The "Official" Denon AVR-4311CI/AVR-A100 thread [NO PRICE TALK] - Page 102 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #3031 of 23296 Old 11-09-2010, 11:17 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Johnla's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 11,497
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 20
Quote:
Originally Posted by Djoel View Post

I'm finding all these issues with blue rain, and audio drop out a bit disturbing. What I don't get is I had the 3311 for over 3 months without any problems at all. I'm supposed be getting my 4311 next week, and I'm crossing my fingers it does not have any of the above bugs, even though I won't be using any VP but I would like my unit to be working as it should.

Quote:
Originally Posted by unclemat View Post

Frankly all these issues especially on the A100 anniversary model are beyond embarrassing. The Denon manufacturing and engineering departments should be on alert now.

My replacement 4311ci is delivered tomorrow. My original one did not have the blue rain problem. I am worried the replacement may be worse...


Yeah these issues have the potential to very soon start making Denon look really bad to a lot of people, unless they get it fixed right away. And preferably with just a simple firmware update and hopefully it's not some sort of a hardware issue where it must be replaced. And with the A100 and it's 'signed certificate of authenticity' certificate, which for most people they probably would think that tends to imply something along the lines of extra care with the final build and testing for the A100. Well, you pretty much know how that signed certificate is going to end up looking to a lot of people if it's not fixed right away.
Johnla is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #3032 of 23296 Old 11-09-2010, 11:25 AM
Member
 
cra1g's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 40
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kbueno View Post

Anyone having no problems? No blue rain or video issues?

No problems here with video or audio. Sources are HTPC and Fios STB via HDMI; display is an Epson 8500ub.

Parameters (AVR-4311):
- S/N: 0091501022
- Firm. Package Ver: 0001
- Main: 00.58
- Main ROM: 00.58
- Main FBL: 00.05
- Sub: 00.28
- Sub FBL: 00.02
- DSP1: 61.09
- DSP2: 62.14
- Audio PLD: 02.08
- Video PLD: 03.03
- GUI Config: A000416A
- GUI PRG: 00007621
- GUI DAT: 10060008
- Ethernet FBL 090311-bd
- Ethernet SBL B201002081213-0A
- Ethernet IMG I201008020520
- *Ethernet MAC 0005cd-201399
- *HDSDK: V1.12
- *HDBBP: C0004.200
cra1g is offline  
post #3033 of 23296 Old 11-09-2010, 11:31 AM
AVS Special Member
 
bodosom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Niagara Frontier
Posts: 6,365
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 21
Quote:
Originally Posted by JimmyTango View Post

I do not like this 'feature.' if i am just passing the video through, it should not alter it at all.

I use GAME mode (for other reasons) and things look fine on my Kuro. I'll be running a re-calibration in a week or so and I'll post if anything has changed.
bodosom is online now  
post #3034 of 23296 Old 11-09-2010, 11:37 AM
Senior Member
 
JimmyTango's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 367
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by bodosom View Post

I use GAME mode (for other reasons) and things look fine on my Kuro. I'll be running a re-calibration in a week or so and I'll post if anything has changed.

I have tried both game and movie. both have an altered picture compared to going straight to TV.

When I had my 3808 before my Anthem Statement D1, it would not alter the video at all when I set it to off.
JimmyTango is offline  
post #3035 of 23296 Old 11-09-2010, 11:40 AM
Member
 
swedmaveric's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 107
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by cat-like View Post

I picked up my A100 on Saturday here in Sweden. Absolutely no video problems whatsoever!

Have you tried upscaling from Satbox, tvix, popcorn ....... ?
swedmaveric is offline  
post #3036 of 23296 Old 11-09-2010, 11:48 AM
AVS Special Member
 
bodosom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Niagara Frontier
Posts: 6,365
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 21
Quote:
Originally Posted by cra1g View Post

- DSP2: 62.14

I noticed my DSP2 differs. I wonder if this is a configuration issue.
bodosom is online now  
post #3037 of 23296 Old 11-09-2010, 11:52 AM
Member
 
Biship's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 38
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
How do you get all those parameter values? using the web interface, i cant find it...
Biship is offline  
post #3038 of 23296 Old 11-09-2010, 11:56 AM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 42,788
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 265 Post(s)
Liked: 1300
Configuration parameters procedure noted in this post.

