The "Official" Denon AVR-4311CI/AVR-A100 thread [NO PRICE TALK] - Page 795 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #23821 of 23835 Old 12-22-2014, 01:36 PM
Member
 
mcd4959's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Colorado via SF & NY
Posts: 121
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdsmoothie View Post
^^
Er .. no. If you turn off the main zone, you also disconnect the signal to the pre-outs as well. So you likely want to just lower the main zone volume, but raise the gain on the headphone amp.
D'oh!!! Yeah, duh, should have thought that through more. I blame Monday. Thanks again.

I love this site!
mcd4959 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #23822 of 23835 Old 12-22-2014, 01:39 PM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 47,244
Mentioned: 22 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2319 Post(s)
Liked: 1833
^^
Yup. Been there .. done that.

---------------------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; Direct line 585-645-1006, AVScience - Authorized dealer for AVRs, Speakers, etc. 

Daily 8am – 8pm EST
Call for pricing - Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Pioneer, Onkyo, Def Tech, Atlantic Tech, Oppo
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #23823 of 23835 Old 12-22-2014, 03:00 PM
AVS Special Member
 
blipszyc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Concord, NC
Posts: 2,672
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 71 Post(s)
Liked: 40
The "Official" Denon AVR-4311CI/AVR-A100 thread [NO PRICE TALK]

Is there a way to reset the Audyssey settings without resetting the whole AVR? I've moved to a new house and need to recalibrate the speaker settings, but don't want to lose all my other custom labels, etc.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Visit the Lipszyc Home Theater! 1.0
2.0 done and finally posted! - Theater 2.0

And now...The Queen City Theater (3.0)
blipszyc is offline  
post #23824 of 23835 Old 12-22-2014, 03:37 PM
AVS Special Member
 
pbarach's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Northeast Ohio
Posts: 2,628
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 111 Post(s)
Liked: 113
Quote:
Originally Posted by blipszyc View Post
Is there a way to reset the Audyssey settings without resetting the whole AVR? I've moved to a new house and need to recalibrate the speaker settings, but don't want to lose all my other custom labels, etc.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Yes, it's easy; just run the Audyssey calibration in the new location once you have everything plugged in and the speakers placed and toed in where you want them. Running an Audyssey calibration doesn't change other settings not related to the speakers.

AT&T U-Verse Northeast Ohio

Denon x4000, Samsung LED TV, B&W 704 mains, two M&K subwoofers, Oppo 103, etc.
pbarach is offline  
post #23825 of 23835 Old 12-22-2014, 03:38 PM
AVS Special Member
 
blipszyc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Concord, NC
Posts: 2,672
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 71 Post(s)
Liked: 40
Quote:
Originally Posted by pbarach View Post
Yes, it's easy; just run the Audyssey calibration in the new location once you have everything plugged in and the speakers placed and toed in where you want them. Running an Audyssey calibration doesn't change other settings not related to the speakers.
I thought the AVR saved all the individual calibrations and used them to come to the final settings? Sounds like each time we run Audyssey it starts fresh?

Visit the Lipszyc Home Theater! 1.0
2.0 done and finally posted! - Theater 2.0

And now...The Queen City Theater (3.0)
blipszyc is offline  
post #23826 of 23835 Old 12-22-2014, 03:48 PM
AVS Special Member
 
pbarach's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Northeast Ohio
Posts: 2,628
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 111 Post(s)
Liked: 113
Quote:
Originally Posted by blipszyc View Post
I thought the AVR saved all the individual calibrations and used them to come to the final settings? Sounds like each time we run Audyssey it starts fresh?
Yes, Audyssey has to start fresh because it's really a room correction system, not a speaker correction system. If you move your speakers to a new room (or even move them around), the interactions of the speakers with the room and its contents will inevitably change. So you have to rerun Audyssey or else live with a calibration that is irrelevant to your new location. However, your input labels and other settings in your AVR, which have nothing to do with speaker settings, remain unchanged when you run Audyssey.

Rerunning Audyssey is an annoyance, but it really isn't that complicated or time=-consumming, especially if you have a mic boom and adapter to make mic placement easier:
"Official" Audyssey thread (FAQ in post #51779)

AT&T U-Verse Northeast Ohio

Denon x4000, Samsung LED TV, B&W 704 mains, two M&K subwoofers, Oppo 103, etc.
pbarach is offline  
post #23827 of 23835 Old 12-22-2014, 04:40 PM
Senior Member
 
gregavi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Santa Barbara, Ca
Posts: 350
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 19 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by pbarach View Post
Rerunning Audyssey is an annoyance, but it really isn't that complicated or time=-consumming, especially if you have a mic boom and adapter to make mic placement easier
I disagree. I enjoy running the Audyssey process. I do it every few months whether I need to or not.

I usually need to because I'm constantly moving something or adding something.

It used to be:"Wine, Women and Song"Now it's: "Beer, The Old Lady and TV"My Theater Build http://s1116.photobucket.com/user/Gr...?sort=6&page=1
gregavi is offline  
post #23828 of 23835 Old 12-22-2014, 05:23 PM
AVS Special Member
 
pbarach's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Northeast Ohio
Posts: 2,628
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 111 Post(s)
Liked: 113
Quote:
Originally Posted by gregavi View Post
I disagree. I enjoy running the Audyssey process. I do it every few months whether I need to or not.

