Anthem MRX Receivers - 300, 500, 700 Owners Thread & Tweaking Guide - Page 11 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #301 of 16533 Old 11-23-2010, 03:15 PM
Member
 
KB007's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Ottawa, Canada
Posts: 46
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I bought my 700 sight unseen / unheard. Basically they said buy it and if you don't like it bring it back for a full refund. With that kind of offer, I had no problem buying without hearing it.
KB007 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #302 of 16533 Old 11-23-2010, 03:27 PM
Newbie
 
sirdrade's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by KB007 View Post

I bought my 700 sight unseen / unheard. Basically they said buy it and if you don't like it bring it back for a full refund. With that kind of offer, I had no problem buying without hearing it.


How much did you bought yours for?
sirdrade is offline  
post #303 of 16533 Old 11-23-2010, 04:05 PM
AVS Special Member
 
KLee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Posts: 1,711
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 11
OK...so I take it this is because ARC and MultEQ XT are competitive products??


So my next question is....the MRX 900 has 9 amplified channels....how are those configured?

Would it be similar to what you would see in an Onkyo 3008/5008 or Denon 4311? (5.1+width and height channels?)
KLee is offline  
post #304 of 16533 Old 11-23-2010, 04:36 PM
AVS Special Member
 
jayray's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Mississauga, Canada
Posts: 4,708
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 25
Quote:
Originally Posted by KLee View Post

OK...so I take it this is because ARC and MultEQ XT are competitive products??

So my next question is....the MRX 900 has 9 amplified channels....how are those configured?

Would it be similar to what you would see in an Onkyo 3008/5008 or Denon 4311? (5.1+width and height channels?)

No, because ARC is superior so why would they want to implement an inferior product?
The 900 will beat those hands down in amplification and room correction. ARC in the 900 will rival the preamps.
John

Jayray
Read the FAQs
jayray is offline  
post #305 of 16533 Old 11-23-2010, 04:49 PM
Senior Member
 
jpoet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Albuquerque, N.M., USA
Posts: 296
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
The manual says to use a 3.5mm mono cable for use with the 12v trigger. Does it have to be a mono cable, or would a stereo work? I have some extra stereo cables, but would have to buy a mono one.

Thanks,

John
jpoet is offline  
post #306 of 16533 Old 11-23-2010, 06:36 PM
Advanced Member
 
video_bit_bucket's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Atlanta Ga
Posts: 622
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by jpoet View Post

The manual says to use a 3.5mm mono cable for use with the 12v trigger. Does it have to be a mono cable, or would a stereo work? I have some extra stereo cables, but would have to buy a mono one.

Thanks,

John

Stereo will only work if partially seated. You need mono.
video_bit_bucket is offline  
post #307 of 16533 Old 11-23-2010, 07:04 PM
Senior Member
 
zork52's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: N. Central Mass.
Posts: 263
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by drhankz View Post

That is not uncommon with high-end gear.

I live in NH and when I was buying my Anthem D2 - I had to
drive 2 hours each way to MAINE for a Demo. Then I ordered
it from the Maine Dealer and he had it shipped to me because
in NH there is no Sales Tax.

It was a worthwhile pain in the butt but I have enjoyed it for
many years now.

You've got Ensemble right in Nashua NH. Those guys seem pretty good.

They are an Anthem dealer!!??
zork52 is offline  
post #308 of 16533 Old 11-23-2010, 07:14 PM
Read the FAQ!
 
Bob Pariseau's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 27,161
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 136 Post(s)
Liked: 775
Quote:
Originally Posted by TJG55 View Post

I am an Anthem/Paradigm dealer in NE tenessee and I am shocked at some of these reports concerning poor dealer practice. We recently recieved the MRX 700 and 500 and within hours the 700 was up and playing with ARC! If a dealer does not understand and/or appreciate the performance of Anthem, run, don't walk to another dealer. These aforementioned dealers should be shot. We handle virtually all Anthem and generally have in addition to the MRX, a D2v and A-5 on demo. If we don't have a particular unit on demo, with a little advance notice, we would. Additionally, almost any client would be allowed to audition an item in home. Boy, I wish all you dissatisfied guys lived near me. I ask any interested person to give me at least 2 HOURS to discuss these products. Any less time, Ican't fully explain MOST of what they need to know.
TJG

I'm glad to see the old standards are maintained SOMEWHERE!