---------------------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; shop.avscience.com ; 585-645-1006, AVScience - AVSForum sponsor for 15 years  
Mon - Fri: 8am – 8pm EST (Sat/Sun, leave message)
Call for pricing on Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Onkyo, Klipsch, Def Tech, Oppo, Parasound 
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #3039 of 23296 Old 11-09-2010, 11:57 AM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 42,788
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 265 Post(s)
Liked: 1300
Quote:
Originally Posted by bodosom View Post

I noticed my DSP2 differs. I wonder if this is a configuration issue.

More importantly:

... his Main Ver # is 58 ... yours is 49
... his Sub Ver # is 28 ... yours is 25

This indicates Denon is making changes even before a firmware update is provided which is usually their practice.

Okay .. that's a good set of parameters for others to compare to for the 4311 ... now we just need an A100 full set of parameters for comparison. No further 4311 parameters are needed as they will vary somewhat with each successive shipment of new 4311's. For those that want to post with ZERO issues, you need only post the parameters which are different. The next post to note the parameters will be after the first firmware update is provided, again noting only those parameters that changed.

---------------------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; shop.avscience.com ; 585-645-1006, AVScience - AVSForum sponsor for 15 years  
Mon - Fri: 8am – 8pm EST (Sat/Sun, leave message)
Call for pricing on Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Onkyo, Klipsch, Def Tech, Oppo, Parasound 
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #3040 of 23296 Old 11-09-2010, 11:59 AM
AVS Special Member
 
SeattleHTGuy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Puget Sound, WA
Posts: 1,585
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 43
Quote:
Originally Posted by AustinJerry View Post


I have one of the first 4311's. I have experienced no blue rain issues, nor have I had any audio dropouts. I have had no video issues whatsoever with my unit, my Video Convert setting is On, and all my connections are HDMI. I have three types of equipment connected to the AVR: a Blu-Ray player (Oppo BDP-83), satellite (DirecTV), and a Sonos (ZP-90 connected via Toslink). The sattelite receivers are not set to "native mode", so they output a 1080i signal at all times, which is upconverted to 1080p by the Denon.

+1 here, just swap out"cable box" with Tivo, make the Oppo a Panny BD30' and change Sonos to HTPC, and your done. ditto the 10801i fixed as well.

The blue screen issue seems very, very real (for others) The audio problems people are having appear to be more case by case and without trying to offend, may be just firmware teething problems or people refusing to output their cable box in a fixed resolution setting.
SeattleHTGuy is offline  
post #3041 of 23296 Old 11-09-2010, 12:04 PM
AVS Special Member
 
thrang's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 4,096
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 42 Post(s)
Liked: 119
Getting a little confused here...can you NOT turn of the video circuitry completely? Meaning, just having the 4311/A100 pass-through? Or are some saying you can, but they are experiencing some degradation in image quality even when passing-through?
thrang is offline  
post #3042 of 23296 Old 11-09-2010, 12:18 PM
Advanced Member
 
unclemat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 683
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by SeattleHTGuy View Post

The blue screen issue seems very, very real (for others) The audio problems people are having appear to be more case by case and without trying to offend, may be just firmware teething problems or people refusing to output their cable box in a fixed resolution setting.

Nothing to do with resolution or HDMI. Dropouts happen on SPDIF as well.

"Firmware teething" problems better be pronto fixed.
unclemat is offline  
post #3043 of 23296 Old 11-09-2010, 12:24 PM
AVS Special Member
 
mariob33's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Holbrook, Ma
Posts: 1,703
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 24
Send a message via Skype™ to mariob33
Quote:
Originally Posted by merk54 View Post

Just wondering if there's anyone out there with an A100 that isn't experiencing the Blue Rain issue. I've had more contact with Denon this morning, and it's looking more and more like I will need to exchange mine, but if this problem is effecting every unit, I see little point in going through the hassle of swapping units out if the new one I'm going to get will have the same issue.

On a positive note, Denon (US) now seems to be taking this issue very seriously and are escalating it accordingly.

I am having same issue on a A100

In search of video bliss...
mariob33 is online now  
post #3044 of 23296 Old 11-09-2010, 12:24 PM
Newbie
 
jbpaul's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kbueno View Post

Anyone having no problems? No blue rain or video issues?

