Will this sub be suitable for my Denon 1611? - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 

post #1 of 5 Old 10-07-2010, 10:43 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I am a totally beginner in home theater stuffs. I bought a Denon 1611 AVR, and was planning to buy Monoprice 4929 in-wall sopeaker, and Polk Audio PSW10 from Amazon for under $100.

Questiosn here:

1. Will this SW be suitable for my AVR? If not then what do you suggest (no more than $150) ?

2. On the back of AVR there is one single connector for subwoofer (PRE OUT), and on the back of SW it has Line In (L/R) and 4 pairs of speaker inputs. How exactly do I connect the SW to the AVR?

3. I saw on some reviews complaining this SW does not have LFE input. Do I need to concern about that?
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 5 Old 10-08-2010, 04:59 AM
AVS Special Member

Liked: 12
The absolute cheapest sub I can ever recommend is the BIC F12 (~$190) The cheap Polk subs are just garbage.

I don't think you're going to like those monoprice speakers either...

Do you have to use in-wall speakers?
post #3 of 5 Old 10-08-2010, 05:00 AM
585-645-1006

Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Quoted: 265 Post(s)
Liked: 1300
1. If you have a small/med sized room that sub will be fine (although it really boils down to personal preference and how much bass you like to feel), although with only a $150 budget, there's not really much room to improve. At that price you may want to consider buying another one if you decide you want more bass.

2. Read the sub Owner's manual. On some subs with a L/R line in, it will say to plug the digital coax cable from the AVR into the "L" input, while others suggest connecting to a "Y" RCA splitter and then connecting each end of the splitter to each of the "L" and "R" inputs on the sub.

3. No. See #2 above.

---------------------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; shop.avscience.com ; 585-645-1006, AVScience - AVSForum sponsor for 15 years