Current iOS App (iPod Touch/iPhone/iPad) controlled receivers? - Page 2 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #31 of 295 Old 09-28-2010, 08:37 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Al Sherwood's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Victoria, BC Canada
Posts: 3,104
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 22 Post(s)
Liked: 13
You keep this up rworne and I may have to buy an iPad!

Al
Al Sherwood is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #32 of 295 Old 09-30-2010, 10:13 AM
Advanced Member
 
rworne's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 840
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 30
I'm back from the trip and hope to have something ready by the end of the weekend. I was too blasted last night after the flight to mess with it much aside from finding an interesting crashing bug when requesting the video/audio bitrate stuff when the unit is powered off.

Hint: it returns an ACK message with nothing for a payload and the app tries to parse a zero-length string... *KABOOM* I need to double-check the message size too, who knows? In reality it is supposed to return ",,,,,," (no quotes) with the info between the comma fields. In the above case it returns "".

Yet another Onkyo surprise where protocol is not followed.
rworne is offline  
post #33 of 295 Old 09-30-2010, 10:38 AM
AVS Special Member
 
buggs1a's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Tukwila, WA
Posts: 1,156
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Liked: 15
rworne:
Will you make it for ipod touch with easy layout on the screen? Like since it's smaller then the ipad you could maybe have buttons for the extra screens needed for the features etc.

Like one screen has whatever can fit, then a screen 2 button for the rest of that screen. Things like that. However, not sure how you'd do it.

I might be able to get an Onkyo -TX-NR808. Maybe this weekend. Not sure yet. Might be able to then talk to my mom about getting an ipad too, lol. Like say it's a remote for the Onkyo lol. However of course we both know it's more then that.

I would love to use your app for the 808 if i got it. To me it seems like you would have the best fully featured ipad/ipod remote for any avr.
buggs1a is offline  
post #34 of 295 Old 09-30-2010, 08:41 PM
Advanced Member
 
rworne's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 840
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 30
Quote:
Originally Posted by buggs1a View Post

rworne:
Will you make it for ipod touch with easy layout on the screen? Like since it's smaller then the ipad you could maybe have buttons for the extra screens needed for the features etc.

Like one screen has whatever can fit, then a screen 2 button for the rest of that screen. Things like that. However, not sure how you'd do it.

I might be able to get an Onkyo -TX-NR808. Maybe this weekend. Not sure yet. Might be able to then talk to my mom about getting an ipad too, lol. Like say it's a remote for the Onkyo lol. However of course we both know it's more then that.

I would love to use your app for the 808 if i got it. To me it seems like you would have the best fully featured ipad/ipod remote for any avr.

Well, the iPhone/iPad version will look similar to the Yamaha app (see the topmost post). Many features will not be there but it will allow control of Net/iPod/Radio plus zone control and input selections. The underlying engine driving it will be the same as the iPad version, so further updates on iTunes will be adding more stuff as long as it works out.
rworne is offline  
post #35 of 295 Old 09-30-2010, 09:26 PM
Newbie
 
DonGyros's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Great to hear that someone is working on a iPad/iPhone version!
The reason for my first post in this forum :-)

A year ago I implemented a Onkyo control in C#. Have you ever thought about adding a macro feature to the app? I had something similar in my C# implementation. By that way it is possible to say for example with one click on a button:

- power on
- switch to input source N
- set volume to N
DonGyros is offline  
post #36 of 295 Old 10-01-2010, 04:29 AM
Advanced Member
 
rworne's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 840
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 30
Quote:
Originally Posted by DonGyros View Post

Great to hear that someone is working on a iPad/iPhone version!
The reason for my first post in this forum :-)

A year ago I implemented a Onkyo control in C#. Have you ever thought about adding a macro feature to the app? I had something similar in my C# implementation. By that way it is possible to say for example with one click on a button:

- power on
- switch to input source N
- set volume to N

Not at this time. This is both a learning experience for me and a chance to make something useful.
rworne is offline  
post #37 of 295 Old 10-01-2010, 04:34 AM
Advanced Member
 
rworne's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 840
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 30
Just a quick update:

Lots of the Zone control stuff is implemented. Controls Zones 2-4. UI is cleaned up. One sticking point was the configuration of the receiver.

