SC-35 and Panasonic plasma problem - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 4 Old 01-02-2011, 02:15 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
John DR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
All new equipment--got the Pioneer S-35 and Panasonic 58VT25. Got the TV on the wall and making sure it worked, without all the audio stuff connected.

I have Comcast TV, and put their HDMI 1.3 into HDMI1 input in SC-35. Then went from HDMI out to the TV. Two problems--couldn't get the sound working on the TV and picture went in and out--good and then black for periods.

I called Panasonic, they had me plug the Comcast HDMI 1.3 into the TV--it works fine--solid picture and TV sound, no black outs.

Any ideas???--since I will want the sound going through the SC-35 and out to Paradigm speakers.

I had not done any initial set up to the Pioneer SC-35. Just had it on in case pass through wasn't working.

Thanks for any help/suggestions.

John
John DR is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 4 Old 01-02-2011, 02:34 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
afrogt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: SF Bay Area
Posts: 22,701
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 35 Post(s)
Liked: 346
very common for comcast boxes to have problems with A/V receivers.

First thing tough, you do need to read the manual to make sure you have the receiver configured correctly. That's a very nice and expensive receiver and it doesn't make sense to not to set it up properly.

Second, after you have it configured correctly and HDMI doesn't work, you could run HDMI directly to the TV and just connect the optical output on the cable box to the receiver. The sound would be the same.

But no matter what you do, you need to read the manual.

Afro GT
afrogt is offline  
post #3 of 4 Old 01-02-2011, 04:21 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
John DR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I'm in the process of reading the manual, but figured the receiver should just pass through the HDMI to the TV with no issues. Not sure what the set up will do for that.

John
John DR is offline  
post #4 of 4 Old 02-01-2011, 10:24 AM
Newbie
 
Oldbruin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Pioneer SC-35 and Pany 58S2 with Motorola HD cable box.

Try turning the Pany Viera Link off.

Having some issues myself..let me know how it works out.
Oldbruin is offline  
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off