FM anenna for receiver in basement? - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 15 Old 09-22-2010, 02:00 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
palehorse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 2,393
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Can anyone recommend a decent FM antenna for my new Pio 1120 in my basement?

The stock string-style antenna isn't working at all...
palehorse is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 15 Old 09-22-2010, 02:07 PM
ap1
AVS Special Member
 
ap1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 2,226
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 19
Quote:
Originally Posted by palehorse View Post

Can anyone recommend a decent FM antenna for my new Pio 1120 in my basement?

The stock string-style antenna isn't working at all...

Your (almost) only option is roof top antenna.
ap1 is online now  
post #3 of 15 Old 09-22-2010, 03:04 PM
bfm
Senior Member
 
bfm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: tampa
Posts: 349
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by palehorse View Post

Can anyone recommend a decent FM antenna for my new Pio 1120 in my basement?

The stock string-style antenna isn't working at all...

Get a logitech or sonos or something and use the stream off that maybe? Sound resolution is not the highest but you can listen to talk radio ;> From all over the world!
bfm is offline  
post #4 of 15 Old 09-22-2010, 04:18 PM
Advanced Member
 
tomandbeth's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Tucson, AZ
Posts: 723
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by palehorse View Post

Can anyone recommend a decent FM antenna for my new Pio 1120 in my basement?

The stock string-style antenna isn't working at all...

If you have copper plumbing through your house, attach your string attena to a pipe in your basement and see if it helps. More than likely you'll be running an antenna on your rooftop , but I used this trick as a kid.
tomandbeth is offline  
post #5 of 15 Old 09-22-2010, 05:19 PM
Senior Member
 
heyyall's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 214
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I was having the same problem. For me, however, the local station I listen to streams the radio signal over the Internet. My fix was just to listen over the Internet through the 1120's Internet radio option. In comparison, the sound was much improved using the Internet.
heyyall is offline  
post #6 of 15 Old 09-22-2010, 05:29 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
palehorse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 2,393
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Wild... So there's no device out there that I use as a boosted antenna? That sucks...

The copper pipe idea is cool, but unfortunately, there are no such pipes near the receiver.

I guess I'll have to track down the Internet broadcast addresses for the 5 local stations I listen to...

What about HD radio? Would that work in a basement without a rooftop antenna?
palehorse is offline  
post #7 of 15 Old 09-22-2010, 05:44 PM
ap1
AVS Special Member
 
ap1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 2,226
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 19
Quote:
Originally Posted by palehorse View Post

What about HD radio? Would that work in a basement without a rooftop antenna?

HD radio requires even stronger signal than regular FM.
ap1 is online now  
post #8 of 15 Old 09-22-2010, 06:01 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Tulpa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 10,026
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 59
Quote:
Originally Posted by palehorse View Post

Wild... So there's no device out there that I use as a boosted antenna? That sucks...

There are powered antennas (I have a Terk Tower) that boost the signal a little, but it's still working against tons and tons of dirt in a basement setting. My Terk improved the reception of most of my FMs, and pulled in two AMs that I couldn't get before, but it didn't work miracles. I also live on a second floor and the antenna is next to a large window.

Getting the antenna above ground is your best shot.

Don't believe everything on the Interwebz! A duck's quack DOES echo!
Tulpa is offline  
post #9 of 15 Old 09-22-2010, 07:14 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
palehorse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 2,393
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tulpa View Post


There are powered antennas (I have a Terk Tower) that boost the signal a little, but it's still working against tons and tons of dirt in a basement setting. My Terk improved the reception of most of my FMs, and pulled in two AMs that I couldn't get before, but it didn't work miracles. I also live on a second floor and the antenna is next to a large window.

Getting the antenna above ground is your best shot.

Maybe I should have mentioned that this is in a walk-out basement and the receiver is 3 ft away from a brick wall and sliding glass door that separates it from the outside world... Woops!

While i cant set it next to a window (or the door), I can set it on top of my FL tower speaker -- while the stock antenna doesnt even reach the midpoint on the back of the tower speaker or TV that sits right above the receiver on a stand.

Would something like the Terk work well in this case? If so, is there a model you can recommend?
palehorse is offline  
post #10 of 15 Old 09-22-2010, 07:56 PM
Advanced Member
 
Javatime's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Cedar Brook, NJ
Posts: 952
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
I have a couple of these cheap $2.00 dipole antennas and while not the best, it does work pretty good. I had to play around positioning it just right. I guess it depends on how far away away you are from your stations too.
http://www.amazon.com/Parts-Express-...d_bxgy_e_img_a


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Javatime is offline  
post #11 of 15 Old 09-22-2010, 08:04 PM
AVS Special Member
 
CharlesJ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 3,241
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 87 Post(s)
Liked: 94
Quote:
Originally Posted by palehorse View Post

Wild... So there's no device out there that I use as a boosted antenna? That sucks...

The copper pipe idea is cool, but unfortunately, there are no such pipes near the receiver.

I guess I'll have to track down the Internet broadcast addresses for the 5 local stations I listen to...

What about HD radio? Would that work in a basement without a rooftop antenna?

Antenna needs to be at least in the 1st floor above ground. Can you run a cable tv type coax cable in the wall to the room above your setup? If so, you could mount the antenna up there to that cable. Of course, the higher the better.
CharlesJ is offline  
post #12 of 15 Old 09-22-2010, 08:17 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
palehorse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 2,393
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by CharlesJ View Post


Antenna needs to be at least in the 1st floor above ground. Can you run a cable tv type coax cable in the wall to the room above your setup? If so, you could mount the antenna up there to that cable. Of course, the higher the better.

Is it possible to connect it to a splitter that connects to the coax that already runs throughout my entire house? If so, would the fm signals on the wire cause problems with my FiOS or MoCA signals?

What kind of connector fits the fm plug? Is it standard coax? I never really looked at it closely...

If something like that would work, it would essentially turn my entire townhouse into an antenna... which would be pretty damn cool. LOL
palehorse is offline  
post #13 of 15 Old 09-22-2010, 08:20 PM
ap1
AVS Special Member
 
ap1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 2,226
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 19
Quote:
Originally Posted by palehorse View Post

Is it possible to connect it to a splitter that connects to the coax that already runs throughout my entire house? If so, would the fm signals on the wire cause problems with my FiOS or MoCA signals?

What kind of connector fits the fm plug? Is it standard coax? I never really looked at it closely...

Forget about mixing with cable TV, it won't work. For FM antenna connection you can use regular coax cable. If you do not want rooftop antenna to be ouside, put into attic. Signal level will be compromised to a certain degree tough, so you may loose an ability to get HD radio.
ap1 is online now  
post #14 of 15 Old 11-19-2010, 07:11 PM
Member
 
Davesatdoasisbar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 68
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I also have the same reception basement issue. Can you extend the FM wire, such as splice it to make it longer?
I have a basement window about 20 ft away and I was thinking of just running it out the basement window and up the wall.

Thoughts on that?
Davesatdoasisbar is offline  
post #15 of 15 Old 11-19-2010, 08:46 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
MichaelJHuman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Colorado Springs, CO
Posts: 18,855
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 199 Post(s)
Liked: 108
NPR sells (or recommends) an antenna which is supposed to work very well for FM radio (try seaching NPR antenna.)

Of course, it will work better outside. I assume you can wire it up with standard twin lead, but I am not 100% sure on that.

"But this one goes up to 11"
MichaelJHuman is offline  
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off