Anthem MRX Receivers - 300, 500, 700 Owners Thread & Tweaking Guide - Page 349 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #10441 of 16534 Old 04-21-2012, 12:14 PM
AVS Special Member
 
jayray's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Mississauga, Canada
Posts: 4,708
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 25
Quote:
Originally Posted by markabuckley View Post


I suppose it depends on how high the dolby volume settings are set to - but on my Arcam when I enabled Dolby Volume you wouldn't get sudden noticeable changes/compression mid-way through a film -or change on pause/re-playback - Dolby Volume is very sophisticated and works well - ie you shouldnt get any sudden reductions in dynamic range

check that the other Dolby range control (see 4.6.7 of manual) is not enabled

It seems to have quirks on the MRX can 't say on other receivers.
John

Jayray
Read the FAQs
jayray is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #10442 of 16534 Old 04-21-2012, 03:59 PM
Member
 
Apgood's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 98
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by rtchoice View Post

hi guys,
new to the avs. but has been browsing for years.

i recenlty set up my HT in the new aprt. my set up is follow
F: dynaudio c1 markii
c: DYnaudio sc center
R: Dynaudio DM 2/6
sub: Paradigm sub 12
Receiver: MRX 700

my listening enviroment is not that pefect as in a gprock apartment.
from the tv to my seat is about 3.6m. wide of the rear speakers are 3.3m.
after runing the ARC, I got the chart below.
can anyone have a look and any comments is appreciated.

meanwhile, i just hook up a bd cambridge 751 with the mrx700.
after watching few buleray movies, i am experince something strange.
after a movie starts for a while, the whole audio sound just dramatically reduced, however, if i pause the movie, and resume again, the sound level back to loud, but after a while, especially after big bang bang explosion sence, the sound level fade out again, and i have no idea what is the problem. i never had the problem when i use my htpc connection. any one can give me some idea. thanks

I have that same issue everytime after I firmware upgrade my mrx. What I do to fix it is re-upload my saved arc file.
Apgood is offline  
post #10443 of 16534 Old 04-22-2012, 02:05 AM
Newbie
 
rtchoice's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by jayray View Post

It does cause strange things as many have noted.
John

you are superb John. problem solved. now i am really enjoy the anthem. cheers.

by the way, does my ARC looks alright?
rtchoice is offline  
post #10444 of 16534 Old 04-22-2012, 02:23 AM
AVS Special Member
 
markabuckley's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 1,077
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 19
^^ so was Dolby Volume the problem ?

what are people's opinions of Dolby Volume (set to the minimal settings - ie non too obtrusive) - is it good ? I am quite happy with my current receiver - but 2 things attract me to the Anthem (1) ARC (of course) and (2) almost as important to me Dolby Volume. I had Dolby Volume on my Arcam and it was brilliant - used it all the time - as I get fed up with constantly holding remote and changing volume on current receiver ...

I'd thought that Dolby Volume should be the same on all receivers that have it ? as I think it is a propietary licenced set of software routines is it not ? therefore "should" be the same on all receivers that have it ?

thanks
markabuckley is offline  
post #10445 of 16534 Old 04-22-2012, 06:44 AM
Member
 
richmagnus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: London, England
Posts: 48
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
I use Dolby volume in the evenings because of sleeping children and it works flawlessly on my MRX 300. It is the same as it was on my Arcam AVR 500 that the Anthem replaced. Very useful and much much better than Audyssey Dynamic EQ which was so OTT.

