Anthem MRX Receivers - 300, 500, 700 Owners Thread & Tweaking Guide - Page 203 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #6061 of 16588 Old 08-08-2011, 07:46 PM
Senior Member
 
buddhamus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Australia, Melbourne
Posts: 216
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 32
Hey guys,

Ive been a big lurker here for awhile now and just this February I bought a Denon 4311 with the pro kit. I always felt even after the calibration I wasn't getting the best sound possible. But I am considering it and going the Anthem/ARC route. I know a few people who own the D2V and I absolutely love the sharpness and sound of thier setup and I can see a lot of people are referring to the MRX series having that "ANTHEM" sound signature.

I do not use any of the bells and whistles on the 4311 which is making me think, I should get rid of it and get something which just gives me what I want....sound quality.

The only thing that is stopping me from going the MRX route is that it's a 7.1 receiver and I am running 2 Seaton Sound Submersives.....would I need to buy a splitter or is this receiver only good for a one sub setup?

My System:

3 Seaton Sound Catalysts 12C's
2 Seaton Sound Submersives
Denon 4311 Receiver
Oppo BDP-83 BluRay player

Let me know if you have come from a Denon 4311 and have seen a vast improvement in sound quality. I might just go the MRX 500 route since I dont need much amplification power since Im running actives and I dont use HD radio.

Thanks in advance,
Kevin
buddhamus is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #6062 of 16588 Old 08-08-2011, 08:00 PM
EdS
Senior Member
 
EdS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: NJ
Posts: 273
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I've had the MRX-500 for a couple of days now, and consider it to be a very nice upgrade over my previous receiver (Denon 4306). Just ran into my first problem tonight when I was trying to playback DVD-A & SACD via my Oppo DV-970HD. Hooked up over HDMI (same as with the 4306), and configured to send Multi-Channel PCM over the HDMI connection. Whenever I try to playback either a MCH SACD or DVD-A, it is always being sent to the MRX as 2.0 channel PCM, and I'm unable to force MCH playback. I've looked through the setup for the MRX and Oppo and can't find anything that affects or changes playback, before I contact Anthem Tech Support, I was wondering if anyone has any ideas I might try.

Thanks,
-Ed
EdS is offline  
post #6063 of 16588 Old 08-08-2011, 08:37 PM
Member
 
BladeRnR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 132
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by EdS View Post
I've had the MRX-500 for a couple of days now, and consider it to be a very nice upgrade over my previous receiver (Denon 4306). Just ran into my first problem tonight when I was trying to playback DVD-A & SACD via my Oppo DV-970HD. Hooked up over HDMI (same as with the 4306), and configured to send Multi-Channel PCM over the HDMI connection. Whenever I try to playback either a MCH SACD or DVD-A, it is always being sent to the MRX as 2.0 channel PCM, and I'm unable to force MCH playback. I've looked through the setup for the MRX and Oppo and can't find anything that affects or changes playback, before I contact Anthem Tech Support, I was wondering if anyone has any ideas I might try.

Thanks,
-Ed
Have you tried hitting the "Audio" button on the OPPO DV-970HD remote during playback? Often the 2-Channel layer is the default layer selected rather than the Multi-Channel SACD layer. I had the same issue sometime ago on a Marantz UD9004. Simply hit the Audio button on the Source component remote to switch Audio layers.

Also I don't mean to question your intelligence but I have also sometimes expected Multi-Channel playback from a SACD when I'd forgotten it was in fact authored as a "2-Channel SACD" only.

I hope this helps.

Blade
BladeRnR is offline  
post #6064 of 16588 Old 08-08-2011, 08:43 PM
Member
 
BladeRnR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 132
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by buddhamus View Post
Hey guys,

Ive been a big lurker here for awhile now and just this February I bought a Denon 4311 with the pro kit. I always felt even after the calibration I wasn't getting the best sound possible. But I am considering it and going the Anthem/ARC route. I know a few people who own the D2V and I absolutely love the sharpness and sound of thier setup and I can see a lot of people are referring to the MRX series having that "ANTHEM" sound signature.

I do not use any of the bells and whistles on the 4311 which is making me think, I should get rid of it and get something which just gives me what I want....sound quality.

The only thing that is stopping me from going the MRX route is that it's a 7.1 receiver and I am running 2 Seaton Sound Submersives.....would I need to buy a splitter or is this receiver only good for a one sub setup?

