Anthem MRX Receivers - 300, 500, 700 Owners Thread & Tweaking Guide - Page 569 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 36Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #17041 of 17062 Old 01-10-2017, 03:11 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Legairre's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Posts: 5,797
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 484 Post(s)
Liked: 275
Quote:
Originally Posted by BEACHIN' CHRIS View Post
Thank you for your prompt reply.

Here's the settings:

TV: HDMI3/HDMI3
SAT:HDMI4/HDMI4

These are different as the audio settings on those inputs (before default) were Coax. If I could access menu and change settings, I'd be golden.

Thanks again.
Maybe I'm not understand this. So you can access the MRX the onscreen menu through your TV but you just can't change the audio?

So if you go into Menu >> Audio/Video Setup and Presets >> Main Source Setup you should be able to change the "Main Audio Input" from HDMI or HDMI4 to what ever you like.

"What do you mean it's too loud? My ears aren't even bleeding yet!"


Last edited by Legairre; 01-10-2017 at 03:28 PM.
Legairre is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #17042 of 17062 Old 01-12-2017, 10:33 AM
Senior Member
 
Nodscene's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Canada
Posts: 207
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 123 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Hi guys, I have a very quick question for you. From what I understand (or may be misreading), ARC only goes as high as 5k, is there an eq or anywhere where you can make adjustments to frequencies higher than that? I pretty much always have to cut in the 10+khz range so I need to make sure the MRX 500 is capable of doing that.

Thank you,

David.

Make something idiot-proof, and they will build a better idiot
Nodscene is offline  
post #17043 of 17062 Old 01-12-2017, 10:46 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Legairre's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Posts: 5,797
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 484 Post(s)
Liked: 275
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nodscene View Post
Hi guys, I have a very quick question for you. From what I understand (or may be misreading), ARC only goes as high as 5k, is there an eq or anywhere where you can make adjustments to frequencies higher than that? I pretty much always have to cut in the 10+khz range so I need to make sure the MRX 500 is capable of doing that.

Thank you,

David.
Correct ARC1 for the x00 generation will only EQ from 20Hz-5kHz. ARC2 for the x10 and x20 generation will EQ 15Hz-5kHz. If you need you need to EQ the higher or lower frequencies you'd have to use something like REW and a miniDSP with UMIK mic.

"What do you mean it's too loud? My ears aren't even bleeding yet!"

Legairre is offline  
 
post #17044 of 17062 Old 01-12-2017, 11:05 AM
Senior Member
 
Nodscene's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Canada
Posts: 207
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 123 Post(s)
Liked: 17
That seems really strange that there isn't at least some sort of eq aside from ARC that doesn't do the regular 20-20 adjustments. I can understand why ARC had those restrictions (processing power etc) but that's kinda crazy being restricted to those frequencies. Why wouldn't they just add a parametric eq outside of ARC to adjust those frequencies, practically every cheap receiver can at least do that. It's a bit of a big deal as I have issue with the higher frequencies and getting headaches etc. I guess I could probably adjust those easily enough with REW and a UMIK mic (which I already own which is nice but then I'd need to buy more equipment which defeats what I'm trying to do haha).

Make something idiot-proof, and they will build a better idiot
Nodscene is offline  
post #17045 of 17062 Old 01-13-2017, 02:46 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
audit13's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Toronto
Posts: 1,755
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 36 Post(s)
Liked: 33
I had the mrx500 and moved to the mrx310.

I'm not sure what your issues are but I was able to resolve the issue of frequencies above 5k by using sounds panels and carpets.

If you need to Eq the entire frequency spectrum with ARC, you'd have to move to a much higher-end Anthem product.

Last edited by audit13; 01-30-2017 at 06:00 PM.
audit13 is offline  
post #17046 of 17062 Old 01-15-2017, 02:48 PM
Newbie
 
12SHiko's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Ok so new question for anybody out there.

