Pioneer Elite VSX-32 / 33 Owners' Thread - Page 33 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #961 of 1290 Old 07-31-2011, 12:26 PM
Member
 
DannyW75's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 77
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by DRC72 View Post

Haha!!!! Just completed the update!!!!! All went well.

Main 1.105 to 1.106
DSP 1.002 to 1.003
Sub 1.207 no change.
All the values matched what you posted earlier on. My Sub value was already at 1.207, so I'm assuming there was no change there? I'm just curious to find out what changes were made to the Main and DSP versions. If you get chance can you ask your friend what the changes were?
Thanks nuzzy.

I think you have nuzzy mixed up with me. I put up the firmware update, and the main, sub, and dsp update revision numbers. Not a big deal, just saying.
DannyW75 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #962 of 1290 Old 07-31-2011, 12:30 PM
Member
 
DannyW75's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 77
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by DRC72 View Post

Haha!!!! Just completed the update!!!!! All went well.

Main 1.105 to 1.106
DSP 1.002 to 1.003
Sub 1.207 no change.
All the values matched what you posted earlier on. My Sub value was already at 1.207, so I'm assuming there was no change there? I'm just curious to find out what changes were made to the Main and DSP versions.


If you get a chance can you ask your friend what the changes were?
Thanks nuzzy, danny



Damn, you beat me to the post, DRC72. Yes, I will try and find out tomorrow what the updates actually do.
DannyW75 is offline  
post #963 of 1290 Old 07-31-2011, 12:32 PM
Senior Member
 
DRC72's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Greater Hartford, CT
Posts: 242
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Quote:
Originally Posted by DannyW75 View Post

Damn, you beat me to the post, DRC72. Yes, I will try and find out tomorrow what the updates actually do.

Thanks appreciate it!!!

DRC72
DRC72 is online now  
post #964 of 1290 Old 07-31-2011, 01:06 PM
Senior Member
 
DRC72's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Greater Hartford, CT
Posts: 242
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Quote:
Originally Posted by DannyW75 View Post


I think you have nuzzy mixed up with me. I put up the firmware update, and the main, sub, and dsp update revision numbers. Not a big deal, just saying.

Haha! Sorry about that. Yeah I know it was you. You quoted me before I had a chance to finish my edits.
DRC72 is online now  
post #965 of 1290 Old 07-31-2011, 03:02 PM
Advanced Member
 
nuzzy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: 03819 - Danville, NH
Posts: 603
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
DannyW75...if you paid SRP for the Yamaha you should have waited. The A2010's come out in September.
nuzzy is offline  
post #966 of 1290 Old 07-31-2011, 06:17 PM
Member
 
DannyW75's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 77
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by nuzzy View Post
DannyW75...if you paid SRP for the Yamaha you should have waited. The A2010's come out in September.
Hey Nuzzy,

I noticed they are coming out soon, but I was just wanted to pick up something I would really be happy with. I bought a TX-NR708 in February. It failed with the remote and receiver not responding, and cycling through the audio modes. I ended up with a refund, and picked up a VSX-1325-K instead. There was nothing wrong with the Pioneer. I was just not completely happy with the sound of it. I was within the 30 day return window, so decided to take it back and get something else. I ended up buying the Yamaha RX-A2000 yesterday. I am quite happy with it thus far. If I waited until September, I would not have been able to return the Pioneer for an exchange.

The only unfortunate thing is the higher price buying it in town instead of online. I was able to get the store to offer me a lower price than MSRP, but still more expensive than buying online. The good news though is that they do all servicing and repairs at the store where I purchased it. If anything goes wrong, it is only a 15 minute drive from my house to get it taken care of.
DannyW75 is offline  
post #967 of 1290 Old 08-02-2011, 06:16 AM
Senior Member
 
DRC72's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Greater Hartford, CT
Posts: 242
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Quote:
Originally Posted by nuzzy View Post


nothing so far...I tested to see if ESPN3D works now, but it still doesn't. Other than that I haven't tested anything.