Folks, these people sold me my original Anthem Statement D2, many moons ago.

Credit, where credit is due. Good dealers deserve success.

-------------------------------

I'm sure Anthem cringes when they hear reports of dealer problems. As Nick (at Anthem) has frequently said, dealers are independent businesses and Anthem has limited recourse if a dealer screws up. But that doesn't mean they don't want to know!

If you have had a bad experience with an authorized dealer, or a good experience for that matter, send an email to Anthem and let them know.

(NOTE: This does not mean whining, "He wouldn't give me the 30% discount I demanded!")
--Bob

Anthem D2/D2v/AVM50/AVM50v/ARC1 tweaking guide. -- Need personal consultation/training? PM me!
Bob Pariseau is offline  
post #309 of 16533 Old 11-23-2010, 08:16 PM
AVS Special Member
 
KLee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Posts: 1,711
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by jayray View Post
No, because ARC is superior so why would they want to implement an inferior product?
The 900 will beat those hands down in amplification and room correction. ARC in the 900 will rival the preamps.
John
ok....so what about height and width channels.....will the 900 offer that?
KLee is offline  
post #310 of 16533 Old 11-24-2010, 12:17 AM
AVS Special Member
 
osofast240sx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Plano, TX
Posts: 1,838
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by KLee View Post
ok....so what about height and width channels.....will the 900 offer that?
i dont think anyone knows that info yet. one thing is for sure Anthem won't put it out unless its perfect if your looking fo height and width im sure it will be worth the wait.
osofast240sx is offline  
post #311 of 16533 Old 11-24-2010, 07:30 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Anthony A.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Canada EH?
Posts: 2,539
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
im just about ready to add a second sub to my setup and wanted to go over a few things to make sure i do it right using arc. firstly, both subs are different svs models. secondly, both are not equal distance from each other of from the listening position. so is this the proper steps to take for setup:

1.) use subwoofer test tones in mrx setup and level match each sub to 72dB
2.) adjust phase (how do i know if second sub is "in phase" or not)
3.) run arc. after finished, check advanced settings, set subs to flat and re-calculate
4.) re-load into mrx via rs232

is that it? any advice on phase matching? and should i use the subs built in PEQ controls to help and dips and then run ARC on top?

thanks!

Anthony A. is offline  
post #312 of 16533 Old 11-24-2010, 08:35 AM
Senior Member
 
jpoet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Albuquerque, N.M., USA
Posts: 296
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by video_bit_bucket View Post
Stereo will only work if partially seated. You need mono.
Thanks for the info.


John
jpoet is offline  
post #313 of 16533 Old 11-24-2010, 09:13 AM
Advanced Member
 
Nick @ Anthem's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 858
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 18 Post(s)
Liked: 56
Quote:
Originally Posted by favorini View Post
Can't bypass video processing. The processor is Genesis Torino ("new" version, but nobody has said exactly what the new version is).

ETA: There is a video resolution Through mode, where "the receiver's output resolution is the same as the source's resolution." That may be what you are looking for.
Through mode does bypass the scaler.

The most important noise floor is in your head. Always remember to protect your hearing.
Nick @ Anthem is offline  
post #314 of 16533 Old 11-24-2010, 09:25 AM
Advanced Member
 
Nick @ Anthem's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 858
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 18 Post(s)
Liked: 56
Quote:
Originally Posted by jpoet View Post
The manual says to use a 3.5mm mono cable for use with the 12v trigger. Does it have to be a mono cable, or would a stereo work? I have some extra stereo cables, but would have to buy a mono one.
Stereo cable works from MRX to Anthem amps, fully seated. If you have a stereo cable, try it and if it works the job's done. If you have neither, might as well buy a mono cable if available because it's a safer bet with some other products. Radio Shack 42-2420 is an example.

