The "Official" Denon AVR-4311CI/AVR-A100 thread [NO PRICE TALK] - Page 505 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Baselworld is only a few weeks away. Getting the latest news is easy, Click Here for info on how to join the Watchuseek.com newsletter list. Follow our team for updates featuring event coverage, new product unveilings, watch industry news & more!


Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
Old 02-18-2012, 11:52 AM
AVS Special Member
 
joehonest's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 1,004
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 81 Post(s)
Liked: 31
Quote:
Originally Posted by mcsoul View Post

I've found newegg reliable, I've just had to pay for shipping if I want to make returns. In this instance you CANNOT return it for cash, just another unit and only if you find the defect fast. You just need to go in wit the proper expectation. If you apply for their 12m zero interest, you become a "premier customer" if you are accepted. That may help too.

I too, newegg is one of the best.. But in this case, there just a drop shipper.. If all is good, if there no problem, if there is a problem, then the B&M is the best.. If you have a problem there is nothing thats beats the face to face at a b&m store for results....Unless your a real wimp..
joehonest is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 02-18-2012, 02:16 PM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 52,269
Mentioned: 51 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4600 Post(s)
Liked: 2426
Quote:
Originally Posted by JerryW View Post

And if anyone is to "blame" here it is denon for not policing their authorized dealers - they are certainly capable of tracing serial numbers back to find which authorized dealer dumped the product on grey market in the first place and punishing them by revoking their authorized dealer status.

AFAIK, Denon has already revoked the "authorized" reseller's status that Newegg purchased their units from.

------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; http://shop.avscience.com/ Call for sales info --> 585-645-1006 

Daily - 8am to 8pm EST
AVScience sells Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Pioneer, Onkyo, Def Tech, Oppo, and more
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 5 times. 
jdsmoothie is offline  
Old 02-18-2012, 03:12 PM
Member
 
m1abrams's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 32
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Was able to buy one from electronics expo at just a tad over neweggs sale price today. They are an eithorized dealer.
m1abrams is offline  
Old 02-18-2012, 03:14 PM
AVS Special Member
 
JerryW's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Location, Location
Posts: 1,045
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 23 Post(s)
Liked: 36
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdsmoothie View Post

AFAIK, Denon has already revoked the "authorized" reseller's status that Newegg purchased their units from.

Don't leave us hanging like that. Who was it?

Copyright is not property, it is merely a temporary loan from the public domain.
JerryW is offline  
Old 02-18-2012, 07:26 PM
Member
 
dcmartinpc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 44
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hey Guys! I just picked up a 4311ci and the Airplay update. I am having a weird issue, and I am wondering if this is the limitation of adding the airplay update, or if something is wrong with my receiver. Here is what is going on:

When I go into Net/USB, I get NO OSD on the TV, not even a little, none. The only display is on the front of the receiver. I even tried running a Flickr photo stream and it shows one is running on the front of the receiver, but I get nothing on the display. Any ideas?

I also get no OSD when I am browsing Internet Radio menus.

I did a full reset on the microprocessor to no avail.

Help please

Don
dcmartinpc is offline  
Old 02-18-2012, 07:33 PM
Member
 
tkirchen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Hurst, TX, USA
Posts: 74
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Help! My new 4311 arrived today. I just finished the setup and the right surround volume is very low. If I move it to other speaker post it sounds fine. Place another speaker in the right surround post and it is low.

I have reset the microprocessor and reset the settings. Any ideas??

Troy
tkirchen is offline  
Old 02-18-2012, 07:48 PM
Member
 
tkirchen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Hurst, TX, USA
Posts: 74
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Weird...it is ok now... Ghosts?? Warm-up??

Troy
tkirchen is offline  
Old 02-19-2012, 01:43 AM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 52,269
Mentioned: 51 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4600 Post(s)
Liked: 2426
Quote:
Originally Posted by JerryW View Post

Don't leave us hanging like that. Who was it?

I'm not privy as to the "who", rather only to the action taken.

