Pioneer VSX-1021 Owners' Thread - Page 6 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #151 of 2682 Old 04-19-2011, 05:17 PM
Advanced Member
 
rlundy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: St. Petersburg FL
Posts: 509
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Just got mine (received almost 8 days ago!) all set-up this evening. Actually found the enclosed software pretty easy to use (with some of the comments here). the menuing structure is odd on the OSD, but other than that I'm happy. had airplay working to zone 2 with the ipad app in no time. Am watching baseball right now, so no comments as to a difference in audio from my Onkyo TX-SR705 thats being moved to another room. Will do some loud blu-rays (Transformers?) this weekend.

I did apply the firmware update right away, although I am in a 7.1 set-up.

DirecTV + Antenna + 3 Locations = 325 feet of quad shield RG6. AARRGGHH!
rlundy is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #152 of 2682 Old 04-19-2011, 06:05 PM
Member
 
chrisj1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 92
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Do you recommend the airport express or a linksys wet610n wireless bridge to connect to the internet on this receiver>
chrisj1 is offline  
post #153 of 2682 Old 04-20-2011, 11:04 AM
Newbie
 
admlostsailor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Ordered and installed my airport extreme and now have it extending the range of my wireless network completely bypassing the powerline ethernet all together. Zero issues.. works like it should. Must be something hidden in these ol' walls causing the powerline to glitch.


Quote:
Originally Posted by admlostsailor View Post

Yeah it's odd. Only the 1021 appears to be afflicted with these gremlins.
Also on the switch is my PS3, TiVo, and a Slingbox. None of which seem to have a problem (although the PS3 does experience intermittent drop-outs when streaming content from hulu or netflix but I've always chalked those up to the internet itself). Hm. I've also tried assigning a static IP address to the device...Still experience this Airplay drop out. I can stream from internet radio on the 1021 just fine. So odd.

I ordered an airport extreme so that I can extend the network over that way and plug in the 1021 to that and bypass the powerline ethernet. I live in a building built in 1970. it's a 4 unit condo. So odd. Hopefully the extreme will squash these bugs.
Thanks for the help!

admlostsailor is offline  
post #154 of 2682 Old 04-20-2011, 03:32 PM
Member
 
Snejenka's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: San Francisco, Ca
Posts: 127
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by admlostsailor View Post

Ordered and installed my airport extreme and now have it extending the range of my wireless network completely bypassing the powerline ethernet all together. Zero issues.. works like it should. Must be something hidden in these ol' walls causing the powerline to glitch.

Gremlins I say
Snejenka is offline  
post #155 of 2682 Old 04-20-2011, 05:32 PM
Member
 
NoClue64's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Alpharetta GA
Posts: 41
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by cpioneer View Post

does anyone know how to play pandora on the pioneer 1021 please help

There must be an easier way, but I launch Itunes via Ipad or Itouch and use the AirPlay button to select the 1021. Once the handshake is complete, I launch Pandora and the sound is output to 1021.
NoClue64 is offline  
post #156 of 2682 Old 04-20-2011, 11:19 PM
Advanced Member
 
NorthTV's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 707
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by dmlynn View Post

I tried to buy one at Best Buy but 2 stores said there was a hold on it in their system (even though their website indicates both these stores have them in stock). I guess they had them, but couldn't sell me one.

My Best Buy supposedly had 4 in stock but when they went to pull one for me I was told they had all been sent back due to some problem. They were expecting them again in a week or two. If it was just a firmware update as suggested above then I am curious why the units had to be sent back. It would be nice to know from what serial number sequence the problem free units begin since I would just as soon wait and get one that did not need to be corrected.
NorthTV is offline  
post #157 of 2682 Old 04-21-2011, 08:40 AM
Newbie
 
beanpdx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Does anyone have their itunes library on a NAS instead of a computer? I do not want to have my computer running the whole time I listen to music and am wondering if the 1021 can find and read the library on a drive like the Lacie 2 Big which is attached via ethernet to the router.
beanpdx is offline  
post #158 of 2682 Old 04-21-2011, 09:05 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
ccotenj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: the toxic waste dumps of new jersey
Posts: 21,915
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 89
^^^

only if you are running an itunes client on the nas...

keep in mind that "airplay" is push, not pull...

- chris

 

my build thread - updated 8-20-12 - new seating installed and projector isolation solution

 


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

ccotenj is offline  
post #159 of 2682 Old 04-21-2011, 09:54 AM
Member
 
WannaKnowTech's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 135
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Hi I just bought the 921. I can't stop sound from coming from all 7 speakers. When playing 5.1 content I would like the back speakers to be off. I don't want to use them unless im playing something in 6 or 7.1 I tried hitting the sb off button like the manual said and still sound is getting matrixed into the back speakers.
WannaKnowTech is offline  
post #160 of 2682 Old 04-21-2011, 10:48 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
afrogt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: SF Bay Area
Posts: 23,148
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 209 Post(s)
Liked: 388
I don't think you can do that without setting the back speakers to OFF or NONE in the setup menu.

