The Official Marantz SR7005 Receiver Page!! - Page 89 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 19Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #2641 of 2666 Old 05-05-2016, 10:48 PM
Member
 
smaragd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Hong Kong
Posts: 49
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 14
I have the service manual for the SR7005 and can confirm that the PCB's are model specific. Not sure if you can order it straight from the Marantz service centre. Also, replacing it requires some engineering skills as some settings need to be calibrated...


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
smaragd is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2642 of 2666 Old 05-06-2016, 06:19 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2016
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Thanks. Cheers
Genghiskwong is offline  
post #2643 of 2666 Old 11-19-2016, 01:13 PM
Member
 
Gsaraco's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 71
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Question

I just recently noticed the "Game" option in the Video Mode menu. Anyone know what this actually does? The in-menu description is somewhat vague:

"Game : Always process video appropriate for game content."

Is this similar to the "game mode" on some HDTVs? Where video processing is mostly disabled in order to improve response times for video games?

It'd be cool if that was the case. I've always wondered if I was adding a bit of lag to games by running through the receiver instead of plugging directly into the TV. Obviously I deemed the sound worthy of the trade-off, but it'd be nice to have my aural cake and eat it too. Unless this setting is completely unrelated to any of that -- in which case, never mind!
Gsaraco is offline  
 
post #2644 of 2666 Old 11-19-2016, 01:54 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 71,287
Mentioned: 378 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 15054 Post(s)
Liked: 7264
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gsaraco View Post
I just recently noticed the "Game" option in the Video Mode menu. Anyone know what this actually does? The in-menu description is somewhat vague:

"Game : Always process video appropriate for game content."

Is this similar to the "game mode" on some HDTVs? Where video processing is mostly disabled in order to improve response times for video games?

It'd be cool if that was the case. I've always wondered if I was adding a bit of lag to games by running through the receiver instead of plugging directly into the TV. Obviously I deemed the sound worthy of the trade-off, but it'd be nice to have my aural cake and eat it too. Unless this setting is completely unrelated to any of that -- in which case, never mind!
Yup.
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #2645 of 2666 Old 05-27-2017, 06:46 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2017
Location: La La Land
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Hi new here with a newly bought Marantz SR7005 and B&W 604 S2's. I would like to hook my equalizer up to the 7005 but I cannot for the life of me figure out where to put the input and where the output would go. Also, if I wanted to hook an external amp to the 7005, where would that connect to?

Too many possibilities on the back of this baby for me to be able to figure out.

Thanks in advance...
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_5866.jpg
Views:	20
Size:	258.7 KB
ID:	2158906  
IndustrialEcho is offline  
post #2646 of 2666 Old 05-28-2017, 01:49 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 71,287
Mentioned: 378 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 15054 Post(s)
Liked: 7264
Quote:
Originally Posted by IndustrialEcho View Post
Hi new here with a newly bought Marantz SR7005 and B&W 604 S2's. I would like to hook my equalizer up to the 7005 but I cannot for the life of me figure out where to put the input and where the output would go. Also, if I wanted to hook an external amp to the 7005, where would that connect to?

Too many possibilities on the back of this baby for me to be able to figure out.

Thanks in advance...
1. Try using the on board EQ first (ie. Audyssey).
2. To use an external EQ, power off the SR7005 and connect the source output to the external EQ, then connect the external EQ output to the SR7005 "7.1 CH Inputs" labeled FL/FR.
3. To connect an external amp, power off the SR7005 and disconnect the FL/FR speaker wires from the FL/FR speaker posts on the SR7005 and connect a set of cables from the SR7005 "Pre-Outs" labeled FL/FR to the external amp and then connect the FL/FR speaker wires to the external amp's speakers posts. Set the external amp to at least 80% of max volume (if it has a volume control).
IndustrialEcho likes this.
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #2647 of 2666 Old 05-28-2017, 08:18 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2017
Location: La La Land
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdsmoothie View Post
1. Try using the on board EQ first (ie. Audyssey).
2. To use an external EQ, power off the SR7005 and connect the source output to the external EQ, then connect the external EQ output to the SR7005 "7.1 CH Inputs" labeled FL/FR.
3. To connect an external amp, power off the SR7005 and disconnect the FL/FR speaker wires from the FL/FR speaker posts on the SR7005 and connect a set of cables from the SR7005 "Pre-Outs" labeled FL/FR to the external amp and then connect the FL/FR speaker wires to the external amp's speakers posts. Set the external amp to at least 80% of max volume (if it has a volume control).
Thanks jd!

