The Official Integra DHC-80.2 Pre/Pro Thread - Page 64 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1891 of 3830 Old 03-03-2011, 05:37 PM
AVS Special Member
 
BrolicBeast's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Charles County, MD
Posts: 2,795
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 92 Post(s)
Liked: 280
Quote:
Originally Posted by BrolicBeast View Post

Ok so I'm running into a problem with one particular device. The Sonos zoneplayer. For some reason, I'm getting about a half-second delay through the 80.2--and yes, i check out the audio sync settings, but they only allow me to increase the milliseconds. I can't decrease them to the perfect sync (the Sonos system syncs music across my house, so i use the S5 in the kitchen as the reference. I didn't have this issue with my Denon AVR4310, so i doubt it's the Sonos Zoneplayer itself. I started with analog--discovered the sync problem, switched to a different analog input--switched to optical--switched to coaxial, and yet all are making this one source produce audio a few milliseconds slower than it should.

Any thoughts on how I can descrease milliseconds? I am very tech savvy and combed over the menu settings and even (GASP) the Manual (I was shocked too), but could not find a way to decrease millisecond delay.

OK, so I posted this a couple weeks ago regarding the delay in the Sonos Zoneplayer. The solution? Add a DAC. I just added a Cambridge Audio DAC Magic to the system, and the half-second delay has disappeared. Looks like the delay was originating in the jitter inherent to the unconverted digital signal. I hope this helps somebody.
BrolicBeast is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #1892 of 3830 Old 03-04-2011, 07:35 AM
AVS Special Member
 
vigga's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: New York, NY
Posts: 1,727
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Expensive fix, but I'm sure it sounds amazing. I'm told that the Sonos benefits greatly from the addition of an external DAC.
vigga is offline  
post #1893 of 3830 Old 03-04-2011, 11:32 AM
AVS Special Member
 
DonH50's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Monument CO
Posts: 5,904
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 81 Post(s)
Liked: 229
Glad it's fixed! I would not expect jitter to have anything to do with; more likely the processor and DAC in the Zoneplayer simply adds too much latency.

"After silence, that which best expresses the inexpressible, is music" - Aldous Huxley
DonH50 is online now  
post #1894 of 3830 Old 03-04-2011, 02:07 PM
Member
 
tomefs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: vancouver b.c Can.
Posts: 108
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
HI I just cancelled my Marantz av7005 order. I am considering a 80.2 but can get a 80.1 at a very low price,what are the major diferences between the two.And is there a 80.3 comming out soon. I am comming from a lexicon DC-1 anyone compared this against the 80.1 or2 Thanks in advance
tomefs is offline  
post #1895 of 3830 Old 03-04-2011, 02:18 PM
Senior Member
 
Dundas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Hamilton, Canada
Posts: 242
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by tomefs View Post
HI I just cancelled my Marantz av7005 order. I am considering a 80.2 but can get a 80.1 at a very low price,what are the major diferences between the two.And is there a 80.3 comming out soon. Thanks in advance
Audyssey MultEQ XT32 and HDMI 1.4 3D
Next version will likely be announced late summer with availability mid to late fall.
Dundas is offline  
post #1896 of 3830 Old 03-04-2011, 02:35 PM
Member
 
ashalc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 24
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Need some tips from the experts.

Today I have a Receiver TX NR 5007, but using a emotiva XPA 2 and XPA 5 as amp´s to my 7.2 system (all kef xq 40 and SVS sub´s) First Question

1 - Will I have a better sound quality by changing this receiver (Onkyo´s top) and buying the DHC? If yes, Will it be a significant improve?

2 - Since my system is a 7.2 can I use the extra 2 channels of the Integra to biamp my front speakers?

3 - Since I will be using the oppo BDP-95 connected with the integra through multi channel analog, I will not be able to use audissey, is that Correct? If so, how will I Equalize the sound?

4 - Does anyone know of a better Processor than the integra which have a 1.4 HDMI compatibility?

5 - Which one has a better sound quality, the MArantz AV 7005 or the DHC 80.2

Thanks in advance

Ash
ashalc is offline  
post #1897 of 3830 Old 03-04-2011, 04:17 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Kal Rubinson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: NYC + Connecticut
Posts: 28,398
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 37 Post(s)
Liked: 118
Quote:
Originally Posted by ashalc View Post
1 - Will I have a better sound quality by changing this receiver (Onkyo´s top) and buying the DHC? If yes, Will it be a significant improve?
Dunno for sure but it is possible.

