Anthem MRX Receivers - 300, 500, 700 Owners Thread & Tweaking Guide - Page 558 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #16711 of 16720 Old 12-25-2014, 08:42 AM
AVS Special Member
 
grasshoppers's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: aridzona
Posts: 2,030
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 262 Post(s)
Liked: 183
Quote:
Originally Posted by dacaesar View Post
I have absolutely nothing connected, and it was not plugged in for a long time before I tried again and still same result. I hope this isn't a complete fail!
Sorry to hear that...doesn't sound good to me.
grasshoppers is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #16712 of 16720 Old 12-25-2014, 08:19 PM
Member
 
Zinkeh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 53
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hah, you guys are scaring me away from buying my 510! Well...not really but it does sound like this thing has a bit of a learning curve. Really been looking forward to the MRX-510 for a long time as my low end Yamaha just isn't doing it for me.

Been saving for 7 months now and I've actually got the money in hand. Sadly there are only 3 dealers I know of in the Northern Wi. area:

One is 2 hours away. Full retail, no negotiation

One is 45 minutes away but insists on absolute full retail for the 510 while only having last years models on display so I cannot see or listen to it. Also wants to talk more about the 250+ dollar audioquest cables that I "really should buy".

The last place is just across town. This is also the place where I bought my Monitor 11, center, and atom rears so I figured I'd be able to haggle the price on a 510 but it's a no go there too.

I didn't think Anthem had a price freeze but these folks either steadfastly adhere to a full retail price or argue that there is simply no margin to work with. I just feel that full retail is ridiculous on any product. They are not selling it to me, they are not demonstrating it...etc they are simply ordering it...

Am I expecting too much?
Zinkeh is offline  
post #16713 of 16720 Old 12-25-2014, 08:51 PM
AVS Special Member
 
grasshoppers's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: aridzona
Posts: 2,030
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 262 Post(s)
Liked: 183
^^^^you should be able to get a discount.
10 to 15 percent. I would think the place you
Got your speakers would help you. That's BS.

I would suggest maybe taking good old cash in
Hand with you.

Business practices like this are why the 2
Paradigm dealers nearest to me went out
Of business.

PS- I was able to get my mrx300 at 13% discount
3 or 4 years back. They do have room to work,
Just greedy or desperate.
Zinkeh likes this.
grasshoppers is offline  
post #16714 of 16720 Old 12-26-2014, 01:27 PM
Member
 
Red Devil 24's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Laval, Qc Canada
Posts: 138
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 16
I got 15% off msrp on my 510 a year ago
Zinkeh likes this.

Red Devil 24 is offline  
post #16715 of 16720 Old Yesterday, 02:03 PM
Member
 
stsand's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 49
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Liked: 38
I'm hoping someone here can help me with ARC calibration.

My computer was not able to find the 500, so after talking with Anthem tech support, I ordered the TrippLite USA-19HS. After installing the driver on my laptop, I tried running ARC. I keep getting the message, "Measurement procedure failed. Could not find a valid Anthem processor."

I set the baud rate to match the processor, and tried to find more help online. No luck. Any assistance is much appreciated.

Thanks,

S.T.
stsand is online now  
post #16716 of 16720 Old Yesterday, 04:46 PM
AVS Special Member
 
grasshoppers's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: aridzona
Posts: 2,030
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 262 Post(s)
Liked: 183
Quote:
Originally Posted by stsand View Post
I'm hoping someone here can help me with ARC calibration.

My computer was not able to find the 500, so after talking with Anthem tech support, I ordered the TrippLite USA-19HS. After installing the driver on my laptop, I tried running ARC. I keep getting the message, "Measurement procedure failed. Could not find a valid Anthem processor."

I set the baud rate to match the processor, and tried to find more help online. No luck. Any assistance is much appreciated.

Thanks,

S.T.
There was some info on page 557... Did you check it out?
If you can't figure it out call Anthem Tech and please let us
Know what's going on!!!
grasshoppers is offline  
post #16717 of 16720 Old Yesterday, 06:19 PM
Member
 
stsand's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 49
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Liked: 38
Quote:
Originally Posted by grasshoppers View Post
There was some info on page 557... Did you check it out?
If you can't figure it out call Anthem Tech and please let us
Know what's going on!!!
Thanks for the reply. I did check out that page prior to posting in the thread. I'm going to try a different laptop, although I doubt it'll make any difference. I'll keep poking around.......hopefully something will do the trick. Monday and the opportunity to talk to Anthem tech support just seems so far away.
stsand is online now  
post #16718 of 16720 Old Yesterday, 06:30 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Legairre's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Posts: 4,873
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 51 Post(s)
Liked: 73
Quote:
Originally Posted by stsand View Post
Thanks for the reply. I did check out that page prior to posting in the thread. I'm going to try a different laptop, although I doubt it'll make any difference. I'll keep poking around.......hopefully something will do the trick. Monday and the opportunity to talk to Anthem tech support just seems so far away.
Go into device manager and make sure the Triplite is on ports 1 through 6. If it's on any other port you will get the failed message.

"What do you mean it's too loud? My ears aren't even bleeding yet!"

Legairre is offline  
post #16719 of 16720 Old Today, 12:16 AM
Member
 
stsand's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 49
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Liked: 38
Quote:
Originally Posted by Legairre View Post
Go into device manager and make sure the Triplite is on ports 1 through 6. If it's on any other port you will get the failed message.
It's on Port 8. I've spent far too long trying to figure out how to change it to another port. No idea. To say I'm frustrated............

I do appreciate the assistance. I'm sure it's a simple fix, but I haven't found it yet. The ports 3-5 still show as being assigned to the first RS-232 cable I had before purchasing the Tripp-Lite. Port 6 is assigned to Bluetooth.
stsand is online now  
post #16720 of 16720 Old Today, 02:33 AM
Member
 
stsand's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 49
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Liked: 38
Well, after some more poking around on the Web, I managed to reset my com ports so that the Tripp-Lite RS-232 is now communicating from port 3, but this did not produce any better results. My laptop is still not able to communicate with the processor.
stsand is online now  
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors

Tags
Anthem Mrx500 , Anthem Mrx300 , Anthem Mrx700 , Receivers Amplifiers , Component Amplifiers , 3d Hdtv , Speaker Systems
Gear in this thread - Mrx500 by PriceGrabber.com



Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off