My SR7005 did not come with the Audyssey microphone or a remote. I just ordered one of those replacement remotes, but I have not seen an Audyssey mike for sale.
IndustrialEcho is offline  
post #2648 of 2666 Old 05-29-2017, 03:20 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 71,287
Mentioned: 378 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 15054 Post(s)
Liked: 7264
Quote:
Originally Posted by IndustrialEcho View Post
Thanks jd!

My SR7005 did not come with the Audyssey microphone or a remote. I just ordered one of those replacement remotes, but I have not seen an Audyssey mike for sale.
You can purchase one from Marantz or on eBay for about $25.

https://www.ebay.com/p/Audyssey-ACM1...ntz/1601865183
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #2649 of 2666 Old 05-29-2017, 08:51 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2017
Location: La La Land
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdsmoothie View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by IndustrialEcho View Post
Thanks jd!

My SR7005 did not come with the Audyssey microphone or a remote. I just ordered one of those replacement remotes, but I have not seen an Audyssey mike for sale.
You can purchase one from Marantz or on eBay for about $25.

https://www.ebay.com/p/Audyssey-ACM1...ntz/1601865183
Thank you again so much jd!
IndustrialEcho is offline  
post #2650 of 2666 Old 09-05-2017, 07:50 AM
Member
 
johnno23's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 16
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Using the SR7005 almost since day 1 and still very satisfied....
Never any problems other than the network till I updated my router and was able to manually give the 7005 a static ip and now the beast works better than ever.
Thats the good news....
The bad is due to age....
I have KEF mains and Subwoofer and I purchased from USA the ORB satellites, sound wise they match and compliment each other very well.
I also have a pair of Daco floor standers and a spare set of ORB's as I no longer use them in the work room.
So with the advent of DTS-X and Atmos I am looking at some very neat items available on the market that decode just about anything you throw at them.
Sadly the SR7005 cannot.
So I have looked and read and looked again. I really do not want to give up the SR7005 as it is in 99.9% condition. Treated with love and care and never abused.

So some questions...the optical audio in....Does this relay exactly what comes in to the amplification section or will it be processed ?
If it is simply a pass on signal to the amplification area will it then handle the DTS-X signal or simply drop it down to the 7.1 ?
I am afraid it is the latter so my next question is.....
has anyone found a method of using the SR7005 for amplification but do all decoding externally via the newer BR players or something as the Egreat A10?
Any info would be helpful as I really do not want to give up such a faithful beast that still serves so well.
johnno23 is offline  
post #2651 of 2666 Old 09-05-2017, 09:59 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 71,287
Mentioned: 378 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 15054 Post(s)
Liked: 7264
Quote:
Originally Posted by johnno23 View Post
Using the SR7005 almost since day 1 and still very satisfied....
Never any problems other than the network till I updated my router and was able to manually give the 7005 a static ip and now the beast works better than ever.
Thats the good news....
The bad is due to age....
I have KEF mains and Subwoofer and I purchased from USA the ORB satellites, sound wise they match and compliment each other very well.
I also have a pair of Daco floor standers and a spare set of ORB's as I no longer use them in the work room.
So with the advent of DTS-X and Atmos I am looking at some very neat items available on the market that decode just about anything you throw at them.
Sadly the SR7005 cannot.
So I have looked and read and looked again. I really do not want to give up the SR7005 as it is in 99.9% condition. Treated with love and care and never abused.

So some questions...the optical audio in....Does this relay exactly what comes in to the amplification section or will it be processed ?
If it is simply a pass on signal to the amplification area will it then handle the DTS-X signal or simply drop it down to the 7.1 ?
I am afraid it is the latter so my next question is.....
has anyone found a method of using the SR7005 for amplification but do all decoding externally via the newer BR players or something as the Egreat A10?
Any info would be helpful as I really do not want to give up such a faithful beast that still serves so well.

