Anthem MRX Receivers - 300, 500, 700 Owners Thread & Tweaking Guide - Page 552 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #16531 of 16546 Old 07-11-2014, 08:04 PM
AVS Special Member
 
grasshoppers's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: aridzona
Posts: 1,409
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 31 Post(s)
Liked: 114
Quote:
Originally Posted by 04rex View Post
Thanks Legairre. You were right. I had to change them to none, now it works fine. I appreciate it!!
Yep, Legairre knows his stuff, no doubt about that!!
grasshoppers is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #16532 of 16546 Old 07-11-2014, 08:57 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Legairre's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Posts: 4,765
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 56
Quote:
Originally Posted by 04rex View Post
Thanks Legairre. You were right. I had to change them to none, now it works fine. I appreciate it!!
Always glad to help. Make sure you set them to PLIIx in the Listening Mode Presets menu or your 5.1 movies won't use the two center backs. If you set them as follows your 5.1 movies will use all 7 speakers and so will your 7.1 movies.

2.0 Dolby Digital Surround - PLIIx Movie
Muilti Channel PCM - PLIIx Movie
5.1 Dolby Digital - PLIIx Movie
Doldy Digital Surround EX - None
5.1 DTS - Last Used
DTS-ES- None

"What do you mean it's too loud? My ears aren't even bleeding yet!"

Legairre is offline  
post #16533 of 16546 Old 07-11-2014, 09:02 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Legairre's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Posts: 4,765
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 56
Quote:
Originally Posted by grasshoppers View Post
Yep, Legairre knows his stuff, no doubt about that!!
Grasshoppers, thanks for the kind words. After all the DTS MSTR 7.1 defaulting to 5.1 stuff earlier this year, I finally figured out how to always get all 7 speakers working.

"What do you mean it's too loud? My ears aren't even bleeding yet!"

Legairre is offline  
post #16534 of 16546 Old 07-12-2014, 07:01 AM
Advanced Member
 
04rex's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 554
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 20 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Will do Legairre. Thanks again!!
04rex is offline  
post #16535 of 16546 Old 07-18-2014, 05:00 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Crescent's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Posts: 1,341
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Valid Microphone?

I have had my MRX 300 for a while now. I'm trying to do a re-calibration due to the fact that I got a new subwoofer. It started running some sweeps, but then shows the message that it can't find a valid microphone. I'm running it on Win 7. The last time I ran ARC successfully was on XP. I searched the forum, but only got four hits. One guy said that Anthem said the mic was bad but there was no follow up. Any help would be appreciated.
Crescent is offline  
post #16536 of 16546 Old 07-18-2014, 11:50 PM
Senior Member
 
rwheelwright's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 364
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by Crescent View Post
I have had my MRX 300 for a while now. I'm trying to do a re-calibration due to the fact that I got a new subwoofer. It started running some sweeps, but then shows the message that it can't find a valid microphone. I'm running it on Win 7. The last time I ran ARC successfully was on XP. I searched the forum, but only got four hits. One guy said that Anthem said the mic was bad but there was no follow up. Any help would be appreciated.
Did you make sure device manager saw the MIC and did you make sure you have the MIC file copied?
rwheelwright is offline  
post #16537 of 16546 Old 07-19-2014, 04:01 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Crescent's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Posts: 1,341
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 11
i installed arc 3.02 from the web. Uninstalled it. Installed it from the CD and then updated from the web. At first, device manager did not see the device. I pointed it to the folder where I extracted ARC and it worked for a while. Then in the middle of running sweeps, it gave the error. I could not get it recognized no matter what I did even though I pointed the driver install to the same folder.

Any help on how to fix it?

Last edited by Crescent; 07-19-2014 at 03:11 PM.
Crescent is offline  
post #16538 of 16546 Old 07-19-2014, 10:07 PM
Senior Member
 
rwheelwright's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 364
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Liked: 15
No idea. I haven't had any issues running. Maybe a bad cable?
rwheelwright is offline  
post #16539 of 16546 Old 07-20-2014, 06:29 AM
Senior Member
 
AV_mike's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 260
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 36
Quote:
Originally Posted by Crescent View Post
i installed arc 3.02 from the web. Uninstalled it. Installed it from the CD and then updated from the web. At first, device manager did not see the device. I pointed it to the folder where I extracted ARC and it worked for a while. Then in the middle of running sweeps, it gave the error. I could not get it recognized no matter what I did even though I pointed the driver install to the same folder.