Anthem MRX300, Anthem Statement A5, MK Sound MP150Mk2 LCR,MK Sound S150T's,Paradigm Signature Sub1,Pioneer BDP LX55,Isol8 Cleanline2 mains,Sonos ZP90,Qnap TS112 NAS,PanasonicTXP50GT60.
richmagnus is offline  
post #10446 of 16534 Old 04-22-2012, 07:15 AM
AVS Special Member
 
markabuckley's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 1,077
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 19
Quote:
Originally Posted by richmagnus View Post

I use Dolby volume in the evenings because of sleeping children and it works flawlessly on my MRX 300. It is the same as it was on my Arcam AVR 500 that the Anthem replaced. Very useful and much much better than Audyssey Dynamic EQ which was so OTT.

thanks Rich - perhaps the reports are just from people that don't like the effect then or have the Dolby Volume settings too high/aggressive
markabuckley is offline  
post #10447 of 16534 Old 04-22-2012, 07:36 AM
AVS Special Member
 
jayray's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Mississauga, Canada
Posts: 4,708
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 25
Quote:
Originally Posted by markabuckley View Post


thanks Rich - perhaps the reports are just from people that don't like the effect then or have the Dolby Volume settings too high/aggressive

Usually people don't like it for movies.
John

Jayray
Read the FAQs
jayray is offline  
post #10448 of 16534 Old 04-22-2012, 07:40 AM
AVS Special Member
 
audit13's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Toronto
Posts: 1,666
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 24
Hi Everyone,

I've been enjoying my mrx for months and love the sound.

I have been using a media player and htpc to play my audio files, including 2.0 and 5.1 channel flac, all via hdmi. I tested the usb ports on the Anthem and I found that it can't play high bitrate flac or wav files. I'm on firmware 50.12. MP3s and stereo 44.1/16 wav are fine.

Anyone know what types of files the mrx will play? It's not a big deal for me because I can continue to use my htpc or media player.
audit13 is offline  
post #10449 of 16534 Old 04-22-2012, 09:07 AM
AVS Special Member
 
markabuckley's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 1,077
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 19
Quote:
Originally Posted by jayray View Post

Usually people don't like it for movies.
John

its main purpose is for movies is it not ?
markabuckley is offline  
post #10450 of 16534 Old 04-22-2012, 09:41 AM
AVS Special Member
 
jayray's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Mississauga, Canada
Posts: 4,708
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 25
Quote:
Originally Posted by markabuckley View Post


its main purpose is for movies is it not ?

Commercials often have higher vol levels compared to the program material so it seems to work better for that.
John

Jayray
Read the FAQs
jayray is offline  
post #10451 of 16534 Old 04-22-2012, 11:36 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Tigger!'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Nashua, NH
Posts: 1,452
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 21
Quote:
Originally Posted by markabuckley View Post

its main purpose is for movies is it not ?

Quote:
Originally Posted by jayray View Post

Commercials often have higher vol levels compared to the program material so it seems to work better for that.
John

I think most of us use it for night time watching. I use it mostly for TV as it helps with commercials, as Jayray pointed out... and it helps with quiet passages that are hard to hear without loud listening volumes as well as it helps to tames loud explosions and gun shots, etc.

It will work fine with movies, but part of the fun of movie sound tracks is the dynamics of the sound track and, for obvious reasons, Dolby Volume tames them considerably which takes away from some of the punch and suspense that the sound track can add with its dramatic volume changes.

I use dolby volume on for my cable box and leave it off for my bluray player.

Please, before you ask a question about...
General Information on the MRX Series: See the First post here.
Technical Information including using ARC: See the "FAQ" post here.
Tigger! is offline  
post #10452 of 16534 Old 04-22-2012, 11:53 AM
Member
 
richmagnus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: London, England
Posts: 48
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
I find it very effective for late night movie viewing but would not use to watch a big blockbuster. I would wait till everyone is out!!!!!!

Anthem MRX300, Anthem Statement A5, MK Sound MP150Mk2 LCR,MK Sound S150T's,Paradigm Signature Sub1,Pioneer BDP LX55,Isol8 Cleanline2 mains,Sonos ZP90,Qnap TS112 NAS,PanasonicTXP50GT60.
richmagnus is offline  
post #10453 of 16534 Old 04-22-2012, 01:39 PM
AVS Special Member
 
DS-21's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 3,330
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 27 Post(s)
Liked: 155
Quote:
Originally Posted by markabuckley View Post

what are people's opinions of Dolby Volume (set to the minimal settings - ie non too obtrusive) - is it good ?