My System:

3 Seaton Sound Catalysts 12C's
2 Seaton Sound Submersives
Denon 4311 Receiver
Oppo BDP-83 BluRay player

Let me know if you have come from a Denon 4311 and have seen a vast improvement in sound quality. I might just go the MRX 500 route since I dont need much amplification power since Im running actives and I dont use HD radio.

Thanks in advance,
Kevin
Welcome to the thread Kevin

My suggestion? Just buy an Anthem D2V. It will pay for itself over time as upgrades are released down the track. With a receiver you're limited to what's in the box at the time. As you rightly stated you're running Active Speakers so you don't need power (Although you do need it for rears if I remember correctly?). If that's the case just buy 2 Sparks down the track and do without rears for a little while or buy a cheap 2-Channel power-amp to tide you over. I can't recall what rears Speakers you run?

There is no contest between ARC and Audyssey.

Cheers

Blade
BladeRnR is offline  
post #6065 of 16588 Old 08-08-2011, 10:14 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Tigger!'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Nashua, NH
Posts: 1,452
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 21
Quote:
Originally Posted by buddhamus View Post

...
The only thing that is stopping me from going the MRX route is that it's a 7.1 receiver and I am running 2 Seaton Sound Submersives.....would I need to buy a splitter or is this receiver only good for a one sub setup?
...

I went the route of fewer bells and whistles for better sound.

I also run two subs as do many MRX owners on here... a simple Y splitter is the way to go!

Please, before you ask a question about...
General Information on the MRX Series:
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

Technical Information including using ARC:
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Tigger! is offline  
post #6066 of 16588 Old 08-09-2011, 04:21 AM
AVS Special Member
 
ninja12's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 1,191
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by EdS View Post

OK, so I changed the sub from Flat to Auto, recalculated, and downloaded to the MRX. Updated graphs are posted, Flat on the left, Auto on the right. On my old receiver, I measured sub response to the mid-high teens without any issue, so I'm assuming there will be no issues running the sub Flat with the MRX. Listening tests later this week.

Flat looks good. Now, sit back and do some listening for a while and let your ears be the true judge. Report back and let us know how it sounds.
ninja12 is offline  
post #6067 of 16588 Old 08-09-2011, 05:39 AM
EdS
Senior Member
 
EdS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: NJ
Posts: 273
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by BladeRnR View Post

Have you tried hitting the "Audio" button on the OPPO DV-970HD remote during playback? Often the 2-Channel layer is the default layer selected rather than the Multi-Channel SACD layer. I had the same issue sometime ago on a Marantz UD9004. Simply hit the Audio button on the Source component remote to switch Audio layers.

Also I don't mean to question your intelligence but I have also sometimes expected Multi-Channel playback from a SACD when I'd forgotten it was in fact authored as a "2-Channel SACD" only.

I hope this helps.

Blade

I tried hitting the Audio button, playback went from "MLP-1" to "MLP-2", but stayed in PCM 2.0 channels. I'm using Pink Floyd DSOTM SACD, and Grateful Dead American Beauty DVD-A, no doubt these are MCH disks that played w/o issue with my previous receiver. I'll email Anthem Tech Support to see if they have any ideas.
EdS is offline  
post #6068 of 16588 Old 08-09-2011, 06:18 AM
Senior Member
 
rwheelwright's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 383
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 21 Post(s)
Liked: 16
http://www.anthemav.com/products/ant...ceiver/mrx-700

50.12 has been officially released! I know what I will be doing tonight!
rwheelwright is offline  
post #6069 of 16588 Old 08-09-2011, 06:47 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Tigger!'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Nashua, NH
Posts: 1,452
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 21
Quote:
Originally Posted by rwheelwright View Post

http://www.anthemav.com/products/ant...ceiver/mrx-700

50.12 has been officially released! I know what I will be doing tonight!

Firmware for all MRX's was released, 300/500/700. All are now at v50.12.

Also a new manual has been released, and for those that need a single back channel, ARC v3.0.2 is available as well for download (though currently the link reads 3.0.1, it downloads the 3.0.2 package).