Quote:
3 - Since I will be using the oppo BDP-95 connected with the integra through multi channel analog, I will not be able to use audissey, is that Correct? If so, how will I Equalize the sound?
Use the HDMI. If you gain access to Audyssey, it will improve overall sound compared to the "purist" connection. More on that here: http://www.stereophile.com/musicinth..._44/index.html

Quote:
4 - Does anyone know of a better Processor than the integra which have a 1.4 HDMI compatibility?
Classe,

Quote:
5 - Which one has a better sound quality, the MArantz AV 7005 or the DHC 80.2
I hope to find out this weekend.

Kal Rubinson

"Music in the Round"
Senior Contributing Editor, Stereophile
http://www.stereophile.com/category/music-round

Kal Rubinson is offline  
post #1898 of 3830 Old 03-04-2011, 04:20 PM
AVS Special Member
 
jmschnur's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: VA MD DC area
Posts: 2,940
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 26
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kal Rubinson
Dunno for sure but it is possible.

Use the HDMI. If you gain access to Audyssey, it will improve overall sound compared to the "purist" connection. More on that here: http://www.stereophile.com/musicinth..._44/index.html

Classe,

I hope to find out this weekend.
Finally! Look forward to you sage comments on the 80.2. Especially with respect to xt32 versus xt.
jmschnur is offline  
post #1899 of 3830 Old 03-04-2011, 04:20 PM
Advanced Member
 
alanl715's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: tejas
Posts: 932
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by tomefs View Post
HI I just cancelled my Marantz av7005 order. I am considering a 80.2 but can get a 80.1 at a very low price,what are the major diferences between the two.And is there a 80.3 comming out soon. I am comming from a lexicon DC-1 anyone compared this against the 80.1 or2 Thanks in advance
the pre-pros are usually release Oct/Nov
alanl715 is offline  
post #1900 of 3830 Old 03-04-2011, 04:28 PM
Advanced Member
 
alanl715's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: tejas
Posts: 932
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by ashalc View Post
Need some tips from the experts.

Today I have a Receiver TX NR 5007, but using a emotiva XPA 2 and XPA 5 as amp´s to my 7.2 system (all kef xq 40 and SVS sub´s) First Question

1 - Will I have a better sound quality by changing this receiver (Onkyo´s top) and buying the DHC? If yes, Will it be a significant improve?

2 - Since my system is a 7.2 can I use the extra 2 channels of the Integra to biamp my front speakers?

3 - Since I will be using the oppo BDP-95 connected with the integra through multi channel analog, I will not be able to use audissey, is that Correct? If so, how will I Equalize the sound?

4 - Does anyone know of a better Processor than the integra which have a 1.4 HDMI compatibility?

5 - Which one has a better sound quality, the MArantz AV 7005 or the DHC 80.2

Thanks in advance

Ash
2) what 2 extra amps ? the dhc is a pre-pro and since u only have 7 channels of amp, don't u need 2 mo' amps to bi-amp ?
5) u'r asking on the Integra thread if a non-Saul Marantz-Marantz sounds better .. ?
C'mon now !
alanl715 is offline  
post #1901 of 3830 Old 03-04-2011, 05:55 PM
Member
 
ashalc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 24
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by alanl715 View Post

2) what 2 extra amps ? the dhc is a pre-pro and since u only have 7 channels of amp, don't u need 2 mo' amps to bi-amp ?
5) u'r asking on the Integra thread if a non-Saul Marantz-Marantz sounds better .. ?
C'mon now !

I was thinking on buying another xpa2 to biamp the front speaker if the DHC allows it

Regarding my question of integra vs Marantz I honestly don´t see any problem just because we are on the integra thread, after all I do not think I am posting questions to the owners of the integra company.
ashalc is offline  
post #1902 of 3830 Old 03-04-2011, 06:06 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Kal Rubinson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: NYC + Connecticut
Posts: 28,398
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 37 Post(s)
Liked: 118
Quote:
Originally Posted by ashalc View Post

I was thinking on buying another xpa2 to biamp the front speaker if the DHC allows it.

All prepros allow for it: Just use a pair of Y-connectors.

Kal Rubinson

"Music in the Round"
Senior Contributing Editor, Stereophile
http://www.stereophile.com/category/music-round

Kal Rubinson is offline  
post #1903 of 3830 Old 03-04-2011, 06:27 PM
Wireless member
 
pepar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Quintana Roo ... in my mind
Posts: 24,929
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 28 Post(s)
Liked: 131
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kal Rubinson View Post


I hope to find out this weekend.