Keep in mind that DV is actually two discrete parts, a "modeler" (a loudness compensation program similar to Audyssey DynamicEQ) and a "leveler" (a dynamic compressor program similar to Audyssey Dynamic Volume).

I've never used the "leveler," mostly because I've not figured out how to have it automatically come on for TV viewing and then turn off when I switch to SACD/DVD-A or AppleTV. Seems that it's a global-only setting.

I use the "modeler" all the time, and like it. Like Audyssey DynamicEQ (which I also quite liked) it does a good job of maintaining a perceptually-similar spectral balance. One just has to play with different reference-level offset setting to get it to work optimally.

--
"In many cases there aren’t two sides unless one side is 'reality' and the other is 'nonsense.'" - Phil Plait
Serious Audio Blog 
Multichannel music (and video) urban loft living room system 
DS-21 is offline  
post #10454 of 16534 Old 04-22-2012, 01:53 PM
AVS Special Member
 
jayray's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Mississauga, Canada
Posts: 4,708
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 25
Quote:
Originally Posted by DS-21 View Post


Keep in mind that DV is actually two discrete parts, a "modeler" (a loudness compensation program similar to Audyssey DynamicEQ) and a "leveler" (a dynamic compressor program similar to Audyssey Dynamic Volume).

I've never used the "leveler," mostly because I've not figured out how to have it automatically come on for TV viewing and then turn off when I switch to SACD/DVD-A or AppleTV. Seems that it's a global-only setting.

I use the "modeler" all the time, and like it. Like Audyssey DynamicEQ (which I also quite liked) it does a good job of maintaining a perceptually-similar spectral balance. One just has to play with different reference-level offset setting to get it to work optimally.

My problem is I don't have kids around so I can play as loud as I want all the time.
John

Jayray
Read the FAQs
jayray is offline  
post #10455 of 16534 Old 04-22-2012, 02:15 PM
Senior Member
 
Spurrier Sucks's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: On Top
Posts: 420
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 127
Quote:
Originally Posted by dglozic View Post

Anthem places the file with the data in the 'Documents' folder with the .ARC extension. Just copy that file to a USB thumb drive and paste it into your laptop's 'Documents' folder (also install the same ARC tool on your laptop). When you launch it and get it to 'open file', the file you pasted into Documents should be there. But this is just a convenience - you can really load and save files anywhere.

I had to update to the latest ARC FW update and now it will open the file so I can see the graphs. How do I copy the graphs so I can show them? I've tried to copy and paste but i don't seem to be able to do so. Any help? I see it can be done because other people are doing it.
Spurrier Sucks is offline  
post #10456 of 16534 Old 04-22-2012, 02:35 PM
Advanced Member
 
saeyedoc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: San Antonio
Posts: 949
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 27
Quote:
Originally Posted by Spurrier Sucks View Post

I had to update to the latest ARC FW update and now it will open the file so I can see the graphs. How do I copy the graphs so I can show them? I've tried to copy and paste but i don't seem to be able to do so. Any help? I see it can be done because other people are doing it.

Print screen, then use paint. It's in the FAQ.
saeyedoc is offline  
post #10457 of 16534 Old 04-22-2012, 02:57 PM
AVS Special Member
 
DS-21's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 3,330
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 27 Post(s)
Liked: 155
Interesting news from the comments section of a loudspeaker review.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dr. David A. Rich View Post

With regard to room-correction reviews, I have an upcoming one on the Anthem ARC, which I employed in the speaker review. The unit's Quick Measure function was especially useful for quickly locating optimal speaker placement.