------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; http://shop.avscience.com/ Call for sales info --> 585-645-1006 

Daily - 8am to 8pm EST
AVScience sells Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Pioneer, Onkyo, Def Tech, Oppo, and more
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 5 times. 
jdsmoothie is offline  
Old 02-19-2012, 05:48 AM
Senior Member
 
lightbox's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 335
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by JerryW View Post

I'm no lawyer but my understanding is that a manufacturer can't deny reasonable warranty service solely based on where the customer purchased the product for some definition of "reasonable" that has been left up to the courts to determine.

Your understanding is incorrect. Manufacturers absolutely positively can deny warranty service for products purchased from unauthorized dealers.

In some cases, the situation is even worse. For example, Sumiko Audio, the U.S. distributor for brands such as Sonus Faber, REL, and Wadia, won't even let you buy replacement parts unless you can show proof that you purchased the original product from an authorized dealer in the U.S.
lightbox is offline  
Old 02-19-2012, 05:50 AM
Senior Member
 
lightbox's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 335
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by tkirchen View Post

Help! My new 4311 arrived today. I just finished the setup and the right surround volume is very low. If I move it to other speaker post it sounds fine. Place another speaker in the right surround post and it is low.

I have reset the microprocessor and reset the settings. Any ideas??

Seems like you have a bad amplifier channel. I sugggest you contact the dealer and request a replacement for the 4311.
lightbox is offline  
Old 02-19-2012, 07:08 AM
AVS Special Member
 
smurraybhm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Down South
Posts: 2,441
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 712 Post(s)
Liked: 790
Any thoughts on adding an amp to my three week old 4311? Thinking about an Oulaw 7125 (7 channels - 125 watts). Eventually but not soon I would like to add heights or wides. The receiver is driving Sierra Ascends across the front - 7.1 setup. No plans to give up the Sierras. Continue to be impressed with this receiver and XT32. It seems like a number of you use an amp with the receiver - Thanks.

Panasonic 60VT60 (cal by DNice)
Denon 5200 w/ Outlaw 2200 Amps (3)
Ascend Acoustics Sierra 2s F/R & Horizon w/ RAAL Center; Sierra 1s Surrounds; DefTech PM1000 Fronts, Ascend HTM-200s Top Middle and PSB S5 Rear Surrounds; Dual SVS subs
Oppo 103; Onkyo HD-DVD; Apple TV & Roku Stick
Atmos arrived on 9/30/2014
smurraybhm is offline  
Old 02-19-2012, 07:08 AM
Senior Member
 
michaelscott73's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Fair Lawn, New Jersey
Posts: 300
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by AustinJerry View Post

Exactly what I use, an Emotiva XPA-3 driving LCR.

That's actually the set up I was considering. My only concern is speaker output at different volume settings. Is audessy able to compensate for 3 channels having higher power...or do you run audessy at a certain volume setting and if you listen at anything different (higher or lower) the 3 fronts will not have the correct level setting as the other 8 channels.
michaelscott73 is offline  
Old 02-19-2012, 07:19 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
AustinJerry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Austin, Texas
Posts: 10,081
Mentioned: 25 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2858 Post(s)
Liked: 1514
Quote:
Originally Posted by michaelscott73 View Post


That's actually the set up I was considering. My only concern is speaker output at different volume settings. Is audessy able to compensate for 3 channels having higher power...or do you run audessy at a certain volume setting and if you listen at anything different (higher or lower) the 3 fronts will not have the correct level setting as the other 8 channels.

Assuming you re-run the Audyssey calibration after you hook up the external amplifier, the levels for all speakers will be set correctly. The balance among the speakers will not change at different volume settings because of the external amp.
AustinJerry is online now  
Old 02-19-2012, 07:26 AM
Member
 
dcmartinpc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 44
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by dcmartinpc View Post

Hey Guys! I just picked up a 4311ci and the Airplay update. I am having a weird issue, and I am wondering if this is the limitation of adding the airplay update, or if something is wrong with my receiver. Here is what is going on:

When I go into Net/USB, I get NO OSD on the TV, not even a little, none. The only display is on the front of the receiver. I even tried running a Flickr photo stream and it shows one is running on the front of the receiver, but I get nothing on the display. Any ideas?

I also get no OSD when I am browsing Internet Radio menus.

I did a full reset on the microprocessor to no avail.

