New to Home Theater systems, thinking of Pioneer 1020k... - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 

Old 01-09-2011, 07:28 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I want to purchase a solid sound system for my home. I'm a total newbie when it comes this stuff.

Room:
I am in a condo, so room I'm considering outfitting is 12'Lx15'Wx10T'.

Current Setup:
I have a Panasonic Viera TH-46PZ80U. I will be getting a newer TV as well in a month. Same size, I was thinking of a Vizio XVT473SV, any advice on this I'm open to as well.

I have Comcast for my HD cable provider and internet.

Xbox360 for gaming.

Uses:
Mainly for movies and gaming. I'm not concerned with 3D TV yet.

Budget:
For the receiver, speakers, and the blu-ray player, I want to try and cap it $1,500. If I could do it for around a $1000, better. I want this to be my starter system into home theater, and I will build up from this.

What I wish to purchase:
1. Receiver - I found a lot of positive reviews for the Pioneer 1020K. The price is also very nice, now at $350 online makes it nice to me.

2. Speakers - I'm pretty clueless. I have heard that the Klipsch 500 series is a good start for 5.1. I have also read that the Energy Take Home Classic 5.1 isn't bad either.

3. Blu Ray - Haven't looked into this yet, so any help would be great.

Any advice about what what receiver, speakers and blu ray setup would be fantastic, as I know there is great wealth of knowledge here. Thank you in advance!
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 01-10-2011, 10:01 AM
AVS Special Member

Liked: 21
so far you have listed "satellite" sized (small) speakers. Can you fit in bookshelf speakers ? The performance of small speakers in a den or bedroom is usually adequate, but they suffer in larger rooms.