Amps and Power Conditioners - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 9 Old 03-15-2011, 11:51 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
dtchung's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 38
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have a Earthquake Sound Cinenova Grande 7. When I called their tech support, they told me to plug in this amp directly to the outlet. Power conditioner can restrict the flow of power the amp needs, especially under heavy loads. Using a conditioner could lead damages to the capacitors. I have this amp plugged into PS Audio Soloist Premiere. According to the PS Audio website, I can safely use high power amps with the Soloist power conditioners. I'm not sure what to believe. I'm afraid that using a conditioner might damage the amp. On the other hand, I don't feel quite safe about plugging in directly to the outlet.

I also have another Soloist running on a separate circuit to drive the sub-woofer (JL Audio Fathom F113). According to the specs, this thing can draw 250RMS...

Is there anymore who's using Soloist with their Amps and/or sub-woofers? If so, what is your experience with it? If this is not a good solution, what should I be using? PS Audio makes Power Plant as well, but they're beyond my budget. Any info. would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks,
dtchung is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 9 Old 03-15-2011, 11:57 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
MichaelJHuman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Colorado Springs, CO
Posts: 18,608
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 108 Post(s)
Liked: 88
As long as the power conditioner does not limit current flow under high demand, you are fine.

You may be able to find some of the info in the specs. I have never heard of the possibility of damage before. I would think the power conditioner would have to do something bad like spike the voltage to damage the caps.

"But this one goes up to 11"
MichaelJHuman is online now  
post #3 of 9 Old 03-15-2011, 06:15 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Speedskater's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Cleveland, Ohio
Posts: 2,011
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 15
While the amp will be happier plugged directly into the wall outlet I see no way that the conditioner could hurt the amplifier.
It would be hard for the average bear to know if the conditioner is limiting current. This cannot be measured with the typical DMM meter.

Kevin
Speedskater is offline  
post #4 of 9 Old 03-15-2011, 06:26 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Speedskater's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Cleveland, Ohio
Posts: 2,011
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Now if the power conditioner is the type that has active AC power line voltage correction, then it could damage the amplifier.

Kevin
Speedskater is offline  
post #5 of 9 Old 03-15-2011, 06:42 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Gooddoc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 3,377
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 143
Quote:
Originally Posted by dtchung View Post

On the other hand, I don't feel quite safe about plugging in directly to the outlet.

Why don't you feel safe plugging it into the outlet??

JTR Noesis 212HT x 3 (LCR) powered by Lab Gruppen 10000Q amp
CHT SHO-10 x 4 (sides and rear) powered by Denon 4311
JTR S2 x 2
CHT 18.1 x2
Oppo BDP103D bluray player/Sonos/PS3
Gooddoc is online now  
post #6 of 9 Old 03-15-2011, 07:03 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Secret Squirrel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Midwest U.S.A.
Posts: 2,252
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Quote:
Originally Posted by Speedskater View Post

Now if the power conditioner is the type that has active AC power line voltage correction, then it could damage the amplifier.

I don't think this should be an issue since most good power conditioners don't voltage correct or filter the high current banks. The outlets that you would plug amplifiers into. At least the units that I have don't. They are 15 amp banks. The same as plugging the amps into the wall except they offer protection against large over voltage and brown out voltage sags by cutting the power off completely to equipment until power returns to an acceptable stable level. The unit is also supposed to sacrifice itself in the event of lightning. Instead of blowing up your amps power supply while taking a lightning hit. I don't know for sure if this works and I hope I never have to find out. I have had all three of my dedicated amps, as well as four large subs plugged into high current banks in my power conditioners and never damaged any of my amps or lacked power in any way. This might be a different situation for cheaper quality protectors and conditioners that can limit current. Those do exist. I think that is why some amplifier companies have made this blanket statement about not using a protector of any kind. Many people just by a $8 dollar surge protector from the hardware store and start plugging their high current amps into them and start having issues with their amp. In this case you are most likely better off without the surge protector.
Secret Squirrel is offline  
post #7 of 9 Old 03-16-2011, 04:07 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
dtchung's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 38
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Well, not that we have a lot thunder storms here in CA, but I'm concerned about protecting the amp from power spikes.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Speedskater View Post

Now if the power conditioner is the type that has active AC power line voltage correction, then it could damage the amplifier.

dtchung is offline  
post #8 of 9 Old 03-17-2011, 11:06 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Bob Lee (QSC)'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Costa Mesa, California
Posts: 1,864
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 19
A power "conditioner" probably won't damage the amp. Neither will plugging directly into the outlet. The electrical plug on the end of the power cord should be a sign that it's meant to plug into an outlet.

Bob Lee
Applications Engineer
QSC Audio Products, LLC
Costa Mesa, Calif.

Secretary, Audio Engineering Society
Bob Lee (QSC) is offline  
post #9 of 9 Old 03-17-2011, 11:14 AM
Senior Member
 
Eldiablos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Michigan
Posts: 458
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 14
I see a few power conditioners that have specific banks designed for amps.

Eldiablos is offline  
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off