Current iOS App (iPod Touch/iPhone/iPad) controlled receivers? - Page 3 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #61 of 295 Old 10-04-2010, 04:54 PM
AVS Special Member
 
buggs1a's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Tukwila, WA
Posts: 1,156
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Liked: 15
I'm impatient too.
Would it be ok if I could pm you?
buggs1a is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #62 of 295 Old 10-04-2010, 06:51 PM
Advanced Member
 
rworne's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 840
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 30
I scanned the Onkyo, and not-so-surprisingly found a few undocumented commands. None of which are of any particular value aside from the command that changes the THX sound mode. That was a nice find.

There's no way to find out over the network what the menus are on either the iPod or in iRadio or Network modes. I also assume this is the same for USB mode. A real shame.
rworne is offline  
post #63 of 295 Old 10-04-2010, 07:54 PM
Advanced Member
 
rworne's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 840
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 30
Quote:
Originally Posted by buggs1a View Post

I'm impatient too.
Would it be ok if I could pm you?

It's a long way out if I make one. I have an iPhone version coming out next followed by another unrelated app before I'm free to tackle another AVR.
rworne is offline  
post #64 of 295 Old 10-04-2010, 11:31 PM
Senior Member
 
mpyw's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 280
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Just got myself an ipad yesterday....
can't wait for your apps to finalized or could I be a beta tester with my NR808?

To be or NOT to be......YOU are WHO you ARE
mpyw is offline  
post #65 of 295 Old 10-05-2010, 01:45 AM
AVS Special Member
 
buggs1a's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Tukwila, WA
Posts: 1,156
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Liked: 15
What's it take to make an app for ipad etc? For a beginner like me?
buggs1a is offline  
post #66 of 295 Old 10-05-2010, 06:55 AM
Member
 
CobraPA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Lansdale, PA, USA
Posts: 56
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by buggs1a View Post

rworne, did you know the onkyo is gnu or whatever it is for linux free access to source code? I don't know, but couldn't you then get full access to code or something for it?

Do you have any details on this? I didn't know that Onkyo used Gnu software. A quick search didn't find me much either. What do they use?

Quote:
Originally Posted by buggs1a View Post

What's it take to make an app for ipad etc? For a beginner like me?

Go check out the apple developer website. You can download Xcode and the development kit for free, and develop applications in a simulator on a Mac.

If you want to build applications for the iPad or release them, apple asks for a $99/yr developer fee.

You'll need to known/learn apple's tools, API, and Objective C/C++.
CobraPA is offline  
post #67 of 295 Old 10-05-2010, 08:25 AM
Advanced Member
 
rworne's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 840
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 30
Quote:
Originally Posted by CobraPA View Post

Do you have any details on this? I didn't know that Onkyo used Gnu software. A quick search didn't find me much either. What do they use?



Go check out the apple developer website. You can download Xcode and the development kit for free, and develop applications in a simulator on a Mac.

If you want to build applications for the iPad or release them, apple asks for a $99/yr developer fee.

You'll need to known/learn apple's tools, API, and Objective C/C++.

I've run nmap against my AVR and didn't come up with any particular OS, but I wasn't looking for that.

The Xcode recommendation is true. If you own a Mac, the tools are free. The simulator for the iPhone/iPad works well, my application works well on the real hardware and on the simulator.

You only need to pay if you want to load the program on an actual device or distribute via ad-hoc distribution or sell on iTunes.
rworne is offline  
post #68 of 295 Old 10-05-2010, 01:03 PM
Advanced Member
 
rworne's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 840
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 30
Sweet!

Onkyo just sent me the 2010 AVR compatibility list of ISCP commands!

New features supported on the 2010 model AVRs:

1. Send Album Art over ethernet (net mode)
2. Menu controls! You can get the menu list items now! (net mode, iPod mode)

These are only on the 708 and higher model receivers. We 807 and up owners are just plain out of luck.

Edit:
More features:
Better Freq entry for Tuner
Video Playback available in iPod Extended mode (not on remote device, but on television)
Picture modes: Wide, Zoom, Cinema, Game etc.
HDMI Audio out controls
rworne is offline  
post #69 of 295 Old 10-05-2010, 02:29 PM
AVS Special Member
 
buggs1a's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Tukwila, WA
Posts: 1,156
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Liked: 15
That's cool.

The manual for the inetrga dtr70.1 I had had a bunch of gnu stuff in it. That's what I was referring to but don't know if it means anything.

The web controls for my denon avr 4310ci are cool. Not sure exactly how much it can do but it can do a lot.