I usually need to because I'm constantly moving something or adding something.
Glad it's not an annoyance for you, but the OP was worried abnout deleting all the settings if Audyssey was rerun and didn't want to do through the trouble of recalibration after a change of venue--in that situation, recalibration is a necessity, annoyance or not...

AT&T U-Verse Northeast Ohio

Denon x4000, Samsung LED TV, B&W 704 mains, two M&K subwoofers, Oppo 103, etc.
pbarach is offline  
post #23829 of 23835 Old 12-22-2014, 05:51 PM
Senior Member
 
gregavi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Santa Barbara, Ca
Posts: 350
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 19 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by pbarach View Post
Glad it's not an annoyance for you, but the OP was worried abnout deleting all the settings if Audyssey was rerun and didn't want to do through the trouble of recalibration after a change of venue--in that situation, recalibration is a necessity, annoyance or not...
I agree with that. My point was, if you have to re-do it, it can be enjoyable.

It used to be:"Wine, Women and Song"Now it's: "Beer, The Old Lady and TV"My Theater Build http://s1116.photobucket.com/user/Gr...?sort=6&page=1
gregavi is offline  
post #23830 of 23835 Old 12-22-2014, 06:52 PM
AVS Special Member
 
pbarach's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Northeast Ohio
Posts: 2,628
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 111 Post(s)
Liked: 113
Quote:
Originally Posted by gregavi View Post
I agree with that. My point was, if you have to re-do it, it can be enjoyable.
So can getting your teeth cleaned

AT&T U-Verse Northeast Ohio

Denon x4000, Samsung LED TV, B&W 704 mains, two M&K subwoofers, Oppo 103, etc.
pbarach is offline  
post #23831 of 23835 Old 12-25-2014, 07:27 AM
Member
 
swilson317's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 28
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Simultaneously watching video and listening to audio from different sources

I thought this would be easy, but I am having a hard time accomplishing it. I want to play a BD video, but play audio from the DVR (Pandora) or dock. Can this be done?

Thanks, Steve
swilson317 is offline  
post #23832 of 23835 Old 12-25-2014, 01:15 PM
Senior Member
 
gregavi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Santa Barbara, Ca
Posts: 350
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 19 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by swilson317 View Post
I thought this would be easy, but I am having a hard time accomplishing it. I want to play a BD video, but play audio from the DVR (Pandora) or dock. Can this be done?

Thanks, Steve
Yes, but not if both sources are running through the 4311. You could run the 'HDMI out' from your BD player directly to your TV (or projector) and then use whatever source you want on the 4311. This will work. Even better if your TV has more than 1 HDMI input so you can toggle back and forth from the 4311 input to the TV with the BD input to the TV in order to monitor what the 4311 is doing. There may be other ways of accomplishing this, but I believe this is the easiest way. It cannot be done the way you want though, AFAIK.

It used to be:"Wine, Women and Song"Now it's: "Beer, The Old Lady and TV"My Theater Build http://s1116.photobucket.com/user/Gr...?sort=6&page=1
gregavi is offline  
post #23833 of 23835 Old 12-25-2014, 02:30 PM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 47,244
Mentioned: 22 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2319 Post(s)
Liked: 1833
Quote:
Originally Posted by swilson317 View Post
I thought this would be easy, but I am having a hard time accomplishing it. I want to play a BD video, but play audio from the DVR (Pandora) or dock. Can this be done?

Thanks, Steve
Yup. Also connect the DVR with an optical or analog cable using the same source name as the BDP. Then with the BDP source selected change the INPUT MODE to either "Digital" or "Analog" depending on the cable you use. And voila! Video from the BDP and audio from the DVR.

---------------------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; Direct line 585-645-1006, AVScience - Authorized dealer for AVRs, Speakers, etc. 

Daily 8am – 8pm EST
Call for pricing - Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Pioneer, Onkyo, Def Tech, Atlantic Tech, Oppo
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #23834 of 23835 Old 12-25-2014, 04:18 PM
Senior Member
 
gregavi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Santa Barbara, Ca
Posts: 350
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 19 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdsmoothie View Post
Yup. Also connect the DVR with an optical or analog cable using the same source name as the BDP. Then with the BDP source selected change the INPUT MODE to either "Digital" or "Analog" depending on the cable you use. And voila! Video from the BDP and audio from the DVR.
Good call JD. I didn't think of that.

So Steve, you've got at least 2 options.

It used to be:"Wine, Women and Song"Now it's: "Beer, The Old Lady and TV"My Theater Build http://s1116.photobucket.com/user/Gr...?sort=6&page=1
gregavi is offline  
post #23835 of 23835 Old Today, 11:21 PM
Member
 
conanb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Houston area
Posts: 102
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 12
What is "Party Mode"? The manual for the 4311ci does not explain what it is or does.
conanb is online now  
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors

Tags
Audyssey , Denon Avr 4311ci 9 2 Channel Network Multi Room Home Theater Receiver With Hdmi 1 4a , Denon Avr A100 100th Anniversary 9 2 140w , Denon
Gear in this thread

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off