1. Atmos is passed on a Dolby TrueHD signal and DTS:X is passed on a DTS HD-MA signal both of which require HDMI. Optical only pass the lossy DD/DTS audio tracks.
2. Most 4k Blu Ray players feature dual HDMI outputs ... one to pass the 4k video to the TV and the other to pass the HD audio to the non-4k AVR.

Last edited by jdsmoothie; 09-05-2017 at 10:22 AM.
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #2652 of 2666 Old 09-05-2017, 10:16 AM
Member
 
johnno23's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 16
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdsmoothie View Post
1. Atmos is passed on a Dolby TrueHD signal and DTS:X is passed on a DTS HD-MA signal both of which require HDMI. Optical only only pass the lossy DD/DTS audio tracks.
2. Most 4k Blu Ray players feature dual HDMI outputs ... one to pass the 4k video to the TV and the other to pass the HD audio to the non-4k AVR.
Pity, my next purchase which will be a 4K UHD BR player as I have a 4K capable TV I can have the image but not the sound
My TV does cannot send sound back via the HMDI 1 ARC so I use the TV coaxial out to the SR7005 at the moment.
With the newer BR players I can use the Audio out HDMI to get the signal into the SR7005 but I think is going to be downsampled from DTS-X or Atmos to a 7.1 which is what I have set up right now.?
I have the outputs on the 7005 for the 2 extra front wide speakers but I was reading elsewhere that the sound when using those would be simply matrixed to accommodate them.
So no way for me to modify the beast ?
I like the newer SR7011 and the money is not an issue I just find it hard to justify getting rid of the 7005. It has served me well and looks and sounds as good today as when I purchased it all those years ago.
erhurd likes this.
johnno23 is offline  
post #2653 of 2666 Old 09-05-2017, 10:25 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 71,287
Mentioned: 378 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 15054 Post(s)
Liked: 7264
Quote:
Originally Posted by johnno23 View Post
Pity, my next purchase which will be a 4K UHD BR player as I have a 4K capable TV I can have the image but not the sound
My TV does cannot send sound back via the HMDI 1 ARC so I use the TV coaxial out to the SR7005 at the moment.
With the newer BR players I can use the Audio out HDMI to get the signal into the SR7005 but I think is going to be downsampled from DTS-X or Atmos to a 7.1 which is what I have set up right now.?
I have the outputs on the 7005 for the 2 extra front wide speakers but I was reading elsewhere that the sound when using those would be simply matrixed to accommodate them.
So no way for me to modify the beast ?
I like the newer SR7011 and the money is not an issue I just find it hard to justify getting rid of the 7005. It has served me well and looks and sounds as good today as when I purchased it all those years ago.
Oops .. my bad ...was focusing on the lack of 4k/HDCP 2.2 but also forgot the SR7005 doesn't feature an Atmos/DTS:X decoder either. The audio wouldn't be down sampled, the SR7005 would only play the Dolby TrueHD/DTS HD-MA audio track and ignore the Atmos/DTS:X meta data.

You'll have to upgrade to a newer model (eg. SR7011) to get Atmos + DTS:X. Note however, the SR7011 is only a 9CH model so if you want to do an Atmos/DTS:X 7.1.4 setup, you can use the SR7005 to power the 2 additional channels to go from 9CH --> 11CH.

Last edited by jdsmoothie; 09-05-2017 at 10:29 AM.
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #2654 of 2666 Old 09-05-2017, 10:29 AM
Member
 
johnno23's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 16
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdsmoothie View Post
Oops .. my bad ...was focusing on the lack of 4k/HDCP 2.2 but also forgot the SR7005 doesn't feature an Atmos/DTS:X decoder either.

