HDMI/HDCP handshake issues - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 5 Old 10-18-2010, 08:27 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
zagfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hello all, I apologize if this has been covered in other threads, but I figured I would see if I could get some help with my particular set up. I am using a Samsung 640 series LCD, a Samsung BD-P3600 bluray and a Denon AVR590 receiver. If I connect the bluray directly to the LCD via HDMI, everything works great. If I run the bluray through the Denon via HDMI, I get "no signal". My digital cable is also running through the Denon, but without any problems. I have determined (I think) that I have an HDCP handshake issue going on here. Am I correct? If that is the case, anybody know how to resolve it? I have tried powering up devices in different sequences, I have checked the cables to see if they are faulty and I have updated the firmware on the bluray. I have read about people using HDMI switches to reslove this, but I have seen that it does not always resolve the problem. Any help would be GREATLY appreciated. Thanks in advance to all!
zagfan is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 5 Old 10-18-2010, 08:37 PM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 42,801
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 267 Post(s)
Liked: 1300
There was an issue with the early model 590's and your specific BDP. Click on the 2nd link in my sig to learn more. If the firmware has never been updated, you'll need to send it in to an authorized repair facility to have it updated to resolve your issue.

Also, issues with specific models are generally better posted in their respective owner's threads, in your case the 1610/590 Owner's thread.

---------------------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; shop.avscience.com ; 585-645-1006, AVScience - AVSForum sponsor for 15 years  
Mon - Fri: 8am – 8pm EST (Sat/Sun, leave message)
Call for pricing on Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Onkyo, Klipsch, Def Tech, Oppo, Parasound 
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #3 of 5 Old 10-18-2010, 08:48 PM
AVS Special Member
 
M Code's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Joshua Tree, CA
Posts: 9,778
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 33 Post(s)
Liked: 108
Quote:
Originally Posted by zagfan View Post

Hello all, I apologize if this has been covered in other threads, but I figured I would see if I could get some help with my particular set up. I am using a Samsung 640 series LCD, a Samsung BD-P3600 bluray and a Denon AVR590 receiver. If I connect the bluray directly to the LCD via HDMI, everything works great. If I run the bluray through the Denon via HDMI, I get "no signal". My digital cable is also running through the Denon, but without any problems. I have determined (I think) that I have an HDCP handshake issue going on here. Am I correct? If that is the case, anybody know how to resolve it? I have tried powering up devices in different sequences, I have checked the cables to see if they are faulty and I have updated the firmware on the bluray. I have read about people using HDMI switches to reslove this, but I have seen that it does not always resolve the problem. Any help would be GREATLY appreciated. Thanks in advance to all!

Basic problem is Samsung..
Like their AVRs and Blu-ray players, Samsung has chosen not to have their HDMI products certified by the testing lab...
They save significant $ and accelerate the 1st shipments.

The primary AVR brands are well aware of this and try to design their HDMI software to be more compatible especially for HDMI interoperability. As mentioned previously hopefully Denon has addressed this with an upgrade, however in the long run the final process would be far less painful if Samsung pursued the proper certifications.

Just my $0.02...
M Code is offline  
post #4 of 5 Old 10-18-2010, 09:47 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
zagfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
jdsmoothie- thanks for the info. I'll check and see if the receiver needs the upgrade. Also, sorry for posting my thread in the incorrect place, I'm new to this stuff.

M code- it totally doesn't surprise me that Samsung is trying to cut corners by not testing for issues prior to shipment.

hopefully I'll get this resolved without too much additional cost.

thanks again to you both for the responses!
zagfan is offline  
post #5 of 5 Old 10-15-2012, 12:54 PM
Senior Member
 
cshawnmcdonald's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 438
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 40
This extender/booster didn't work to solve my handshake issue. Made it much worse, actually.

http://www.wayfair.com/Comprehensive-HDMI-Booster-Female-to-Male-pigtail-CRP-HD110-CH2219.html?init=1

And Wayfair doesn't accept returns of their defective items.

Just keep talkin'. I'll let you know when you're right.
cshawnmcdonald is offline  
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off