Audio research power amp help needed - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Baselworld is only a few weeks away. Getting the latest news is easy, Click Here for info on how to join the Watchuseek.com newsletter list. Follow our team for updates featuring event coverage, new product unveilings, watch industry news & more!


Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
Old 03-12-2011, 11:09 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
bjagath's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Dear All,

I have a Rotel AV receiver (RSX 1550) Chord DAC (DSC 1600E) and Audio research power amp (v70) with 5.1 speaker system. I want to drive two front speakers through the audio research power amp and rest are connected the AV receiver. Kindly request to let me know how these equipments are interconnected and the types of cable required. I have attached rear view and front view of the each devices.

Thanks & Regard,
Jagath.
LL
LL
LL
LL
LL
bjagath is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 03-12-2011, 11:16 PM
 
amirm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Washington State
Posts: 18,825
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1334 Post(s)
Liked: 735
Your Rotel has "pre-out." Simply use RCA cables for L and R and connect them to your outboard amp. Then simply not use the Left and Right outputs of your amp.

Note that you will need to set the levels properly after you do this as your outboard amp may have different "gain." Just run the standard test tones and dial in the right value.
amirm is offline  
Old 03-12-2011, 11:33 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
bjagath's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Amirm,

Thanks for your reply. What type of cable is required? Pre-out has RCA and AMP has XLR input.
bjagath is offline  
Old 03-13-2011, 12:26 AM
 
amirm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Washington State
Posts: 18,825
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1334 Post(s)
Liked: 735
Ah, didn't realize that. Still OK though . You can use a standard RCA cable and then get an adapter from RCA to XLR. Or alternatively get an cable that has RCA at one end and XLR at the other.

Here is an example cable: http://www.sweetwater.com/store/detail/XRM105/

If you have a guitar center near you, they stock such cables. You need to find out which pin is "hot" in the XLR and match it with the cable. As you see in the above, it says pin 2 is hot in that cable.

Note that you lose some of our amplification power because your pre-amp will not put out as much input signal as the amp requires.
amirm is offline  
 
Thread Tools


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off