Due to some special circumstances right now I only have 1 center speaker connected to my MRX700. Is there any way to properly set that up? Like turning off all the other channels somehow?
12SHiko is offline  
post #17047 of 17062 Old 01-15-2017, 03:47 PM
Senior Member
 
Julio Castrejon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 232
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 131 Post(s)
Liked: 25
Went from the 300 to the 510 and honestly, I like the sound from the 300 better. While the audio quality is very slightly improved on the Gen 2 X10, the bass is just not as good as Gen 1. I want to hear the bass coming from my 12" floorstanding speakers with the subwoofer doing the harder work, and the 300 does it so well that it fills the room with bass for movies, while the 510 failed to do that. For music is the same, the 300 does a whole lot better at the sub bass level than the 510 can ever hope of doing. What I like about the 510 though, is the neutrality that it has and it clearly demonstrates this with its musical capabilities, it just does a better job in being able produce every instrument at a clearer level.
Julio Castrejon is offline  
post #17048 of 17062 Old 02-02-2017, 02:59 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Posts: 38
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 22 Post(s)
Liked: 3
Been reading this thread for a while. Around post 14,450.
Bought a used MRX 700 while I was in Afghanistan.
Hoped to make it through the thread before I got home, but didn't make it.

Set up with LCR and sub tonight. Plan to use ARC/QM to locate the surround/rears.

But hit a snag setting up tonight. RF chanel is not correct. No mid or bass, just tweeter. And even with the level set to +12 it's not as loud as the LF and C (set to 0). Swapped wire at MRX and it's definately the MRX not the speakers/wires.

I don't recall a similar problem mentioned.
Plan to try a reset tomorrow. FW is 50.25

Unit was supposed to include USB-RS232 adapter but it's not in the package (used by previous owner) so updates/ARC are on hold.

Last edited by ST Dog; 02-20-2017 at 08:46 AM.
ST Dog is online now  
post #17049 of 17062 Old 02-02-2017, 06:41 AM
Senior Member
 
jmacari's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 326
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 102 Post(s)
Liked: 102
Quote:
Originally Posted by ST Dog View Post
Beem reading this thread for a while. Around post 14,450.
Bought a used MRX 700 while I was in Afghanistan.
Hoped to make it through the thread before I got home, but didn't make it.

Set up with LCR and sub tonight. Plan to use ARC/QM to locate the surround/rears.

But hit a snag setting up tonight. RF chanel is not correct. No mid or bass, just tweeter. And even with the level set to +12 it's not as loud as the LF and C (set to 0). Swapped wire ate MRX and it's definately the MRX not the speakers/wires.

I don't recall a similar problem mentioned.
Plan to try a reset tomorrow. FW is 50.25

Unit was supposed to include USB-RS232 adapter but it's not in the package (used by previous owner) so updates/ARC are on hold.
This is the adapter i use-
https://www.amazon.com/Tripp-Lite-Ke...-rs232+adapter

If the reset don't work, give Anthem support a call.....

Anthem MRX-500,Outlaw 7500 5ch amp
Oppo BDP-103, Sony XBR-65X930D, Rotel RP-855, Phillips BDP-7501
Paradigm Studio 100 Fronts,Paradigm Studio ADP-590 Surrounds
Paradigm Studio cc-590 Center, Martin Logan Dynamo subwoofer, DefTech Supercube 4000
Roku Ultra, DIRECTV Genie DVR, OPPO Sonica DAC
jmacari is offline  
post #17050 of 17062 Old 02-02-2017, 03:43 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Posts: 38
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 22 Post(s)
Liked: 3
Quote:
Originally Posted by jmacari View Post
This is the adapter i use-
https://www.amazon.com/Tripp-Lite-Ke...-rs232+adapter

If the reset don't work, give Anthem support a call.....
Well, reset a few times. No change.

Checked the other channels closer and the center has some static and the L AUX channel is quiet too.

Center static is constant level, not dependent on volume setting.
I don't hear it from 5 ft away, but it is there when up close, like when playing with the wires earlier.

L AUX isn't as quiet as the R Front, and appears to have mid/bass.

I called and Anthem says send it in for service. $130 minimum fee plus shipping each way.

Seller is sending the adapter that was supposed to be included. Should be here Sat.
I'll see what info I can glean from ARC and I decide the path forward.

