Denon 4310ci or 3311ci - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 20 Old 01-12-2011, 10:41 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
realgone's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 81
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
I want to replace my Denon AVR-2802. Obviously one of the main reasons is that my old Denon receiver has no HDMI ports. This was not an issue until moving into our new home and purchasing our first HDTV, a Panasonic TC-P54G25. I have wires everywhere and will eventually be adding more stuff, so I really want to clear up the clutter and HDMI will make this much easier.

We watch Netflix streaming. As many of you know, sometimes the video quality is pretty poor. Upscaling will be important to me. I also want to upscale all the DIRECTV channels that are not in high-def. I am looking forward to this feature and it is probably the most important of all the features. I would like to stream video from a computer, but I don't think any receiver does this, but I am pretty sure I can get an Apple TV for $100 and stream from VUZE on my iMac. I also want something to adequately power our 5 Ascend Sierra-1's. I am sure either of these will work well.

I've heard a little about the 3310's having network issues and don't know if that applies to the 4310's. It appears the issue was for the most part fixed with the 3311's. I will be doing networking. As I read what I am writing, I am thinking that networking is less important as I plan to add some sort of media center to my TV, like a mac mini and that will do the networking and then connect to the receiver.

I was sure I was going to purchase the 3311ci after finding a coupon code that gives $400 off the price, but today I saw the 4310 for $1099 from $1999. Now I am leaning towards that one. It is older, but it is a higher end model. What are the main differences and what would you choose or would you go with another brand all together.

The main thing I want is HDMI, upscaling, video, and sound.

Thank in advance for any help.
realgone is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 20 Old 01-12-2011, 10:50 AM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 43,610
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 597 Post(s)
Liked: 1368
The 3311 has been selling for that price at authorized on-line resellers ever since it was first released last June so no big savings there. If you check the 4310 thread you'll note a number of folks have picked up the 4310 new in box at $550 (less for open box) on clearance at Best Buy/Magnolias in their area. Call around in your region to see if any are still available. And yes, some 4310 units are experiencing the same network card issue as the 3310 units, although replacement is covered under warranty replacement if needed. Also, don't expect much of a difference between the HD DirecTV upscaling of SD channels vs. what the AVR or your TV can do.

---------------------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; shop.avscience.com ; 585-645-1006, AVScience - Authorized dealer for AV Gear 
Mon - Fri: 8am – 8pm EST (Sat/Sun too, will return call if I don't pick up)
Call for pricing on Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Onkyo, Klipsch, Def Tech, Oppo, Parasound 
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #3 of 20 Old 01-12-2011, 11:56 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
realgone's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 81
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
I don't quite understand your last statement about upscaling. As far as I know, my TV does not do upscaling. I would think that watching standard definition through the Denon would be better video quality than I have now since there is no upscaling or video conversion.

I am leaning once again toward the 3311ci. As far as I can tell, the 4310ci does not offer much more than a cool remote. The 3311ci is under $800 and the 4310ci is $1099. Unless there is something I am missing, I think I should just go with the newer model, but still unsure.

I will check my local Best Buy's to see what they have.
realgone is offline  
post #4 of 20 Old 01-13-2011, 05:20 AM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 43,610
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 597 Post(s)
Liked: 1368
Your HD DirecTV box can upscale to 1080p and a 1080p plasma HDTV must upscale any signal it receives to 1080p as that is the only resolution it can display. So you've got 3 sources that can affect the video quality, the sat box, the TV, and the AVR. Which one does it better only you can decide when you have it all hooked up, although as I said, there's not likely to be much difference or improvement with SD channels. If you truly want better SD video quality you need to purchase a dedicated video processor like the DVDO Edge.

---------------------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; shop.avscience.com ; 585-645-1006, AVScience - Authorized dealer for AV Gear 
Mon - Fri: 8am – 8pm EST (Sat/Sun too, will return call if I don't pick up)
Call for pricing on Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Onkyo, Klipsch, Def Tech, Oppo, Parasound 
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #5 of 20 Old 01-13-2011, 09:12 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
realgone's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 81
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdsmoothie View Post

Your HD DirecTV box can upscale to 1080p and a 1080p plasma HDTV must upscale any signal it receives to 1080p as that is the only resolution it can display. So you've got 3 sources that can affect the video quality, the sat box, the TV, and the AVR. Which one does it better only you can decide when you have it all hooked up, although as I said, there's not likely to be much difference or improvement with SD channels. If you truly want better SD video quality you need to purchase a dedicated video processor like the DVDO Edge.

