ATM to check but I think it used a similar model based on a few buttons it sensed on my remote - I'll check when I can.

That would be awesome, thanks!

All persons, living and dead, are purely coincidental. - Kurt Vonnegut Jr.

kevin_mahaney is offline  
post #232 of 2410 Old 10-20-2010, 10:48 PM
Senior Member
 
sgupta's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 349
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by kevin_mahaney View Post

That would be awesome, thanks!

So I checked out my Harmony software, and when you tell it SR7005, it wants you to use the remote near the Harmony to verify some settings and ends up suggesting trying the SR-7000 template, which works for all the basic functions for me at least (volume, power, GUI) until this is added to the DB. Hope this helps!
sgupta is offline  
post #233 of 2410 Old 10-20-2010, 10:54 PM
Senior Member
 
sgupta's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 349
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by unclemat View Post

I like Marantz's simpler menus better. The fancy Denon ones do one serious blunder. They change presentation of the menu options as you drill into them. I.e. when you scroll to a main menu via an icon, it shows a submenu as a list of text (description of each submenu item). Then the text submenu transforms into list of icons and reveals another submenu.

Basically a list of (purely) text suddenly because a ribbon of icons. The icons are not displayed with the text, so you don't see correlation between the submenu (now top level menu) and have to scroll to each position and read it title.

You get used to it after a while, but it's very confusing and an example of a badly designed UI, where the goal was form and function was ignored (I mean really where do they get those user experience specialists is beyond me).

On Marantz everything stays as text, and you simply enter next level of a menu. Pretty simple, but feels natural.

Actually good to know. Sometimes prettier isn't necessarily better. =) This Marantz menu does seem to work well once you get used to it. It does take some time to get to know where everything is as some of the headings aren't intuitive right off the bat, but after a little practice, it's quite easy to navigate, and probably preferable to lots of icons and little text.
sgupta is offline  
post #234 of 2410 Old 10-21-2010, 09:26 AM
 
Daniel Hutnicki's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2000
Location: On the Internet
Posts: 6,183
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I agree on the simpler menus. Sometimes the simplest thing needs to go through 8 levels of menus
Daniel Hutnicki is offline  
post #235 of 2410 Old 10-21-2010, 09:38 AM
Advanced Member
 
unclemat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 683
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I was comparing SR7005 and 4311ci, and while I initially thought I prefer SR7005 sound wise, now I tend to think 4311ci sounds better overall, and of course stomps on SR7005 features wise:

http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showp...postcount=2223
unclemat is offline  
post #236 of 2410 Old 10-21-2010, 02:05 PM
Senior Member
 
sgupta's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 349
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Unclemat, interesting observations.

I've definitely found after some comparison listening I prefer letting Audyssey calibrate the distances/levels, then turning it off and letting the natural sound come through. Like you, while playing with it, I initially thought I preferred Audyssey, but after some fairly extensive comparisons, now feel it was overemphasizing things a bit for *my* taste (others may vary, and so may rooms of course). I have a pretty good feeling I'd feel the same about other receivers, whether an MCACC based Pioneer or newer Audyssey based Denon, but of course it's impossible to say 100% without listening to them.

That Denon does look like a killer unit - I was considering it, but decided against for three main reasons:

1.) Availability; I needed something ASAP and it looked like it would be at least a few weeks before it became available enough for me to do that.
2.) A Definitive Technologies tech I spoke to highly recommended Marantz for my specific speakers.
3.) I actually felt better about buying the SR7005 and having it be the top receiver for a while from Marantz than buying the 4311 only to have the "better" A100 version come out shortly thereafter; I know this one's purely psychological, but it did bug me and I think would have given me a bit of buyer's remorse (silly I know).

The main advantages I see for the Denon are the 140 w per channel (which I don't seem to need for my setup as this goes plenty loud for my small room) and the newer MultEQ32 vs. the XT on the Marantz (which may or may not make much of a difference per each individual room setup). Besides that, how much useful stuff does the Denon offer the Marantz lacks? IMO, the Marantz has a very nice/very modern feature set, but is one step behind the Pioneers/Denons in terms of frills.

Also, the more I listen, the more I'm liking what I'm hearing. Since owning the Marantz, I've done 3 Audyssey calibrations (one quickie; two complete, mainly after changing speaker positioning slightly, etc.), and now I can safely say it's been a few days since I've adjusted audio much at all. I don't know if it's break-in or just me getting used to the sound, but I'm finding I'm liking it more and more.

Enjoy your Denon, and I look forward to further observations. Is the Denon as warm as the Marantz? Are you auditioning them both to decide which to keep, or in a position where you get to play with different equipment regularly?
sgupta is offline  
post #237 of 2410 Old 10-21-2010, 02:16 PM
Senior Member
 
sgupta's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 349
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Also, re your too much bass on the Marantz. Just curious if you adjusted crossovers after running Audyssey?

My first complete calibration with Audyssey, once it was done I went in and adjusted crossovers to speaker manufacturer spec.

This second time, I left them at what Audyssey detected (much higher for center and surrounds), and...I much prefer the sound this way. It took a lot of the edge off the bass, but it's still there and very prominent when it's supposed to be.

Finally, I'd love to hear a comparison of the sound with any sort of EQ turned off...ie, speaker levels/distances in place, but that's all, for both.
sgupta is offline  
post #238 of 2410 Old 10-21-2010, 03:12 PM
AVS Special Member
 
rocky1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: miami
Posts: 1,626
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Was wondering if anyone has gone from a marantz sr8002 to the sr7005? Would u think this was an upgrade or lateral move.And if you did any comparisons.
rocky1 is offline  
post #239 of 2410 Old 10-21-2010, 03:21 PM
Advanced Member
 
unclemat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 683
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I did not adjust crossovers, except changing front speakers to "small" ("large" effectively means no crossover from the fronts). That cleans up the bass, since there is no overlap between the fronts and the sub.

Marantz sounds very nice, but the bass is overdone (with Audyssey+DynEq) and it sounds more "edgy", i.e. brighter. Denon has this smoother, more mid-tone centered sound, that feels overall more natural. Especially apparent with jazz and classics. I really do think now Denon is not only better features wise but also sound wise.

I liked Marantz look better, although the main display being hidden behind the door is somewhat pain, plus the design compromises the IR reception. Marantz's remote is much nicer than Denon's (which is garbage), but then it's mostly moot since I will be using Harmony remote anyway.

To me big advantages of the 4311ci are: 9 amps and DCD decoding. Not sure if native DCD decoding made a difference, but SACDs listened thru Denon sound markedly better than on Marantz. The difference with some PCM sources was less.

I am auditioning them deciding to which one to keep. I initially got Marantz SR5005 but then realized it does not overlay UI (user manual seems to suggest it does), then read about the Denon, and given the feature set, decided to get it. But then thought, hmmm, Marantz was perhaps sound better, so got SR7005 to compare and decide which one to keep.

I think it would be very difficult to be unhappy with either one. Both are incredible audio producing pieces of equipment.
unclemat is offline  
post #240 of 2410 Old 10-21-2010, 05:21 PM
wse
AVS Special Member
 
wse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: USA
Posts: 6,275
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 100 Post(s)
Liked: 275
How about the sound on the new Yamaha Aventage line vs the SR 7500?
wse is offline  
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors

Tags
Marantz , Marantz Sr7005 Audio Video Receiver Black
Gear in this thread

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off