Anthem MRX Receivers - 300, 500, 700 Owners Thread & Tweaking Guide - Page 409 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #12241 of 16672 Old 09-12-2012, 02:08 PM
Senior Member
 
rwheelwright's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 411
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 33 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Quote:
Originally Posted by yanknuck View Post

I had a "odd" experience last night. I had my 500 on watching some TV, no probs. Then I was wattching/listening a few songs BD of Neil Young's Americana album, no probs. Then I started watching a few of the "extras". On the 2nd & 3rd one there was no audio, and I didn't think anything of it at the time because it was a take off on old silent movies (kinda funny actually looking back at it). Then when I switched back to TV, no sound. Switched to the tuner, then Internet radio and it was a static white noise. So, I powered down, waitied a minute, started it back up again, and all was fine.
I wasn't quite sure what to make of it. It's the only time I've had any issues with my MRX, other than operator error. Hopefully just an isolated incident.

I have had this happen a few times. When the codec switches the sound goes out and the only way to get it back is to turn off and back on. I have no solution at the moment. With that being said, I did not contact Anthem.
rwheelwright is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #12242 of 16672 Old 09-12-2012, 02:26 PM
Member
 
vkowalski1970's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Carol Stream, IL
Posts: 136
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 23
Quote:
Originally Posted by rwheelwright View Post

I have had this happen a few times. When the codec switches the sound goes out and the only way to get it back is to turn off and back on. I have no solution at the moment. With that being said, I did not contact Anthem.

Are you running the latest firmware? I havent had that issue at all....
vkowalski1970 is offline  
post #12243 of 16672 Old 09-12-2012, 05:14 PM
Senior Member
 
rwheelwright's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 411
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 33 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Quote:
Originally Posted by vkowalski1970 View Post

Are you running the latest firmware? I havent had that issue at all....

Yes. I had it happen when I was running 50.12 and now 50.25. Weird. What is really weird is it only happens so far on Star Trek. First it was with the DVDs and now since it is out on BD it has happened a few times on different disks. Havne't been using that TV often since I don't have the time so it hasn't happened more.
rwheelwright is offline  
post #12244 of 16672 Old 09-13-2012, 09:13 AM
Senior Member
 
yanknuck's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Peterborough, ON
Posts: 218
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 12
I'm embarrassed to say, I'm not running the latest firmware. I think I'm two revs behind. It's just such a pain for me to do...unhook the desktop, run the upgrade, then reconnect the desktop. With that being said, it's the only time the audio went out. If I get a chance this weekend, I will makes sure she's got the latest firmware.

"I'd start a revolution, if I could just get out of bed." -fetters
yanknuck is offline  
post #12245 of 16672 Old 09-13-2012, 03:05 PM
AVS Special Member
 
audit13's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Toronto
Posts: 1,669
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 24
Quote:
Originally Posted by yanknuck View Post

I'm embarrassed to say, I'm not running the latest firmware. I think I'm two revs behind. It's just such a pain for me to do...unhook the desktop, run the upgrade, then reconnect the desktop. With that being said, it's the only time the audio went out. If I get a chance this weekend, I will makes sure she's got the latest firmware.

By not running the latest firmware, your sub and surrounds may not be receiving ARC correction.
audit13 is offline  
post #12246 of 16672 Old 09-13-2012, 05:59 PM
AVS Special Member
 
scirica's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Dallas, TX1
Posts: 1,688
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 36 Post(s)
Liked: 104
Quote:
Originally Posted by audit13 View Post

By not running the latest firmware, your sub and surrounds may be be receiving ARC correction.


I think you meant may "not" be receiving ARC correction.

McIntosh MX121. McIntosh MC205. Focal Aria 948 Main Speakers, Aria CC900 Center. Focal Electra IC 1002 In-Ceiling Surrounds. Paradigm Studio Sub 15. Oppo BDP-105D. Roku XS. Roku 3. Apple TV(3). DirecTV. Panasonic TC-P65VT50. Samsung UN40FH6030F, URC MX-780.
My current SACD list
scirica is online now  
post #12247 of 16672 Old 09-13-2012, 06:01 PM
AVS Special Member
 
audit13's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Toronto
Posts: 1,669
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 24
Quote:
Originally Posted by scirica View Post

I think you meant may "not" be receiving ARC correction.