Afro GT
afrogt is online now  
post #161 of 2682 Old 04-21-2011, 11:28 AM
Advanced Member
 
hmunster2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 562
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 25 Post(s)
Liked: 23
I have some specific questions regarding this receiver and its operation in zone 2. I am only interested in having the same source signal for both main and zone 2.
1) will it send a digital signal to zone 2?

2) if using ipad2 and listening to Pandora, will the Airplay received signal be distributed to zone2 (since it is digital).

3) Does this receiver receive internet radio stations-also, if so, how can you navigate them?

I am on the fence between this receiver and the new Denon 3312 CI (much more $), but from the Denon manual states it will pass a digital signal to
zone 2.

I tried to use a new apple tv to stream audio from ipad2 and if you used the pad to surf, the audio would constantly dropout-hope that won't happen with these receivers.
hmunster2 is offline  
post #162 of 2682 Old 04-21-2011, 12:59 PM
Member
 
WannaKnowTech's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 135
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by afrogt View Post

I don't think you can do that without setting the back speakers to OFF or NONE in the setup menu.

Seems like it but according to the manual all you have to do is turn the back speaker matrix off. I did that and still I get sound. i guess it's not that big of a deal it's just odd that my 2 year old crappy Onkyo receiver could do it but this can't.
WannaKnowTech is offline  
post #163 of 2682 Old 04-21-2011, 05:23 PM
Member
 
chrisj1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 92
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Dumb question but this receiver accepts banana plugs correct?
chrisj1 is offline  
post #164 of 2682 Old 04-21-2011, 05:27 PM
Member
 
realcodeguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 61
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by chrisj1 View Post
Dumb question but this receiver accepts banana plugs correct?
Correct.
realcodeguy is offline  
post #165 of 2682 Old 04-21-2011, 05:29 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
afrogt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: SF Bay Area
Posts: 23,148
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 209 Post(s)
Liked: 388
Quote:
Originally Posted by chrisj1 View Post
Dumb question but this receiver accepts banana plugs correct?
I would say yes!
LL

Afro GT
afrogt is online now  
post #166 of 2682 Old 04-21-2011, 05:30 PM
Member
 
chrisj1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 92
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thx

I said it was a dumb question but had to make sure.
chrisj1 is offline  
post #167 of 2682 Old 04-21-2011, 05:44 PM
Member
 
realcodeguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 61
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by chrisj1 View Post
Thx

I said it was a dumb question but had to make sure.
No question is dumb as far as I'm concerned. I used banana plugs to hook my speakers up to this receiver so you're good to go!
realcodeguy is offline  
post #168 of 2682 Old 04-21-2011, 06:00 PM
Newbie
 
beanpdx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hey realcodeguy! You the same guy as on the Squeezebox forum? I posted a question to you in that forum in the thread that you started.

Are you using both the Squeezebox and this 1021? Don't they do the same thing?
beanpdx is offline  
post #169 of 2682 Old 04-21-2011, 07:46 PM
Member
 
realcodeguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 61
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by beanpdx View Post
Hey realcodeguy! You the same guy as on the Squeezebox forum? I posted a question to you in that forum in the thread that you started.

Are you using both the Squeezebox and this 1021? Don't they do the same thing?
Hey beanpdx, yes I'm the same realcodeguy on the SqueezeBox forum. I was looking for a receiver for my Duet and this one was in the price range and the feature set was too good to pass up. I'll use my SqueezeBox players most of time for streaming media, but it never hurts to have options! Sorry I missed your question in the other thread, I've replied now.

Welcome to the AvsForums!
realcodeguy is offline  
post #170 of 2682 Old 04-22-2011, 01:55 AM
Newbie
 
skrutzen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I just got this receiver tonight. I'm having an issue with my PS3. The video and audio are not staying on. I will get and image, then my screen goes black and no audio. Then it will come back on. This is really frustrating.

My DirectTV HD DVR is fine as well as my Freeagent Theater + box.
My Apple TV (1st Gen) is connected via component with no issue either.
My HMDI cables are all the same.
I've tested a different HDMI input on the receiver.

Is there possibly a setting I'm overlooking either with the PS3 or the 1021?

Any help is much appreciated!
skrutzen is offline  
post #171 of 2682 Old 04-22-2011, 04:36 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
ccotenj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: the toxic waste dumps of new jersey
Posts: 21,915
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 89
^^^

when it comes back on, does it STAY back on? or go off again?

- chris

 

my build thread - updated 8-20-12 - new seating installed and projector isolation solution

 


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

ccotenj is offline  
post #172 of 2682 Old 04-22-2011, 05:42 AM
Advanced Member
 
rlundy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: St. Petersburg FL
Posts: 509
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by hmunster2 View Post

I have some specific questions regarding this receiver and its operation in zone 2. I am only interested in having the same source signal for both main and zone 2.
1) will it send a digital signal to zone 2?

2) if using ipad2 and listening to Pandora, will the Airplay received signal be distributed to zone2 (since it is digital).

3) Does this receiver receive internet radio stations-also, if so, how can you navigate them?

I am on the fence between this receiver and the new Denon 3312 CI (much more $), but from the Denon manual states it will pass a digital signal to
zone 2.

