Running fans off a 12v trigger? - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 

post #1 of 24 Old 02-14-2011, 09:48 AM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I'm no expert on electrics, so I am hoping that I can get some help with an idea I have. I did a quick search, but couldn't find anything definite on the subject. It seems that most people in this situation use a power adapter and an intelligent power strip, but that's not an option for me.

If possible I would like to run 2x 120mm fans off the 12v trigger outputs of my Receiver. It has 2 of them and the manual states that they go up to a maximum of 150mA.

I have found some very quiet 12v fans that are 50mA. I presume it is safe for me to use these?

I'm also guessing that I would have to use a seperate trigger for each fan, rather than try to run them off the same output?
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 24 Old 02-14-2011, 10:41 AM
AVS Addicted Member

Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Quoted: 239 Post(s)
Liked: 118
I take it that the triggers are always powered up when the receiver is powered up? That makes sense, but I never tested it.

Seems using one per fan is safer as the total draw is 100ma, and they are not really designed for driving loads.

"But this one goes up to 11"
post #3 of 24 Old 02-14-2011, 12:04 PM - Thread Starter

Quote:
Originally Posted by MichaelJHuman View Post

I take it that the triggers are always powered up when the receiver is powered up? That makes sense, but I never tested it.

Well the triggers are for Zones 2 and 3, but I can program them to switch on when I power up the Receiver. It also gives me the option not to use them unless I need to.
post #4 of 24 Old 02-14-2011, 12:33 PM
Advanced Member

I doubt the current in the 12v trigger will be enough to power the fans.
post #5 of 24 Old 02-14-2011, 12:48 PM
AVS Special Member

Quoted: 258 Post(s)
Liked: 295