I don't have a mac anymore and was just curious because I don't work and I'd it's not too hard I thought maybe it'd be worth trying to learn coding for it.

I learned ipad has agps and no need for 3g data planfor using gps app. But don't work with built in maps.

Is there anyway to get cheaper then AT&T data plans for unlimited or something? How much data would gps use if that was 100% needed to use a gps app?

Sorry for going a bit off topic.
buggs1a is offline  
post #70 of 295 Old 10-06-2010, 04:27 AM
Member
 
CobraPA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Lansdale, PA, USA
Posts: 56
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by buggs1a View Post

I learned ipad has agps and no need for 3g data planfor using gps app. But don't work with built in maps.

Is there anyway to get cheaper then AT&T data plans for unlimited or something? How much data would gps use if that was 100% needed to use a gps app?

Sorry for going a bit off topic.

Gps apps don't take to much data, although if you use it all the time it might be a problem. I'd start with the 200MB plan on AT&T and see how far it gets you. Sadly, I don't think there is an unlock for the iPad, so that's the one device we're stuck on AT&T in the USA.

edit: Oops, that's wrong, iPad is unlocked as shipped from Apple
CobraPA is offline  
post #71 of 295 Old 10-06-2010, 07:35 AM
Advanced Member
 
rworne's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 840
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 30
Quote:
Originally Posted by CobraPA View Post

Gps apps don't take to much data, although if you use it all the time it might be a problem. I'd start with the 200MB plan on AT&T and see how far it gets you. Sadly, I don't think there is an unlock for the iPad, so that's the one device we're stuck on AT&T in the USA.

GPS apps for the iPhone like Navigon have maps stored locally on the device. So it will work without cell service - but no traffic or other "live" data. You must have an iPad with the cellular capability, because the GPS is only found on those models.
rworne is offline  
post #72 of 295 Old 10-07-2010, 12:40 AM
Advanced Member
 
rworne's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 840
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 30
Status on the Onkyo Remote App:

It appears Zone controls are working. I was able to at least get Zone 3 on my 180 playing back and it seemed to work fine. Zone 2 also activates but I don't have speakers connected there.

The app development has slowed as I work on getting some of the early ugliness out of it. The only major hurdle left is to get it to gracefully sleep and wake up again so it will be iOS 4.0-compatible.

The last issue is that I recently found out Onkyo enabled a way to get the menus from the iPod and Network services over the network. Unfortunately, it requires buying a 2010 series AVR from them. It's disappointing, because parts of the protocol have been in their ISCP list for over a year and they just now implement it. The 2009 AVRs should have this too, it stinks of an unfinished implementation. I contacted Onkyo about it and they said they would at least look at the issue.

So the plan going forward is to get the last iOS 4 issue out of the way, fix a few bugs that came up in beta testing, disable some untested features (DAB+, The "other" iPod dock) and submit the app. For those of you without an iPad, I'll follow up with an iPhone/iPod touch version once I get this one submitted.

The good news for those of you who would want an iPhone/iPod version: it won't take anywhere near as long to make it - simply because all the code is done and all I need to do is "put together" a GUI for it and it's ready. Unfortunately, Gen 1 devices from Apple will not be supported. This is a shame, but iOS 3.2 will be the minimum to run this app.

Once these are released, periodic updates will come out to support new features and fix bugs.
rworne is offline  
post #73 of 295 Old 10-07-2010, 05:34 PM
AVS Special Member
 
buggs1a's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Tukwila, WA
Posts: 1,156
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Liked: 15
I've heard ipad is unlocked. Use with any sim 3g place.
buggs1a is offline  
post #74 of 295 Old 10-07-2010, 08:24 PM
Member
 
CobraPA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Lansdale, PA, USA
Posts: 56
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by buggs1a View Post

I've heard ipad is unlocked. Use with any sim 3g place.

Yes, you're right, I had forgotten the iPad was not carrier sim locked.
CobraPA is offline  
post #75 of 295 Old 10-08-2010, 04:55 AM
AVS Special Member
 
buggs1a's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Tukwila, WA
Posts: 1,156
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Liked: 15
But then who is unlimited data plan like some used to be.

Might return my denon 4310ci but not sure.
buggs1a is offline  
post #76 of 295 Old 10-08-2010, 06:12 AM
Member
 
CobraPA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Lansdale, PA, USA
Posts: 56
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I've never seen a cheap unlimited data plan. But $20-30 is about what they go for. Getting a lower cost one that has limited data seems to be the only other option.
CobraPA is offline  
post #77 of 295 Old 10-08-2010, 01:34 PM
Advanced Member
 
rworne's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 840
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 30
Quote:
Originally Posted by CobraPA View Post

I've never seen a cheap unlimited data plan. But $20-30 is about what they go for. Getting a lower cost one that has limited data seems to be the only other option.

