The "Official" Denon AVR-4311CI/AVR-A100 thread [NO PRICE TALK] - Page 794 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 32Likes
Reply
Thread Tools
post #23791 of 23812 Old 12-06-2014, 04:38 PM
Senior Member
 
gregavi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Santa Barbara, Ca
Posts: 345
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 16 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by batpig View Post
I believe Jerry is referring to Audyssey Pro compatibility. That's an Audyssey feature which allows someone with the Pro Kit to do more than the stock Audyssey calibration allows.

What I was discussing is the "CI" or custom installer features (serial control, Creston certification for home automation, etc). These have nothing to do with Audyssey.
Got it. I had conflated the 2. And I assume the new "X" models can do both?

It used to be:"Wine, Women and Song"Now it's: "Beer, The Old Lady and TV"My Theater Build http://s1116.photobucket.com/user/Gr...?sort=6&page=1
gregavi is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #23792 of 23812 Old 12-06-2014, 07:53 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
batpig's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: San Diego
Posts: 25,088
Mentioned: 8 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1197 Post(s)
Liked: 1611
Quote:
Originally Posted by gregavi View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by batpig View Post
I believe Jerry is referring to Audyssey Pro compatibility. That's an Audyssey feature which allows someone with the Pro Kit to do more than the stock Audyssey calibration allows.

What I was discussing is the "CI" or custom installer features (serial control, Creston certification for home automation, etc). These have nothing to do with Audyssey.
Got it. I had conflated the 2. And I assume the new "X" models can do both?
The X3100 and up are Pro capable. The two low end X series models with "Audyssey Silver" package (1100 and 2100) aren't Pro capable.
batpig is online now  
post #23793 of 23812 Old 12-07-2014, 12:35 PM
AVS Special Member
 
kgveteran's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Rochester NY
Posts: 5,758
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 45 Post(s)
Liked: 41
Picking up a used 4311, restore to factory setting is a one step procedure ?
kgveteran is online now  
post #23794 of 23812 Old 12-07-2014, 12:36 PM
AVS Special Member
 
AustinJerry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Austin, Texas
Posts: 8,058
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1161 Post(s)
Liked: 929
Here are some useful keystrokes:

NETWORK RESET:

Press and hold the Up/Down arrows during a receiver power on the AVR

DISPLAY FIRMWARE VERSION:

Press/hold the STATUS/RETURN buttons while powering on the AVR

PROCESSOR RESET:

Press simultaneously the STANDARD and DSP buttons while powering on the AVR
AustinJerry is online now  
post #23795 of 23812 Old 12-07-2014, 12:45 PM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 46,911
Mentioned: 21 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2158 Post(s)
Liked: 1786
Quote:
Originally Posted by kgveteran View Post
Picking up a used 4311, restore to factory setting is a one step procedure ?
Definitely recommended with a demo/used AVR to ensure all settings are restored to factory defaults.

Also, to add to Jerry's post ... a Network reset will also perform a regular microprocessor reset in addition to resetting the network card.

---------------------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; Direct line 585-645-1006, AVScience - Authorized dealer for AVRs, Speakers, etc. 

Daily 8am – 8pm EST
Call for pricing - Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Pioneer, Onkyo, Def Tech, Atlantic Tech, Oppo
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is online now  
post #23796 of 23812 Old 12-07-2014, 01:22 PM
AVS Special Member
 
kgveteran's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Rochester NY
Posts: 5,758
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 45 Post(s)
Liked: 41
Quote:
Originally Posted by AustinJerry View Post
Here are some useful keystrokes:

NETWORK RESET:

Press and hold the Up/Down arrows during a receiver power on the AVR

DISPLAY FIRMWARE VERSION:

Press/hold the STATUS/RETURN buttons while powering on the AVR

PROCESSOR RESET:

Press simultaneously the STANDARD and DSP buttons while powering on the AVR
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdsmoothie View Post
Definitely recommended with a demo/used AVR to ensure all settings are restored to factory defaults.

Also, to add to Jerry's post ... a Network reset will also perform a regular microprocessor reset in addition to resetting the network card.
Thank you gentleman ! This will be my center piece to my "New-Old" system that is missing a receiver.

I will be using 5 channels of power in a smallish room, possibly 7 channels, depends on available funds. I have a very insensitive set of DIY LCR's. They are the WTMW from HT Guide. They are 4ohms and rated about 82db........
kgveteran is online now  
post #23797 of 23812 Old 12-08-2014, 07:23 PM
Member
 
Cobra5wood's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: St. Charles, Il.
Posts: 121
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Denon Link question...

Is there any chance that Denon might offer a Denon Link HD to a Denon Link 4 adaptor?


Cobra5wood is offline  
post #23798 of 23812 Old 12-09-2014, 05:05 AM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 46,911
Mentioned: 21 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2158 Post(s)
Liked: 1786
^^
Not likely.

---------------------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; Direct line 585-645-1006, AVScience - Authorized dealer for AVRs, Speakers, etc. 