While he doesn't say it, given the prices he mentions in the review ("In the $4500 price range, two PC-3.5s, two well placed mono subwoofers, and a good digital room equalizer/bass management system form a 4 way system which would be competitive with some speaker systems costing over $10,000.") I suspect he's talking about an MRX unit and not a pre/pro.

That's one review I'm looking forward to seeing!

Due respect to Prof. Rubinson, who has done more to promote multichannel music reproduction than anyone else, but Dr. Rich is the best in the business.

NOT the most readable, perhaps (by a long shot), but the one who provides the best information, unencumbered by various mythological idiocies about wires, amps, etc. (One will never read what brand of "interconnects" are used in one of Dr. Rich's reviews!)

I'll be especially interested to see how he handles the issue that has thus far stumped me: how to actually measure what ARC does in room, given that there are no multichannel analog inputs to accept measurement signals.

--
"In many cases there aren’t two sides unless one side is 'reality' and the other is 'nonsense.'" - Phil Plait
Serious Audio Blog 
Multichannel music (and video) urban loft living room system 
DS-21 is offline  
post #10458 of 16534 Old 04-22-2012, 03:07 PM
Senior Member
 
Spurrier Sucks's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: On Top
Posts: 420
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 127
Quote:
Originally Posted by saeyedoc View Post

Print screen, then use paint. It's in the FAQ.

Where in FAQ? Maybe I'm just not looking good enough but I don't see it. Do I need any certain software to print and paint because I don't see anything like that? Sorry for the questions but it's the only way to learn.
Spurrier Sucks is offline  
post #10459 of 16534 Old 04-22-2012, 03:20 PM
Member
 
sharp10's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Canada
Posts: 98
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by Spurrier Sucks View Post


Where in FAQ? Maybe I'm just not looking good enough but I don't see it. Do I need any certain software to print and paint because I don't see anything like that? Sorry for the questions but it's the only way to learn.

If you go to page one of this thread, click on the first link by Tigger, I think it is post 3849

I you are using windows, you should have Microsoft paint.

.
sharp10 is online now  
post #10460 of 16534 Old 04-22-2012, 03:22 PM
Member
 
sharp10's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Canada
Posts: 98
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 15
This post has step by step instructions for running ARC. It also includes how to post your graphs in paint.

.
sharp10 is online now  
post #10461 of 16534 Old 04-22-2012, 03:25 PM
Member
 
Ouiff's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 78
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by Spurrier Sucks View Post

Where in FAQ? Maybe I'm just not looking good enough but I don't see it. Do I need any certain software to print and paint because I don't see anything like that? Sorry for the questions but it's the only way to learn.

If you look on your keyboard you will see one of the keys will say something like pntscr or it may actually say print screen. It may be a function key if using a laptop so you will need to press the function key then the print screen key.

This is basically doing a copy of the screen that you are actually viewing when you press the key.

Next step is to open microsoft paint. Click start and type in paint and you should see it pop up in your list of options. Click to open this, then in the white area on the screen, right click and select paste.

From here you can play around with it if you want to crop it (get rid of the detail you don't need, but this isn't necessary) then save it - file, save as and select file type and location.

Good luck
Ouiff is offline  
post #10462 of 16534 Old 04-22-2012, 04:11 PM
Member
 
lerxst's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Southern California
Posts: 44
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Re: the usage of Print Screen for capturing ARC graphs, if you use Alt-Print Screen, i.e. hold down the Alt key in combination with the Print Screen key, Windows will copy just the currently selected window, rather than the entire Windows desktop.

Dan
lerxst is offline  
post #10463 of 16534 Old 04-22-2012, 04:16 PM
Senior Member
 
Spurrier Sucks's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: On Top
Posts: 420
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 127
Quote:
Originally Posted by sharp10 View Post

If you go to page one of this thread, click on the first link by Tigger, I think it is post 3849

I you are using windows, you should have Microsoft paint.