After trying several different methods, I managed to get a uPnP library built and integrated into the app. So now it finds the AVR automagically. The only limitation is if the user has more than one AVR, it will detect and use the last one found. That's a fix for later.

Code:
run
Running…
[Switching to thread 12035]
[Switching to thread 12035]
continue
2010-10-01 04:21:06.001 Remote[2359:207] NETGEAR ReadyNAS NV+ [ReadyNAS] 192.168.1.222
2010-10-01 04:21:06.011 Remote[2359:207] NETGEAR ReadyNAS: ReadyNAS 192.168.1.222
2010-10-01 04:21:06.014 Remote[2359:207] ONKYO HT-RC180 192.168.1.76 <<========
2010-10-01 04:21:06.017 Remote[2359:207] Microsoft Corporation HTPC2 192.168.1.111
2010-10-01 04:21:06.020 Remote[2359:207] Samsung Electronics Home TV 192.168.1.12
2010-10-01 04:21:06.022 Remote[2359:207] Samsung Electronics Home TV 192.168.1.12
2010-10-01 04:21:06.025 Remote[2359:207] Westell Ultraline Series 3 Internet Gateway Device 192.168.1.1
2010-10-01 04:21:06.176 Remote[2359:207] << : NSStreamEventOpenCompleted
2010-10-01 04:21:06.182 Remote[2359:207] << : NSStreamEventHasSpaceAvailable
rworne is offline  
post #38 of 295 Old 10-01-2010, 07:08 PM
Member
 
CobraPA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Lansdale, PA, USA
Posts: 56
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Very nice!
CobraPA is offline  
post #39 of 295 Old 10-01-2010, 10:15 PM
AVS Special Member
 
buggs1a's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Tukwila, WA
Posts: 1,156
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Will the app work with the integra dtr-70.1? I just got it today.
buggs1a is offline  
post #40 of 295 Old 10-02-2010, 09:19 AM
Advanced Member
 
rworne's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 840
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 30
Quote:
Originally Posted by buggs1a View Post

Will the app work with the integra dtr-70.1? I just got it today.

If it's network-enabled, yes.
rworne is offline  
post #41 of 295 Old 10-02-2010, 10:37 AM
AVS Special Member
 
buggs1a's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Tukwila, WA
Posts: 1,156
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Liked: 15
It is
buggs1a is offline  
post #42 of 295 Old 10-02-2010, 10:50 AM
AVS Special Member
 
M Code's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Joshua Tree, CA
Posts: 9,865
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 97 Post(s)
Liked: 122
Check out the September Sound & Vision, several pages about the iPhone & iPad, iTouch applications. Even @ the CEDIA Show just held in Atlanta, many new Apple apps possibly replacing the Crestron & AMX controllers..

Just my $0.02..
M Code is offline  
post #43 of 295 Old 10-02-2010, 02:47 PM
AVS Special Member
 
buggs1a's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Tukwila, WA
Posts: 1,156
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Liked: 15
I'd like the app for the onkyo/integra to do everything pretty much. i have no need for zone anything, but would have need for everything else. Also I know at least with my Integra DTR-70.1, its menu is different then the 808/807 in that it does more.

I actually have both the 808 and DTR-70.1 that I just got last night. The 808 is going back to Frys soon for sure, but not sure about the DTR-70.1 as I don't like some of what it does.
buggs1a is offline  
post #44 of 295 Old 10-02-2010, 05:18 PM
Advanced Member
 
rworne's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 840
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 30
Quote:
Originally Posted by buggs1a View Post

I'd like the app for the onkyo/integra to do everything pretty much. i have no need for zone anything, but would have need for everything else. Also I know at least with my Integra DTR-70.1, its menu is different then the 808/807 in that it does more.

I actually have both the 808 and DTR-70.1 that I just got last night. The 808 is going back to Frys soon for sure, but not sure about the DTR-70.1 as I don't like some of what it does.

I never saw an Integra, but the app I developed covers (or will cover) pretty much every function supported over the network. Both Onkyo and Integra use the same protocol too. There's quite a few functions in my app I can't test because my AVR doesn't support them.
rworne is offline  
post #45 of 295 Old 10-02-2010, 06:21 PM
AVS Special Member
 
buggs1a's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Tukwila, WA
Posts: 1,156
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Liked: 15
I didn't know they're the same protocol. Cool or not I dunno LOL.