Daily 8am – 8pm EST
Call for pricing - Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Pioneer, Onkyo, Def Tech, Atlantic Tech, Oppo
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is online now  
post #23799 of 23812 Old 12-11-2014, 06:17 AM
Member
 
miker104's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 90
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
chromecast power

Quick question. I want to hookup a Chromecast to my 4311, will the usb port in the back power the Chromecast? It does come with wall power but would really like to eliminate any more power cords.
miker104 is offline  
post #23800 of 23812 Old 12-11-2014, 08:15 AM
Advanced Member
 
wilbur_the_goose's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 555
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 31 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Miker - That's exactly how I hooked mine up. Worked perfectly for about a month and then it stopped. I took the path of least resistance and plugged it back into my TV
wilbur_the_goose is offline  
post #23801 of 23812 Old 12-11-2014, 08:27 AM
Member
 
miker104's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 90
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Do you think your USB port died? Have you tried another device? Thank you for the response back
miker104 is offline  
post #23802 of 23812 Old 12-11-2014, 12:07 PM
AVS Special Member
 
kgveteran's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Rochester NY
Posts: 5,758
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 45 Post(s)
Liked: 41
Quote:
Originally Posted by wilbur_the_goose View Post
Miker - That's exactly how I hooked mine up. Worked perfectly for about a month and then it stopped. I took the path of least resistance and plugged it back into my TV
What type of audio does it stream....or what did the display read
kgveteran is online now  
post #23803 of 23812 Old 12-11-2014, 06:17 PM
Advanced Member
 
wilbur_the_goose's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 555
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 31 Post(s)
Liked: 16
I think it was 2.0 stereo, but the picture was HD.
wilbur_the_goose is offline  
post #23804 of 23812 Old 12-11-2014, 07:22 PM
AVS Special Member
 
kgveteran's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Rochester NY
Posts: 5,758
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 45 Post(s)
Liked: 41
kgveteran is online now  
post #23805 of 23812 Old 12-15-2014, 08:18 AM
AVS Special Member
 
kgveteran's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Rochester NY
Posts: 5,758
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 45 Post(s)
Liked: 41
Will the software version tell me what the unit is capable of doing such as airplay and dynamic EQ ect
kgveteran is online now  
post #23806 of 23812 Old 12-15-2014, 03:48 PM
AVS Special Member
 
pbarach's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Northeast Ohio
Posts: 2,612
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 100 Post(s)
Liked: 111
Quote:
Originally Posted by kgveteran View Post
Will the software version tell me what the unit is capable of doing such as airplay and dynamic EQ ect
The online manuals and product specification sheets for all Denon products are very easy find either at the Denon website or via Google. That will detail all the features.

AT&T U-Verse Northeast Ohio

Denon x4000, Samsung LED TV, B&W 704 mains, two M&K subwoofers, Oppo 103, etc.
pbarach is offline  
post #23807 of 23812 Old 12-17-2014, 01:35 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Greetings -

New to the forum - and certainly don't have my PhD in the 4311; nor am I interested in hacking the kernel; just looking to upgrade the firmware and I swear neither the Denon website nor the user manual is any freakin help - total POS.

I'm sure somewhere in this 794 page thread - the quick and dirty on firmware updates was / is discussed and was wondering if one of you kind souls could please point me in the correct direction?

Many thanks in advance - and Merry Christmas to y'all.
-jlf
jfahnestock is offline  
post #23808 of 23812 Old 12-17-2014, 01:35 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Greetings -

New to the forum - and certainly don't have my PhD in the 4311; nor am I interested in hacking the kernel; just looking to upgrade the firmware and I swear neither the Denon website nor the user manual is any freakin help - total POS.

I'm sure somewhere in this 794 page thread - the quick and dirty on firmware updates was / is discussed and was wondering if one of you kind souls could please point me in the correct direction?

Many thanks in advance - and Merry Christmas to y'all.
-jlf
jfahnestock is offline  
post #23809 of 23812 Old 12-17-2014, 02:55 PM
Senior Member
 
gregavi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Santa Barbara, Ca
Posts: 345
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 16 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by jfahnestock View Post
Greetings -

New to the forum - and certainly don't have my PhD in the 4311; nor am I interested in hacking the kernel; just looking to upgrade the firmware and I swear neither the Denon website nor the user manual is any freakin help - total POS.

I'm sure somewhere in this 794 page thread - the quick and dirty on firmware updates was / is discussed and was wondering if one of you kind souls could please point me in the correct direction?

Many thanks in advance - and Merry Christmas to y'all.
-jlf
Welcome to the 4311 thread. I just did a firmware update and I agree it is not easy to find the update. First off, the 4311 needs to be connected to the internet (ethernet port in back) in order to download the firmware update. The download is not available from their website.

On remote. Go to Menu>Manual Setup>Options Setup
Scroll down to Firmware Update>Check For Update/Download

If you do not scroll down, you will not see "Firmware Update". That's what got me.

Cheers!

It used to be:"Wine, Women and Song"Now it's: "Beer, The Old Lady and TV"My Theater Build http://s1116.photobucket.com/user/Gr...?sort=6&page=1
gregavi is offline  
post #23810 of 23812 Old Yesterday, 01:35 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Thanks, Greg!
-jlf
jfahnestock is offline  
post #23811 of 23812 Unread Today, 08:04 AM
AVS Special Member
 
kgveteran's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Rochester NY
Posts: 5,758
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 45 Post(s)
Liked: 41
I havent fired up my new used 4311, does Airplay cost alot
kgveteran is online now  
post #23812 of 23812 Unread Today, 08:11 AM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 46,911
Mentioned: 21 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2158 Post(s)
Liked: 1786
^^
It's FREE. Just call Denon.

http://usa.denon.com/us/product/home...rsht/avr4311ci

---------------------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; Direct line 585-645-1006, AVScience - Authorized dealer for AVRs, Speakers, etc. 

Daily 8am – 8pm EST
Call for pricing - Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Pioneer, Onkyo, Def Tech, Atlantic Tech, Oppo
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is online now  
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors

Tags
Audyssey , Denon Avr 4311ci 9 2 Channel Network Multi Room Home Theater Receiver With Hdmi 1 4a , Denon Avr A100 100th Anniversary 9 2 140w , Denon
Gear in this thread

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off