Another $200 in repairs kind of kills the great deal.

I had been watching all 3 of the first gen models because I need 2 composite video inputs (still use my LD and VHS) which the x10 and x20 lines are lacking. Not to mention having to get the 510+ or 720+ for 7 amp channels.

I got the 700 for less than many 300s and 500s sell for.
Still a good deal if repairs are too expensive, just not what I was expecting.

Upgrading a system I bought in 1999. Monitor 7s, CC-170v2, PDR-12, and Atom v2 surrounds powered by a Pioneer VSX-D608. Adding a second pair of Atom V2s for rear channels. Just replaced the foam surround on the sub and need to do them on the center as well, possible the Atoms (have yet to look at them close).

I've been running 3.1 since I moved in 2010 trying to decide where to put the surrounds and wanting to go to 7.1. ARC/QM would make it easier to locate them where they work best.
ST Dog is online now  
post #17051 of 17062 Old 02-03-2017, 05:35 AM
Senior Member
 
jmacari's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 326
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 102 Post(s)
Liked: 102
Quote:
Originally Posted by ST Dog View Post
Well, reset a few times. No change.

Checked the other channels closer and the center has some static and the L AUX channel is quiet too.

Center static is constant level, not dependent on volume setting.
I don't hear it from 5 ft away, but it is there when up close, like when playing with the wires earlier.

L AUX isn't as quiet as the R Front, and appears to have mid/bass.

I called and Anthem says send it in for service. $130 minimum fee plus shipping each way.

Seller is sending the adapter that was supposed to be included. Should be here Sat.
I'll see what info I can glean from ARC and I decide the path forward.

Another $200 in repairs kind of kills the great deal.

I had been watching all 3 of the first gen models because I need 2 composite video inputs (still use my LD and VHS) which the x10 and x20 lines are lacking. Not to mention having to get the 510+ or 720+ for 7 amp channels.

I got the 700 for less than many 300s and 500s sell for.
Still a good deal if repairs are too expensive, just not what I was expecting.

Upgrading a system I bought in 1999. Monitor 7s, CC-170v2, PDR-12, and Atom v2 surrounds powered by a Pioneer VSX-D608. Adding a second pair of Atom V2s for rear channels. Just replaced the foam surround on the sub and need to do them on the center as well, possible the Atoms (have yet to look at them close).

I've been running 3.1 since I moved in 2010 trying to decide where to put the surrounds and wanting to go to 7.1. ARC/QM would make it easier to locate them where they work best.
...tough call to make....

If Anthem can fix it for a decent charge, I think it would be worth it.

I have had my MRX-500 for 3 years now; i have upgraded just about everything in its path (4K, Sony TV, 4K BR player, Roku Ultra 4 K streamer)...the only drawback is that it doesn't do HDMI 2/2.1 for ARC HDMI/4K pass thru, but not a big deal for me. Also, no Atmos, but I am still on the fence for that to justify purchase of Anthem 720.

I just really appreciate what my 500 does for most signal paths, especially music streamed or via my Oppo 103.

so, in the end, I guess see what Anthem can do for you....

Anthem MRX-500,Outlaw 7500 5ch amp
Oppo BDP-103, Sony XBR-65X930D, Rotel RP-855, Phillips BDP-7501
Paradigm Studio 100 Fronts,Paradigm Studio ADP-590 Surrounds
Paradigm Studio cc-590 Center, Martin Logan Dynamo subwoofer, DefTech Supercube 4000
Roku Ultra, DIRECTV Genie DVR, OPPO Sonica DAC
jmacari is offline  
post #17052 of 17062 Old 02-03-2017, 09:19 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Posts: 38
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 22 Post(s)
Liked: 3
Quote:
Originally Posted by jmacari View Post
I have had my MRX-500 for 3 years now; i have upgraded just about everything in its path (4K, Sony TV, 4K BR player, Roku Ultra 4 K streamer)...the only drawback is that it doesn't do HDMI 2/2.1 for ARC HDMI/4K pass thru, but not a big deal for me. Also, no Atmos, but I am still on the fence for that to justify purchase of Anthem 720.
Upgrades are not really on the horizon.
As you can tell I'm not one to fix what ain't broke.