The most important noise floor is in your head. Always remember to protect your hearing.
Nick @ Anthem is offline  
post #315 of 16533 Old 11-24-2010, 10:35 AM
Advanced Member
 
Nick @ Anthem's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 858
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 18 Post(s)
Liked: 56
Quote:
Originally Posted by Anthony A. View Post
im just about ready to add a second sub to my setup and wanted to go over a few things to make sure i do it right using arc. firstly, both subs are different svs models. secondly, both are not equal distance from each other of from the listening position. so is this the proper steps to take for setup:

1.) use subwoofer test tones in mrx setup and level match each sub to 72dB
2.) adjust phase (how do i know if second sub is "in phase" or not)
3.) run arc. after finished, check advanced settings, set subs to flat and re-calculate
4.) re-load into mrx via rs232

is that it? any advice on phase matching? and should i use the subs built in PEQ controls to help and dips and then run ARC on top?
1. Yes, but note that at low frequencies more than 3 dB is added when doubling sound sources. Regardless, the main thing is to get the same number, ARC will trim the combo.

2. Play between-station FM noise and adjust phase until noise is loudest.

ETA: Alternatively, use "Quick Measure" sweeps and compare each sub on its own vs both connected.

3/4. Setting sub HPF to flat is not "routine" - experiment if you feel like and use what sounds best.

For first run, use ARC with sub's controls set flat. If desired result is not attained, enlist sub's EQ and re-run ARC.

General notes: Phase control (not to be confused with polarity control but it happens often) focuses on the crossover region. There's nothing inherently bad with using two subs at different distances - the object is to keep pressure as even as possible through the listening area through frequency range. There's more than one way to do that, and adding subs at any location inherently makes pressure more even.

The most important noise floor is in your head. Always remember to protect your hearing.
Nick @ Anthem is offline  
post #316 of 16533 Old 11-24-2010, 10:43 AM
Advanced Member
 
Nick @ Anthem's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 858
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 18 Post(s)
Liked: 56
Quote:
Originally Posted by KLee View Post
ok....so what about height and width channels.....will the 900 offer that?
If you can wait a year, the MRX 900 *plan* is for 9.1 amplified channels. The two extra channels can be assigned to front height, biamp fronts, or zone 2.

Always keep in mind that until something is in a box and ready to ship anything can change. As I mentioned before, it's really too early to talk about the MRX 900 (maybe delete "900" from thread title?)

The most important noise floor is in your head. Always remember to protect your hearing.
Nick @ Anthem is offline  
post #317 of 16533 Old 11-24-2010, 11:02 AM
Senior Member
 
favorini's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 208
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nick @ Anthem View Post
Through mode does bypass the scaler.
Nick, does that mean no other video processing is happening (e.g., noise reduction)?
favorini is offline  
post #318 of 16533 Old 11-24-2010, 11:22 AM
Senior Member
 
jpoet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Albuquerque, N.M., USA
Posts: 296
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nick @ Anthem View Post
Stereo cable works from MRX to Anthem amps, fully seated. If you have a stereo cable, try it and if it works the job's done. If you have neither, might as well buy a mono cable if available because it's a safer bet with some other products. Radio Shack 42-2420 is an example.
Thank you. I have a MCA 50 so I should be in good shape.


John
jpoet is offline  
post #319 of 16533 Old 11-24-2010, 11:24 AM
Senior Member
 
jpoet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Albuquerque, N.M., USA
Posts: 296
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nick @ Anthem View Post
If you can wait a year, the MRX 900 *plan* is for 9.1 amplified channels. The two extra channels can be assigned to front height, biamp fronts, or zone 2.

Always keep in mind that until something is in a box and ready to ship anything can change. As I mentioned before, it's really too early to talk about the MRX 900 (maybe delete "900" from thread title?)
Any plans to update the D2v to support 9.1 channels in this way?


John
jpoet is offline  
post #320 of 16533 Old 11-24-2010, 12:17 PM
AVS Special Member
 
osofast240sx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Plano, TX
Posts: 1,838
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by jpoet View Post

Any plans to update the D2v to support 9.1 channels in this way?


