The "Official" Denon AVR-4311CI/AVR-A100 thread [NO PRICE TALK] - Page 801 - AVS | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
Reply
Thread Tools
post #24001 of 24011 Old 02-27-2015, 04:45 PM
AVS Special Member
 
AustinJerry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Austin, Texas
Posts: 8,969
Mentioned: 14 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1972 Post(s)
Liked: 1109
Quote:
Originally Posted by mdrew View Post
I have not performed a firmware update in a couple years. I tried to connect to the server, and after numerous attempts, and getting a "connection failed" message, gave up. The AVR does connect to my home network, as I can play music from the PC in my office, but it will not connect to the internet. Is there any way to download the last firmware update to a usb stick and update that way?
If you can play local content, but can't get to the Internet, something must be wrong with your network configuration. I would check the default gateway and DNS settings. You can get the correct settings from any other device on your network that can successfully connect to the Internet.

I am unaware of any other way to update the firmware.
AustinJerry is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #24002 of 24011 Old 02-27-2015, 08:23 PM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 49,061
Mentioned: 31 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3105 Post(s)
Liked: 2016
Quote:
Originally Posted by mdrew View Post
I have not performed a firmware update in a couple years. I tried to connect to the server, and after numerous attempts, and getting a "connection failed" message, gave up. The AVR does connect to my home network, as I can play music from the PC in my office, but it will not connect to the internet. Is there any way to download the last firmware update to a usb stick and update that way?
Although this is planned at some point in the future, not currently an option on USA models.

------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; http://shop.avscience.com/ Call for sales info --> 585-645-1006 

Daily - 8am to 8pm EST
AVS - We sell Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Pioneer, Onkyo, Def Tech, Oppo
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 5 times. 
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #24003 of 24011 Old 02-28-2015, 10:35 AM
AVS Special Member
 
mdrew's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Up north
Posts: 1,078
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by AustinJerry View Post
If you can play local content, but can't get to the Internet, something must be wrong with your network configuration. I would check the default gateway and DNS settings. You can get the correct settings from any other device on your network that can successfully connect to the Internet.

I am unaware of any other way to update the firmware.

Well I wasted a couple hours trying to get this damn thing to talk to the internet. Nothing. I even copied the entire network protocols from my Oppo that's sitting right next to it (and connects flawlessly). My network sees it, and I gave it full permission, even made sure it was not blocked by a firewall or Norton.


Quote:
Originally Posted by jdsmoothie View Post
Although this is planned at some point in the future, not currently an option on USA models.
I hope so, cause this stupid thing isn't connecting.
mdrew is online now  
post #24004 of 24011 Old 02-28-2015, 05:45 PM
Advanced Member
 
wilbur_the_goose's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 640
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 83 Post(s)
Liked: 39
Did you see if your router is noting the Denon in its IP list?
Try a different cable?
Are you using DHCP or manual?
wilbur_the_goose is online now  
post #24005 of 24011 Old 03-01-2015, 12:31 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
rajdawar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Plainfield, IL
Posts: 86
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 10
If you can connect to your local network there is a good chance that you should be able to connect to the Internet too as long as the Default Gateway is specified and correct in the network settings.
Having said that, I've seen issues with connecting to Denon's servers and being able to update the firmware if the receiver is not registered at Denon's website. No harm double checking that.

Raj
rajdawar is offline  
post #24006 of 24011 Old 03-01-2015, 12:38 PM
gsr
Oppo Beta Group
 
gsr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Massachusetts, USA
Posts: 7,855
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 301 Post(s)
Liked: 274
Quote:
Originally Posted by mdrew View Post
Well I wasted a couple hours trying to get this damn thing to talk to the internet. Nothing. I even copied the entire network protocols from my Oppo that's sitting right next to it (and connects flawlessly). My network sees it, and I gave it full permission, even made sure it was not blocked by a firewall or Norton.