My DirecTV box automatically scales to whatever definition is coming over the TV. If it is 480 it switches to 480, no upscaling or converting that I know of. My TV also does multiple modes and no upscaling or converting that I know of. Am I missing something. A lot of my channels are coming through my TV at 4:3 and not widescreen at all.
realgone is offline  
post #6 of 20 Old 01-18-2011, 09:59 PM
Member
 
NSZteg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: New Hampshire
Posts: 48
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I'm trying to make the same decision, 3311 or 4310.
The 3311 has 3DTV capability, but I doubt I'll be getting one of those, if I ever do it won't be for years, but I was thinking the HDMI 1.4 technology may be used for something else that I may wish to utilize so it would be wise to invest in it now.
The 4310 only has 5 more watts of power, so that's virtually meaningless.
The 4310 has 2 A/C outlets on the back, the 3311 has none.
The 4310 has an HDMI port under the front panel.
The 4310 has more legacy inputs.
I very much like the remote of the 4310 over the 3311. That's somewhat important, you look at it and use it everyday....
I like that the 4310 is made in Japan, the 3311's made in China.

What I don't know about are the processing ability differences between the two.
NSZteg is offline  
post #7 of 20 Old 01-19-2011, 05:17 AM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 43,610
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 597 Post(s)
Liked: 1368
Quote:
Originally Posted by realgone View Post

My DirecTV box automatically scales to whatever definition is coming over the TV. If it is 480 it switches to 480, no upscaling or converting that I know of. My TV also does multiple modes and no upscaling or converting that I know of. Am I missing something. A lot of my channels are coming through my TV at 4:3 and not widescreen at all.

If you have an "HD" DirecTV box, then you have the option of setting it to simply pass through whatever resolution the channel is broadcast in (Native = ON) which is likely the way you have it set. The other option is Native = OFF and a fixed resolution of either 1080i or 1080p. The box then will upscale all incoming resolutions to that fixed setting. Although your TV is able to "accept" multiple resolutions, it is only able to output one (if it's a 1080p TV then that would be 1080p). So as I said previously, there are three possible sources that can be doing the upscaling/deinterlacing ... the DirecTV box, the AVR, or the TV. Only through trying each one can you determine which one does the job better. Many folks let the source do the job and simply pass the video through the AVR to avoid any signal degradation by the AVR.

---------------------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; shop.avscience.com ; 585-645-1006, AVScience - Authorized dealer for AV Gear 
Mon - Fri: 8am – 8pm EST (Sat/Sun too, will return call if I don't pick up)
Call for pricing on Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Onkyo, Klipsch, Def Tech, Oppo, Parasound 
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #8 of 20 Old 01-19-2011, 05:22 AM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 43,610
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 597 Post(s)
Liked: 1368
Quote:
Originally Posted by NSZteg View Post

What I don't know about are the processing ability differences between the two.

They both use Audyssey MultEQ XT so will sound fairly similar, although the 4310 has better components. The remote can easily be replaced by a Harmony remote which is even more ideal than any of the Denon remotes as it is much more user friendly. Choose the model that meets your feature/input requirements keeping in mind the 4310 will likely have to have the network card replaced (if still using the original) and there are some 3311 owner's having network card issues as well.

---------------------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; shop.avscience.com ; 585-645-1006, AVScience - Authorized dealer for AV Gear 
Mon - Fri: 8am – 8pm EST (Sat/Sun too, will return call if I don't pick up)
Call for pricing on Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Onkyo, Klipsch, Def Tech, Oppo, Parasound 
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #9 of 20 Old 01-22-2011, 02:21 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
realgone's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 81
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Can anyone explain the benefit of legacy inputs and will I be able to tell the difference?
realgone is offline  
post #10 of 20 Old 01-22-2011, 03:15 PM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 43,610
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 597 Post(s)
Liked: 1368
Their only benefit is if you have older/dated equipment that requires these inputs, otherwise not required which is why the newer models are moving away from them and include primarily HDMI for the most part.

---------------------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; shop.avscience.com ; 585-645-1006, AVScience - Authorized dealer for AV Gear 
Mon - Fri: 8am – 8pm EST (Sat/Sun too, will return call if I don't pick up)
Call for pricing on Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Onkyo, Klipsch, Def Tech, Oppo, Parasound 
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #11 of 20 Old 02-27-2011, 01:45 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Iusteve's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Northern Indiana
Posts: 3,285
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdsmoothie View Post

If you check the 4310 thread you'll note a number of folks have picked up the 4310 new in box at $550 (less for open box) on clearance at Best Buy/Magnolias in their area


Can you link me to it? For some reason I cant seem to find the darn thread

Irish Copper Top Tavern & Theater

Theater Build Version 2.0 LOOK HERE

Cuzed Approved C.C.C. (Certified Column Counselor)

XBOX Live: Zz NiNj4 D4D zZ
Iusteve is offline  
post #12 of 20 Old 02-27-2011, 04:10 PM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 43,610
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 597 Post(s)
Liked: 1368
Denon 4310 Owner's thread.

