The "Official" Denon AVR-4311CI/AVR-A100 thread [NO PRICE TALK] - Page 797 - AVS | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #23881 of 23902 Old 01-16-2015, 09:55 PM
AVS Special Member
 
AustinJerry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Austin, Texas
Posts: 8,547
Mentioned: 13 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1614 Post(s)
Liked: 1022
Swap the left and right speakers. If the problem moves with the speaker, then the speaker is at fault. If the problem stays with the same channel, then it isn't the speakers.
AustinJerry is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #23882 of 23902 Old 01-17-2015, 12:09 PM
Newbie
 
dinomite's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 11
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by duc135 View Post
Swap the connections in the back of the receiver. IOW plug your right speaker to the left speaker output and vice versa with the left speaker. Now run the setup again. Does the setting follow the speaker (left +4 and right -3) or does the setting stay where it was at originally (left -3 and right +4)? If it follows the speaker then there might be an issue with your speaker. If it stays the same then there may be an issue with your right channel amp. Are these new speakers or a new receiver?
Quote:
Originally Posted by AustinJerry View Post
Swap the left and right speakers. If the problem moves with the speaker, then the speaker is at fault. If the problem stays with the same channel, then it isn't the speakers.
Thanks guys I had already tried that. Ended up resetting it, problem solved.
dinomite is offline  
post #23883 of 23902 Old 01-18-2015, 02:31 PM
Member
 
anilpani's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Philadelphia, PA
Posts: 21
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Losing OSD after Airplay

Hi, I'm experiencing a reproducible issue after using Airplay streaming from my Mac. The connection and playback is fine, however, once stopped I no longer am able to access the on-screen display.

Additionally, when cycling through sources using the source-select button on the remote and source select knob on the receiver I am unable to choose the DVR input. I am able to select the DVR input using the DVR button on the remote.

This problem occurs every time I use Airplay. The only solution I have found is to unplug the receiver for a few minutes. Once plugged back in the OSD returns as does the source select menu.

Is anyone else experiencing this? Any ideas for a lasting solution? I tried resetting the microprocessor in the past, which helped only briefly.

Thanks,
Pani
anilpani is offline  
post #23884 of 23902 Old 01-19-2015, 07:23 AM
AVS Special Member
 
blipszyc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Concord, NC
Posts: 2,712
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 87 Post(s)
Liked: 43
I'm trying to save my configuration through the web interface but my 4311 never goes into the "Saving" mode on the screen. After about 2 minutes I get prompted to save a .dat file, but it appears to be empty. All other web functions seem to work properly. Any ideas?

Visit the Lipszyc Home Theater! 1.0
2.0 done and finally posted! - Theater 2.0

And now...The Queen City Theater (3.0)
blipszyc is offline  
post #23885 of 23902 Old 01-19-2015, 08:04 AM
AVS Special Member
 
AustinJerry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Austin, Texas
Posts: 8,547
Mentioned: 13 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1614 Post(s)
Liked: 1022
Quote:
Originally Posted by blipszyc View Post
I'm trying to save my configuration through the web interface but my 4311 never goes into the "Saving" mode on the screen. After about 2 minutes I get prompted to save a .dat file, but it appears to be empty. All other web functions seem to work properly. Any ideas?
In my experience, the success rate of the network save is higher if the network is set to "Off in Standby", rather than "Always On". Is that the setting you are using?
AustinJerry is offline  
post #23886 of 23902 Old 01-19-2015, 08:44 AM
AVS Special Member
 
blipszyc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Concord, NC
Posts: 2,712
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 87 Post(s)
Liked: 43
Quote:
Originally Posted by AustinJerry View Post
In my experience, the success rate of the network save is higher if the network is set to "Off in Standby", rather than "Always On". Is that the setting you are using?
Thank you! I do recall from many years ago that I had to change the Standby setting to OFF to get the save to work. I currently have it set to ON. I'll try it again when I get home tonight!

Visit the Lipszyc Home Theater! 1.0
2.0 done and finally posted! - Theater 2.0

And now...The Queen City Theater (3.0)
blipszyc is offline  
post #23887 of 23902 Old 01-19-2015, 08:44 PM
Newbie
 
UberRob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: San Francisco
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi folks -

Question for the wisdom of the crowd, which I hope will be quick:

I am trying (without success) to have analog audio output from the AVR-4311ci always on... Essentially, I am trying to pass whatever audio is being picked up by the receiver to a Sonos system, essentially so I can continue to listen to the audio channel of my video source(s) when I walk around the house.

