Anthem MRX Receivers - 300, 500, 700 Owners Thread & Tweaking Guide - Page 388 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #11611 of 16718 Old 08-03-2012, 10:37 AM
Member
 
keefy6's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 161
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 30
Question for ARC Microphone placement

I placed the mike as indicated in the manual in front of the sofa or chair.

I've seen others put the mike on the sofa and adjust the height.

Has anyone doe both and heard a difference or does anyone recommend doing the measurement actually ON the seating position?

appreciate any feedback.
keefy6 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #11612 of 16718 Old 08-03-2012, 11:04 AM
Advanced Member
 
blb1215's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Chesterfield
Posts: 692
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by keefy6 View Post

Question for ARC Microphone placement
I placed the mike as indicated in the manual in front of the sofa or chair.
I've seen others put the mike on the sofa and adjust the height.
Has anyone doe both and heard a difference or does anyone recommend doing the measurement actually ON the seating position?
appreciate any feedback.

For position #1 you will want the microphone as close as possible to where your head would be. Since the stand has a boom it should be possible to slide the stand close to the sofa or chair and adjust mike position to where your head would be.

Barry
blb1215 is offline  
post #11613 of 16718 Old 08-03-2012, 11:16 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Tigger!'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Nashua, NH
Posts: 1,452
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 21
Quote:
Originally Posted by blb1215 View Post

For position #1 you will want the microphone as close as possible to where your head would be. Since the stand has a boom it should be possible to slide the stand close to the sofa or chair and adjust mike position to where your head would be.
Barry

+1

The only exception is if you have a high backed chair/couch that might reflect the sound back at the microhphone, in which case you may want to recline the seat back, back, a bit if you can or pull the mic forward about a foot from the seat back.

Please, before you ask a question about...
General Information on the MRX Series: See the First post here.
Technical Information including using ARC: See the "FAQ" post here.
Tigger! is offline  
post #11614 of 16718 Old 08-03-2012, 02:00 PM
Member
 
keefy6's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 161
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 30
Quote:
Originally Posted by blb1215 View Post

For position #1 you will want the microphone as close as possible to where your head would be. Since the stand has a boom it should be possible to slide the stand close to the sofa or chair and adjust mike position to where your head would be.
Barry

ahh, so if i understand correctly - keep it positioned on the floor but adjust/slide the arm closer to where my head is when i'm actually sitting on the couch?
keefy6 is offline  
post #11615 of 16718 Old 08-03-2012, 02:06 PM
Advanced Member
 
blb1215's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Chesterfield
Posts: 692
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by keefy6 View Post

ahh, so if i understand correctly - keep it positioned on the floor but adjust/slide the arm closer to where my head is when i'm actually sitting on the couch?

That is correct, unless as Tigger stated you have high back on your primary listening position, then adjust as noted.

barry
blb1215 is offline  
post #11616 of 16718 Old 08-03-2012, 05:22 PM
AVS Special Member
 
ninja12's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 1,196
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by keefy6 View Post

Question for ARC Microphone placement
I placed the mike as indicated in the manual in front of the sofa or chair.
I've seen others put the mike on the sofa and adjust the height.
Has anyone doe both and heard a difference or does anyone recommend doing the measurement actually ON the seating position?
appreciate any feedback.

Quote:
Originally Posted by blb1215 View Post

For position #1 you will want the microphone as close as possible to where your head would be. Since the stand has a boom it should be possible to slide the stand close to the sofa or chair and adjust mike position to where your head would be.
Barry

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tigger! View Post

+1
The only exception is if you have a high backed chair/couch that might reflect the sound back at the microhphone, in which case you may want to recline the seat back, back, a bit if you can or pull the mic forward about a foot from the seat back.

Quote:
Originally Posted by keefy6 View Post

ahh, so if i understand correctly - keep it positioned on the floor but adjust/slide the arm closer to where my head is when i'm actually sitting on the couch?