I've noticed the bass is a lot more tighter and accurate, plus the surround effects in all my speakers sound clearer and more accurate as well. These are at least my observations. So far I'm liking what I see.
DRC72 is online now  
post #968 of 1290 Old 08-02-2011, 09:58 AM
Member
 
shiarua's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Milwaukee WI
Posts: 107
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by DRC72 View Post


I've noticed the bass is a lot more tighter and accurate, plus the surround effects in all my speakers sound clearer and more accurate as well. These are at least my observations. So far I'm liking what I see.

Nice. I'll have to update mine ASAP!
shiarua is offline  
post #969 of 1290 Old 08-02-2011, 02:27 PM
Senior Member
 
DRC72's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Greater Hartford, CT
Posts: 242
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Quote:
Originally Posted by shiarua View Post

Nice. I'll have to update mine ASAP!

Definitely!!!!! It's super easy and quick. Danny is definitely a great asset to AVS.
DRC72 is online now  
post #970 of 1290 Old 08-02-2011, 02:44 PM
Newbie
 
beavers's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Texas
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I tried to do a quick search but couldn't find an answer to my question. I have a VSX-32. I love it but just have one nit-picky problem. Whenever I turn on my receiver, it defaults to an input that I never use (itunes). Occasionally I will immediately change it to my desired input (TV) and it will switch back to this default input (itunes). I have nothing plugged into the input and I have even disabled cycling through all the inputs I don't use. Is there a way to set the default input? My only idea is that somehow the receiver is thinking there is a signal input and defaulting to that. Thanks for any help
beavers is offline  
post #971 of 1290 Old 08-02-2011, 02:54 PM
Member
 
shiarua's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Milwaukee WI
Posts: 107
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by DRC72 View Post

Definitely!!!!! It's super easy and quick. Danny is definitely a great asset to AVS.

Well, I put in the USB drive with the file in the root directory (filename is AVR_10_0109.mem). Tried going through the update process but it says that the update file isn't found.

Any ideas? I have a 32GB Mushkin USB drive that is FAT32 formatted as instructed. Nothing else is on the drive, just the .mem update file.

Edit: Nevermind, I got it to work
shiarua is offline  
post #972 of 1290 Old 08-02-2011, 03:36 PM
Senior Member
 
Raddle's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: San Diego
Posts: 382
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by beavers View Post

I tried to do a quick search but couldn't find an answer to my question. I have a VSX-32. I love it but just have one nit-picky problem. Whenever I turn on my receiver, it defaults to an input that I never use (itunes). Occasionally I will immediately change it to my desired input (TV) and it will switch back to this default input (itunes). I have nothing plugged into the input and I have even disabled cycling through all the inputs I don't use. Is there a way to set the default input? My only idea is that somehow the receiver is thinking there is a signal input and defaulting to that. Thanks for any help

Turn off HDMI Control (p. 56).
Raddle is offline  
post #973 of 1290 Old 08-02-2011, 06:40 PM
Newbie
 
Havocsrt4's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 14
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Ok which one would you pick the vsx-32/33 or marantz sr5005 and why? My last receiver was the sony str-dn1020 dont know much at all bout receivers. I just got the sr5005 from bestbuy for 336.00 have 30 days to take it back if im not happy with it. So I went for it since there was only one left new in box. Its alot better then the sony in sound quality. Im happy with it but Ive want the vsx-32/33 ever since I seen it. My bestbuy doesnt have one hooked up on display. So I wanted to get some feed back. Thanks
Havocsrt4 is offline  
post #974 of 1290 Old 08-03-2011, 06:35 PM
Member
 
DannyW75's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 77
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Havocsrt4 View Post
Ok which one would you pick the vsx-32/33 or marantz sr5005 and why? My last receiver was the sony str-dn1020 dont know much at all bout receivers. I just got the sr5005 from bestbuy for 336.00 have 30 days to take it back if im not happy with it. So I went for it since there was only one left new in box. Its alot better then the sony in sound quality. Im happy with it but Ive want the vsx-32/33 ever since I seen it. My bestbuy doesnt have one hooked up on display. So I wanted to get some feed back. Thanks
I think the concern here is what features you are looking for. The VSX-33 has 2 HDMI outs. It also has networking, and an amazing video chip. In terms of sound quality though, Marantz usually has the edge over many other brands. You essentially get units that have better sound in each price bracket, but at the cost of having less features. If it was me, I would pick the Pioneer out of those two choices. The main reasons being that the home user can do firmware updates, and it has a far better video chip. Then again, I returned my VSX-1325(VSX-33 equivalent) because I was not completely satisfied with the sound. I ended up buying a Yamaha RX-A2000 about 4 days ago. I am damn impressed with the sound out of the Yamaha. She is definitely a keeper.
DannyW75 is offline  
post #975 of 1290 Old 08-03-2011, 06:44 PM
Member
 
