Subwoofer stopped working (connected to Sony STR-DG800) - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 9 Old 08-22-2010, 07:32 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
Try4ce's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 18
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I've had my receiver and speakers for 4 years. It's a Sony STR-DG800, and small JBL satellite speakers with a subwoofer. After I moved some stuff last weekend, the subwoofer is no longer working while connected to the receiver. The subwoofer has a LFE input, which I've always used, and left and right RCA inputs, which I've never used.

I tested the subwoofer inputs by connecting my laptop directly to it, and it definitely woofs. I checked the receiver settings, and the subwoofer was set to "Yes." I even just now defaulted my receiver settings. Still nothing. I don't know whether this "subwoofer cable" I've been using is anything special or just a marketing ploy, but for the sake of testing, I tried connecting a nice RCA cable from the subwoofer output to the LFE input... and that also did nothing, so that suggests to me that my "subwoofer cable" is likely still OK. I guess?

Anyway, I'm at a complete loss here. Audio is not my specialty, and I feel like I've troubleshot the issue as far as I can on my own.
Try4ce is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 9 Old 08-22-2010, 07:45 AM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 45,276
Mentioned: 13 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1407 Post(s)
Liked: 1603
Unplug the RCA cable from the receiver and gently rub your finger over the tip to confirm the cable and sub are working properly. If you didn't make any settings changes, rather simply plugged the cables back in, then check to see if there is a microprocessor reset feature on the receiver.

---------------------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; shop.avscience.com ; 585-645-1006, AVScience - Authorized dealer for AVRs, Speakers, etc. 
Daily 8am – 8pm EST (Sat/Sun too if you leave message)
Call for pricing on Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Pioneer Elite, Def Tech, Atlantic Tech, Oppo
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #3 of 9 Old 08-22-2010, 08:19 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
Try4ce's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 18
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdsmoothie View Post

Unplug the RCA cable from the receiver and gently rub your finger over the tip to confirm the cable and sub are working properly. If you didn't make any settings changes, rather simply plugged the cables back in, then check to see if there is a microprocessor reset feature on the receiver.

I just tried touching the other end of the subwoofer cable. I do get a very low hum from the subwoofer when I touch it. But plugged in, I'm still getting nothing.

As for the microprocessor reset, a quick search for "processor" over the manual PDF doesn't seem to show anything like that.
Try4ce is offline  
post #4 of 9 Old 08-22-2010, 04:36 PM
AVS Special Member
 
samsurd2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Central Coast of CA
Posts: 3,446
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Since you said in the original post that you reset everything to defaults (I assume you used procedure on pg 33 of the manual), have you now gone back into "7-SYSTEM MENU" (see pg 49) to make sure that SUBWOOFER is indeed set to YES (should be since that's the default)? Also, the default for your FL/C/FR/SL/SR is LARGE so you'd need to redo those as SMALL.
samsurd2 is offline  
post #5 of 9 Old 08-25-2010, 09:01 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
Try4ce's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 18
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I checked my speakers and set them all to small. Subwoofer still isn't doing its job.
Try4ce is offline  
post #6 of 9 Old 08-25-2010, 09:11 PM
AVS Special Member
 
JChin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Mesquite Tx
Posts: 8,547
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 97 Post(s)
Liked: 134
What happens when performing a manual test tone to the sub?
JChin is offline  
post #7 of 9 Old 08-26-2010, 03:31 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
Try4ce's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 18
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by JChin View Post

What happens when performing a manual test tone to the sub?

Nothing.
Try4ce is offline  
post #8 of 9 Old 08-26-2010, 04:30 PM
AVS Special Member
 
JChin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Mesquite Tx
Posts: 8,547
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 97 Post(s)
Liked: 134
Quote:
Originally Posted by Try4ce View Post

Nothing.

Is it connected to Sub Out (next to Sur L & R Pre-Out) and not Multi CH In Sub In (next to Zone 2 L & R Out)?
JChin is offline  
post #9 of 9 Old 09-15-2012, 09:23 AM
Member
 
liteon163's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 26
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I was running into a similar problem. Pushing the AFD button on your remote or on the receiver might help. This is how my STR-DG800 started using my subwoofer for music as well as movies.
liteon163 is offline  
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off