Pioneer VSX-1021 Owners' Thread - Page 4 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #91 of 2682 Old 04-13-2011, 04:05 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
ccotenj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: the toxic waste dumps of new jersey
Posts: 21,915
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 89
"unwanted noise" = "dts bomb" (or something similar)?

or something less dire than that?

- chris

 

my build thread - updated 8-20-12 - new seating installed and projector isolation solution

 


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

ccotenj is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #92 of 2682 Old 04-13-2011, 04:15 PM
Newbie
 
Brianguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks tcfake613, that's one we're really curious about so let me know what you find.

Can anyone else speak to whether the 1021 will pass audio and video to the TV if the receiver is turned off? (routing all a/v signals into the receiver with one HDMI output cable to TV).

Something I can't find any mention of but would like to get one asap if it's not worth waiting for the 1121...

Thanks
Brianguy is offline  
post #93 of 2682 Old 04-13-2011, 04:20 PM
Advanced Member
 
Walkamo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Southern California
Posts: 552
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 80 Post(s)
Liked: 48
Quote:
Originally Posted by Brianguy View Post

Thanks tcfake613, that's one we're really curious about so let me know what you find.

Can anyone else speak to whether the 1021 will pass audio and video to the TV if the receiver is turned off? (routing all a/v signals into the receiver with one HDMI output cable to TV).

Something I can't find any mention of but would like to get one asap if it's not worth waiting for the 1121...

Thanks

Yes you can. All new models feature HDMI Pass Through...

Chris Walker
Pioneer Electronics
Walkamo is offline  
post #94 of 2682 Old 04-13-2011, 04:25 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
winston9332's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 5,821
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 30
Quote:
Originally Posted by Walkamo View Post

Yes you can. All new models feature HDMI Pass Through...

Chris Walker
Pioneer Electronics

Chris, ETA on the 1121?
winston9332 is offline  
post #95 of 2682 Old 04-13-2011, 05:00 PM
Newbie
 
Brianguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks Chris! Couldn't find any mention of that...
Brianguy is offline  
post #96 of 2682 Old 04-13-2011, 05:49 PM
Member
 
haevolution's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 144
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
They are definitely selling them at Best Buy - just picked one up and it didn't cost $10k. Got a 12% reward zone discount emailed today so it was well under MSRP.
haevolution is offline  
post #97 of 2682 Old 04-13-2011, 06:40 PM
Newbie
 
gamecox2001's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Chris,

How does the standby pass thru work? I can do it with the power on, but once I power off no sound no picture.

I can leave power on and dim the display so it looks like it's off, however I don't believe this is "Standby Pass Thru".

Thanks
gamecox2001 is offline  
post #98 of 2682 Old 04-13-2011, 07:50 PM
Senior Member
 
kkrambo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Ohio
Posts: 310
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
The manual (p 43) says, "It is possible to transfer signals from an HDMI connected player to the TV when this receiver's power is on standby as long as Control [with HDMI] is ON." I was not able to get it to work though. I tried it with Control On and a few other different HDMI setup options. It may be that the source and display devices must also support Control with HDMI. I'm sure my display device (Sanyo PLV-Z4) does not and my source device (PS3) may not either.
kkrambo is offline  
post #99 of 2682 Old 04-13-2011, 10:35 PM
Advanced Member
 
Walkamo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Southern California
Posts: 552
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 80 Post(s)
Liked: 48
Quote:
Originally Posted by gamecox2001 View Post

Chris,

How does the standby pass thru work? I can do it with the power on, but once I power off no sound no picture.

I can leave power on and dim the display so it looks like it's off, however I don't believe this is "Standby Pass Thru".

Thanks

Hi Guys,

I don't have one at home to try right now, however I will give it a try tomorrow at work and post what the process is...

Chris
Walkamo is offline  
post #100 of 2682 Old 04-14-2011, 04:17 AM
Newbie
 
tcfake613's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Walkamo View Post

Hi Everyone,

I have read some posts here on the forum about the VSX-1021 being recalled by Pioneer. Just wanted to let everyone know that there is no recall. We discovered a bug in the DSP audio firmware that can cause unwanted noise when a particular speaker layout is used along with a type of source and a particular DSP mode is chosen. We are updating the firmware of models that are currently at retailers. If you have already purchased a VSX-1021, we ask you to update the firmware using the internet update feature (should be up soon), download the new firmware and update via USB (up now), or call Pioneer Customer Service at 800-421-1404 and request an update kit (USB flash drive with the new firmware, should be available on Monday) to be sent to you at no cost.

Here is a link to the product page where the firmware can be downloaded.

http://www.pioneerelectronics.com/PU...K?tab=firmware

Once again, there is no product recall and no safety concern.


Thanks,

Chris Walker
Pioneer Electronics

Thanks Chris. Just did the update. Worked fine... although you must use the direct zip link posted a few posts above. I was in a 7.1 channel sorround mode so I probably didn't need it, but I'm picky that way. Last night watched Star Trek with this thing after calibrating and I must say, the sound is outstanding.

