AVS Forum

AVS Forum (http://www.avsforum.com/forum/)
-   Receivers, Amps, and Processors (http://www.avsforum.com/forum/90-receivers-amps-processors/)
-   -   Extensive comparison TX-NR708 and VSX-1120-K (http://www.avsforum.com/forum/90-receivers-amps-processors/1277801-extensive-comparison-tx-nr708-vsx-1120-k.html)

ccity 09-19-2010 07:22 PM

OK, first I apologize for all of the lurking, this is one of my first posts. I have been researching an receiver for a couple of days now and narrowed it down to the Onkyo NR808 or the Pioneer 1120-K. I thought I would share my research here for others comparing these two receivers (which appear to be the leaders for the pricepoint. I am fairly new to receivers, so some of declared "wins" may not be. I am also sure I have some inaccuracies here as well, so please send me any feedback and I will modify my post. Hope someone finds this helpul

Feature Onkyo TX-NR708 Pioneer VSX-1120-K
Average Price $550-600 $550-600
Channels 7.2 7.2
Power/channel 110w 110w
THX Certification Select2 Plus Select2 Plus
Digital Inputs 5 (2 Coax / 3opt) 5 (2 Coax / 3opt)
Power Consumption ?? 400Watts
Processing Dual 32-bit DSP Dual Core 400 MIPS
Video processing Faroudja Marvell 1080p/24FPS
Audio Processing 24-bit Burr Brown DAC 24-bit DAC
Speaker Calibration Audyssey, DSX, EQ, Volume MCACC
SACD Support ?? Yes
RS232 Support Yes Yes
Ethernet Support Yes Yes
Internet Radio Yes Yes
Zones Two - Powered, Line-out Two
HDMI 1.4 Yes, 3D, ARC Yes, 3D, ARC
GUI Configuration Yes Yes
Illuminated Remote No Yes
Learning Remote Yes Yes
HDMI Inputs Rear/Front 6/1 5/1
12V trigger Yes, Zone2 only No
iPhone Full Support Optional Yes
Neural-THX ?? Yes
Dolby PLIIz, DD Plus, True HD PLIIz, DD Plus, DD EQ,
DTS HD-Master Audio HD
Phono Input Yes ??
PC RGB Input Yes No
Pre-outs 7.2 7.1
SIRIUS support Yes Yes
Warranty 2 years 1 year
Weight 27.6 lbs 28.7 lbs
USB Yes (front) Yes (front)
DLNA Certified Windows 7, DLNA 1.5 ??
Rhapsody Support Yes No