I hope so, cause this stupid thing isn't connecting.
Can you connect to the receiver's web page? Put the IP address of the AVR-4311 into a web browser and you should see a web page where you can access the settings and control the AVR. If you can get this far, you at least know that the AVR-4311 is connected to your home network properly and that the network port on it is working. If you can't get this far, then focus on getting this to work before worrying about accessing things outside your home, such as firmware updates.
wilbur_the_goose likes this.
gsr is offline  
post #24007 of 24011 Old 03-01-2015, 05:06 PM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 49,061
Mentioned: 31 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3105 Post(s)
Liked: 2016
Quote:
Originally Posted by rajdawar View Post
If you can connect to your local network there is a good chance that you should be able to connect to the Internet too as long as the Default Gateway is specified and correct in the network settings.
Having said that, I've seen issues with connecting to Denon's servers and being able to update the firmware if the receiver is not registered at Denon's website. No harm double checking that.
Really? I've never heard that before. I also have never registered any of my Denon AVRs (no point really as the warranty is based on a paid invoice from an Authorized dealer and not whether it's registered or not).

------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; http://shop.avscience.com/ Call for sales info --> 585-645-1006 

Daily - 8am to 8pm EST
AVS - We sell Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Pioneer, Onkyo, Def Tech, Oppo
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 5 times. 
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #24008 of 24011 Old 03-01-2015, 05:23 PM
AVS Special Member
 
mdrew's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Up north
Posts: 1,078
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by gsr View Post
Can you connect to the receiver's web page? Put the IP address of the AVR-4311 into a web browser and you should see a web page where you can access the settings and control the AVR. If you can get this far, you at least know that the AVR-4311 is connected to your home network properly and that the network port on it is working. If you can't get this far, then focus on getting this to work before worrying about accessing things outside your home, such as firmware updates.
Just tried as you suggest. I can pull up the 4811, make changes, etc... Damn thing still won't connect to the internet. No Pandora, no nothing. I have networks, computers....
mdrew is online now  
post #24009 of 24011 Old 03-01-2015, 05:30 PM
AVS Special Member
 
AustinJerry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Austin, Texas
Posts: 8,969
Mentioned: 14 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1972 Post(s)
Liked: 1109
Quote:
Originally Posted by mdrew View Post
Just tried as you suggest. I can pull up the 4811, make changes, etc... Damn thing still won't connect to the internet. No Pandora, no nothing. I have networks, computers....
Following the process of elimination, and if you have a long enough piece of Cat5 network cable, I would temporarily connect the AVR directly to the cable modem, bypassing your internal router. There could well be a firewall setting on the router that is blocking the AVR internet access. Just make sure the AV4 is configured for DHCP and Proxy is off.
AustinJerry is online now  
post #24010 of 24011 Unread Today, 03:21 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Posts: 106
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 63 Post(s)
Liked: 1
Is it possible to set up my 4311 in a 7.1 configuration where the seven channels consist of LCR, LR, RR and two front wide speakers

AND

When listening to stereo music the two Soeakers used are those front side speakers?


I know the question will be WHY and it is a long story. The short version is I have a spare pair of bookshelf speakers. I like their sound better than my current L and R speakers but due to space issues I can't out them there. I can, however, fit them into a spot to use them as wides.
MiniBones is online now  
post #24011 of 24011 Unread Today, 03:40 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
batpig's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: San Diego
Posts: 25,427
Mentioned: 11 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1460 Post(s)
Liked: 1771
Quote:
Originally Posted by MiniBones View Post
Is it possible to set up my 4311 in a 7.1 configuration where the seven channels consist of LCR, LR, RR and two front wide speakers

AND

When listening to stereo music the two Soeakers used are those front side speakers?


I know the question will be WHY and it is a long story. The short version is I have a spare pair of bookshelf speakers. I like their sound better than my current L and R speakers but due to space issues I can't out them there. I can, however, fit them into a spot to use them as wides.
The answer is no -- you can of course configure a 7.1 setup with 5.1+Front Wide, but you CAN'T use the Front Wides as alternate 2ch stereo speakers.

What you can do is configure it in "2CH" amp assign mode -- see the connection diagram on pg 59 of your manual -- and use the other speakes for dedicated 2ch listening separately from your standard 5.1 or 7.1 layout. In this mode the receiver will automatically mute the multich speakers and switch to the 2ch speakers if you use STEREO or DIRECT modes for 2ch listening, and you can also configure separate distances, levels, and bass management for these alternate speakers.

batpig's "Denon-to-English Dictionary"
Setup Guide and FAQ
http://batpigworld.com/

Become a fan "batpigworld.com" on Facebook!
batpig is online now  
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors

Tags
Audyssey , Denon Avr 4311ci 9 2 Channel Network Multi Room Home Theater Receiver With Hdmi 1 4a , Denon Avr A100 100th Anniversary 9 2 140w , Denon
Gear in this thread

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off