Everything works great except I cannot get HDMI pass-thru to work... I'm assuming because my 52" Samsung does not support HDMI control... still messing with it though.
tcfake613 is offline  
post #101 of 2682 Old 04-14-2011, 06:59 AM
Newbie
 
bonebreak2000's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 10
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I just checked Amazon it looks like this is pushed back to April 29th now no longer the 15th.
bonebreak2000 is offline  
post #102 of 2682 Old 04-14-2011, 10:23 AM
faz
Member
 
faz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Rockville, MD USA
Posts: 22
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Walkamo View Post


Yes you can. All new models feature HDMI Pass Through...

Chris Walker
Pioneer Electronics

Does the 1020-k have this same pass through feature?
faz is offline  
post #103 of 2682 Old 04-14-2011, 12:14 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
ccotenj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: the toxic waste dumps of new jersey
Posts: 21,915
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 89
Quote:
Originally Posted by ccotenj View Post

"unwanted noise" = "dts bomb" (or something similar)?

or something less dire than that?

at the risk of repeating myself... any input on this chris?

- chris

 

my build thread - updated 8-20-12 - new seating installed and projector isolation solution

 


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

ccotenj is offline  
post #104 of 2682 Old 04-14-2011, 01:26 PM
AVS Special Member
 
ss9001's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: metro Atlanta
Posts: 8,636
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 218 Post(s)
Liked: 324
Quote:
Originally Posted by Walkamo View Post

Hi Everyone,

I have read some posts here on the forum about the VSX-1021 being recalled by Pioneer. Just wanted to let everyone know that there is no recall. We discovered a bug in the DSP audio firmware that can cause unwanted noise when a particular speaker layout is used along with a type of source and a particular DSP mode is chosen....
Thanks,

Chris Walker
Pioneer Electronics

Chris Walker,

Is this related to DTS-Master Audio tracks?

Any plans to update the SC-09TX and/or BD players for a similar problem with DTS-Master Audio and certain titles, like Bridge Over River Kwai?

Bridge has random, loud pops that are not time stamped or not repeatable on playing back the same time frames. They are loud enough to cause concern over the health of the speakers. They do not go away either bitstreaming or player decoding to PCM.

There are owners of various Pioneer BD players and receivers with this problem with Bridge.

Sorry to bring this up in this thread but it seems like it could be the same problem.

Appreciate you checking into this & posting a reply.
Thanks!

Steve
ss9001 is online now  
post #105 of 2682 Old 04-14-2011, 07:03 PM
Newbie
 
evilkid500's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
How does this new 1021 compare to last year's 1120?
evilkid500 is offline  
post #106 of 2682 Old 04-14-2011, 07:11 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
winston9332's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 5,821
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 30
Quote:
Originally Posted by evilkid500 View Post

How does this new 1021 compare to last year's 1120?

Power wise, the 1021 is a big step up from the 1020 and now on par with the 1120. Video processing is not as good and it lacks pre-outs. 1120 has thx listening modes.
winston9332 is offline  
post #107 of 2682 Old 04-14-2011, 08:07 PM
Newbie
 
evilkid500's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks for the info. I think I'll wait to see the 1120 update.
evilkid500 is offline  
post #108 of 2682 Old 04-15-2011, 07:15 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
winston9332's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 5,821
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 30
Anyone figure out how to get ready of the demo text scrolling on the display?
winston9332 is offline  
post #109 of 2682 Old 04-15-2011, 07:24 AM
Newbie
 
KenOnBass's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by winston9332 View Post

Anyone figure out how to get ready of the demo text scrolling on the display?

It's in the instructions on page 6, but I had to reread the instructions like 5 times to understand it. The manual is bad.
KenOnBass is offline  
post #110 of 2682 Old 04-15-2011, 12:21 PM
Newbie
 
ricochetrabiit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Has anybody got video out of their iPhone using the supplied cable?

The supplied cable supposedly does this (albeit at poor quality). But it doesn't work with my iPhone 3GS.

I know that iPhone video out requires a special cable (where Apple takes a vig on the price -- making them more expensive). iPod video out cables don't require paying the Apple tax.

Is it possible Pioneer included the cheaper cable? If that is so, they kind of misrepresented the Receiver's capabilities in their marketing materials.

But I would love to hear from Chris...hopefully I'm just making some other silly mistake.
ricochetrabiit is offline  
post #111 of 2682 Old 04-15-2011, 12:48 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
winston9332's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 5,821
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 30
Quote:
Originally Posted by ricochetrabiit View Post

Has anybody got video out of their iPhone using the supplied cable?

The supplied cable supposedly does this (albeit at poor quality). But it doesn't work with my iPhone 3GS.

I know that iPhone video out requires a special cable (where Apple takes a vig on the price -- making them more expensive). iPod video out cables don't require paying the Apple tax.

Is it possible Pioneer included the cheaper cable? If that is so, they kind of misrepresented the Receiver's capabilities in their marketing materials.