I had been assuming that I could hijack the DVR L/R output port on the back and pass the audio out that way, but I haven't been able to find a way to pull that off.

Does anyone have any suggestions, or is that just not possible with this receiver?

- R
UberRob is offline  
post #23888 of 23902 Old 01-20-2015, 01:22 AM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 48,117
Mentioned: 26 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2665 Post(s)
Liked: 1906
^^
Only possible with analog and PCM 2.0 via optical/digital coax (ie. no HDMI) when using the Zone 2 pre-outs or DVR analog out. Otherwise, connect to the FL/FR pre-outs if using STEREO mode.

---------------------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; Call me --> 585-645-1006, AVScience - AVSForum sponsor and dealer for AVRs and Speakers 

Daily 8am – 8pm EST
Call for info on Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Pioneer, Onkyo, Def Tech, Atlantic Tech, Oppo
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #23889 of 23902 Old 01-20-2015, 05:20 AM
Advanced Member
 
wilbur_the_goose's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 584
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 45 Post(s)
Liked: 16
I went to a high-end audio store on Saturday and listened to some McIntosh separates. They were demo'ing the Elton John 60 concert blu-ray (which I think has fantastic audio). I was pretty impressed, so I plopped the same blu-ray into my Oppo, turned on my trusty AVR-4311 (assisted by an Emotiva amp and Paradigm speakers). My wife said, "Wow - that sounds a lot better", and I tend to agree with her.

Our little AVR-4311 is still one really sweat machine
wilbur_the_goose is offline  
post #23890 of 23902 Old 01-21-2015, 05:37 AM
Member
 
sobi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: New York
Posts: 67
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by wilbur_the_goose View Post
Our little AVR-4311 is still one really sweat machine
Wow, you must play it really loud -- my 4311 hardly ever breaks a sweat!
gsr and Johnla like this.

sobi is offline  
post #23891 of 23902 Old 01-23-2015, 04:26 AM
AVS Special Member
 
kgveteran's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Rochester NY
Posts: 5,853
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 77 Post(s)
Liked: 67
Quote:
Originally Posted by wilbur_the_goose View Post
I went to a high-end audio store on Saturday and listened to some McIntosh separates. They were demo'ing the Elton John 60 concert blu-ray (which I think has fantastic audio). I was pretty impressed, so I plopped the same blu-ray into my Oppo, turned on my trusty AVR-4311 (assisted by an Emotiva amp and Paradigm speakers). My wife said, "Wow - that sounds a lot better", and I tend to agree with her.

Our little AVR-4311 is still one really sweat machine
I've always used Denon receivers as processors. Which means i use outboard amps. In my apt electrocity is limited so i have to use just the 4311 for the LCR/surrounds. It does sound sweet !
kgveteran is offline  
post #23892 of 23902 Old 01-24-2015, 11:38 PM
Newbie
 
8trackJack's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Active Bi-Amp 9.2?

Hey there ever-wise-AVS-Community...

At the risk of incurring the wrath of the forum, may I ask a question that I'm sure has been answered in the previous 700 pages of AVR-4311CI posts, namely:

-Can the 4311CI handle, and if so, how do I configure this receiver, to drive the following 9.2 configuration?:

-active bi-amp F/L speakers
-F/L Heights
-Center
-F/L Surround Backs
-F/L Surrounds
-SW 1/2

From what I can tell, when I set the "assign amp" to bi-amp, I'm forced to choose where/how to assign the other amp to *either* "Heights" or "Surround Back".... and as a result, the receiver only plays using "heights" *or* "surround backs" (and never, both).... effectively limiting me to a 7.2 configuration.

AFAIK, I can use the "pre-amp" option to buy an external amplifier hooked in turn to my F/L heights. And so, use this as my way to get the desired active bi-amp'd 9.2 config?

Yes, I am in a sorry state.

Or should I just trade up and buy the new AVR-X7200W???

(Apologies in advance for the muddled, naive, and otherwise ignorant question! Please be kind!)