Please, before you ask a question about...
General Information on the MRX Series:
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

Technical Information including using ARC:
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Tigger! is offline  
post #6070 of 16588 Old 08-09-2011, 07:05 AM
Senior Member
 
svphile's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Denver, CO
Posts: 414
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I suppose there is no need to update from v50.12 beta?
svphile is offline  
post #6071 of 16588 Old 08-09-2011, 07:33 AM
Member
 
larry_in_keller's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Texas
Posts: 22
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Is there a list of changes / fixes in 50.12 versus the last official release? Also, does anyone know what was updated in the manual?
larry_in_keller is offline  
post #6072 of 16588 Old 08-09-2011, 08:23 AM
Member
 
icemanjs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 108
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
here are my arc results

fronts studio 40's
rears paradigm adp
cc paradigm studio 570
sub svs pb-12
LL
LL
LL
icemanjs is offline  
post #6073 of 16588 Old 08-09-2011, 09:25 AM
Advanced Member
 
Shrike645's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Cambridge, Ont
Posts: 761
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by icemanjs View Post

here are my arc results

fronts studio 40's
rears paradigm adp
cc paradigm studio 570
sub svs pb-12

Your sub looks like it has filters on. Make sure they are set as high as possible or bypassed.
Shrike645 is offline  
post #6074 of 16588 Old 08-09-2011, 09:31 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Tigger!'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Nashua, NH
Posts: 1,452
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 21
Quote:
Originally Posted by larry_in_keller View Post

Is there a list of changes / fixes in 50.12 versus the last official release? Also, does anyone know what was updated in the manual?

There is a short list in the readme, but not very extensive. However, I can tell you from working with the earlier Beta Firmware that most of the issues you have seen on the forum have been addressed (here is a quick list of issues I'm familiar with):

Pop when changing codec's (greatly improved/diminished, should no longer be an irritation)
1080p24 "true through" mode
Strange volume and understated bass/treble with "Music Profile" (note this was not specifically with the music file but that is how it has become known...)
Issues with 2.0 speaker configurations (note this was part of the "Music Profile" issues)
Some 3D issues were investigate/fixed
An issue on the 120V MRX 700 with the radio was resolved.
HDMI CEC was added/enabled, this is permitting HDMI pass through when the MRX is off.
New Serial commands and timing.

A new version of ARC exists for 6.1 configurations (seperate down load, not firmware related)

Manual contains additional info about CEC and possibly other updates.

The main issue I'm aware of that I have not heard was addressed is the "MANUAL Sub Test Tone Volume". I sent off an email to anthem to see if it made it into this release, but I don't believe it did. NOTE: This does not have an impact on the test tones used by ARC or how ARC is working.

Hope that helps a little.

Quote:
Originally Posted by svphile View Post

I suppose there is no need to update from v50.12 beta?

The executable for the firmware update that was posted to Anthems site appears to have the exact same creation time as the one that was available for beta testing, so I think it is safe to say they are one and the same. (As they should be, otherwise the version number would have been expected to go up!) I think you should be all set!

Please, before you ask a question about...
General Information on the MRX Series:
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

Technical Information including using ARC:
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Tigger! is offline  
post #6075 of 16588 Old 08-09-2011, 09:36 AM
Member
 
icemanjs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 108
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Shrike645 View Post


Your sub looks like it has filters on. Make sure they are set as high as possible or bypassed.


It does? I thought I turned them all off
icemanjs is offline  
post #6076 of 16588 Old 08-09-2011, 10:24 AM
Member
 
kurt@ca's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Northern Cal
Posts: 17
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Has anyone said anything about the release date of the MDX 1 dock? I've been waiting for ever it seems.
kurt@ca is offline  
post #6077 of 16588 Old 08-09-2011, 10:48 AM
AVS Special Member
 
jayray's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Mississauga, Canada
Posts: 4,708
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 25
Public firmware 50.12 is identical to beta 50.12. No need to reinstall if you have the beta.
John

Jayray
Read the FAQs
jayray is offline  
post #6078 of 16588 Old 08-09-2011, 10:59 AM
Advanced Member
 
Shrike645's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Cambridge, Ont
Posts: 761
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by icemanjs View Post

It does? I thought I turned them all off

It looks that way because it has very even slopes on both the high and low ends. I guess it could do this with the filters turned all the way up but it looks suspicious to me.
Shrike645 is offline  
post #6079 of 16588 Old 08-09-2011, 11:15 AM
AVS Special Member
 
sukumar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Forthworth,Texas
Posts: 1,132
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tigger! View Post

This looks better. With Quick Measure, I would try moving the speaker forward away from the wall a few inches at a time and see if you can move/improve the dip at 60Hz a bit. With Quick Measure turned on you should be able to move the speaker a few inches... check the graph, move a few inches, check the graph... etc... see if you can improve the graph a bit more.

Once you find the best spot, run a full ARC and post the graph with the calculated line on it.

