Amp to power 2 bass shakers <$150 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 7 Old 09-24-2010, 01:03 AM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
Tyrindor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 809
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 15
I need an amp to power 2 bass shakers.

These to be exact:
https://www.madisound.com/store/prod...oducts_id=1667

I've never purchased a dedicated amp, so know nothing about what to expect in terms of price. On a slight budget at the moment, so I don't want anything overkill, but I also don't want an amp that is going to struggle with these.
Tyrindor is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 7 Old 09-24-2010, 03:14 AM
AVS Special Member
 
danielo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Utrecht, Netherlands
Posts: 4,173
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 48
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tyrindor View Post

I need an amp to power 2 bass shakers.

These to be exact:
https://www.madisound.com/store/prod...oducts_id=1667

I've never purchased a dedicated amp, so know nothing about what to expect in terms of price. On a slight budget at the moment, so I don't want anything overkill, but I also don't want an amp that is going to struggle with these.

Look at a simple subwoofer amp, they should be easy to get in that range. The extra bonus is that you will get some controls to limit what frequencies will make it to your shakers. You probably want to cut them of starting around 40hz and up and this is different from the settings you are using for your normal subwoofer.

Daniel.

for men to evolve we have to upgrade
danielo is online now  
post #3 of 7 Old 09-24-2010, 03:34 AM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
Tyrindor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 809
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 15
I know absolutely nothing about good brands for this stuff.

Overkill?
http://www.parts-express.com/pe/show...ource=googleps

I really don't want to spend another $150 unless it's needed.
Tyrindor is offline  
post #4 of 7 Old 09-24-2010, 04:03 AM
Senior Member
 
putox1051's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: White Lake, MI
Posts: 311
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tyrindor View Post

I know absolutely nothing about good brands for this stuff.

Overkill?
http://www.parts-express.com/pe/show...ource=googleps

I really don't want to spend another $150 unless it's needed.

Good choice; here's another option:



http://www.amazon.com/AudioSource-AM...326015&sr=1-20
putox1051 is offline  
post #5 of 7 Old 09-24-2010, 05:30 AM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
Tyrindor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 809
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Actually neither of these have remote controls, so I won't be able to program my Harmony remote to turn the shakers on/off when I don't want them on.

Any others?
Tyrindor is offline  
post #6 of 7 Old 09-24-2010, 05:36 AM
Senior Member
 
putox1051's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: White Lake, MI
Posts: 311
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tyrindor View Post

Actually neither of these have remote controls, so I won't be able to program my Harmony remote to turn the shakers on/off when I don't want them on.

Any others?

They both have signal sensing on/off circuits for "remote" control. Don't you have a trigger output on your AVR you could use? If not, how about this?

http://www.amazon.com/Sherwood-RX-41...331911&sr=1-13
putox1051 is offline  
post #7 of 7 Old 09-24-2010, 05:47 AM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
Tyrindor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 809
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by putox1051 View Post

They both have signal sensing on/off circuits for "remote" control. Don't you have a trigger output on your AVR you could use? If not, how about this?

http://www.amazon.com/Sherwood-RX-41...331911&sr=1-13

Ah your right. Thanks i'm probably going to grab the Dayton because it has better reviews.
Tyrindor is offline  
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off