DannyW75's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 77
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Oh, and I know some people were asking me what the firmware update actually changes. I was told yesterday by my friend at Pioneer that bass performance in 2 channel and surround modes has been improved. The update also fixes problems some are having where audio over HDMI cuts out briefly and comes back. Some of the DSP modes have been updated directly as well. The update improves soundstage and surround sound on various sound modes. Bass response from the sub out has also been improved.
DannyW75 is offline  
post #976 of 1290 Old 08-03-2011, 07:18 PM
Advanced Member
 
nuzzy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: 03819 - Danville, NH
Posts: 603
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
DannyW75 - user firmware updates are not supported with the VSX-33, although you were able to provide one
nuzzy is offline  
post #977 of 1290 Old 08-03-2011, 07:25 PM
Member
 
DannyW75's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 77
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by nuzzy View Post
DannyW75 - user firmware updates are not supported with the VSX-33, although you were able to provide one
That is true, but the fact that the receiver has networking is what is ALLOWING people to update.

Edit: Oh ****, pardon me, make that USB is allowing update.
DannyW75 is offline  
post #978 of 1290 Old 08-04-2011, 05:12 AM
Senior Member
 
DRC72's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Greater Hartford, CT
Posts: 242
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Quote:
Originally Posted by DannyW75 View Post

Oh, and I know some people were asking me what the firmware update actually changes. I was told yesterday by my friend at Pioneer that bass performance in 2 channel and surround modes has been improved. The update also fixes problems some are having where audio over HDMI cuts out briefly and comes back. Some of the DSP modes have been updated directly as well. The update improves soundstage and surround sound on various sound modes. Bass response from the sub out has also been improved.

Cool! Thanks for the info. Be sure to keep us in mind if future updates come around. Although one thing I find funny is the LAN port which is connected directly to the internet, so then why doesn't Pioneer just use that to grab an update file off the web? It would be so easy for the consumer to do an automatic upgrade. Have it so when the receiver turns on, it goes out on the internet and checks for updates files. And when one is present, it could prompt the user on the display whether they would like to update or not. Blu-ray players already do this, so I can't see why this feature couldn't be integrated into the receiver?
DRC72 is online now  
post #979 of 1290 Old 08-04-2011, 08:37 AM
Senior Member
 
Detach50's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Arlington TX
Posts: 250
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by DRC72

Cool! Thanks for the info. Be sure to keep us in mind if future updates come around. Although one thing I find funny is the LAN port which is connected directly to the internet, so then why doesn't Pioneer just use that to grab an update file off the web? It would be so easy for the consumer to do an automatic upgrade. Have it so when the receiver turns on, it goes out on the internet and checks for updates files. And when one is present, it could prompt the user on the display whether they would like to update or not. Blu-ray players already do this, so I can't see why this feature couldn't be integrated into the receiver?
Which is what irks me about the new 5x models; they will update automagically, as well as work with AirPlay and DLNA
Detach50 is offline  
post #980 of 1290 Old 08-04-2011, 01:06 PM
Member
 
DannyW75's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 77
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
It is strange that Pioneer did not offer updating though ethernet. When I asked about this I was just told they decided not to offer it. That is not really much of an answer, but that was all I got for one. I am glad people are happy thus far with the new firmware. Who knows, maybe in the future I will be able to get access to newer updates as well. I will post any new ones I get in the future as well. I no longer own this receiver, but I am happy to help.
DannyW75 is offline  
post #981 of 1290 Old 08-04-2011, 01:12 PM
Member
 