Could you remotely connect to my avr and see anything?
buggs1a is offline  
post #46 of 295 Old 10-02-2010, 06:29 PM
Advanced Member
 
rworne's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 840
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 30
Quote:
Originally Posted by buggs1a View Post

I didn't know they're the same protocol. Cool or not I dunno LOL.

Could you remotely connect to my avr and see anything?

It depends. Your AVR has a web server built into it. If it's anything like mine, it just has settings to add links to internet radio feeds.

Normally, you can only see this in your home. It is possible to forward the ports for the AVR to the Internet, but there's no use for that. If you forwarded the port for remote access, then I certainly can control your AVR from here.
rworne is offline  
post #47 of 295 Old 10-02-2010, 06:33 PM
AVS Special Member
 
buggs1a's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Tukwila, WA
Posts: 1,156
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Liked: 15
I was thinking it could show you stuff that like isn't available to you now. Like so you could put stuff in yer app.
buggs1a is offline  
post #48 of 295 Old 10-02-2010, 06:50 PM
Advanced Member
 
rworne's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 840
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 30
Quote:
Originally Posted by buggs1a View Post

I was thinking it could show you stuff that like isn't available to you now. Like so you could put stuff in yer app.

If you own an iPad, you can beta-test the software I am working on.
rworne is offline  
post #49 of 295 Old 10-02-2010, 08:00 PM
AVS Special Member
 
buggs1a's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Tukwila, WA
Posts: 1,156
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Liked: 15
I've seen the pics you've posted and they look awesome. I'm curious how the ipad screen itself is quality wise. I know this isn't an ipad thread though. I know I can look in person, just thot to ask now.

I have ipod touch 2nd gen and don't like apples limitations in some ways, so would be nervous about getting an ipad. However with your app looking so cool, that makes me wanna get one lol,
buggs1a is offline  
post #50 of 295 Old 10-02-2010, 09:08 PM
Advanced Member
 
rworne's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 840
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 30
Quote:
Originally Posted by buggs1a View Post

I've seen the pics you've posted and they look awesome. I'm curious how the ipad screen itself is quality wise. I know this isn't an ipad thread though. I know I can look in person, just thot to ask now.

I have ipod touch 2nd gen and don't like apples limitations in some ways, so would be nervous about getting an ipad. However with your app looking so cool, that makes me wanna get one lol,

The screen is quite good. Typical LCD look, bright and wide viewing angles. I'm going to get to work on an iPhone/iPod version after this one is finished.

Edit:
Another update, this is the settings screen
LL
rworne is offline  
post #51 of 295 Old 10-03-2010, 01:37 AM
AVS Special Member
 
buggs1a's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Tukwila, WA
Posts: 1,156
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Liked: 15
I'm outta here now. Time for me to move on. My integra 70.1 has a video hum when xbox 360 is connected to avr and I'm using it. When my xbox 360 is connected directly to my tv it's fine. No hum. So back to square one trying to find an avr or pre pro that I might like. But imo not sure I'll like anything. ((( I don't know what to do.
buggs1a is offline  
post #52 of 295 Old 10-03-2010, 02:23 AM
Member
 
CobraPA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Lansdale, PA, USA
Posts: 56
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by buggs1a View Post

I'm outta here now. Time for me to move on. My integra 70.1 has a video hum when xbox 360 is connected to avr and I'm using it.

Wow, that is annoying. Have you tried anything to resolve it? Maybe take a look at your power connections and grounding (especially across the audio connection you have to the xbox.)
CobraPA is offline  
post #53 of 295 Old 10-03-2010, 05:00 AM
Member
 
drunkmunk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: The 'Stan... Again
Posts: 113
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:


Time for me to move on. My integra 70.1 has a video hum when xbox 360 is connected to avr and I'm using it. When my xbox 360 is connected directly to my tv it's fine. No hum.

that sounds like a ground loop problem. I would check your wiring.
drunkmunk is offline  
post #54 of 295 Old 10-03-2010, 05:13 AM
AVS Special Member
 
buggs1a's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Tukwila, WA
Posts: 1,156
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Well there's no problem with my 360 direct to tv so I don't know. The wires on avr are all seperated enough not to touch. In fact none can touch since they all plug in nicely.