Quote:
Originally Posted by blb1215 View Post

That is correct, unless as Tigger stated you have high back on your primary listening position, then adjust as noted.
barry
You can also put the mic at ear listening position and just raise the mic until it clears the back of your seat.
ninja12 is offline  
post #11617 of 16718 Old 08-04-2012, 07:02 AM
Newbie
 
jonalan0323's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by jayray View Post

The best way to contact Anthem is to use the email below,
tech@anthemav.com
John
Wow, so this is the best way, huh? I emailed them a week ago and no response.
jonalan0323 is offline  
post #11618 of 16718 Old 08-04-2012, 07:32 AM
Member
 
vkowalski1970's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Carol Stream, IL
Posts: 136
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 23
Quote:
Originally Posted by jonalan0323 View Post

Wow, so this is the best way, huh? I emailed them a week ago and no response.

I have no purchased my MRX 500 yet, am getting a 300 to test, i emailed them at that address and had the new firmware in 2 hours. Great Response!!!
vkowalski1970 is offline  
post #11619 of 16718 Old 08-04-2012, 09:48 AM
AVS Special Member
 
jayray's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Mississauga, Canada
Posts: 4,708
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 25
Quote:
Originally Posted by jonalan0323 View Post

Wow, so this is the best way, huh? I emailed them a week ago and no response.

No need to get snippy, most people find this to be true. Try again or phone them.
John

Jayray
Read the FAQs
jayray is offline  
post #11620 of 16718 Old 08-04-2012, 10:18 AM
Member
 
philb37's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 123
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by jonalan0323 View Post

Wow, so this is the best way, huh? I emailed them a week ago and no response.

Worked great for me, try it again...
philb37 is offline  
post #11621 of 16718 Old 08-04-2012, 01:48 PM
Member
 
Dordt1977's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 21
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Hey,

Here are my arc charts.
My speakers are 4 x revel performa m22 and revel c32 center.
And a SVS PB12-NSD sub.



Dordt1977 is offline  
post #11622 of 16718 Old 08-05-2012, 07:30 AM
Newbie
 
jonalan0323's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by jayray View Post

No need to get snippy, most people find this to be true. Try again or phone them.
John
Not being snippy, just very disappointed in their lack of customer service. This is coming from a guy who works in this area at my day job. They could at the very least acknowledge receipt of my email. I know my clients would not be very happy if I ignored them for a week.

I sent another email yesterday. Since it was Saturday, I don't expect a response until Monday.
jonalan0323 is offline  
post #11623 of 16718 Old 08-05-2012, 08:18 AM
Member
 
nr1416's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 19
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I'm a bit of a rookie when it comes to the settings on my MRX300 so any help would be great.

I'm using a Paradigm ultracube 12 in my 5.1 setup and finding with the volume on the Sub set to Max it's not that loud. When I had the same sub hooked up to my cheap Yamaha receiver I could barely set it past medium volume before it got too loud and bassy in volume.

My question is there any settings in the receiver menu to in crease the volume of the Sub?
nr1416 is offline  
post #11624 of 16718 Old 08-05-2012, 09:34 AM
Advanced Member
 
a1usedcomp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Janesville WI
Posts: 754
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 14 Post(s)
Liked: 25
I listed my MRX-500 in the classified's if anyone is interesed , I ended up picking up a D2 and keeping my XPA-5 for now .

Has anyone compared the ADP 390 v6 to ADP 590 v5

Analog :Preamp: NOS Valves NBS Preamplifier, Amps: NOS Valves VRD mono blocks - VPI Classic 2 Soundsmith Zephyr MK/II VPI 16.5
Digital :Auralic Vega , Auralic Aries
Speakers :Selah Audio Tempesta's
a1usedcomp is offline  
post #11625 of 16718 Old 08-05-2012, 11:03 AM
AVS Special Member
 
jayray's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Mississauga, Canada
Posts: 4,708
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 25
Quote:
Originally Posted by jonalan0323 View Post

Not being snippy, just very disappointed in their lack of customer service. This is coming from a guy who works in this area at my day job. They could at the very least acknowledge receipt of my email. I know my clients would not be very happy if I ignored them for a week.
I sent another email yesterday. Since it was Saturday, I don't expect a response until Monday.