You are correct redface.gif I fixed my original post.
audit13 is offline  
post #12248 of 16672 Old 09-14-2012, 07:29 AM
Senior Member
 
yanknuck's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Peterborough, ON
Posts: 218
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by audit13 View Post

By not running the latest firmware, your sub and surrounds may not be receiving ARC correction.
Toggling ARC on/off, I can definitely tell the difference that ARC makes. smile.gif

"I'd start a revolution, if I could just get out of bed." -fetters
yanknuck is offline  
post #12249 of 16672 Old 09-14-2012, 09:25 AM
Member
 
NathanD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Canada
Posts: 32
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Where did Anthems Website go ?

CONTEST ~ EPSON ~ PIONEER ~ AMAZON ~ WIN
NathanD is offline  
post #12250 of 16672 Old 09-14-2012, 09:50 AM
AVS Special Member
 
jayray's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Mississauga, Canada
Posts: 4,708
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 25
Quote:
Originally Posted by NathanD View Post

Where did Anthems Website go ?

It's there now.
John

Jayray
Read the FAQs
jayray is offline  
post #12251 of 16672 Old 09-14-2012, 03:16 PM
AVS Special Member
 
audit13's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Toronto
Posts: 1,669
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 24
Quote:
Originally Posted by yanknuck View Post

Toggling ARC on/off, I can definitely tell the difference that ARC makes. smile.gif

That's good to know. Which firmware are you running?
audit13 is offline  
post #12252 of 16672 Old 09-14-2012, 05:02 PM
Senior Member
 
Spurrier Sucks's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: On Top
Posts: 443
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 133
Quote:
Originally Posted by audit13 View Post

By not running the latest firmware, your sub and surrounds may not be receiving ARC correction.
I have to update.eek.gif Im running 50.23.
Spurrier Sucks is online now  
post #12253 of 16672 Old 09-14-2012, 05:21 PM
AVS Special Member
 
audit13's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Toronto
Posts: 1,669
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 24
Quote:
Originally Posted by Spurrier Sucks View Post

I have to update.eek.gif Im running 50.23.

Definitely. I was running 50.19 before upgrading to the latest firmware. With 50.19, I didn't have any problems with ARC.

I think ARC was affected in firmware releases between 50.19 and 50.25.
audit13 is offline  
post #12254 of 16672 Old 09-14-2012, 10:47 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Tigger!'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Nashua, NH
Posts: 1,452
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 21
Quote:
Originally Posted by audit13 View Post

Definitely. I was running 50.19 before upgrading to the latest firmware. With 50.19, I didn't have any problems with ARC.
I think ARC was affected in firmware releases between 50.19 and 50.25.

+1, And not everyone was affected. You have to love firmware!

Please, before you ask a question about...
General Information on the MRX Series: See the First post here.
Technical Information including using ARC: See the "FAQ" post here.
Tigger! is offline  
post #12255 of 16672 Old 09-15-2012, 07:15 AM
Senior Member
 
yanknuck's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Peterborough, ON
Posts: 218
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by audit13 View Post

That's good to know. Which firmware are you running?
50.12
I've been slacking to be sure. When I saw some of the problems people were having, I hesitated to upgrade. Now that all seems fairly stable, I will upgrade in the near future.

"I'd start a revolution, if I could just get out of bed." -fetters
yanknuck is offline  
post #12256 of 16672 Old 09-15-2012, 06:31 PM
Senior Member
 
Spurrier Sucks's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: On Top
Posts: 443
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 133
Do I need to re run ARC after FW update or just install FW and I'm done?
Spurrier Sucks is online now  
post #12257 of 16672 Old 09-15-2012, 06:39 PM
AVS Special Member
 
audit13's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Toronto
Posts: 1,669
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 24
Quote:
Originally Posted by Spurrier Sucks View Post

Do I need to re run ARC after FW update or just install FW and I'm done?

No need to re-run ARC. Just update the firmware and you're good to go.
audit13 is offline  
post #12258 of 16672 Old 09-15-2012, 07:08 PM
AVS Special Member
 
ninja12's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 1,196
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by Spurrier Sucks View Post

Do I need to re run ARC after FW update or just install FW and I'm done?

Quote:
Originally Posted by audit13 View Post

No need to re-run ARC. Just update the firmware and you're good to go.
+1. If you want, you can just re-upload your current ARC File since you already have the cable connected. You don't have to; but, it will not hurt anything. Your choice. biggrin.gif
ninja12 is offline  
post #12259 of 16672 Old 09-15-2012, 07:34 PM
Senior Member
 
Spurrier Sucks's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: On Top
Posts: 443
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 133
Quote:
Originally Posted by audit13 View Post

No need to re-run ARC. Just update the firmware and you're good to go.