You'll have to upgrade to a newer model (eg. SR7011) to get Atmos + DTS:X. Note however, the SR7011 is only a 9CH model so if you want to do an Atmos/DTS:X 7.1.4 setup, you can use the SR7005 to power the 2 additional channels to go from 9CH --> 11CH.
AHA, so if I am not a complete idiot and misunderstand the DUAL HDMI BDP will send the DTS-X signal to the SR7005.
Does that mean I can use the extra front wide speaker connections to hear the DTS-X soundscape ?
Sorry for so many questions
johnno23 is offline  
post #2655 of 2666 Old 09-05-2017, 10:30 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 71,287
Mentioned: 378 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 15054 Post(s)
Liked: 7264
Quote:
Originally Posted by johnno23 View Post
AHA, so if I am not a complete idiot and misunderstand the DUAL HDMI BDP will send the DTS-X signal to the SR7005.
Does that mean I can use the extra front wide speaker connections to hear the DTS-X soundscape ?
Sorry for so many questions
Nope. Please review my previously edited post.

Also important to note that the 2016 (ie. SR7011) and newer models no longer feature Front Wide speaker capability.
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #2656 of 2666 Old 09-05-2017, 10:32 AM
Member
 
johnno23's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 16
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 11
OK....that is what I was afraid of..
No problem. I shall upgrade the BDP and enjoy the visuals....I see no reason to dump a perfectly good and imo excellent SR7005 at this time.
I shall continue to use the 7.1 system and add my two spare ORB speakers to the front wide for a little extra candy for the ears.
Thanks for your time...
johnno23 is offline  
post #2657 of 2666 Old 09-15-2017, 08:27 AM
Member
 
dintymoore2003's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 57
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 21 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by johnno23 View Post
OK....that is what I was afraid of..
No problem. I shall upgrade the BDP and enjoy the visuals....I see no reason to dump a perfectly good and imo excellent SR7005 at this time.
I shall continue to use the 7.1 system and add my two spare ORB speakers to the front wide for a little extra candy for the ears.
Thanks for your time...
I still have my SR7005 and am using dual HDMI out from an Oppo203. an LGOLEDB6 is the diaplay. IT still sounds great with 7.1 and looks great too. BTW, your post earlier I believe stated you've been using your optical out from your TV to route surround sound to the SR. If this is the case, you've never listened to the lossless codecs on BluRay then. You would've needed to either get the sound via HDMI from the player or have the player decode and send via 7.1 analog.

LG OLED65B6P, Oppo UDP-203, Marantz SR-7005, Classe CA-150, Adcom GFA-7300, JRiver HTPC,
JM Lab (Focal) Cobalt 815s w/ CC701VLE, Infinity RS3 Surrounds, SVS PB-13 Ultra
dintymoore2003 is offline  
post #2658 of 2666 Old 09-15-2017, 09:13 PM
Member
 
johnno23's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 16
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 11
My bad as I was a little sparse with info as I was looking to see how to move forward without losing an already excellent AVR that does not deserve being dumped to keep up with newer tech.
I use as inputs HDMI Coaxial and optical.....
HDMI does the pass thru and the Marantz handless the 7.1 sound and has always sounded excellent.
The Coaxial is from the TV as it is a unit that does not have ARC but is a 65" at 120HZ with ULED screen 4K so visuals are fine.
The optical I have running from an older model OPPO DVD player that I still use for my music CD's
The Marantz itself is set to Auto so the sound signals are switching correctly and displayed properly on the Marantz LED screen
Right now I am being patient as I am sure that some smart cookie will develop a gadget that can assist with DTS-X in the future.
The Dolby Atmos may sound cool but when people need to upgrade Speakers and their Amps then I do not see it as a viable option for those that have already spent a lot of money on Quality components.
DTS-X I think have more possibilities and also sounds awesome. I listened to some test samples and video at an exhibit a while ago in Shanghai and was impressed.
I am of the opinion that at some point someone will develop a box to decode the signals and allow the addition of extra speakers and amp.
Tech is moving so fast these days and as the system is entirely digital I see no reason why a box with 1 HDMI in cannot split that signal to 2 HDMI outs allowing for the extra spatial sounds to be sent to another source for amplification......
But I might just be dreaming )
johnno23 is offline  
post #2659 of 2666 Old Yesterday, 04:31 PM
Senior Member
 
jaramill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: San Diego, CA
Posts: 301
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 16 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by tidwelr1 View Post
im hoping it's the HDMI board bc I've tried everything to fix the handshake issue with mine. I luckily purchased the ext warranty via acc for less when I bought mine. I'm not ready for atmos yet, but I would prefer audessey x32. Mine is going to united radio in New York. Hope it's a quick turn around.
Just wanted to give an update....my "new" HDMI board that was replaced for the original died again (this time it was loss of center channel sound) last month. So I brought it back to Adam's Electronics in Huntington Beach, CA (now I could drive it there as I moved from Phoenix to San Diego) and when they researched it, it turns out that Marantz actually replaced it with a "refurbished" HDMI board instead of a new one. And since Adam's Electronics previously worked on it that's how they knew.