I tried to use a new apple tv to stream audio from ipad2 and if you used the pad to surf, the audio would constantly dropout-hope that won't happen with these receivers.

Hmunster:

Answers:

1) Yes-at least it will send the airplay signal to zone 2. See the first three pages for more. It is not completely intuitive how to activate Zone 2 (I used the pioneer ipad app). I have not tried sending another digital source to zone 2 (like xbox or BR audio) yet.

2) Yes, this works great from ipad, iphone 3GS and ipod touch 4. Note that the ipad pandora app does not have an airplay icon yet. To activate, you start music from the ipod app in the ipad, select VSX-1021 as your output. stop the music and launch pandora. Not great but I would assume pandora will eventually have an airplay icon in their ipad app.

3) I think it can receive internet radio-but have not played around with it. When you are at the HMG input (home media gallery) there is an OSD. I just haven't played with it much. This is also where you can use the DLNA functionality.

In terms of playing say pandora on the ipad while surfing, I've had mixed results. Most of the time it works, but I've had pandora complete stop playing. I think it has to do with the poor multitasking in iOS plus poor bandwidth mgmt in the ipad's network stack.

DirecTV + Antenna + 3 Locations = 325 feet of quad shield RG6. AARRGGHH!
rlundy is offline  
post #173 of 2682 Old 04-22-2011, 11:08 AM
Member
 
orccro1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 39
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Actually, to play Pandora I find it easier to start Pandora, double click the iPad home button, swipe the home icons from left to right, then tap the AirPlay icon.

--orccro
orccro1 is offline  
post #174 of 2682 Old 04-22-2011, 11:15 AM
Newbie
 
skrutzen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by ccotenj View Post

^^^

when it comes back on, does it STAY back on? or go off again?

It comes back on. Then it'll go off again. It's not a flicker because I think of flickering as a fast thing. This is like it's not outputting signal every few seconds.
skrutzen is offline  
post #175 of 2682 Old 04-22-2011, 12:35 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
ccotenj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: the toxic waste dumps of new jersey
Posts: 21,915
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 89
^^^

check to see if you have deep color turned on in the ps3... if so, turn it off and see what happens...

- chris

 

my build thread - updated 8-20-12 - new seating installed and projector isolation solution

 


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

ccotenj is offline  
post #176 of 2682 Old 04-22-2011, 12:56 PM
Member
 
WannaKnowTech's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 135
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by WannaKnowTech View Post

Hi I just bought the 921. I can't stop sound from coming from all 7 speakers. When playing 5.1 content I would like the back speakers to be off. I don't want to use them unless im playing something in 6 or 7.1 I tried hitting the sb off button like the manual said and still sound is getting matrixed into the back speakers.

So seriously there really isn't a way to get real 5.1 without matrixing the sound in the back?
WannaKnowTech is offline  
post #177 of 2682 Old 04-22-2011, 12:58 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
ccotenj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: the toxic waste dumps of new jersey
Posts: 21,915
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 89
^^^

is this only from a blu-ray player, on all sources?

- chris

 

my build thread - updated 8-20-12 - new seating installed and projector isolation solution

 


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

ccotenj is offline  
post #178 of 2682 Old 04-22-2011, 02:20 PM
Advanced Member
 
hmunster2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 562
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 25 Post(s)
Liked: 23
Quote:
Originally Posted by rlundy View Post

Hmunster:

Answers:

1) Yes-at least it will send the airplay signal to zone 2. See the first three pages for more. It is not completely intuitive how to activate Zone 2 (I used the pioneer ipad app). I have not tried sending another digital source to zone 2 (like xbox or BR audio) yet.

2) Yes, this works great from ipad, iphone 3GS and ipod touch 4. Note that the ipad pandora app does not have an airplay icon yet. To activate, you start music from the ipod app in the ipad, select VSX-1021 as your output. stop the music and launch pandora. Not great but I would assume pandora will eventually have an airplay icon in their ipad app.

3) I think it can receive internet radio-but have not played around with it. When you are at the HMG input (home media gallery) there is an OSD. I just haven't played with it much. This is also where you can use the DLNA functionality.

In terms of playing say pandora on the ipad while surfing, I've had mixed results. Most of the time it works, but I've had pandora complete stop playing. I think it has to do with the poor multitasking in iOS plus poor bandwidth mgmt in the ipad's network stack.

Thanks very much.
hmunster2 is offline  
post #179 of 2682 Old 04-22-2011, 09:22 PM
Member
 
WannaKnowTech's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 135
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by ccotenj View Post

^^^

is this only from a blu-ray player, on all sources?

All sources.
WannaKnowTech is offline  
post #180 of 2682 Old 04-22-2011, 09:46 PM
Newbie
 
skrutzen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by ccotenj View Post

^^^

check to see if you have deep color turned on in the ps3... if so, turn it off and see what happens...


I just did a reset of the default settings and the issue persists. I guess my 1021 is a bad apple.
skrutzen is offline  
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors

Tags
Pioneer Vsx 1021 K 7 1 Home Theater Receiver , Pioneer , Receivers Amplifiers

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off