Woo HOO!
pepar is offline  
post #1904 of 3830 Old 03-04-2011, 06:33 PM
Wireless member
 
pepar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Quintana Roo ... in my mind
Posts: 24,929
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 28 Post(s)
Liked: 131
Quote:
Originally Posted by tomefs View Post

is there a 80.3 coming out soon?

Sure, but not until you buy an 80.2.
pepar is offline  
post #1905 of 3830 Old 03-05-2011, 07:29 AM
KB1
Member
 
KB1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: New York
Posts: 183
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I just realized that the 80.2 seems to be enabling 30-bit Deep Color by default on all video signals. If you hit the Home button and toggle to Info, the on-screen display will show 24 bits for input (for a cable box let's say) and 30 bits for the output. Same thing for a blu-ray disk. The only way to match the input and output are to enable 30 bit deep color in the blu-ray player (in my oppo 83 in my case). I also confirmed that using my JVC RS25 where when the 80.2 is not in the chain and the deep color of the Oppo is NOT enabled the deep color indicator will show 8 bit (so 24 bits total). With the 80.2 in the chain, the indicator will switch to 10 bit (so 30 bits total) and with the Oppo's deep color mode still disabled. Any idea as to why the conversion is automatically done? And Should I change the Oppo to 30 bits deep color to avoid extra conversion? I'm not sure what impact (if any) this has and what the best setting would be on the BD player. Thx for any feedback on this issue.
KB1 is offline  
post #1906 of 3830 Old 03-05-2011, 09:06 AM
AVS Special Member
 
g_bartman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: cleveland, oh
Posts: 3,177
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 51
Quote:
Originally Posted by pepar View Post

Sure, but not until you buy an 80.2.

I hear you. I got an 80.1 right before the 80.2 was released. I can't complain, the dealer gave me a very good price. I will never do 3d and the 80.1 audyssey version seems to have done a good job. I'll just wait for the 80.5 and move on then. Right before the 80.6 is released....

g_bartman is offline  
post #1907 of 3830 Old 03-05-2011, 09:13 AM
Member
 
tomefs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: vancouver b.c Can.
Posts: 108
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by pepar View Post

Sure, but not until you buy an 80.2.

Ok all kidding aside, does anyone know, what if any new features the 80.3 will have.
tomefs is offline  
post #1908 of 3830 Old 03-05-2011, 09:15 AM
Wireless member
 
pepar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Quintana Roo ... in my mind
Posts: 24,929
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 28 Post(s)
Liked: 131
Quote:
Originally Posted by g_bartman View Post

I hear you. I got an 80.1 right before the 80.2 was released. I can't complain, the dealer gave me a very good price. I will never do 3d and the 80.1 audyssey version seems to have done a good job. I'll just wait for the 80.5 and move on then. Right before the 80.6 is released....

I am zeroing in on the 80.2/5508. Audyssey MultEQ XT 32 is the main attraction. But moving from my OP 885, I will gain DSX and much, much improved sound quality.

My MO is to wait until the 80.3/5509/whatever is released and then pick up an 80.2 at an even better price.

Jeff
pepar is offline  
post #1909 of 3830 Old 03-05-2011, 11:13 AM
Wireless member
 
pepar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Quintana Roo ... in my mind
Posts: 24,929
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 28 Post(s)
Liked: 131
Quote:
Originally Posted by tomefs View Post

Ok all kidding aside, does anyone know, what if any new features the 80.3 will have.

No such model has been announced that I know of.
pepar is offline  
post #1910 of 3830 Old 03-05-2011, 11:26 AM
Advanced Member
 
KERMIE's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 669
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I just called a store to see if they have any 80.2's and they said they were 5 weeks out on back order. Nice.
KERMIE is offline  
post #1911 of 3830 Old 03-05-2011, 12:12 PM
Senior Member
 
tallnick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 418
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kal Rubinson View Post


I hope to find out this weekend.

please let us know what you find out, Kal!
tallnick is offline  
post #1912 of 3830 Old 03-05-2011, 12:55 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Kal Rubinson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: NYC + Connecticut
Posts: 28,398
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 37 Post(s)
Liked: 118
Quote:
Originally Posted by tallnick View Post

please let us know what you find out, Kal!

Sure, in the July issue.