So it was not able to be repaired because Marantz no longer makes parts for this. So just an FYI for current members. So when I took it back home the center channel now works but now can't hear from the front left channel. Other than that it works great but I feel like it's very expensive "paper weight" and at some point other channels may go.

I guess I can think about splitting out things and getting the amp, and the processor separately. Not that that would eliminate an HDMI board going bad but gives me an opportunity. Too bad as the SR7005 is a nice piece of equipment. I'm looking at either staying with Marantz or going to Rotel.
jaramill is online now  
post #2660 of 2666 Old Yesterday, 07:06 PM
Advanced Member
 
tidwelr1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Lexington, SC
Posts: 592
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 263 Post(s)
Liked: 73
Quote:
Originally Posted by jaramill View Post
Just wanted to give an update....my "new" HDMI board that was replaced for the original died again (this time it was loss of center channel sound) last month. So I brought it back to Adam's Electronics in Huntington Beach, CA (now I could drive it there as I moved from Phoenix to San Diego) and when they researched it, it turns out that Marantz actually replaced it with a "refurbished" HDMI board instead of a new one. And since Adam's Electronics previously worked on it that's how they knew.



So it was not able to be repaired because Marantz no longer makes parts for this. So just an FYI for current members. So when I took it back home the center channel now works but now can't hear from the front left channel. Other than that it works great but I feel like it's very expensive "paper weight" and at some point other channels may go.



I guess I can think about splitting out things and getting the amp, and the processor separately. Not that that would eliminate an HDMI board going bad but gives me an opportunity. Too bad as the SR7005 is a nice piece of equipment. I'm looking at either staying with Marantz or going to Rotel.


Interesting and not surprising. I've long since moved onto the sr7010. Had it for 9-12 months if not longer. I purchased one of the below for my new unit. I think heat may have contributed to some of my previous problems.

https://www.amazon.com/gp/aw/d/B01LW...ref=mp_s_a_1_1




Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Scott Oakley likes this.
tidwelr1 is offline  
post #2661 of 2666 Old Yesterday, 07:18 PM
Senior Member
 
jaramill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: San Diego, CA
Posts: 301
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 16 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by tidwelr1 View Post
Interesting and not surprising. I've long since moved onto the sr7010. Had it for 9-12 months if not longer. I purchased one of the below for my new unit. I think heat may have contributed to some of my previous problems.

https://www.amazon.com/gp/aw/d/B01LW...ref=mp_s_a_1_1
Ah you know, I have an Avion 8929 Cabinet from BDI and although there are slotted vents in the back, nothing in the front Avion® 8929 Media Cabinet. Thanks for the link about the fan system to put on top of the AVR. I will keep that in mind.
jaramill is online now  
post #2662 of 2666 Old Today, 04:51 AM
Advanced Member
 
Scott Oakley's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Phoenix, Arizona
Posts: 776
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 76 Post(s)
Liked: 95
Cool

Quote:
Originally Posted by jaramill View Post
Ah you know, I have an Avion 8929 Cabinet from BDI and although there are slotted vents in the back, nothing in the front Avion® 8929 Media Cabinet. Thanks for the link about the fan system to put on top of the AVR. I will keep that in mind.
Just some input: I have a Salamander Sonoma AV credenza with open backs, vented floors and well vented front doors and my SR5012 STILL gets as hot as heck. I think my beloved SR5005 finally succombed to heat. My own personal conclusion: a "specially designed" (expensive) av cabinet is not a guarantee of cool running conditions.