Sub would likely be the next big change. I know the PDR-12 isn't great, especially in my 15x21x12 room.

Maybe a 1080p display when the 720 plasma dies. Or even 4k depending on what's available then. I got the 720p display in '10/'11 when it got difficult/expensive to repair the 36" CRT bought in '99.
ST Dog is online now  
post #17053 of 17062 Old 02-10-2017, 11:07 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Posts: 38
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 22 Post(s)
Liked: 3
So, I have an email in to Anthem so I can send it in.

It's sicker than I first though. Finally got a working adapter (Tripp-Lite the Prolific based one I was sent didn't work) so I could use ARC.

So the RF is about 20db down compared to the LF and C.
I couldn't run ARC as the RF was too quiet and ARC gave errors.

Noticed some background static in the center as well. Think it's in the amp because it's constant volume, not tied to the volume knob.

Also the Left Back is a little quiet, but full range (no missing bass like the RF).

But, all channels are a bit quiet. 9ft from my Monitor 7s and CC-170 I'm only getting 60dB with quick measure from the LF and C.

Think I may hook up 3.1 outs and use my Pioneer (5x100) for comparison and see if the RF problem is in the preamp or amp section. Will also allow for running ARC to hear what it does from my room. Also can use quick measure to look at speaker placement for the surrounds and rears as thgat's room based and not amplifier dependent.


Also tried emailing Nick and Piero but the email addresses I had bounced
ST Dog is online now  
post #17054 of 17062 Old 02-13-2017, 05:55 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Posts: 38
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 22 Post(s)
Liked: 3
Quote:
Originally Posted by ST Dog View Post
Think I may hook up 3.1 outs and use my Pioneer (5x100) for comparison and see if the RF problem is in the preamp or amp section. Will also allow for running ARC to hear what it does from my room.
Finally got some time to try this. Removing the MRX amps appears to clear up the issues. Volume set to -10db on the Pioneer and everything sound like expected.

Still need to run ARC with this configuration as it was too late last night when I finally got it all hooked up.


HopefullyI'll hear from Anthem soon with return instructions.

Last edited by ST Dog; 02-14-2017 at 01:04 PM.
ST Dog is online now  
post #17055 of 17062 Old 02-15-2017, 11:27 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Posts: 38
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 22 Post(s)
Liked: 3
Well, Anthem estimates $500+ for parts to replace the amplifier board
(Plus $40-50 for shipping each way and $130 labor)

I can try to find a good 7 channel amp (any suggestions?), use 2 channels on the MRX (if I can find 2 that work well) and use with a 5 channel amp or my old 5.1 AVR, or I can look for another MRX-x00.

The 300 would have plenty of power for my needs. Or a decent 7 channel amp or combo of amps with similar power.
ST Dog is online now  
post #17056 of 17062 Old 02-15-2017, 01:03 PM
Senior Member
 
jmacari's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 326
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 102 Post(s)
Liked: 102
Quote:
Originally Posted by ST Dog View Post
Well, Anthem estimates $500+ for parts to replace the amplifier board
(Plus $40-50 for shipping each way and $130 labor)

I can try to find a good 7 channel amp (any suggestions?), use 2 channels on the MRX (if I can find 2 that work well) and use with a 5 channel amp or my old 5.1 AVR, or I can look for another MRX-x00.

The 300 would have plenty of power for my needs. Or a decent 7 channel amp or combo of amps with similar power.
tough call.......$500 could probably buy you a good, working MRX 300 or 500, online somwhere (Audiogon, usaudiomart, hifishark, etc) or a nearby Anthem dealer......

$500 is a lot to invest in a first generation AVR; finding a decent 5 ch amp for little money could be a choice or, like you said, go with your old 5.1 AVR, i.e., try it, see what it sounds like.....