Quote:
Originally Posted by ninja12 View Post

+1. If you want, you can just re-upload your current ARC File since you already have the cable connected. You don't have to; but, it will not hurt anything. Your choice. biggrin.gif
Thanks.
Spurrier Sucks is online now  
post #12260 of 16672 Old 09-15-2012, 09:24 PM
Member
 
birthdaymonkey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 15
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have audio synch problems after getting a new Panasonic ST50 Plasma. My old Samsung LCD had a lot more processing lag, so it was never an issue with that display. Unfortunately, the problem is that the video is now faster than the audio, and the lip synch functionality of the receiver will only delay the audio, not the video. My media player doesn't have any way of changing the setting either. I have a bad feeling that I'm SOL here.

EDIT: Forgot to mention, MRX 300 here.
birthdaymonkey is offline  
post #12261 of 16672 Old 09-16-2012, 09:40 AM
AVS Special Member
 
audit13's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Toronto
Posts: 1,669
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 24
Quote:
Originally Posted by birthdaymonkey View Post

I have audio synch problems after getting a new Panasonic ST50 Plasma. My old Samsung LCD had a lot more processing lag, so it was never an issue with that display. Unfortunately, the problem is that the video is now faster than the audio, and the lip synch functionality of the receiver will only delay the audio, not the video. My media player doesn't have any way of changing the setting either. I have a bad feeling that I'm SOL here.
EDIT: Forgot to mention, MRX 300 here.

Which media player and you using and what is your source material? Does the problem occur with all sources and source material?
audit13 is offline  
post #12262 of 16672 Old 09-16-2012, 10:47 AM
Member
 
NeogeoG's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 123
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Hy, in the past Ive had a Denon 2808 that had a very nice sound with music and movies, last year I upgraded to Onkyo 809 that sounds very similar but is lacking a bit in the music department compared to the Denon, now after asking in diferent forums I have come across the Anthem mrx 500 which everyone sais its got incredible sound with music and movies and one of the best EQ around (ARC), so I am almost ready to order mine, but ive read in this post http://www.avsforum.com/t/1294645/anthem-mrx-500-vs-denon-avr-2311ci that some Anthem owners are experiancing static noise from theis speakers, of course reading in any kind of receiver threads its normal to find some people with problems, but I would like to make sure that this ist a common problem with most units and I would like to know your experience on this matter.

Thanks and greetings from Spain.
NeogeoG is offline  
post #12263 of 16672 Old 09-16-2012, 11:47 AM
Member
 
vkowalski1970's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Carol Stream, IL
Posts: 136
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 23
Quote:
Originally Posted by NeogeoG View Post

Hy, in the past Ive had a Denon 2808 that had a very nice sound with music and movies, last year I upgraded to Onkyo 809 that sounds very similar but is lacking a bit in the music department compared to the Denon, now after asking in diferent forums I have come across the Anthem mrx 500 which everyone sais its got incredible sound with music and movies and one of the best EQ around (ARC), so I am almost ready to order mine, but ive read in this post http://www.avsforum.com/t/1294645/anthem-mrx-500-vs-denon-avr-2311ci that some Anthem owners are experiancing static noise from theis speakers, of course reading in any kind of receiver threads its normal to find some people with problems, but I would like to make sure that this ist a common problem with most units and I would like to know your experience on this matter.
Thanks and greetings from Spain.


I have a 500 with no issues. I also upgraded from an onkyo 709 which also lacked in the music side. The anthem is far superior on both sides not just music, much more detail in movies also!!!!
vkowalski1970 is offline  
post #12264 of 16672 Old 09-16-2012, 12:07 PM
Member
 
NeogeoG's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 123
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by vkowalski1970 View Post

I have a 500 with no issues. I also upgraded from an onkyo 709 which also lacked in the music side. The anthem is far superior on both sides not just music, much more detail in movies also!!!!

Thanks for anwering, I am really hoping that this receiver will be good and stay in my home for a few years, the Onkyo has a good price and its very complete, but I really miss the better music sound of my Denon, its not a huge diference but its still a step down and I am hoping to at least equal or surpas the sound with the Anthem MRX-500, tomorrow I will order it and will post my impresions as soon as I get some time with it.