Also, your sub is perfoming much louder now... you will want to turn the volume down on it a bit. Did you already adjust it down 15%? If no, try 20% based on what I'm seeing on the graph... if you did... I would turn it down at least another 10%.

Thanks for the info. I did not try reducing the volume knob. It was tested at half and will set it at quarter and will test again.

I will also move it little front and test. Unfortunately, sub 15 is a beast to move. The carpet has path when I dragged from one place to other. I will test it tomorrow.
Thanks again for the tips.
sukumar is offline  
post #6080 of 16588 Old 08-09-2011, 11:21 AM
AVS Special Member
 
jayray's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Mississauga, Canada
Posts: 4,708
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 25
Quote:
Originally Posted by Shrike645 View Post

It looks that way because it has very even slopes on both the high and low ends. I guess it could do this with the filters turned all the way up but it looks suspicious to me.

I have a PDR 8 in my setup and it gives the same kind of curve. It may be due to it's abilities, not a filter. Don't know what the specs are for that sub.
John

Jayray
Read the FAQs
jayray is offline  
post #6081 of 16588 Old 08-09-2011, 11:35 AM
Member
 
icemanjs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 108
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Shrike645 View Post


It looks that way because it has very even slopes on both the high and low ends. I guess it could do this with the filters turned all the way up but it looks suspicious to me.

I have high and lower filters disabled. Crossover disabled and phase set to 0.. Volume is set at -10dba
icemanjs is offline  
post #6082 of 16588 Old 08-09-2011, 11:43 AM
Member
 
Perrottp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 32
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I loaded the new code and ran ARC and I can feel the bass more. Is it me?
Phil
Perrottp is offline  
post #6083 of 16588 Old 08-09-2011, 12:04 PM
Senior Member
 
rwheelwright's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 383
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 21 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by sukumar View Post

Thanks for the info. I did not try reducing the volume knob. It was tested at half and will set it at quarter and will test again.

I will also move it little front and test. Unfortunately, sub 15 is a beast to move. The carpet has path when I dragged from one place to other. I will test it tomorrow.
Thanks again for the tips.

Get those furniture mover things. I got some for my Sub 2 but I haven't moved it yet.
rwheelwright is offline  
post #6084 of 16588 Old 08-09-2011, 12:14 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Tigger!'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Nashua, NH
Posts: 1,452
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 21
Quote:
Originally Posted by sukumar View Post

Thanks for the info. I did not try reducing the volume knob. It was tested at half and will set it at quarter and will test again.

I will also move it little front and test. Unfortunately, sub 15 is a beast to move. The carpet has path when I dragged from one place to other. I will test it tomorrow.
Thanks again for the tips.

If your volume is at 50% right now... I would probably try like 40% and see what that does. 25% woudl probably create the oppisit effect and cause all your speakers to be negative and your sub positive! We are trying to find a happy place where they are all give or take around +/-3 or so. (though if it is a bit more that is ok... 8 however is a bit more than I think I would be aiming for).

Not knowing quite what you mean by a "beast" (each of my subs weight in at like 125lbs as I recall)... one option though it requires two big moves... is:

1) Place your sub in your listening position (literally)
2) Take your ARC mic, in Quick Measure Mode and walk around the room sampling areas where you could put the sub.
3) Once you find the best looking graph with Quick Measure, swap the Sub and the Mic positions. Believe it or now, they should look almost the same!

This does require somehow getting the speaker to your listening position... and then of course back to where it needs to go, but it could be easier than moving it around your room a lot!

Please, before you ask a question about...
General Information on the MRX Series:
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

Technical Information including using ARC:
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Tigger! is offline  
post #6085 of 16588 Old 08-09-2011, 12:21 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Tigger!'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Nashua, NH
Posts: 1,452
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 21
Quote:
Originally Posted by Perrottp View Post

I loaded the new code and ran ARC and I can feel the bass more. Is it me?
Phil

Are you a 2.0 setup? I.E. no sub?

Please, before you ask a question about...
General Information on the MRX Series:
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

Technical Information including using ARC:
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Tigger! is offline  
post #6086 of 16588 Old 08-09-2011, 12:50 PM
Member
 
Perrottp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 32
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tigger! View Post


Are you a 2.0 setup? I.E. no sub?