Any help on how to fix it?
When I had an MRX300, I found that the microphone connection could be really touchy, make sure you are using the cable that came with the kit - I also found that the micro-USB connector was NOT the same as some other devices. I could NOT us the much longer cable that came with my Paradigm PBK kit microphone (it just did not work at all) even though it initially looked identical - close inspection showed a different profile to the internal plastic moldings.

Try disconnecting and re-connecting the microphone at both ends of the cable -once you get it working.................don't touch the mic connection until you complete the ARC run (tape it to the boom arm to stop it moving about as you move the mic from one position to another).

If you suspect a 'bad device' install, then :-
Restart the laptop, connect the mic, go to Control Panel - Device Manager, tell Windows to uninstall the driver associated with the ARC-1 mic, power-down the laptop, disconnect the mic, restart the laptop, allow it to fully start and become idle, now reconnect the mic, Windows should reinstall the driver - now start ARC.
Regards, Mike.
AV_mike is online now  
post #16540 of 16546 Old 07-20-2014, 08:26 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Crescent's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Posts: 1,341
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Thanks Mike. I'll give it a shot. But for now my new subwoofer amp just died, so I'm going to wait to try and rerun ARC. It's supposed to be fixed Monday. I'll report back.
Crescent is offline  
post #16541 of 16546 Old 07-20-2014, 01:02 PM
Senior Member
 
rwheelwright's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 364
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Liked: 15
My mic and cable are the same for both pbk and arc. I use one cable and switch mics and never had a problem. Also I do not use a USB to serial adapter for arc. I have a doc for my laptop that has a serial port.
rwheelwright is offline  
post #16542 of 16546 Old Yesterday, 01:15 PM
Newbie
 
CptSpig's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: California
Posts: 10
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Advanced Options in ARC

I have three JBL Synthesis LS120P subwoofers. Frequency response is 25 Hz to 150 Hz. Attached are two of my ARC runs. The first is what ARC did naturally. The second is advance options 4th order and subwoofer high pass frequency at 25. This looks flat down to 25 hz will this cause damage to my subwoofers?

Thanks, Eddie
Attached Images
File Type: png Chart1.png (30.9 KB, 14 views)
File Type: png Chart2.png (30.8 KB, 14 views)
CptSpig is offline  
post #16543 of 16546 Old Yesterday, 03:46 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Legairre's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Posts: 4,765
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 56
You shouldn't need to use 4th order. You should use Flat and set your sub's "LFE/Normal" switch to LFE and then turn your sub's crossover up to 150Hz (it's highest setting.). In your first graph the sub is rolling off steeply at 50Hz, which is the lowest setting of your crossover on the back of the sub. This tells me that the sub's crossover is still active and that's why you have that drop off at 50Hz when using Flat. Give that a try and let me know if I can help further.

"What do you mean it's too loud? My ears aren't even bleeding yet!"

Legairre is offline  
post #16544 of 16546 Old Yesterday, 04:26 PM
Newbie
 
CptSpig's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: California
Posts: 10
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Thanks for the reply. All the subs are switched to LFE and set to 150 Hz the highest setting. If I set the subs to Flat only being capable down to 25Hz. Will that damage the subs?

Eddie
CptSpig is offline  
post #16545 of 16546 Old Yesterday, 05:11 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Legairre's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Posts: 4,765
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 56
Hi Eddie, nope it won't hurt the subs at all. You subs will roll off naturally below 25Hz and you'll see the roll off in the graph. ARC will automatically detect your subs lowest Hz and set the roll off there.

"What do you mean it's too loud? My ears aren't even bleeding yet!"

Legairre is offline  
post #16546 of 16546 Old Yesterday, 07:18 PM
Newbie
 
CptSpig's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: California
Posts: 10
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Thanks
CptSpig is offline  
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors

Tags
Anthem Mrx500 , Anthem Mrx300 , Anthem Mrx700 , Receivers Amplifiers , Component Amplifiers , 3d Hdtv , Speaker Systems
Gear in this thread

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off