It's a civic holiday here on Monday so they may not be there. Tuesday may be more realistic.
John

Jayray
Read the FAQs
jayray is offline  
post #11626 of 16718 Old 08-05-2012, 01:17 PM
Member
 
vkowalski1970's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Carol Stream, IL
Posts: 136
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 23
Quote:
Originally Posted by a1usedcomp View Post

I listed my MRX-500 in the classified's if anyone is interesed , I ended up picking up a D2 and keeping my XPA-5 for now .
Has anyone compared the ADP 390 v6 to ADP 590 v5

Does the warranty transfer?
vkowalski1970 is offline  
post #11627 of 16718 Old 08-05-2012, 03:23 PM
Advanced Member
 
a1usedcomp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Janesville WI
Posts: 754
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 14 Post(s)
Liked: 25
No the warranty dont transfer from what I understand

Analog :Preamp: NOS Valves NBS Preamplifier, Amps: NOS Valves VRD mono blocks - VPI Classic 2 Soundsmith Zephyr MK/II VPI 16.5
Digital :Auralic Vega , Auralic Aries
Speakers :Selah Audio Tempesta's
a1usedcomp is offline  
post #11628 of 16718 Old 08-05-2012, 05:19 PM
AVS Special Member
 
audit13's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Toronto
Posts: 1,669
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 24
Quote:
Originally Posted by vkowalski1970 View Post

Does the warranty transfer?

From the Anthemav.com website: Warranty is transferable only if the product is traded-in and re-sold by an Authorized Anthem Dealer.
audit13 is offline  
post #11629 of 16718 Old 08-05-2012, 05:30 PM
Senior Member
 
kzhtoo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 274
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 17
How much better AVM50v and D2v over MRX series in terms of sound quality? Is the price increase justified or at least close to it?
kzhtoo is offline  
post #11630 of 16718 Old 08-05-2012, 05:51 PM
AVS Special Member
 
audit13's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Toronto
Posts: 1,669
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 24
Quote:
Originally Posted by kzhtoo View Post

How much better AVM50v and D2v over MRX series in terms of sound quality? Is the price increase justified or at least close to it?

I can't afford either of these units but I would assume the sound quality would be better since ARC applies equalization to frequencies above 5k.
audit13 is offline  
post #11631 of 16718 Old 08-05-2012, 06:07 PM
AVS Special Member
 
jayray's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Mississauga, Canada
Posts: 4,708
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 25
Quote:
Originally Posted by audit13 View Post

I can't afford either of these units but I would assume the sound quality would be better since ARC applies equalization to frequencies above 5k.

ARC has twice the processing than in the MRXs as well. I haven't compared my MRX 500 to my D2v, but have heard my MRX 500 with speakers very close to mine and let's just say I won't be selling my D2v anytime soon.biggrin.gif
John
George Fire Eagl likes this.

Jayray
Read the FAQs
jayray is offline  
post #11632 of 16718 Old 08-05-2012, 07:10 PM
Senior Member
 
kzhtoo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 274
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Understand the ARC differences. But I'd think that there's gotta be more to it than ARC such as pre-amp, DAC quality, etc, given the big price jump.
kzhtoo is offline  
post #11633 of 16718 Old 08-05-2012, 07:32 PM
Member
 
crazzycanuck's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: GTA
Posts: 54
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have just updated my firmware to 50.24 and I have a question. I put a movie on from 1953 that was playing through my cable box, I used the audio button to scroll through the audio options. The display shows Dolby D 2/0 and when I scroll through my options of sound fields all channel stereo is not available. Under setup I have 2.0 set to all channel stereo and 2.0 Dolby Digital Surround is set at last used.

Why can I not see all channel when scrolling using the audio button to select it if I want it?