---------------------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; shop.avscience.com ; 585-645-1006, AVScience - Authorized dealer for AV Gear 
Mon - Fri: 8am – 8pm EST (Sat/Sun too, will return call if I don't pick up)
Call for pricing on Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Onkyo, Klipsch, Def Tech, Oppo, Parasound 
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #13 of 20 Old 02-27-2011, 05:26 PM
AVS Special Member
 
phantom52's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: TX
Posts: 7,082
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 25 Post(s)
Liked: 83
If your local BB doesn't have any 4310's left, below is the best price I've found.




http://www.onecall.com/product/Denon...iver/_/R-97603
phantom52 is online now  
post #14 of 20 Old 03-28-2011, 06:12 AM
AVS Special Member
 
deepstang's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Dallas-Irving, TX (from Nawlins!)
Posts: 1,708
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
So, is the reliability of the 3311/991 notably better than the 4310??

Also, does the 3311 have better technology and features vs the 4310 BESIDES the fact that the 3311 is "3D" and has HDMI 1.4??
deepstang is offline  
post #15 of 20 Old 03-28-2011, 06:30 AM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 43,610
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 597 Post(s)
Liked: 1368
Not necessarily any better, no. They both have network card issues, although the issue was resolved with the 3311 via a firmware update last month. The only better features the 3311 offers is that it is HDMI 1.4 while the 4310 is HDMI 1.3.

---------------------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; shop.avscience.com ; 585-645-1006, AVScience - Authorized dealer for AV Gear 
Mon - Fri: 8am – 8pm EST (Sat/Sun too, will return call if I don't pick up)
Call for pricing on Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Onkyo, Klipsch, Def Tech, Oppo, Parasound 
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #16 of 20 Old 03-28-2011, 06:37 AM
AVS Special Member
 
deepstang's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Dallas-Irving, TX (from Nawlins!)
Posts: 1,708
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
JDsmoothie, I was hoping you would chime in !

I remember you snatched a 4310 for a steal from BB. I have the opportunity to get a great condition 4310 for may $650. I was debating between that and the 991, or maybe the Oknyo 808. They all have the main features that are important to me (networking, Audyssey, front USB and HDMI connections). HDMI 1.4 is irrelevant to me; however, reliability and technology is. I am familiar with the 3008 issues, and Onkyo's repuatation. I am more focused on the reliability of these specific models (as some models are seen a little more problematic than others).

Thanks!
deepstang is offline  
post #17 of 20 Old 03-28-2011, 06:47 AM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 43,610
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 597 Post(s)
Liked: 1368
Actually no ... I simply told you about the sale that BB/Magnolia was having but never bought one myself. If you don't need HDMI 1.4/3D and don't mind the 4310 being gone a few weeks to get the network card replaced, then it would be the better buy. I wouldn't consider the 991 at all as it doesn't have preouts should you decide to add an external amp at some point.

---------------------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; shop.avscience.com ; 585-645-1006, AVScience - Authorized dealer for AV Gear 
Mon - Fri: 8am – 8pm EST (Sat/Sun too, will return call if I don't pick up)
Call for pricing on Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Onkyo, Klipsch, Def Tech, Oppo, Parasound 
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #18 of 20 Old 03-28-2011, 07:02 AM
AVS Special Member
 
deepstang's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Dallas-Irving, TX (from Nawlins!)
Posts: 1,708
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
The lack of pre-outs don't bother me at all. The 991/3311 has a more reliable networking card? I heard that latest firmware update for the 991/3311 made a significant difference.

How much would it cost for me to change the network card on the 4310? I don't need to swap in a new receiver soon as my Oknyo 605 has been prefect for 5 years now.

**Also, can the 4310 utilize the ipod/ipad the same way the 3311/911 can with the USB connection??

EDIT: I called a local Denon service dealer, and they said that parts and labor for the network card replacement is close to $300. Ouch. They did say the 3311 has less network card issues. As you Denon enthusiasts may know, I guess if the latest firmware on the 4310/3310 is not done properly, that is where the network card issues appear. The service dealer said if the latest firmware is uploaded and there is no network card issue, that the unit may be safe.
deepstang is offline  
post #19 of 20 Old 03-28-2011, 07:26 AM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 43,610
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 597 Post(s)
Liked: 1368
The 3311/991 NIC isn't necessarily more reliable, rather that Denon was able to come up with a firmware update to fix it whereas the 4310 NIC has to be physically replaced. You can buy it on your own for roughly $150 as it is apparently no more difficult to replace then adding memory to a laptop.

And yes, the 4310 has a USB jack (front and back panel) for the ipod as well.

---------------------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; shop.avscience.com ; 585-645-1006, AVScience - Authorized dealer for AV Gear 
Mon - Fri: 8am – 8pm EST (Sat/Sun too, will return call if I don't pick up)
Call for pricing on Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Onkyo, Klipsch, Def Tech, Oppo, Parasound 
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #20 of 20 Old 03-28-2011, 07:35 AM
AVS Special Member
 
deepstang's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Dallas-Irving, TX (from Nawlins!)
Posts: 1,708
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Thanks JD. I just made an edit right before your post. Good to know that it is that easy to change the network card. I did realize both the 4310 and 991/3311/4311 has USB connections. My query was in regards to the xx11 models having any more capability with their USB connection vs the xx10.
deepstang is offline  
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off