Anthem MRX Receivers - 300, 500, 700 Owners Thread & Tweaking Guide - Page 555 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #16621 of 16636 Old 10-12-2014, 07:21 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by grasshoppers View Post
According to your graphs you are already getting
Solid output at 20hz. You have your EQ set to flat too.
Ok, thanks again
macario12 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #16622 of 16636 Old 10-12-2014, 07:35 AM
AVS Special Member
 
audit13's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Toronto
Posts: 1,669
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 24
Quote:
Originally Posted by chilliking View Post
I just bought a 2nd hand MRX500. I wish to use it in my PC music set up as follows:

monitor -> PC -> soundcard -> avr -> speakers

Unfortunately, I've run into a problem already. My monitor does not have and HDMI port (my graphics card does but I guess that it HDMI out not in?).

I won't be running HDMI all the time. I simply intend to use SPDIF to make the connection from soundcard to avr. But, to get the settings correct and to do ARC I need to be able to see the GUI in my monitor.

One option I thought of would be to buy a HDMI to DVI connector. Would this work or would I run into problems?

Or are there any better options? Would plugging the AVR HDMI out to my graphics card HDMI port work?

By the way - I tried to e-mail Anthem via their webform but I get an error every time I try to submit it - does anyone know their e-mail address?
If you are using a Win7 machine, the best way to set things up would be to connect like this:

PC --hdmi-->MRX--HDMI/DVI adapter-->Monitor and run through the set up routine.

Once it has been set up, do this:

connect video card to the monitor via dvi. Set the monitor as your main monitor in

connect video card to mrx via hdmi. Extend the desktop to the mrx in Win7. Set audio output device as mrx.

This is what I did with my htpc and my mrx500. I use it to playback music and movies.
audit13 is offline  
post #16623 of 16636 Old 10-15-2014, 04:13 AM
Newbie
 
spirosgon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Good Morning from Greece,

Tonight the mrx 500 is going to be permantly installed in my rack ...I' ve spent several hours, these last days, trying to read this thread, but I do have much distance to go up to page 555 ...

I have a simple question : Initially, if you had only a 5.1 speaker system, you couldn't use the 6th and 7th channel to bi-power your front speakers (something my current Pioneer vsx 921 does) ... Do you happen to know if this fact changed and can be done via a firmware update ?

Thanks for the attention !

Spiros
spirosgon is offline  
post #16624 of 16636 Old 10-15-2014, 08:13 PM
AVS Special Member
 
grasshoppers's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: aridzona
Posts: 1,681
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 125 Post(s)
Liked: 152
Quote:
Originally Posted by spirosgon View Post
Good Morning from Greece,

Tonight the mrx 500 is going to be permantly installed in my rack ...I' ve spent several hours, these last days, trying to read this thread, but I do have much distance to go up to page 555 ...

I have a simple question : Initially, if you had only a 5.1 speaker system, you couldn't use the 6th and 7th channel to bi-power your front speakers (something my current Pioneer vsx 921 does) ... Do you happen to know if this fact changed and can be done via a firmware update ?

Thanks for the attention !

Spiros
The MRX 500 can not bi- power or bi amp.
Sorry!

The new 510 can.
grasshoppers is online now  
post #16625 of 16636 Old 10-15-2014, 09:37 PM
Newbie
 
spirosgon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Thank you for the answer ... I was just hoping that this issue could be fixed with a firmware update, since they handled it with the 510 ...
spirosgon is offline  
post #16626 of 16636 Old Yesterday, 03:26 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 0
OK - here's my first shot at ARC with my new MRX 500. I am running PC (optical out) --> MRX500 --> speakers (2.1). Fronts are B&W 602s3 and Sub is SVS SB2000.

How does this look?

For some reason the crossover seems to have been set at 60Hz small. I think it should have been set to 80Hz?? Certainly, the SVS Merlin tool recommends a x-over at 80Hz.

I read somewhere about setting the sub to flat but can't remember what all that is about and how I try it?
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	2014-10-18 11_21_03-Anthem Room Correction - Anthem Room Correction.jpg
Views:	25
Size:	296.5 KB
ID:	317642  
chilliking is offline  
post #16627 of 16636 Old Yesterday, 08:04 AM
AVS Special Member
 
grasshoppers's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: aridzona
Posts: 1,681
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 125 Post(s)
Liked: 152
Quote:
Originally Posted by chilliking View Post
OK - here's my first shot at ARC with my new MRX 500. I am running PC (optical out) --> MRX500 --> speakers (2.1). Fronts are B&W 602s3 and Sub is SVS SB2000.

How does this look?

For some reason the crossover seems to have been set at 60Hz small. I think it should have been set to 80Hz?? Certainly, the SVS Merlin tool recommends a x-over at 80Hz.

I read somewhere about setting the sub to flat but can't remember what all that is about and how I try it?
Please post up your targets screen and speaker levels.
Your subwoofer graph looks very good and the sub appears
To be in a "good spot". You could set the sub response to
"Flat" if you want to,but it already looks pretty flat down low.

