Can't get sound from Marantz A/V to Sonos - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Baselworld is only a few weeks away. Getting the latest news is easy, Click Here for info on how to join the Watchuseek.com newsletter list. Follow our team for updates featuring event coverage, new product unveilings, watch industry news & more!


Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 5 Old 01-02-2011, 08:13 AM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
Ejmc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Atlanta
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have a new Sonos system that I am trying to hook up to my Marantz AV receiver (SR7001) I can't seem to get any sound out thru the multi out or through the preamp out. Does anybody have any idea how I can get a line out to my Sonos. I would use the headphone out but that shuts off the sound to the speakers on the Marantz and I am trying to get the sound pumped into multiple rooms.
Ejmc is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 5 Old 01-02-2011, 11:06 PM
Newbie
 
M.Alex's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ejmc View Post

I have a new Sonos system that I am trying to hook up to my Marantz AV receiver (SR7001) I can't seem to get any sound out thru the multi out or through the preamp out. Does anybody have any idea how I can get a line out to my Sonos. I would use the headphone out but that shuts off the sound to the speakers on the Marantz and I am trying to get the sound pumped into multiple rooms.

What you try to do?! If you want to get sound from Marantz just connect pre-out to line in on sonos, if you want to connect sonos to the system just connect line out from sonos to any available input on receiver. But to understand completely you need to explain what you try to do with your system .
M.Alex is offline  
post #3 of 5 Old 01-03-2011, 06:52 AM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
Ejmc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Atlanta
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I found out that I need to connect all my devices to the Marantz with analog cables. I am currently only using digital connections (HDMI)
Ejmc is offline  
post #4 of 5 Old 01-03-2011, 10:40 AM
Newbie
 
M.Alex's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ejmc
I found out that I need to connect all my devices to the Marantz with analog cables. I am currently only using digital connections (HDMI)
Of course! multi out just analog audio.
M.Alex is offline  
post #5 of 5 Old 01-03-2011, 07:07 PM
Senior Member
 
fuzzybk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 474
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Liked: 18
I would use a digital co ax cable from the Sonos to your Marantz. This way you are using the DAC's in the Marantz instead of the ones in the Sonos for better music reproduction.

Cheers from the Great White North.
My gear: ANTHEM AVM50v, STATEMENT A5 - ARCAM DV139, CD17 - PANASONIC 65VT30 (THX Calibrated) - SONY BDP-S5000ES - PANAMAX 5500EX - M&K V1250THX sub - TANNOY EYRIS DC3, DCC, DC1 - AUDIOQUEST Cables - SHUNYATA RESEARCH Power cords - HARMONY One - PRIMACOUSTIC Recoil Stabilizers - BLUESOUND Node
fuzzybk is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors



Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off