Onkyo TX-NR609, TX-NR509, TX-SR309 Thread - Page 132 - AVS | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
Reply
Thread Tools
post #3931 of 3947 Old 01-17-2015, 02:32 PM
Senior Member
 
david0406's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Florida
Posts: 313
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by gregger77 View Post
Hi all,

Totally new to the universal remote world here...so patience is appreciated!

I have a home theater based on TX-NR609 AV receiver which as you know has good "systemwide" capability but can't be programmed for "activities" or macros, so I bought the 650. Got it all set it up according to instructions (very nice, smooth on-line et-up routine!) for my Panasonic TV, Panasonic Blue Ray player, Panasonic DVD Recorder, and of course the AVR.

The remote will not do anything with the Onkyo. Won't power it on. When I try to "fix" the power on command, and go into manual learning mode, the Harmony will not respond to / accept the Onkyo remote's signal. Some notes:

- Yes, the Onkyo remote is in great condition, has fresh batteries, and works flawlessly with the receiver and everything else in the system.
- Yes, I am VERY carefully positioning both remotes according to instructions, and then also slightly changing the alignment during attempted learning to get the right angle. Nothing.
- Yes, on the Onkyo remote you can plainly see the signal emitter firing consistently during attempted learning.
- Yes, the Harmony display shows it is patiently attempting to receive the signal during learning.

So...

- It seems odd the 650 won't work the Onkyo at all without any manual learning. BTW, the Onkyo RIHD setting was already to "OFF"
- It seems even more odd that the 650 doesn't learn the Onkyo signal or apparently even see it.

Any help appreciated! (I am also posting this in the Harmony 650 thread.)
Not sure why your 650 won't power your NR 609. My Harmony One has always worked with my 609 and I have a SR-313 that's works fine with a Harmony 650. I have never had to use the learn function of Harmony with any Onkyo receiver I have owned and that number is 4. Are you sure you programmed the right Onkyo into " Your devices"?
david0406 is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #3932 of 3947 Old 01-21-2015, 11:14 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Posts: 11
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by DocCasualty View Post
Depending on your model there is probably a page very similar to this in your LG's audio setup menu. Make sure and choose "Primary Pass-Thru or something similar in the options.
Exactly this!! Thank you so much!

When I first tried to look for this setting, I had a DVD playing and I was going into the settings for the DVD. I actually had to RTFM in order to find out there there was a higher-level settings menu where I could set the audio output. Amazing what I've been missing for the last two years... and I thought my surround was working the whole time!

Thanks again!
Mitchum is offline  
post #3933 of 3947 Old 01-21-2015, 11:34 AM
AVS Special Member
 
DocCasualty's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Northern Michigan
Posts: 1,038
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 130 Post(s)
Liked: 1261
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mitchum View Post
Exactly this!! Thank you so much!

When I first tried to look for this setting, I had a DVD playing and I was going into the settings for the DVD. I actually had to RTFM in order to find out there there was a higher-level settings menu where I could set the audio output. Amazing what I've been missing for the last two years... and I thought my surround was working the whole time!

Thanks again!
You're most welcome. Glad it worked out and enjoy the sound!

"Dave, this conversation can serve no purpose anymore. Goodbye." - HAL 9000
DocCasualty is offline  
post #3934 of 3947 Old 01-23-2015, 04:52 AM
Advanced Member
 
JRWalker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 513
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 19 Post(s)
Liked: 44
"Loss of Audio/Network Connection Customer Care Program" Extension

Reminder: Onkyo's "Loss of Audio/Network Connection Customer Care Program" has been extended to 2018. The program extends the warranty, for specific problems, for new and refurbished receivers manufactured between 2009 and 2012 in the USA https://repair.onkyousa.com/na/003_2012.php?country=USA . Those in other countries can start here for their programs https://repair.onkyousa.com/na/ .

I had intermittent sound problems on my TX-NR609. Following the link above I was offered repair of my 609 or rebate on choice of new Onkyo. I chose $125 rebate on TX-NR636, which I purchased on Amazon. Very pleased with the new receiver. Wasn't expecting to see improvement in picture quality but it was noticeable on my Samsung PN-60F8500. Since the NR636 supports Dolby Atmos, I purchased Onkyo SKH-410 speakers. Enjoy the improvement in sound on Dolby 5.1 sources which are now 5.1.2.