Quote:
Originally Posted by sharp10 View Post

This post has step by step instructions for running ARC. It also includes how to post your graphs in paint.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ouiff View Post

If you look on your keyboard you will see one of the keys will say something like pntscr or it may actually say print screen. It may be a function key if using a laptop so you will need to press the function key then the print screen key.

This is basically doing a copy of the screen that you are actually viewing when you press the key.

Next step is to open microsoft paint. Click start and type in paint and you should see it pop up in your list of options. Click to open this, then in the white area on the screen, right click and select paste.

From here you can play around with it if you want to crop it (get rid of the detail you don't need, but this isn't necessary) then save it - file, save as and select file type and location.

Good luck

Thank you all very much for your hard work and patience. Here are my graphs from my first run of ARC. I have since upgraded to the latest FW and I believe I read it is best to rerun ARC with the new FW.




Would someone want to tell me what I am looking at? Is it good? How can I make it better? Thanks.
Spurrier Sucks is offline  
post #10464 of 16534 Old 04-22-2012, 04:37 PM
Advanced Member
 
TKO1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Canada's capital city.
Posts: 554
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 65
Quote:
Originally Posted by DS-21 View Post

Interesting news from the comments section of a loudspeaker review.



While he doesn't say it, given the prices he mentions in the review ("In the $4500 price range, two PC-3.5s, two well placed mono subwoofers, and a good digital room equalizer/bass management system form a 4 way system which would be competitive with some speaker systems costing over $10,000.") I suspect he's talking about an MRX unit and not a pre/pro.

That's one review I'm looking forward to seeing!

I'll be especially interested to see how he handles the issue that has thus far stumped me: how to actually measure what ARC does in room, given that there are no multichannel analog inputs to accept measurement signals.

Agreed. Dr. Rich is the type of scientific reviewer all these magazines need to employ.

Since he quotes a lot of Dr. Toole's incredible work at the NRC, he might use Dr. Sean Olive's analysis methodology as noted here in his Audio Musings blog on Room Correction given they were colleagues at the NRC and after at Harman.

Cheers.
TKO1 is offline  
post #10465 of 16534 Old 04-22-2012, 04:39 PM
AVS Special Member
 
jayray's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Mississauga, Canada
Posts: 4,708
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 25
Quote:
Originally Posted by Spurrier Sucks View Post


Thank you all very much for your hard work and patience. Here are my graphs from my first run of ARC. I have since upgraded to the latest FW and I believe I read it is best to rerun ARC with the new FW.

Would someone want to tell me what I am looking at? Is it good? How can I make it better? Thanks.

They look quite good. You might want to post your Target window as well. That's the one with all the crossover info.
John

Jayray
Read the FAQs
jayray is offline  
post #10466 of 16534 Old 04-22-2012, 04:57 PM
Senior Member
 
Spurrier Sucks's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: On Top
Posts: 420
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 127
Quote:
Originally Posted by jayray View Post

They look quite good. You might want to post your Target window as well. That's the one with all the crossover info.
John

Here it is.
Spurrier Sucks is offline  
post #10467 of 16534 Old 04-22-2012, 05:28 PM
AVS Special Member
 
jayray's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Mississauga, Canada
Posts: 4,708
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 25
Quote:
Originally Posted by Spurrier Sucks View Post


Here it is.

Your sub response suggests it can go below 20Hz at good volume levels. If so and there is some protection built in, you can set the sub HPF to flat in the advanced menu at the bottom of the target window. It is presently set to Auto.
Once selected, exit the Targets and click on Calculate. Now you can upload that to your MRX.
BTW, it is not necessary to do a new measurement after firmware updates, simply upload your last good ARC file if you wish. Some do that just to be sure. I have never done it and it always sounds the same.