Help please

Don

Please help! Can anyone confirm this? I need to report back to the seller if something is wrong.

Thanks everyone!

Don
dcmartinpc is offline  
Old 02-19-2012, 07:40 AM
AVS Special Member
 
SoundofMind's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: SE MI
Posts: 7,963
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 162
Quote:
Originally Posted by smurraybhm View Post

Any thoughts on adding an amp to my three week old 4311? Thinking about an Oulaw 7125 (7 channels - 125 watts). Eventually but not soon I would like to add heights or wides. The receiver is driving Sierra Ascends across the front - 7.1 setup...

It sounds like you don't need two extra channels so are considering external amplification for another reason. So what is that? Many folks consider the internal amps to be quite good irt SQ and quite capable irt SPL for most rooms and gear and don't buy into the idea that an external amp is likely to improve SQ or dynamics. I bought my Emo XPA5 to help a Denon 4310 drive my 7.2 system with 4 Ohm Dalis as I could hear decreased SQ/dynamics when I cranked it way up (the 4310 was only rated down to 6 ohms, the 4311 is rated to 4). Do you hear a problem like that?

As to possible pros of spending $ on an Outlaw, relevant factors include the sensitivity and ohmage of your speakers, how far you are from the speakers, how acoustically "dead"/absorbant is your room and how loud you listen.

Yes, I still like playing with Dalis.

SoundofMind is offline  
Old 02-19-2012, 08:04 AM
Senior Member
 
moparfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 363
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Accessories4less has a good deal on a Sherwood R-972 for those still considering absolute performance or price-based performance.
moparfan is offline  
Old 02-19-2012, 08:32 AM
Member
 
tkirchen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Hurst, TX, USA
Posts: 74
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by lightbox View Post

Seems like you have a bad amplifier channel. I sugggest you contact the dealer and request a replacement for the 4311.

Well after finishing the config and shutdown last night...that channel does not play again this morning. It looks like I received a defective unit. Thanks for the response.

Troy
tkirchen is offline  
Old 02-19-2012, 08:35 AM
Newbie
 
rodratliff's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 10
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by dcmartinpc View Post

Hey Guys! I just picked up a 4311ci and the Airplay update. I am having a weird issue, and I am wondering if this is the limitation of adding the airplay update, or if something is wrong with my receiver. Here is what is going on:

When I go into Net/USB, I get NO OSD on the TV, not even a little, none. The only display is on the front of the receiver. I even tried running a Flickr photo stream and it shows one is running on the front of the receiver, but I get nothing on the display. Any ideas?

I also get no OSD when I am browsing Internet Radio menus.

I did a full reset on the microprocessor to no avail.

Help please

Don

I have the same thing on my 4311 and so far none of the sugestions from several members have helped. Hope we find a solution.
Rod
rodratliff is offline  
Old 02-19-2012, 08:38 AM
Member
 
dcmartinpc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 44
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by rodratliff View Post

I have the same thing on my 4311 and so far none of the sugestions from several members have helped. Hope we find a solution.
Rod

Not good. So does it work correctly for other people? If so, I will be returning this unit as not as advertised to the seller. Has anyone else confirmed that it does work for them? If so, I will just be replacing it. I just am looking to know if this is normal, or a bug/defect.

Don
dcmartinpc is offline  
Old 02-19-2012, 08:42 AM
Member
 
tkirchen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Hurst, TX, USA
Posts: 74
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by dcmartinpc View Post

Please help! Can anyone confirm this? I need to report back to the seller if something is wrong.

Thanks everyone!

Don

Well my unit has a bad channel, but I get the OSD after the airplay update. Volume change as well as a nice GUI that shows me the artist, cover art etc.

There is a setting under manual setup, Option Setup, GUI, Net/USB: make sure that the setting is not turned off

Troy
tkirchen is offline  
Old 02-19-2012, 08:59 AM
Member
 
dcmartinpc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 44
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by tkirchen View Post

Well my unit has a bad channel, but I get the OSD after the airplay update. Volume change as well as a nice GUI that shows me the artist, cover art etc.