But I would love to hear from Chris...hopefully I'm just making some other silly mistake.

I have gotten video with my wife's iphone 3gs and 4g.
winston9332 is offline  
post #112 of 2682 Old 04-15-2011, 12:48 PM
Newbie
 
Anchulis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
In order to connect to my router, wireless, can I use a Linksys WET610N Wireless-N Ethernet Router, or do I HAVE to purchase the AS-WL300 from Pioneer? Seems I can't find any info on the WL300... is it available anywhere?
Anchulis is offline  
post #113 of 2682 Old 04-15-2011, 02:35 PM
Member
 
NoClue64's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Alpharetta GA
Posts: 41
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by NYTrojan View Post


Please let me know if you find out what this is or how to fix it. I can't seem to find a way and email support is telling me to call a helpline. I waited for 20 minutes on the line before I had to give up and get back to work.

I had the same problem. I had to go to network setup - IP Address Proxy and save before the firmware update would work.
NoClue64 is offline  
post #114 of 2682 Old 04-15-2011, 05:04 PM
Newbie
 
ricochetrabiit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by winston9332 View Post

I have gotten video with my wife's iphone 3gs and 4g.

Wow. Maybe something is wrong with my phone. I just tried an iPod and it worked like a charm.

Thanks.
ricochetrabiit is offline  
post #115 of 2682 Old 04-15-2011, 05:25 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
ccotenj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: the toxic waste dumps of new jersey
Posts: 21,915
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 89
^^^

have you got current firmware on your iphone?

- chris

 

my build thread - updated 8-20-12 - new seating installed and projector isolation solution

 


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

ccotenj is offline  
post #116 of 2682 Old 04-16-2011, 09:24 AM
Advanced Member
 
Walkamo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Southern California
Posts: 552
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 80 Post(s)
Liked: 48
Quote:
Originally Posted by ss9001 View Post

Chris Walker,

Is this related to DTS-Master Audio tracks?

Any plans to update the SC-09TX and/or BD players for a similar problem with DTS-Master Audio and certain titles, like Bridge Over River Kwai?

Bridge has random, loud pops that are not time stamped or not repeatable on playing back the same time frames. They are loud enough to cause concern over the health of the speakers. They do not go away either bitstreaming or player decoding to PCM.

There are owners of various Pioneer BD players and receivers with this problem with Bridge.

Sorry to bring this up in this thread but it seems like it could be the same problem.

Appreciate you checking into this & posting a reply.
Thanks!

Hi,

It is not related to anything with DTS (It is a very obscure issue) I will pick up Bridge and Tangled and see if I can duplicate the problem.

I wont be back in the office till Wednesday so please give me a couple of days..

Thanks,

Chris Walker
Pioneer Electronics
Walkamo is offline  
post #117 of 2682 Old 04-16-2011, 09:26 AM
Advanced Member
 
Walkamo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Southern California
Posts: 552
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 80 Post(s)
Liked: 48
Quote:
Originally Posted by Anchulis View Post

In order to connect to my router, wireless, can I use a Linksys WET610N Wireless-N Ethernet Router, or do I HAVE to purchase the AS-WL300 from Pioneer? Seems I can't find any info on the WL300... is it available anywhere?


That wireless bridge should work fine. The receiver will see it as a wired connection. We will have the as-wl300 on the website next week. We just got them in our warehouse. Unfortunately it is more expensive than I would have liked ($149).

Chris
Walkamo is offline  
post #118 of 2682 Old 04-16-2011, 09:37 AM
AVS Special Member
 
ss9001's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: metro Atlanta
Posts: 8,636
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 218 Post(s)
Liked: 324
Quote:
Originally Posted by Walkamo View Post

Hi,

It is not related to anything with DTS (It is a very obscure issue) I will pick up Bridge and Tangled and see if I can duplicate the problem.

I wont be back in the office till Wednesday so please give me a couple of days..

Thanks,

Chris Walker
Pioneer Electronics

Thanks, Chris for the reply. Those of us with the problem look forward to reading what you find.

Steve
ss9001 is online now  
post #119 of 2682 Old 04-16-2011, 10:55 AM
Member
 
limiter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Michigan
Posts: 70
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
My Amazon order was delayed to May 6th so I gave up and canceled the order and bought it at Best Buy today. They did not have a hold on them or any note about the receiver in their system.
limiter is offline  
post #120 of 2682 Old 04-16-2011, 12:26 PM
Member
 
dmlynn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 19
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by limiter View Post

My Amazon order was delayed to May 6th so I gave up and canceled the order and bought it at Best Buy today. They did not have a hold on them or any note about the receiver in their system.

I tried to buy one at Best Buy but 2 stores said there was a hold on it in their system (even though their website indicates both these stores have them in stock). I guess they had them, but couldn't sell me one.
dmlynn is offline  
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors

Tags
Pioneer Vsx 1021 K 7 1 Home Theater Receiver , Pioneer , Receivers Amplifiers

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off