John

Jayray
Read the FAQs
jayray is offline  
post #10468 of 16534 Old 04-22-2012, 05:32 PM
Senior Member
 
Spurrier Sucks's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: On Top
Posts: 420
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 127
Quote:
Originally Posted by jayray View Post

Your sub response suggests it can go below 20Hz at good volume levels. If so and there is some protection built in, you can set the sub HPF to flat in the advanced menu at the bottom of the target window. It is presently set to Auto.
Once selected, exit the Targets and click on Calculate. Now you can upload that to your MRX.
John

Thanks. I'll give that a try.
Spurrier Sucks is offline  
post #10469 of 16534 Old 04-24-2012, 07:46 AM
Advanced Member
 
blb1215's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Chesterfield
Posts: 681
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I have officially joined the Anthem club with the purchase of a MRX-500. I have been trying to get familiar with and trying different settings. I ran ARC this am and am posting my charts for review and suggestions.

My speaker levels are
Left front 0
Center +1
Right front +2
Right surround 0
Right back +1
Left back +1
Left surround -1
Sub -2

I have a suggestion for a future firmware suggestion, if possible make the use and amount of dolby volume leveler assignable by input instead of global. Better yet to separate the leveler function from the EQ function. It would be great to have one input with dolby volumn without leveler and another with dolby volumn with leveler.

I also have a question on one of the settings under dolby volume - Dolby Volume Cinema Reference Mode - in the manual it states "When on, Dolby Volume takes into account the difference on reference level used in movie production from that in music production.

I did not know music had a reference level and I am not sure exactly what this does. In testing so far with Fios it increases the volume when on.

Does anyone have any knowledge of what this setting is doing or if it is useful?
LL
LL
LL
blb1215 is offline  
post #10470 of 16534 Old 04-24-2012, 01:20 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Tigger!'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Nashua, NH
Posts: 1,452
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 21
Quote:
Originally Posted by blb1215 View Post

I have officially joined the Anthem club with the purchase of a MRX-500. I have been trying to get familiar with and trying different settings. I ran ARC this am and am posting my charts for review and suggestions.

My speaker levels are
Left front 0
Center +1
Right front +2
Right surround 0
Right back +1
Left back +1
Left surround -1
Sub -2

I have a suggestion for a future firmware suggestion, if possible make the use and amount of dolby volume leveler assignable by input instead of global. Better yet to separate the leveler function from the EQ function. It would be great to have one input with dolby volumn without leveler and another with dolby volumn with leveler.

I also have a question on one of the settings under dolby volume - Dolby Volume Cinema Reference Mode - in the manual it states "When on, Dolby Volume takes into account the difference on reference level used in movie production from that in music production.

I did not know music had a reference level and I am not sure exactly what this does. In testing so far with Fios it increases the volume when on.

Does anyone have any knowledge of what this setting is doing or if it is useful?

Your ARC config looks pretty good out of the gate... I'm guessing you reviewed the comments on a few of the previous posts and played before posting?

Looking quickly: Your Speaker Levels look excelent. Your Speaker Graphs look very good. Your Targets make sense based on the graphs you posted. Your sub looks excellent and it appears you set your sub to be "Flat" which makes sense from what I can see in the graphs.

How does it sound?

The one other thing I see, ARC picked a very low value for your room gain (based on your graphs, this makes sense). If your room is naturally some what dead, the value ARC picked is probably approriate. If however you feel like everything is a bit flat and you wish it had a little more volume in the low end, you might try a room gain of between 2.5-3.5 and see what you think.

NOTE: Sometimes more room gain is not better. Give it a listen for a week where ARC set it first. Once you are comfortable where it is, you can try adjusting the room gain and see if you like it a bit higher or prefer it where ARC set it.

Please, before you ask a question about...
General Information on the MRX Series: See the First post here.
Technical Information including using ARC: See the "FAQ" post here.
Tigger! is offline  
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors

Tags
Anthem Mrx500 , Anthem Mrx300 , Anthem Mrx700 , Receivers Amplifiers , Component Amplifiers , 3d Hdtv , Speaker Systems
Gear in this thread

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off