No issues here. My unit has pretty much been put through its paces....blu-ray, cable, internet radio, Wii, PS3, pandora, flikr, media server, web control. I have tinkered with basically all of the video and audio conversion settings with no resultant problems. FYI, my unit was in the preorder batch from EE.
jbpaul is offline  
post #3045 of 23296 Old 11-09-2010, 12:38 PM
Senior Member
 
tallnick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 418
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 14
ok, so after reading the manual (I don't have my 4311 yet)

I'm wondering if I can power just my L-R-C with my xpa-3 and have the 4311 power my surrounds and heights.

this is possible correct?

I don't have to have ALL speakers externally amplified, do I?
tallnick is offline  
post #3046 of 23296 Old 11-09-2010, 12:40 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
batpig's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: San Diego
Posts: 23,705
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 86 Post(s)
Liked: 888
no, absolutely not. The "pre-amp mode" is optional.

batpig's "Denon-to-English Dictionary"
Setup Guide and FAQ
http://batpigworld.com/

Become a fan "batpigworld.com" on Facebook!
batpig is online now  
post #3047 of 23296 Old 11-09-2010, 12:41 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
batpig's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: San Diego
Posts: 23,705
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 86 Post(s)
Liked: 888
has anyone confirmed video degradation (e.g. changed black level) with a TEST PATTERN or some other objective source? It would be very disturbing if the HDMI pass-through is altering the image even when Video Convert is OFF! (and would support the idea that the cause is bad video hardware)

batpig's "Denon-to-English Dictionary"
Setup Guide and FAQ
http://batpigworld.com/

Become a fan "batpigworld.com" on Facebook!
batpig is online now  
post #3048 of 23296 Old 11-09-2010, 12:42 PM
Senior Member
 
beever's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 236
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
As someone who has troubleshooted my fair share of AV issues, I can tell you that I feel that all of our units will and do have the same issues because they all have the same hardware and software/firmware.

The reason some of us have problems that have manifested and others do not is because there is some configuration that triggers these issues or some source or input that triggers it and those who dont have it havent configured their units in the same manner.

This is an issue as based on these posts it appears that no one with a 4311 has the blue rain issue while both owners of 4311/A100 have experienced the audio dropout problems.

This in and of itself may prove that in fact there are some differences between the 2 units if only the A100's have blue rain issues.

Has any owner of a 4311 experienced blue rain?
beever is offline  
post #3049 of 23296 Old 11-09-2010, 12:55 PM
AVS Special Member
 
bodosom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Niagara Frontier
Posts: 6,365
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 21
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdsmoothie View Post

More importantly:

... his Main Ver # is 58 ... yours is 49
... his Sub Ver # is 28 ... yours is 25

DOH.

Assuming the last few s/n digits are a counter mine is in the 600s and hence a bit newer. It shipped from Denon on 24-Sep-2010.
bodosom is online now  
post #3050 of 23296 Old 11-09-2010, 12:56 PM
Senior Member
 
tallnick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 418
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by batpig View Post

no, absolutely not. The "pre-amp mode" is optional.

thanks batpig.

so to clarify. I DEFINITELY can power my L-R-C with an xpa-3 and let the 4311 power everything else?
tallnick is offline  
post #3051 of 23296 Old 11-09-2010, 12:57 PM
Member
 
J Bronstein's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Albuquerque, NM
Posts: 69
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by jbpaul View Post

No issues here. My unit has pretty much been put through its paces....blu-ray, cable, internet radio, Wii, PS3, pandora, flikr, media server, web control. I have tinkered with basically all of the video and audio conversion settings with no resultant problems. FYI, my unit was in the preorder batch from EE.

None whatsoever.... and I've really been putting it through its paces. The only complaint I do have is I have some video lag on my HTPC input, and 200ms (the max audio delay available) just doesn't seem to be correcting it.
J Bronstein is offline  
post #3052 of 23296 Old 11-09-2010, 12:57 PM
AVS Special Member
 
spdntrxi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Pleasanton,Ca
Posts: 1,462
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
....if I was reading correctly there is blue rain in both models

Johnny
Klipsch,Denon,Parasound,Sunfire
spdntrxi is offline  
post #3053 of 23296 Old 11-09-2010, 12:58 PM
AVS Special Member
 
spdntrxi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Pleasanton,Ca
Posts: 1,462
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by tallnick View Post


thanks batpig.

so to clarify. I DEFINITELY can power my L-R-C with an xpa-3 and let the 4311 power everything else?