Kal Rubinson

"Music in the Round"
Senior Contributing Editor, Stereophile
http://www.stereophile.com/category/music-round

Kal Rubinson is offline  
post #1913 of 3830 Old 03-05-2011, 02:31 PM
Member
 
SPLawren's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 120
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by BrolicBeast View Post

OK, so I posted this a couple weeks ago regarding the delay in the Sonos Zoneplayer. The solution? Add a DAC. I just added a Cambridge Audio DAC Magic to the system, and the half-second delay has disappeared. Looks like the delay was originating in the jitter inherent to the unconverted digital signal. I hope this helps somebody.

I also had the delay, if you remember. What is your layout - do you run the DAC straight to the amp, or still through the 80.2? I'm curious as to why adding a component would reduce a 0.5 delay, unless you removed the 80.2 from the stream.
SPLawren is offline  
post #1914 of 3830 Old 03-05-2011, 03:51 PM
Member
 
pantherman007's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 142
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Placed an order for an 80.2 this afternoon.

Now to figure out appropriate cables for connecting it to an Emotiva UPA-7...
pantherman007 is offline  
post #1915 of 3830 Old 03-05-2011, 05:36 PM
Senior Member
 
tallnick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 418
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by pantherman007 View Post
Placed an order for an 80.2 this afternoon.

Now to figure out appropriate cables for connecting it to an Emotiva UPA-7...
emotiva RCA's? from what I recall the upa-7 only has RCA (no XLR) connections correct?
tallnick is offline  
post #1916 of 3830 Old 03-05-2011, 07:08 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Dave Vaughn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Vacaville, CA
Posts: 4,312
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 22 Post(s)
Liked: 70
Quote:
Originally Posted by KB1 View Post
I just realized that the 80.2 seems to be enabling 30-bit Deep Color by default on all video signals. If you hit the Home button and toggle to Info, the on-screen display will show 24 bits for input (for a cable box let's say) and 30 bits for the output. Same thing for a blu-ray disk. The only way to match the input and output are to enable 30 bit deep color in the blu-ray player (in my oppo 83 in my case). I also confirmed that using my JVC RS25 where when the 80.2 is not in the chain and the deep color of the Oppo is NOT enabled the deep color indicator will show 8 bit (so 24 bits total). With the 80.2 in the chain, the indicator will switch to 10 bit (so 30 bits total) and with the Oppo's deep color mode still disabled. Any idea as to why the conversion is automatically done? And Should I change the Oppo to 30 bits deep color to avoid extra conversion? I'm not sure what impact (if any) this has and what the best setting would be on the BD player. Thx for any feedback on this issue.
I bet this is what's causing the handshake issue with the JVC projectors.

David Vaughn

Blu-ray Reviewer / Technical Writer

Sound & Vision Magazine (Print & Online)

Dave Vaughn is offline  
post #1917 of 3830 Old 03-05-2011, 07:21 PM
AVS Special Member
 
jmschnur's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: VA MD DC area
Posts: 2,940
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 26
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dave Vaughn

I bet this is what's causing the handshake issue with the JVC projectors.
Any word on the firmware update?
jmschnur is offline  
post #1918 of 3830 Old 03-06-2011, 06:24 AM
Wireless member
 
pepar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Quintana Roo ... in my mind
Posts: 24,929
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 28 Post(s)
Liked: 131
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dave Vaughn View Post

I bet this is what's causing the handshake issue with the JVC projectors.

Especially with an RS25, isn't this just more confirmation that all video processing in the 80.2 should be bypassed?
pepar is offline  
post #1919 of 3830 Old 03-06-2011, 07:30 AM
AVS Special Member
 
vigga's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: New York, NY
Posts: 1,727
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by pepar View Post

Especially with an RS25, isn't this just more confirmation that all video processing in the 80.2 should be bypassed?

I have totally bypassed the 80.2. Too many quirks to keep track of and no discernible benefit for me except the OSD. Just put a Lumagen Radiance XS3D back into the system after many years without and am running everything through that, then using the dual HDMI outputs - one to the Integra, one to the projector.
vigga is offline  
post #1920 of 3830 Old 03-06-2011, 08:34 AM
KB1
Member
 
KB1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: New York
Posts: 183
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dave Vaughn View Post

I bet this is what's causing the handshake issue with the JVC projectors.

I actually don't have a handshake issue with my RS25 but I just think it's weird that this 30-bit Deep Color enabling is not covered in the manual or talked about anywhere. Most devices have a Deep Color On/Off setting at the user option. The Integra seems to be changing any input to a Deep Color 30 bit output. Not sure it's detrimental but it would be nice to get a better understanding of that aspect of the video processing. Maybe I'll call customer service and see what they have to say. Anyone else with a view on this? Thx.
KB1 is offline  
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors

Tags
Integra

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off