What happens is 2 evenly spaced horizontal lines scroll upwards. I think this is called a video hum but I'm not sure if that's the right term. The lines are only visable on black but since they're there it's a mental thing. Knowing it's there even if I can't see it would drive me you know.

The only other connections are 2 hdmi input. Then xbox 360 component in. Then avr hdmi out to tv. Then nice banana plugs for speakers and one optical for xbox audio.

Since I don't like a couple things about the avr I'm just going to return it in the next couple days. I only got it Friday. It was their floor demo.

Now I'm lost again on what I will like.
buggs1a is offline  
post #55 of 295 Old 10-03-2010, 07:30 PM
Member
 
CobraPA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Lansdale, PA, USA
Posts: 56
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I just tried out the beta for the Onkyo app, and it's pretty neat. It has the equivalent of the on screen display, but I don't have to fire up the main screen to see it. So for example, playing mp3 music will show name, music mode, and progress, and allow you to play/pause like the remote. It's slick.
CobraPA is offline  
post #56 of 295 Old 10-04-2010, 12:35 AM
Advanced Member
 
rworne's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 840
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 30
Fixed a major bug in Zone controls, and now there's a nifty in-app view that brings up the Onkyo settings page:
LL
LL
rworne is offline  
post #57 of 295 Old 10-04-2010, 04:13 AM
AVS Special Member
 
buggs1a's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Tukwila, WA
Posts: 1,156
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Awesome.th something I returned my integer and got the den on 4310ci. Trying It for a few weeks. Only paid $999. Plus I got a sonos 29 or whatever it is. $349.99. When I was at magnolia the guy showed me the iPhone sonos app. Incredible. Then he showed me the sonos on an iPad. It blew me away. So I got an iPad 3G 16gb yesterday too.

While I have a denon is there anyway you could try and come up with something rwone? You can remote connect to it.
Thanks
buggs1a is offline  
post #58 of 295 Old 10-04-2010, 11:22 AM
Advanced Member
 
rworne's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 840
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 30
Quote:
Originally Posted by buggs1a View Post

Awesome.th something I returned my integer and got the den on 4310ci. Trying It for a few weeks. Only paid $999. Plus I got a sonos 29 or whatever it is. $349.99. When I was at magnolia the guy showed me the iPhone sonos app. Incredible. Then he showed me the sonos on an iPad. It blew me away. So I got an iPad 3G 16gb yesterday too.

While I have a denon is there anyway you could try and come up with something rwone? You can remote connect to it.
Thanks

Once my app is finished, as long as the protocol is similar in behavior to the Onkyo, it should not be a problem. I found a protocol spec and it looks pretty much the same, but slightly different command strings to do the same functions.
rworne is offline  
post #59 of 295 Old 10-04-2010, 03:22 PM
AVS Special Member
 
buggs1a's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Tukwila, WA
Posts: 1,156
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Liked: 15
rworne, did you know the onkyo is gnu or whatever it is for linux free access to source code? I don't know, but couldn't you then get full access to code or something for it?

And if I keep my Denon 4310ci and you can work on something, I'd buy it, lol, : I'm sure others would be interested too.

The iPad is awesome! Just hope it can do gps on the 3g with a good gps app or something.
buggs1a is offline  
post #60 of 295 Old 10-04-2010, 04:04 PM
Advanced Member
 
rworne's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 840
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 30
Quote:
Originally Posted by buggs1a View Post

rworne, did you know the onkyo is gnu or whatever it is for linux free access to source code? I don't know, but couldn't you then get full access to code or something for it?

And if I keep my Denon 4310ci and you can work on something, I'd buy it, lol, : I'm sure others would be interested too.

The iPad is awesome! Just hope it can do gps on the 3g with a good gps app or something.

The source code won't do any good. It's the protocol I'm after and it's already open. I am pestering Onkyo now for their latest ISCP protocol standard. I'm also the impatient type. Tonight, I might just scan the AVR and brute-force all the possible legal commands out of it.

And the iPad works fine with Navigon which is a decent turn-by-turn GPS. It's too ungainly to mount anywhere in the car, but rather it sits next to me in the passenger seat and squawks directions.
rworne is offline  
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off