Anthem MRX-500,Outlaw 7500 5ch amp
Oppo BDP-103, Sony XBR-65X930D, Rotel RP-855, Phillips BDP-7501
Paradigm Studio 100 Fronts,Paradigm Studio ADP-590 Surrounds
Paradigm Studio cc-590 Center, Martin Logan Dynamo subwoofer, DefTech Supercube 4000
Roku Ultra, DIRECTV Genie DVR, OPPO Sonica DAC
jmacari is offline  
post #17057 of 17062 Old 02-16-2017, 09:13 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Posts: 38
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 22 Post(s)
Liked: 3
Quote:
Originally Posted by jmacari View Post
tough call.......$500 could probably buy you a good, working MRX 300 or 500, online somwhere (Audiogon, usaudiomart, hifishark, etc) or a nearby Anthem dealer......
I was originally going to get a 300 and found the 700 for a great price (~$500) similar to the best I had been seen the 300 sell for, while most all of the MRX receivers were priced over $800.

Lesson learned. Don't be impatient. Only buy when able to test things out withing the eBay buyer protection window.

I found a MRX-300 for less than the repair is likely to cost. Should have it early next week. Once I see how it performs in the room I'll decide a path forward for the 700.

Sadly, the nearest Anthem dealer is a considerable drive. Lots of custom system installers near me, ut none stock anything from Anthem or Paradigm.

Quote:
$500 is a lot to invest in a first generation AVR; finding a decent 5 ch amp for little money could be a choice or, like you said, go with your old 5.1 AVR, i.e., try it, see what it sounds like.....
$500 (parts) + $130 (labor) + shipping 2 ways.

I'm fine with a first gen MRX. Actually prefer it because of the features not in new AVRs (like analog video support). In 3-4 years I'd have no qualms about spending that much to keep it going.

But adding $500+ to the $500 I paid for the unit right off the top? That's a tough one. If it could be fixed for $200-300 total, it'd just mean I got it for the going rate instead of a good deal.

A 5 channel amp (or old AVR) would be a stop gap as part of the point here was to get 7.1 Even bought new speakers to expand. That also was assuming I can find 2 good channels on the AVR, but how long before they are no longer good?

If the the 300 I have coming works well, I may send the 700 to Anthem just to see the cost. If reasonable pay it, if not they keep it. I also might try to sell the 700 as a pre-processor first.


So, I'll be back with graphs later. I was pleasantly surprised at how my PDR-12 measured. The room is 15 x 21 w/ 12ft ceiling (3500+ cu ft).
ST Dog is online now  
post #17058 of 17062 Old 02-20-2017, 11:49 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Posts: 38
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 22 Post(s)
Liked: 3
Quote:
Originally Posted by ST Dog View Post
So, I'll be back with graphs later. I was pleasantly surprised at how my PDR-12 measured. The room is 15 x 21 w/ 12ft ceiling (3500+ cu ft).
Here are the graphs for the 3.1 setup using the MRX-700 as a processor and my old Pioneer as an amp.

Center looks wonky because the foam on the drivers needs replaced.
Have the parts, was trying to locate my other Atoms to check the foam on them so I could do all at once.

Fronts set for 60Hz, Center for 120 Hz, and the sub for 120Hz.
I turned the room gain down to 2.5 (instead of 3.45) and disabled the center for Music (2.1 config).
Level on the sub was a bit high (trim at -7) I'll fix when I run for 7.1 with the new receiver.

So the new receiver arrived (MRX-300) and works great. Played with positioning for the 4 surrounds and I spots that looked decent. Have to check with the wife then mount. Once mounted I'll figure out the wiring and get some materials ordered. I figure it'll be a few weeks before that all happens.


I wonder if the amplifier board on the 300 is the same as the 700 (just the power supply changed?). @Nick@Anthem; care to chime in?

Would be cool to just swap the amp board and have the extra power of the 700. I looked at the 700 though and getting it out would be a real pain though. It's buried at the bottom, so everything else would have to come out first.