John

most likely not. thats were the D3 comes in
osofast240sx is offline  
post #321 of 16533 Old 11-24-2010, 12:57 PM
AVS Special Member
 
obie_fl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: SpaceCoast, FL
Posts: 1,949
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 31
I can live with seven main channels but I'd like to see more sub channels if we are going to 9.1, how about 7.3 instead?
obie_fl is offline  
post #322 of 16533 Old 11-24-2010, 01:17 PM
AVS Special Member
 
osofast240sx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Plano, TX
Posts: 1,838
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by obie_fl View Post

I can live with seven main channels but I'd like to see more sub channels if we are going to 9.1, how about 7.3 instead?

7.3 i think thats what the pbk is for. you get 7.4 with the pbk http://www.paradigm.com/products/par...t-bass-kit/pbk
osofast240sx is offline  
post #323 of 16533 Old 11-24-2010, 04:13 PM
AVS Special Member
 
obie_fl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: SpaceCoast, FL
Posts: 1,949
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 31
PBK is limited to Paradigm subwoofers and is just a bass version of ARC which I already have. Not sure why the PBK is limited to four subs? Seems like you could measure as many subwoofers as you wanted and upload the results or does it do all four at once? You would need 5 USB ports though.

Getting off topic I guess so I'll shut up. I'm just waiting to replace my D2 with an MRX-900 or D3 or AVM #? next year.
obie_fl is offline  
post #324 of 16533 Old 11-24-2010, 04:13 PM
Member
 
Colonial's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Williamsburg, VA
Posts: 18
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I am trying to decide between the MRX 500 and a Marantz 7005 to drive my M & K 750's but like many others, we are strictly Mac people in our house so I want to now how ARC is handled in these cases. We do not want to do bootstrap etc.
Colonial is offline  
post #325 of 16533 Old 11-24-2010, 04:17 PM
AVS Special Member
 
ninja12's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 1,189
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by Colonial View Post

I am trying to decide between the MRX 500 and a Marantz 7005 to drive my M & K 750's but like many others, we are strictly Mac people in our house so I want to now how ARC is handled in these cases. We do not want to do bootstrap etc.

I installed Paralles Desktop on my MAC and Windows XP. Now, I can just swap from MAC to Windows XP without rebooting. It's really sweet.
ninja12 is offline  
post #326 of 16533 Old 11-24-2010, 04:37 PM
Member
 
lorenzzo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Ladera Ranch, CA
Posts: 188
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by ninja12 View Post

I installed Paralles Desktop on my MAC and Windows XP. Now, I can just swap from MAC to Windows XP without rebooting. It's really sweet.

Borrowing laptops as I have to run ARC, curious how much $ to acquire Paralles and Windows XP. My MRX ARC provides the only current need for that software.
lorenzzo is offline  
post #327 of 16533 Old 11-24-2010, 04:45 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Brian-HD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: NY
Posts: 2,204
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 26
Quote:
Originally Posted by ninja12 View Post

I installed Paralles Desktop on my MAC and Windows XP. Now, I can just swap from MAC to Windows XP without rebooting. It's really sweet.

I am a Mac user too and I used Bootcamp without any issues.
Brian-HD is online now  
post #328 of 16533 Old 11-24-2010, 05:14 PM
AVS Special Member
 
ninja12's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 1,189
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by lorenzzo View Post

Borrowing laptops as I have to run ARC, curious how much $ to acquire Paralles and Windows XP. My MRX ARC provides the only current need for that software.

I paid $50, I think, for Parallels. I had my own copy of XP.
ninja12 is offline  
post #329 of 16533 Old 11-24-2010, 05:15 PM
AVS Special Member
 
ninja12's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 1,189
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by Brian-HD View Post

I am a Mac user too and I used Bootcamp without an issues.

Yes, that's definitely another option.
ninja12 is offline  
post #330 of 16533 Old 11-24-2010, 11:28 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Anthony A.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Canada EH?
Posts: 2,539
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
when using advanced (in arc) and manually setting crossover/cut-offs, what is recommended that the sub cut-off be? for example, i have my lcr's set at 120hz, and my surrounds at 100hz. should i be setting the sub cut-off at 120hz or 150hz?

Anthony A. is offline  
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors

Tags
Anthem Mrx500 , Anthem Mrx300 , Anthem Mrx700 , Receivers Amplifiers , Component Amplifiers , 3d Hdtv , Speaker Systems
Gear in this thread

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off