I am concerned about your speaker graphs, in particular the
Left speaker. The response from 50hz to 100 hz has a huge
Dip in it and a very large unnatural peak at a 120hz

You may need to move the speaker around to get it to
Even out a bit. Make sure the speakers have room behind
Them and are away from side wall.

Post a pic if you want.
grasshoppers is online now  
post #16628 of 16636 Old Yesterday, 08:53 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by grasshoppers View Post
Please post up your targets screen and speaker levels.
Your subwoofer graph looks very good and the sub appears
To be in a "good spot". You could set the sub response to
"Flat" if you want to,but it already looks pretty flat down low.

I am concerned about your speaker graphs, in particular the
Left speaker. The response from 50hz to 100 hz has a huge
Dip in it and a very large unnatural peak at a 120hz

You may need to move the speaker around to get it to
Even out a bit. Make sure the speakers have room behind
Them and are away from side wall.

Post a pic if you want.
Hi grasshoppers - you mean these screens?
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	2014-10-18 16_48_19-Target Customization.jpg
Views:	17
Size:	76.3 KB
ID:	318082   Click image for larger version

Name:	2014-10-18 16_48_42-Advanced Target Customization.jpg
Views:	15
Size:	24.8 KB
ID:	318090  
chilliking is offline  
post #16629 of 16636 Old Yesterday, 09:28 AM
AVS Special Member
 
grasshoppers's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: aridzona
Posts: 1,681
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 125 Post(s)
Liked: 152
Quote:
Originally Posted by chilliking View Post
Hi grasshoppers - you mean these screens?
Correct..if you want to set your subwoofer to
Flat do that on the drop down menu on the smaller
Screen shot where it says "subwoofer high pass
Order". Change from auto to flat.

You need to try and correct your speaker graphs
If you can. If you are not able to move them around
I would raise the crossover on the speakers from 60hz
Up to 80 hz.
grasshoppers is online now  
post #16630 of 16636 Old Yesterday, 10:40 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by grasshoppers View Post
Correct..if you want to set your subwoofer to
Flat do that on the drop down menu on the smaller
Screen shot where it says "subwoofer high pass
Order". Change from auto to flat.

You need to try and correct your speaker graphs
If you can. If you are not able to move them around
I would raise the crossover on the speakers from 60hz
Up to 80 hz.
Noted, thanks mate. I'm kinda stuck with the speakers where they are (you're correct in that they are close to a wall) due to limited space in an odd shaped room.

Do I change the x-over in the MRX menu rather than ARC? Does ARC not override it if I do that?
chilliking is offline  
post #16631 of 16636 Old Yesterday, 11:53 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Legairre's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Posts: 4,794
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 60
Quote:
Originally Posted by spirosgon View Post
Thank you for the answer ... I was just hoping that this issue could be fixed with a firmware update, since they handled it with the 510 ...
Unfortunately since the new x10 models came out they have stopped releasing updates for out x00 series, so we won't be seeing any new firmware updates.

"What do you mean it's too loud? My ears aren't even bleeding yet!"

Legairre is online now  
post #16632 of 16636 Old Yesterday, 12:01 PM
AVS Special Member
 
grasshoppers's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: aridzona
Posts: 1,681
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 125 Post(s)
Liked: 152
Quote:
Originally Posted by chilliking View Post
Noted, thanks mate. I'm kinda stuck with the speakers where they are (you're correct in that they are close to a wall) due to limited space in an odd shaped room.

Do I change the x-over in the MRX menu rather than ARC? Does ARC not override it if I do that?
Change the speaker crossover in ARC,re-calculate and upload
Back into the MRX.
grasshoppers is online now  
post #16633 of 16636 Old Yesterday, 07:49 PM
Senior Member
 
JustABrah's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Can-A-Duhhhh
Posts: 271
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 37 Post(s)
Liked: 60
For the phase control that's just the distance for the sub right?
JustABrah is online now  
post #16634 of 16636 Old Today, 04:22 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 0
What is the guidance on setting the response cutoffs? These seem to be different to x-over settings but I can't quite grasp what I should be setting the response cutoffs to.
chilliking is offline  
post #16635 of 16636 Old Today, 12:52 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 0
On another note, I have my PC hooked up to my MRX500. I am using SPDIF (toslink). 48000 Hh files play but 44100 Hz do not? Surely the MRX supports 44100 Hz, so I'm a bit stumped?
chilliking is offline  
post #16636 of 16636 Old Today, 05:29 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Thanks for all the information....
andy28_sd is offline  
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors

Tags
Anthem Mrx500 , Anthem Mrx300 , Anthem Mrx700 , Receivers Amplifiers , Component Amplifiers , 3d Hdtv , Speaker Systems
Gear in this thread - Mrx500 by PriceGrabber.com

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off