Yes

Johnny
Klipsch,Denon,Parasound,Sunfire
spdntrxi is offline  
post #3054 of 23296 Old 11-09-2010, 12:58 PM
AVS Special Member
 
WiWavelength's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 1,772
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by tallnick View Post

so to clarify. I DEFINITELY can power my L-R-C with an xpa-3 and let the 4311 power everything else?

Of course. Why would you think otherwise?

AJ
WiWavelength is offline  
post #3055 of 23296 Old 11-09-2010, 01:02 PM
AVS Special Member
 
bodosom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Niagara Frontier
Posts: 6,365
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 21
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kbueno View Post

Anyone having no problems? No blue rain or video issues?

As I said I had one audio glitch (my 4311 reported no audio in for a bit) and I've been using it regularly since 9-Oct.
bodosom is online now  
post #3056 of 23296 Old 11-09-2010, 01:02 PM
Senior Member
 
JimmyTango's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 367
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by beever View Post

As someone who has troubleshooted my fair share of AV issues, I can tell you that I feel that all of our units will and do have the same issues because they all have the same hardware and software/firmware.

The reason some of us have problems that have manifested and others do not is because there is some configuration that triggers these issues or some source or input that triggers it and those who dont have it havent configured their units in the same manner.

This is an issue as based on these posts it appears that no one with a 4311 has the blue rain issue while both owners of 4311/A100 have experienced the audio dropout problems.

This in and of itself may prove that in fact there are some differences between the 2 units if only the A100's have blue rain issues.

Has any owner of a 4311 experienced blue rain?

Yes, numerous people with a 4311 posted here that they have it. I am one.

Even if the issues was only a100's, not 4311's, that does not mean anything is different other than the software(firmware) installed on it. It in no way would mean a hardware difference.

I know people want there to be this big hardware different between the two, but it isn't there.
JimmyTango is offline  
post #3057 of 23296 Old 11-09-2010, 01:03 PM
Member
 
TheWolf56's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Chandler, AZ
Posts: 100
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by spdntrxi View Post

....if I was reading correctly there is blue rain in both models

Correct. My 4311 experiences blue rain on some sources, but not all (so far).

Xbox Live: Nt1chr1st
PS3: Nt1chr1st
TheWolf56 is offline  
post #3058 of 23296 Old 11-09-2010, 01:05 PM
Member
 
Biship's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 38
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
No problems here with video or audio. Sources are HTPC via HDMI and Comcast Cable Box via HDMI; display is an Toshiba Plasma 50"

Parameters (AVR-A100):
- S/N: 0101500057
- Firm. Package Ver: 0003
- Main: 00.62
- Main ROM: 00.62
- Main FBL: 00.05
- Sub: 00.28
- Sub FBL: 00.02
- DSP1: 61.09
- DSP2: 62.14
- Audio PLD: 02.08
- Video PLD: 03.03
- HDSDK: V1.12

Updated firmware today 11/9/10.
Only issue is it takes 5+ mins to get to mp3 list, then 5s to move to next mp3 over wired network
Biship is offline  
post #3059 of 23296 Old 11-09-2010, 01:09 PM
Senior Member
 
beever's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 236
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
OK, I stand corrected. Since both models are experiencing blue rain then it is safe to say that the hardware and firmware are identical on both models.
beever is offline  
post #3060 of 23296 Old 11-09-2010, 01:19 PM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 42,788
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 265 Post(s)
Liked: 1300
Quote:
Originally Posted by Biship View Post

Got the firmware update to AVS-A100. Notice nothing new. Wonder if they will release notes.

First mention of a firmware update.

For you 4311 owners: No comparable update notice?

---------------------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; shop.avscience.com ; 585-645-1006, AVScience - AVSForum sponsor for 15 years  
Mon - Fri: 8am – 8pm EST (Sat/Sun, leave message)
Call for pricing on Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Onkyo, Klipsch, Def Tech, Oppo, Parasound 
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is offline  
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors

Tags
Audyssey , Denon Avr 4311ci 9 2 Channel Network Multi Room Home Theater Receiver With Hdmi 1 4a , Denon Avr A100 100th Anniversary 9 2 140w , Denon
Gear in this thread

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off