Thanks!
8trackJack is offline  
post #23893 of 23902 Old 01-24-2015, 11:55 PM
AVS Special Member
 
NorthSky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Canada - West Island: Vancouver, South Direction: Go East
Posts: 7,094
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2909 Post(s)
Liked: 972
If you are the least interested by the new 3D surround sound formats (Dolby Atmos, DTS:X, Auro-3D), I would wait until March, and slowly prepare my next move; perhaps the 7200.

* Sorry, couldn't answered your other previous questions, only give my thought on that last one.
NorthSky is offline  
post #23894 of 23902 Old Yesterday, 12:10 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
batpig's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: San Diego
Posts: 25,261
Mentioned: 11 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1329 Post(s)
Liked: 1704
8track - the 7200 wouldn't give you any different options. Like the 4311 it has 9 amps built in so the arithmetic of 11 amplifiers is identical.

Second, just to be clear, splitting a channel to two amps, hooked up to the dual binding posts on the back of a typical speaker, is NOT active bi amping. It's actualy "passive" bi amping (also known as fools bi amping) and doesn't really do anything that just having a single powerful amp wouldn't do. Active bi amping requires an active external crossover splitting the signal before the amp stage and then bypassing any internal crossover in the speaker.

The smart approach if you need more power: get a beefy 2 or 3 ch amp for the front speakers, use the quite capable internal amps in the Denon for the surrounds / heights. Forget bi amping.

batpig's "Denon-to-English Dictionary"
Setup Guide and FAQ
http://batpigworld.com/

Become a fan "batpigworld.com" on Facebook!
batpig is offline  
post #23895 of 23902 Old Yesterday, 12:50 AM
Newbie
 
8trackJack's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Arghh! Thanks batpig!.... and here I thought I *was* doing the true "active" bi-amp (not the fools errand version!)... meaning I thought I was assigning a separate amp (sending a separate and different audio signal) to each of the woofer and tweeter of my R and L Fronts! Now, I am not an audio-engineer, but from a simple reading of the Denon's 4311Ci's user manual, it really sounds like one is able to set up one's system using an "active" (i.e., not passive) set up... (the following, from p28 of my user manual):


"You can use the front speakers via the bi-amp connection.
A bi-amp connection is to connect separate amplifiers to the tweeter terminals and woofer terminals of speakers compatible with the bi-amp function. This prevents the back electromotive force (returned force without output) of the woofer sent to the tweeter, which affects the sound quality of the tweeter, and you can enjoy playback with higher-quality sound.
To use the bi-amp connection for the front speakers, select “Amp Assign” and set “Assign Mode” to “Bi-AMP” using steps 3 and 4 of “Set up “Amp Assign”” (vpage 63)".


That said: if you're right (and from what I've read in the forums here, you usually are!...) I guess I should put-back the short-circuit plates on my F/L NHT 2.5i speakers, and just go with the simple 9.2 set up in Denon's manual?

Last edited by 8trackJack; Yesterday at 12:58 AM.
8trackJack is offline  
post #23896 of 23902 Old Yesterday, 12:54 AM
Newbie
 
8trackJack's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
And Batpig... in lieu of doing away with the idea of actively bi-amping the F/L speakers... you're suggestion to "get a beefy 2 or 3 ch amp for the front speakers, use the quite capable internal amps in the Denon for the surrounds / heights"... does have me intrigued...

I take it the 4311CI can handle such a setup?

And if so (to put it simply), can you suggest any decent "2 or 3 channel amps" to purchase?

And then: how do/would you configure the 4311CI for this???

Last edited by 8trackJack; Yesterday at 12:59 AM.
8trackJack is offline  
post #23897 of 23902 Old Yesterday, 03:56 AM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 48,117
Mentioned: 26 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2665 Post(s)
Liked: 1906
^^
Either an Emotiva XPA-2 or XPA-3 would be good a choice. Also, you would only use "Pre-amp" mode when using external amps for all speakers. Simply set AMP ASSIGN to "Normal", connect the external amp to the FL/FR pre-outs and run Audyssey again.