Greetings to everyone and hope to be another satisfied Anthem customer.smile.gif
NeogeoG is offline  
post #12265 of 16672 Old 09-16-2012, 12:47 PM
Member
 
NeogeoG's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 123
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
8) Include some front/back positioning difference as well as side to side in your choice of locations. So for example, if you have a single row of seating as with a sofa, rather than having all 5 positions in line along the back of the sofa, swing the outer two positions in closer to the screen by about the depth of the sofa seat cushion. This is the "arc" configuration:

4...............................................5
..................................................
..........2..............1............3.........

If that was a sofa, mic positions 4 and 5 would typically be just OUTSIDE the sofa arms on each side and positioned towards the front of the seat cushion. If the sofa is flush to a rear wall, then mic positions 1, 2, and 3 might have to be shifted forward to try to keep, say, 12 inches of distance from the rear wall.

With two rows of seating, a common choice is the "box" configuration where mic position #1 is behind the first row and in front of the second row:

4................................................5
...................................................
.........................1........................
...................................................
......2....................................3......

If you use more mic positions because you have a large seating area, just follow the same basic practice in picking the additional locations. For example, here's a typical 7 location "box":

6.................................................7
....................................................
.........2...............1.............3..........
....................................................
4.................................................5

Ive been reading about how to setup the Anthem 500 and how to do the ARC EQ, but I dont know where I should put the microphone after step 3 since I dont have space behind the couch, here are some pictures of my HC.

eliteaesthet6.jpg

img9985n.jpg

salaeliteaesthet6a.jpg
NeogeoG is offline  
post #12266 of 16672 Old 09-16-2012, 12:49 PM
Member
 
birthdaymonkey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 15
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
It seems worse in some videos than in others. I'm using a Micca EP600 media player as a source, mostly playing Blu-ray rips. I do have a PC and a WDTV player that I can try as well. I'll hook those up and test to see if the lip synch problem is common to all sources.
birthdaymonkey is offline  
post #12267 of 16672 Old 09-16-2012, 01:18 PM
Member
 
NeogeoG's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 123
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by birthdaymonkey View Post

It seems worse in some videos than in others. I'm using a Micca EP600 media player as a source, mostly playing Blu-ray rips. I do have a PC and a WDTV player that I can try as well. I'll hook those up and test to see if the lip synch problem is common to all sources.

It would be great if you could try those and tell us how it went, I have a Ps3 and Dune SMART D1, hope I dont have the same problem if not I would have to return the receiver and get something else:(, but its strange that Ive read a lot of forums of people with the receiver, and you are the first person that is reporting this problem, hope you find a solution and that the problem is your source.
NeogeoG is offline  
post #12268 of 16672 Old 09-16-2012, 01:19 PM
Advanced Member
 
Shrike645's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Cambridge, Ont
Posts: 761
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by NeogeoG View Post

Ive been reading about how to setup the Anthem 500 and how to do the ARC EQ, but I dont know where I should put the microphone after step 3 since I dont have space behind the couch, here are some pictures of my HC.
eliteaesthet6.jpg
img9985n.jpg
salaeliteaesthet6a.jpg

Use the first mic layout. 1,2,3 are along the couch with 1 in the center. Mic positions 4,5 are in front of the couch closer to the speakers.
Shrike645 is offline  
post #12269 of 16672 Old 09-16-2012, 01:24 PM
Member
 
NeogeoG's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 123
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Use the first mic layout. 1,2,3 are along the couch with 1 in the center. Mic positions 4,5 are in front of the couch closer to the speakers.

Thanks, I will try that as soon as a get my new toy:D, really eager te hear how this receiver sounds, hope its as good as they say.smile.gif
NeogeoG is offline  
post #12270 of 16672 Old 09-16-2012, 02:25 PM
Member
 
NeogeoG's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 123
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Sorry for asking again, but which do you think is best, like this:
....................................................
.........2...............1.............3..........
....................................................
4.................................................5


or like this:
....................................................
.........2...............1.............3..........
....................................................
...............4.................5................
NeogeoG is offline  
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors

Tags
Anthem Mrx500 , Anthem Mrx300 , Anthem Mrx700 , Receivers Amplifiers , Component Amplifiers , 3d Hdtv , Speaker Systems
Gear in this thread - Mrx500 by PriceGrabber.com

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off