DannyW75's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 77
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Has anyone tried this firmware on the VSX-32 ? As I mentioned before, I was told this firmware is only for the VSX-1120-K/VSX-33/VSX-1325/VSX-LX53. It was mentioned that the VSX-32 is using a different firmware ? I still don't see how this is possible. I am curious about this. Perhaps some of the VSX-32 owners can list their firmware numbers up for their dsp, main, and sub.
DannyW75 is offline  
post #982 of 1290 Old 08-04-2011, 02:39 PM
Senior Member
 
Raddle's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: San Diego
Posts: 382
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I bought my VSX-32 in September 2010. The factory installed firmware is:

Main: 1.104
Sub: 1.207
DSP: 1.002

I would probably try updating my unit except DannyW75 said his contact specifically excluded the 32 from the update. It doesn't make any sense to me either but I'm not willing to brick my AVR.
Raddle is offline  
post #983 of 1290 Old 08-04-2011, 02:52 PM
Senior Member
 
67 - 427's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Ohio
Posts: 218
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 12
That is really weird that the firmware works for the 1120 but not the 32. I put it on my 33 with no problems. My "main" firmware was even older than DRC72s (mine was 1.104). Thanks Danny
67 - 427 is offline  
post #984 of 1290 Old 08-04-2011, 02:56 PM
Senior Member
 
jchas41's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Utica, NY
Posts: 296
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I just updated the firmware on my vsx33 wo incident. Thanks for providing everybody with the firmware Danny!
jchas41 is offline  
post #985 of 1290 Old 08-04-2011, 03:37 PM
Member
 
DannyW75's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 77
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Raddle View Post

I bought my VSX-32 in September 2010. The factory installed firmware is:

Main: 1.104
Sub: 1.207
DSP: 1.002

I would probably try updating my unit except DannyW75 said his contact specifically excluded the 32 from the update. It doesn't make any sense to me either but I'm not willing to brick my AVR.

I think my friend at Pioneer must have made a mistake. This firmware updates the following to:

main gets updated to: 1.106

sub gets updated to: 1.207

dsp gets updated to: 1.003

When I had my VSX-1325-K, my numbers before updating were the EXACT SAME as yours there, Raddle. I am pretty sure he has made a mistake in telling me this firmware does not work for the VSX-32. I am almost certain after seeing your numbers that this update works for all of these receivers now.
DannyW75 is offline  
post #986 of 1290 Old 08-04-2011, 03:46 PM
Member
 
DannyW75's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 77
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Just hold up a minute people. I am going to find out about this right now. I want to make sure everyone who has a VSX-32 can get the firmware as well. I am shocked I am getting any work done today.
DannyW75 is offline  
post #987 of 1290 Old 08-04-2011, 06:48 PM
Senior Member
 
DRC72's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Greater Hartford, CT
Posts: 242
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Quote:
Originally Posted by 67 - 427 View Post

That is really weird that the firmware works for the 1120 but not the 32. I put it on my 33 with no problems. My "main" firmware was even older than DRC72s (mine was 1.104). Thanks Danny

When did you purchase yours? I bought my VSX-33 back in January 2011.
DRC72 is online now  
post #988 of 1290 Old 08-04-2011, 09:10 PM
Senior Member
 
Raddle's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: San Diego
Posts: 382
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I purchased mine in August or September 2010. The build date is July 2010.
Raddle is offline  
post #989 of 1290 Old 08-04-2011, 10:59 PM
Senior Member
 
67 - 427's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Ohio
Posts: 218
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by DRC72 View Post

When did you purchase yours? I bought my VSX-33 back in January 2011.

Bought October 2010, July 2010 build date
67 - 427 is offline  
post #990 of 1290 Old 08-05-2011, 12:13 AM
Member
 
DannyW75's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 77
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have not heard anything back yet again on whether or not this firmware can be used on the VSX-32 as well. I still find it strange I was told this firmware does not work on the VSX-32. I bet this was a mistake. We were talking about VSX this, and VSX that, and elite this, and elite that. The poor guy probably ended up getting confused with all the model numbers. I will post in the thread here once I find out for sure. I am hoping that this works with the VSX-32 as well. At least that way all the owners of the 32/33/1120/1325 models can all be happy then.
DannyW75 is offline  
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors



Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off