Also, I would like to verify that all of the individual files were updated to current levels. I'm showing the following when I press the audio button:

MCU F/W Version v50.24

Video version v 50.11

DSP 1 version v 40.11

DSP 2 version v 50.04

MM F/W version v 1.1.0

F/W Release Date 06/25/2012

I think I would like to write an email to Anthem requesting they display audio changes on the fly on screen for a future firmware release



Thanks all for your input
crazzycanuck is offline  
post #11634 of 16718 Old 08-05-2012, 09:19 PM
AVS Special Member
 
jayray's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Mississauga, Canada
Posts: 4,708
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 25
Quote:
Originally Posted by kzhtoo View Post

Understand the ARC differences. But I'd think that there's gotta be more to it than ARC such as pre-amp, DAC quality, etc, given the big price jump.

The build quality is much different. You can see what went in to the statement pre/pros on the Anthem site.
John

Jayray
Read the FAQs
jayray is offline  
post #11635 of 16718 Old 08-05-2012, 10:53 PM
Member
 
tubeheadEL34's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Hamilton, Ontario
Posts: 158
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by jayray View Post

ARC has twice the processing than in the MRXs as well. I haven't compared my MRX 500 to my D2v, but have heard my MRX 500 with speakers very close to mine and let's just say I won't be selling my D2v anytime soon.biggrin.gif
John

Which speakers did you compare and were they in the same room, powered by same equipment?
tubeheadEL34 is offline  
post #11636 of 16718 Old 08-05-2012, 11:22 PM
AVS Special Member
 
jayray's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Mississauga, Canada
Posts: 4,708
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 25
Quote:
Originally Posted by tubeheadEL34 View Post

Which speakers did you compare and were they in the same room, powered by same equipment?

We ran studio 60s, cc690, Servo 15 sub and axiom surrounds. Rooms were similar and the mrx500 powered everything. The sound was excellent compared to the Denon 4310 we swapped out. The D2v in my HT has studio 100s, cc690, Sub 25 and PSB S50 side and back channels. Clearly the law of diminishing returns apply but the ound is phenomenal in anyone's opinion who has heard it.
John

Jayray
Read the FAQs
jayray is offline  
post #11637 of 16718 Old 08-06-2012, 05:21 AM
Member
 
fidelrod's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 19
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi,

one question: if a use separates music/movie settings, movie: 5.1 and music: 2.1 with the same speakers, position, etc. Does ARC allocate the not used resources in the center and sourround in the music setting to the fronts and sub?.

Thanks
fidelrod is offline  
post #11638 of 16718 Old 08-06-2012, 07:01 AM
Member
 
vkowalski1970's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Carol Stream, IL
Posts: 136
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 23
Quote:
Originally Posted by audit13 View Post

From the Anthemav.com website: Warranty is transferable only if the product is traded-in and re-sold by an Authorized Anthem Dealer.

Guess I will be buying new.......
vkowalski1970 is offline  
post #11639 of 16718 Old 08-06-2012, 07:13 AM
Senior Member
 
hydrotex's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Modesto, CA
Posts: 200
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Zone 2 operation. I finally got my outdoors speakers mounted under the patio. I can't get Zone 2 working. I confirmed the speakers are working, continuity of the wires (mounted in the ceiling and not accessible). I turned on Zone 2, selected Zone 2 as the Auxiliary output, picked different sources to feed zone 2. Nothing. What am I missing?
hydrotex is offline  
post #11640 of 16718 Old 08-06-2012, 07:23 AM
Advanced Member
 
saeyedoc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: San Antonio
Posts: 976
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 17 Post(s)
Liked: 29
Quote:
Originally Posted by hydrotex View Post

Zone 2 operation. I finally got my outdoors speakers mounted under the patio. I can't get Zone 2 working. I confirmed the speakers are working, continuity of the wires (mounted in the ceiling and not accessible). I turned on Zone 2, selected Zone 2 as the Auxiliary output, picked different sources to feed zone 2. Nothing. What am I missing?
What are you using as sources? Zone 2 only works with analog inputs.
saeyedoc is offline  
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors

Tags
Anthem Mrx500 , Anthem Mrx300 , Anthem Mrx700 , Receivers Amplifiers , Component Amplifiers , 3d Hdtv , Speaker Systems
Gear in this thread - Mrx500 by PriceGrabber.com

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off