Panasonic 2013 55VT60
Marantz SR-5012 AVR
B&W 805 Speakers
Velodyne 10" Sub
TiVO Premiere
Scott Oakley is offline  
post #2663 of 2666 Old Today, 07:03 AM
Advanced Member
 
erhurd's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Buckeye, Arizona (Phoenix); USA; Planet Earth
Posts: 536
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 63 Post(s)
Liked: 54
Quote:
Originally Posted by Scott Oakley View Post
Just some input: I have a Salamander Sonoma AV credenza with open backs, vented floors and well vented front doors and my SR5012 STILL gets as hot as heck. I think my beloved SR5005 finally succombed to heat. My own personal conclusion: a "specially designed" (expensive) av cabinet is not a guarantee of cool running conditions.
I purchased this open-air audio-video shelf in early 1993 and every AVR I have ever placed on it has never experienced a single overheat incident. My current SR7005 has been happily housed on this Chicago Audio Group model Avia MR53 component rack since 2012 without any supplemental cooling of any sort. Unfortunately, this product is no longer available.

Sent from my SM-G900P using Tapatalk
m. zillch likes this.

Edwin R. Hurd
AVS Forums Lurker-In-Training!

My Tight-space A/V Setup
erhurd is online now  
post #2664 of 2666 Old Today, 08:23 AM
Advanced Member
 
Scott Oakley's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Phoenix, Arizona
Posts: 776
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 76 Post(s)
Liked: 95
Cool

Quote:
Originally Posted by erhurd View Post
I purchased this open-air audio-video shelf in early 1993 and every AVR I have ever placed on it has never experienced a single overheat incident. My current SR7005 has been happily housed on this Chicago Audio Group model Avia MR53 component rack since 2012 without any supplemental cooling of any sort. Unfortunately, this product is no longer available.

Sent from my SM-G900P using Tapatalk
I can see why you never had a heat problem: your rack is completely open; most A/V credenzes are not.

I also will say that both the SR5005 and the new SR5012 run HOT even under very mild load.

Panasonic 2013 55VT60
Marantz SR-5012 AVR
B&W 805 Speakers
Velodyne 10" Sub
TiVO Premiere
Scott Oakley is offline  
post #2665 of 2666 Old Today, 11:46 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
m. zillch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 7,300
Mentioned: 10 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1975 Post(s)
Liked: 1265
Open shelving is definitely the way to go (in my opinion as well) unless you invest in a fan cooling system and they often introduce some mechanical noise. The instructions are pretty clear that if you expect to install it in an un-cooled enclosure it better have, *gulp*, a foot of clearance in all directions, top, back, and sides:



Even though I used to be a Salamander dealer I never bought one of their nice racks. For many years I've been using (and like very much) very affordable metal wire shelving, aka baker's racks, such as Metro and the clone versions often found at Target, Lowes, etc. with added heavy duty casters so it is easy to spin my rack around to make additions and wiring adjustments.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg sr7005-cooling-clearance-demands-15K.jpg (15.5 KB, 24 views)

In A/V reproduction accuracy, there IS no concept of "accounting for personal taste/preference". As art consumers we don't "pick" the level of bass, nor the tint/brightness of a scene's sky, any more than we pick the ending of a novel or Mona Lisa's type of smile. "High fidelity" means "high truthfulness", faithful to the original artist's intent: an unmodified, neutral, accurate copy of the original master, ideally being exact and with no discernable alterations, aka "transparency".
m. zillch is offline  
post #2666 of 2666 Old Today, 12:27 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Audiguy3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Fort Collins CO
Posts: 1,404
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 135 Post(s)
Liked: 73
I would suggest getting a temp gun like in the picture. Look for them on sale as they can be as cheap as US$30. Very useful to know what the temps of your system are:


Reggie
Basement: Sony 75" 4K 940D/Marantz AV8802A & MM8077 & MM7055/GoldenEar:Triton Ones,/SuperCenter XXL center channel/ Triton 7s/Oppo BDP-205/Directv HR54/Roku 4K
Family Room:
Sony 75" 4K 940D/Marantz AV8802A & MM8077/ Vandersteen Treo Front/ GoldEar SuperSat60 Surround/ Directv C61K

Audiguy3 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors

Tags
Marantz , Marantz Sr7005 Audio Video Receiver Black

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off