There is a setting under manual setup, Option Setup, GUI, Net/USB: make sure that the setting is not turned off

The GUI option is set to always. If I set the background to blue, I can see the blue background, but no other information is displayed. Ideas? Does it sound like I have a defective unit?

Don
dcmartinpc is offline  
Old 02-19-2012, 09:01 AM
Member
 
dcmartinpc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 44
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I mentioned this before, but Flickr doesn't display any images either.

Don
dcmartinpc is offline  
Old 02-19-2012, 09:21 AM
Member
 
tkirchen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Hurst, TX, USA
Posts: 74
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by dcmartinpc View Post

I mentioned this before, but Flickr doesn't display any images either.

Don

Don,

I am new to Denon and a bit disappointed today given my first is a DOA. I cannot recreate your issue other than by turning off the GUI for NET/USB. I would guess that would also affect Flicker. Believe me, I don' want to pack this beast up and wait 2 weeks to get the replacement either, but I think that is where we are. There are some amazing folks on this forum. If they have suggestions, I know they would give them. I would contact the seller if I were you.

Troy
tkirchen is offline  
Old 02-19-2012, 09:31 AM
Member
 
tverdich's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 29
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I'm locked out of using the remote.
When I try the display states " Remote lock: on"
Nothing in the manual or online about this that I can find.
Looks like I must have disable the remote, now if I can only find out how to re enable.
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~


Torben
tverdich is offline  
Old 02-19-2012, 12:12 PM
Member
 
guho's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 71
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
My wonderful2809ci had a switched ac outlet. My new 4311ci which I am about to get lacks this but has trigger outs. What is the cheapest way to turn these into a triggered AC? Thanks
guho is offline  
Old 02-19-2012, 12:43 PM
AVS Special Member
 
bfreedma's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: 9 iron from Philly
Posts: 1,952
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 50
Quote:
Originally Posted by dcmartinpc View Post

I mentioned this before, but Flickr doesn't display any images either.

Don

Just a guess, but do you have Video convert" set to off? If so, that may be the cause of both the OSD and Flickr display issues.
bfreedma is offline  
Old 02-19-2012, 01:14 PM
Member
 
dcmartinpc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 44
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by bfreedma View Post

Just a guess, but do you have Video convert" set to off? If so, that may be the cause of both the OSD and Flickr display issues.

I double checked that and the i/p is set to Analog, not Off...

Any other ideas?

I have contacted the seller and I am going to call Denon the start of this week and we will see what they have to say. If they don't have any ideas, it looks like I am going to send it back.

Don
dcmartinpc is offline  
Old 02-19-2012, 01:43 PM
AVS Special Member
 
bfreedma's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: 9 iron from Philly
Posts: 1,952
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 50
Quote:
Originally Posted by dcmartinpc View Post


I double checked that and the i/p is set to Analog, not Off...

Any other ideas?

I have contacted the seller and I am going to call Denon the start of this week and we will see what they have to say. If they don't have any ideas, it looks like I am going to send it back.

Don

Change it to analog and hdmi if your display is connected via hdmi. page 83 of the owners manual gives the description of the settings if you want to review the details.
bfreedma is offline  
Old 02-19-2012, 02:05 PM
 
GSDTrainer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 530
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by guho View Post

My wonderful2809ci had a switched ac outlet. My new 4311ci which I am about to get lacks this but has trigger outs. What is the cheapest way to turn these into a triggered AC? Thanks

Not cheap but if you search around for something similiar to THIS on maybe ebay you might find cheaper
GSDTrainer is offline  
Old 02-19-2012, 02:10 PM
Member
 
dcmartinpc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 44
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by bfreedma View Post

Change it to analog and hdmi if your display is connected via hdmi. page 83 of the owners manual gives the description of the settings if you want to review the details.

Analog or Off are the only options available since the NET/USB input cannot have an HDMI input assigned to it. At least that is the way I interpreted the manual. Still no luck here....


Don
dcmartinpc is offline  
 

Tags
Audyssey , Denon Avr 4311ci 9 2 Channel Network Multi Room Home Theater Receiver With Hdmi 1 4a , Denon Avr A100 100th Anniversary 9 2 140w , Denon
Thread Tools


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off