Guess I'll put the 700 up for sale as a processor. Maybe I can get a few hundred for it. (No ARC kit and only the main remote).
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	3.1 run 1 calc 2.png
Views:	17
Size:	109.5 KB
ID:	1983345  

Last edited by ST Dog; 02-21-2017 at 08:53 AM.
ST Dog is online now  
post #17059 of 17062 Old Yesterday, 11:20 AM
Member
 
Britcanuck's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 141
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 12
MRX 300 - Center & Left Surround Back Low Volume

Hi Everyone,

Hoping you can help me out with a problem with my MRX 300. I've noticed lately that my center channel is coming through much quieter, and I've had to turn up the volume to compensate (normally listen around -25dB, now -10dB). I thought I'd load up ARC and re-calibrate the system and the microphone would not pick up the center channel, it's test tone was also much quieter than the left channel. I skipped the center on the next sweep when it didn't register, and that's when the left surround back didn't register either; the right channel, surround L&R and surround back right were fine. The message on my laptop after the center and left back surround sweep was "Measurement was not able to acquire a proper response (code 0x03)".

I also have the left and right channels plugged into an external amplifier so don't know if they'll be an issue if I plug them directly into the receiver. I have a horrible feeling my amp section could be going, and I'm going to be hunting for a new receiver soon. Does this sound familiar to anyone?
Thanks for your help.

EDIT: I see a similar problem reading back up the thread a bit, looks like my amp section is going.

Xbox Live: Barrelcounter

Last edited by Britcanuck; Yesterday at 11:57 AM.
Britcanuck is offline  
post #17060 of 17062 Old Yesterday, 04:42 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Posts: 38
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 22 Post(s)
Liked: 3
Quote:
Originally Posted by Britcanuck View Post
Hi Everyone,

Hoping you can help me out with a problem with my MRX 300. I've noticed lately that my center channel is coming through much quieter
Certainly sounds similar to what I just experienced with a MRX-700.

You could do a quick comparison using the test tone and connecting the center pre-out to the amp you're using on the front channels.

It may just be one weak channel. They might just repair the amplifier, though it sounds like Anthem only swaps boards.

An alternative might be to try a 3rd party shop that would try to repair the board. Harder w/o the schematics, but not impossible (depending on the problem). The hardest part is finding a competent shop for such work these days.
ST Dog is online now  
post #17061 of 17062 Old Yesterday, 05:43 PM
Member
 
Britcanuck's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 141
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by ST Dog View Post
Certainly sounds similar to what I just experienced with a MRX-700.

You could do a quick comparison using the test tone and connecting the center pre-out to the amp you're using on the front channels.

It may just be one weak channel. They might just repair the amplifier, though it sounds like Anthem only swaps boards.

An alternative might be to try a 3rd party shop that would try to repair the board. Harder w/o the schematics, but not impossible (depending on the problem). The hardest part is finding a competent shop for such work these days.
Unfortunately the left surround back channel is doing the same thing. Also, I think the HDMI board is going too. If someone flips a light on, the screen goes all purple and the sound cuts out. The picture comes back on and the sound does sometimes too. If it doesn't, I just cycle between inputs and it works again.

I bit the bullet and bought a Yamaha RXA-860 as the 720 is out of my budget (since I need pre-outs and more than five channels). The Yammy doesn't sound quite as good, guess I'll have to live with it for now.

Thanks for responding.

Xbox Live: Barrelcounter
Britcanuck is offline  
post #17062 of 17062 Old Yesterday, 11:07 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Posts: 38
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 22 Post(s)
Liked: 3
Quote:
Originally Posted by Britcanuck View Post
Unfortunately the left surround back channel is doing the same thing. Also, I think the HDMI board is going too.

I bit the bullet and bought a Yamaha RXA-860 as the 720 is out of my budget (since I need pre-outs and more than five channels). The Yammy doesn't sound quite as good, guess I'll have to live with it for now.
I'd make you a deal on a 700 that would make a great per-processor if you have a way to amplify all the channels. No issues with the HDMI board.

I'd use it but just don't have the space or the funds for 7 channels of external amplification.
ST Dog is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors

Tags
Anthem Mrx500 , Anthem Mrx300 , Anthem Mrx700 , Receivers Amplifiers , Component Amplifiers , 3d Hdtv , Speaker Systems
Gear in this thread

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off