I've had my 3G iPad since launch day and I've been grandfathered into the unlimited plan. The difference is about $5 between unlimited $30 and 2GB/mo $25.00. There's also a cheaper 250MB plan at $15 or so, but even with all the WiFi around me, I blow through that limit pretty easily. I rarely exceed 2GB. I think I did that only once, and that was the first month I owned it.
rworne is offline  
post #78 of 295 Old 10-08-2010, 02:04 PM
Member
 
CobraPA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Lansdale, PA, USA
Posts: 56
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Yeah, and Tmobile's plan isn't much better, although I've got an older 'unlimited' plan for $20. But I can't run 3G data with any apple devices on that...
CobraPA is offline  
post #79 of 295 Old 10-08-2010, 05:09 PM
Advanced Member
 
rworne's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 840
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 30
New screenshot:

HD Radio via Universal Port...
LL
rworne is offline  
post #80 of 295 Old 10-09-2010, 12:15 AM
AVS Special Member
 
buggs1a's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Tukwila, WA
Posts: 1,156
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Since getting my denon 4310ci I'm still trying to find an avr I'll be happy with. I just don't know what to do.
buggs1a is offline  
post #81 of 295 Old 10-09-2010, 01:22 AM
Member
 
CobraPA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Lansdale, PA, USA
Posts: 56
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by rworne View Post

New screenshot:

HD Radio via Universal Port...

Ah... That's not what I am seeing in the version of the app I downloaded just now. I don't have a button in the upper left that says iPod or HD Radio.

edit: Fixed. I needed to manually delete the app and reinstall it. I see all the new buttons now. Looking good!
CobraPA is offline  
post #82 of 295 Old 10-10-2010, 02:30 PM
Advanced Member
 
rworne's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 840
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 30
Initial work on the iPhone/iPod version has started.
rworne is offline  
post #83 of 295 Old 10-10-2010, 04:23 PM
Member
 
CobraPA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Lansdale, PA, USA
Posts: 56
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Very cool!
CobraPA is offline  
post #84 of 295 Old 10-10-2010, 05:13 PM
Senior Member
 
mpyw's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 280
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Cool work....my kids had been hogging on the iPad the whole weekend...can't do any test...sigh

To be or NOT to be......YOU are WHO you ARE
mpyw is offline  
post #85 of 295 Old 10-10-2010, 07:40 PM
Advanced Member
 
rworne's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 840
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 30
Quote:
Originally Posted by mpyw View Post

Cool work....my kids had been hogging on the iPad the whole weekend...can't do any test...sigh

You have lots of time, I'm off on business travel for the next 4-5 days.
rworne is offline  
post #86 of 295 Old 10-11-2010, 03:05 PM
Member
 
CobraPA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Lansdale, PA, USA
Posts: 56
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by rworne View Post

You have lots of time, I'm off on business travel for the next 4-5 days.

Have a good trip, see you when you get back!
CobraPA is offline  
post #87 of 295 Old 10-11-2010, 07:55 PM
Advanced Member
 
rworne's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 840
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 30
Quote:
Originally Posted by CobraPA View Post

Have a good trip, see you when you get back!

Oh, I'm still around, just no Mac to develop on.
rworne is offline  
post #88 of 295 Old 10-12-2010, 03:33 AM
Member
 
CobraPA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Lansdale, PA, USA
Posts: 56
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
We'll just have to get you a mac laptop for your next work trip!
CobraPA is offline  
post #89 of 295 Old 10-13-2010, 05:49 AM
Advanced Member
 
rworne's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 840
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 30
Quote:
Originally Posted by CobraPA View Post

We'll just have to get you a mac laptop for your next work trip!

If enough people buy the app, that won't be a problem. But I expect sales in the dozens.. The iPhone version may fare better, but won't have all the features the iPad version has. There's just not enough room.
rworne is offline  
post #90 of 295 Old 10-14-2010, 12:32 AM
Advanced Member
 
rworne's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 840
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 30
Hey guys...

Back from my trip and my TX-NR708 was waiting for me. Look at what's working now...

The app crashes right after because of another new message I need to handle: Album/Jacket art. My code was originally set up to handle the shorter messages of the older receivers, but the new ones have a monster packet containing the album art.

Edit: Album art crash was fixed. iPod works now too...
LL
LL
LL
rworne is offline  
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off