---------------------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; Call me --> 585-645-1006, AVScience - AVSForum sponsor and dealer for AVRs and Speakers 

Daily 8am – 8pm EST
Call for info on Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Pioneer, Onkyo, Def Tech, Atlantic Tech, Oppo
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #23898 of 23902 Old Yesterday, 06:06 AM
Advanced Member
 
wilbur_the_goose's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 584
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 45 Post(s)
Liked: 16
FWIW, I have an Emotiva XPA-5 running F/C/L/SL/SR, and I'm using the Denon to drive the SBL/SBR and Left & Right Heights (which I almost never use).

I love the sound, but you know the "evil" of our hobby - we're always looking to improve the audio quality. I'm intrigued by the Anthem AVRs and the new Emotiva with Dirac room correction. However, I don't have $2K available for it right now (actually, I can think of smarter things to spend it on - things like a new hot water heater )

Of course, you always have the point of diminishing returns to keep in mind. Would a new $2K processor/AVR make $2k worth of difference in the quality of the audio????
wilbur_the_goose is offline  
post #23899 of 23902 Old Yesterday, 11:05 PM
Member
 
Kris404's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 39
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Clicking/Crackling Sounds

Hey guys,

Need help with my AVR-4311CI. It recently started to make clicking / crackling sounds and then the audio goes out (but HDMI video stays on)

There are no short connections to the speakers, I use banana plugs.
If I power it down for a while and turn it back on, the audio works although, it goes out again soon after.

I even did a microprocessor & network reset which helped things for a little while.

Any ideas?
Kris404 is online now  
post #23900 of 23902 Old Today, 12:07 AM
AVS Special Member
 
duc135's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 1,792
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 70 Post(s)
Liked: 173
Quote:
Originally Posted by 8trackJack View Post
And Batpig... in lieu of doing away with the idea of actively bi-amping the F/L speakers... you're suggestion to "get a beefy 2 or 3 ch amp for the front speakers, use the quite capable internal amps in the Denon for the surrounds / heights"... does have me intrigued...

I take it the 4311CI can handle such a setup?

And if so (to put it simply), can you suggest any decent "2 or 3 channel amps" to purchase?

And then: how do/would you configure the 4311CI for this???
Unless you're clipping your 4311's amps, I don't think adding an external amp will make a sonic difference. I only heard a slight difference when I turned the volume up where my SPL meter never dropped below 95dB. This is while listening to two channel music. With an external amp (Emotiva XPR-5) the highs were a little smoother. Other than that, I can't tell a difference between the 4311's internal amps and the external amp. There was no difference between the two at normal listening levels all the way up to reference.

Edit: If you have money to burn I would recommend looking elsewhere to spend it where it will make more of an audible difference.

Last edited by duc135; Today at 12:11 AM.
duc135 is offline  
post #23901 of 23902 Old Today, 02:03 AM
Senior Member
 
gregavi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Santa Barbara, Ca
Posts: 352
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 20 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by wilbur_the_goose View Post
things like a new hot water heater )
Water heater. Hot water doesn't need heating.
-George Carlin

It used to be:"Wine, Women and Song"Now it's: "Beer, The Old Lady and TV"My Theater Build http://s1116.photobucket.com/user/Gr...?sort=6&page=1
gregavi is online now  
post #23902 of 23902 Old Today, 02:05 AM
Senior Member
 
gregavi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Santa Barbara, Ca
Posts: 352
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 20 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kris404 View Post
Hey guys,

Need help with my AVR-4311CI. It recently started to make clicking / crackling sounds and then the audio goes out (but HDMI video stays on)

There are no short connections to the speakers, I use banana plugs.
If I power it down for a while and turn it back on, the audio works although, it goes out again soon after.

I even did a microprocessor & network reset which helped things for a little while.

Any ideas?
I would try a new HDMI cable if you haven't already.

It used to be:"Wine, Women and Song"Now it's: "Beer, The Old Lady and TV"My Theater Build http://s1116.photobucket.com/user/Gr...?sort=6&page=1
gregavi is online now  
post #23903 of 23902 Old Today, 02:07 AM
Member
 
Kris404's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 39
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by gregavi View Post
I would try a new HDMI cable if you haven't already.

I have but the noises are coming from the receiver like the relay sounds when muting or surround audio.
Kris404 is online now  
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors

Tags
Audyssey , Denon Avr 4311ci 9 2 Channel Network Multi Room Home Theater Receiver With Hdmi 1 4a , Denon Avr A100 100th Anniversary 9 2 140w , Denon
Gear in this thread



Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off