Hi Tigger,

No I am 3/2 with Vienna Waltz for l/r/f/r speakers with Vienna Theatro center. The Waltz are wall mount speakers that cross over at 120. To me my Paradigm sub has more push. I enjoy getting small improvements in my system and not sure if it's real or my imagination. I think it's real!
Phil
Perrottp is offline  
post #6087 of 16588 Old 08-09-2011, 05:07 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Tigger!'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Nashua, NH
Posts: 1,452
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 21
Quote:
Originally Posted by Perrottp View Post

Hi Tigger,

No I am 3/2 with Vienna Waltz for l/r/f/r speakers with Vienna Theatro center. The Waltz are wall mount speakers that cross over at 120. To me my Paradigm sub has more push. I enjoy getting small improvements in my system and not sure if it's real or my imagination. I think it's real!
Phil

If it seems real and you are enjoying it... then let's go with... it must be real

If you had said you had a 2.0 then there was a very good chance it was real... but... 3/2... I say enjoy!

Please, before you ask a question about...
General Information on the MRX Series:
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

Technical Information including using ARC:
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Tigger! is offline  
post #6088 of 16588 Old 08-09-2011, 05:45 PM
AVS Special Member
 
eric-t's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 1,470
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tigger! View Post

There is a short list in the readme, but not very extensive. However, I can tell you from working with the earlier Beta Firmware that most of the issues you have seen on the forum have been addressed (here is a quick list of issues I'm familiar with):

Pop when changing codec's (greatly improved/diminished, should no longer be an irritation)
1080p24 "true through" mode
Strange volume and understated bass/treble with "Music Profile" (note this was not specifically with the music file but that is how it has become known...)
Issues with 2.0 speaker configurations (note this was part of the "Music Profile" issues)
Some 3D issues were investigate/fixed
An issue on the 120V MRX 700 with the radio was resolved.
HDMI CEC was added/enabled, this is permitting HDMI pass through when the MRX is off.
New Serial commands and timing.

A new version of ARC exists for 6.1 configurations (seperate down load, not firmware related)

Manual contains additional info about CEC and possibly other updates.

The main issue I'm aware of that I have not heard was addressed is the "MANUAL Sub Test Tone Volume". I sent off an email to anthem to see if it made it into this release, but I don't believe it did. NOTE: This does not have an impact on the test tones used by ARC or how ARC is working.

Hope that helps a little.



The executable for the firmware update that was posted to Anthems site appears to have the exact same creation time as the one that was available for beta testing, so I think it is safe to say they are one and the same. (As they should be, otherwise the version number would have been expected to go up!) I think you should be all set!

That is correct Tigger. While this fix is not major, Andrew did say they are working on it and are aware of it but it did not make the 50.12 firmware.
eric-t is offline  
post #6089 of 16588 Old 08-09-2011, 05:56 PM
Senior Member
 
rwheelwright's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 383
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 21 Post(s)
Liked: 16
After upgrading the firmware, I re-ran ARC. I also ran PBK first. Since I last ran ARC I have re-arranged some furniture and changed some too. I have to say, I felt that my PBK and ARC results were better last time at least for my sub but now I have a big 3 seater couch right next to the sub. I tried moving it around but because it is so big it is hard to move even with furniture movers. I felt more bass before too but I am limited at the moment with placement. I tried 6 inches one way and between 6 - 12 inches the other way and approx 6 from the wall and back to about 2 inches from the wall.

Anways, here are my new ARC results.

Aside from ARC I did notice something strange and I'm not sure of cause. When I put in WotW the picture looked terrible. I thought the firmware was messing up the picture but then I noticed that my TV had changed to the Brilliant setting from a custom setting. I don't remember changing this especially since I didn't have the TV on until I put the movie on. I'm wondering if the update caused something in my TV to reset. Especially the CEC option popped up on my screen asking if I wanted to enable or disable. (this was the TV popup ot the MRX.)
LL
LL
LL
rwheelwright is offline  
post #6090 of 16588 Old 08-09-2011, 05:57 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Tigger!'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Nashua, NH
Posts: 1,452
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 21
Quote:
Originally Posted by eric-t View Post

That is correct Tigger. While this fix is not major, Andrew did say they are working on it and are aware of it but it did not make the 50.12 firmware.

At some point you just have to draw a line and release what ya got I think there were a few people ready to murder a small tweeter if they didn't see a firmware release soon lol.

I suspect it will make the next release if they are already working on it...

Please, before you ask a question about...
General Information on the MRX Series:
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

Technical Information including using ARC:
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Tigger! is offline  
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors

Tags
Anthem Mrx500 , Anthem Mrx300 , Anthem Mrx700 , Receivers Amplifiers , Component Amplifiers , 3d Hdtv , Speaker Systems
Gear in this thread - Mrx500 by PriceGrabber.com

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off