Last edited by JRWalker; 01-23-2015 at 04:59 AM.
JRWalker is online now  
post #3935 of 3947 Old 01-23-2015, 11:34 AM
AVS Special Member
 
greeno's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Livermore, CA
Posts: 2,606
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 19
just some feedback on the repair of my 609 under the customer care program. it took awhile, almost 2 weeks from when i submitted the form on-line, to get the packaging materials. from mailing it off though until receiving it it back took about 1 full week. I did verify i received back the same SN as I shipped to them.

the 609 is now my backup receiver should the new 636 go out. I note that i have a squaretrade warranty on the 609. they also would repair it free of charge and with free round-trip shipping. I didn't go that way as the repair was through a 3rd party central electronics repair facility.

Best,
jeff
greeno is offline  
post #3936 of 3947 Old 01-24-2015, 06:33 PM
Member
 
gregger77's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 73
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Figured out part of the Harmony problem...

After a long period of finagling, it turns out...

1) I goofed. Looking at the diagram of how to teach the Logitech to learn commands, it looked like the two remotes are placed "head to head." In fact, the arrangement is "head to toe" (weird but cool, I suppose, that the Logitech has IR sensors at both ends).

2) Logitech goofed. They sell a product whose database of thousands of common home theater equipment still, after what I have discovered from many different web threads, is not that great with Onkyo receivers.

Logitech technical support walked me through "learning" every single command from the Onkyo remote that I need to watch TV, listen to music, etc. Eager to get me off the phone, he said, "That's all, right?" I said, "Well, sure, for now, but there are DOZENS of commands that I use the Onkyo remote for while doing these activites--change aspect ratio, change audio profile from Dolby to All Channel, etc. etc etc. Are you saying I your database doesn't know a single one of these...and that I have to teach all of them to the 650?" He said, yep, that's what I'm saying.

He'd "make a note of the issue" and they'd "let me know" when they get their Onkyo receiver commands database "fixed."

Ha.
gregger77 is offline  
post #3937 of 3947 Old Yesterday, 05:55 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Augerhandle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 2,823
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 102 Post(s)
Liked: 94
Quote:
Originally Posted by gregger77 View Post
After a long period of finagling, it turns out...

1) I goofed. Looking at the diagram of how to teach the Logitech to learn commands, it looked like the two remotes are placed "head to head." In fact, the arrangement is "head to toe" (weird but cool, I suppose, that the Logitech has IR sensors at both ends).

2) Logitech goofed. They sell a product whose database of thousands of common home theater equipment still, after what I have discovered from many different web threads, is not that great with Onkyo receivers.

Logitech technical support walked me through "learning" every single command from the Onkyo remote that I need to watch TV, listen to music, etc. Eager to get me off the phone, he said, "That's all, right?" I said, "Well, sure, for now, but there are DOZENS of commands that I use the Onkyo remote for while doing these activites--change aspect ratio, change audio profile from Dolby to All Channel, etc. etc etc. Are you saying I your database doesn't know a single one of these...and that I have to teach all of them to the 650?" He said, yep, that's what I'm saying.

He'd "make a note of the issue" and they'd "let me know" when they get their Onkyo receiver commands database "fixed."

Ha.
I don't know which Onkyo remote came with your receiver, but the higher tier models have activity buttons and can learn to operate all your other equipment, so a Harmony remote would be superfluous. You can also order one of those learning remotes from OnkyoUSA. Since most of your activities used are with the Onkyo, and not with the TV, Set top Box, or Player, you won't need too many commands to be learned for them anyway.

"The wise understand by themselves; fools follow the reports of others"-Tibetan Proverb
Augerhandle is offline  
post #3938 of 3947 Old Yesterday, 11:03 PM
AVS Special Member
 
sage11x's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Brighton, MI
Posts: 2,581
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 375 Post(s)
Liked: 585
Quote:
Originally Posted by JRWalker View Post
Reminder: Onkyo's "Loss of Audio/Network Connection Customer Care Program" has been extended to 2018. The program extends the warranty, for specific problems, for new and refurbished receivers manufactured between 2009 and 2012 in the USA https://repair.onkyousa.com/na/003_2012.php?country=USA . Those in other countries can start here for their programs https://repair.onkyousa.com/na/ .

I had intermittent sound problems on my TX-NR609. Following the link above I was offered repair of my 609 or rebate on choice of new Onkyo. I chose $125 rebate on TX-NR636, which I purchased on Amazon. Very pleased with the new receiver. Wasn't expecting to see improvement in picture quality but it was noticeable on my Samsung PN-60F8500. Since the NR636 supports Dolby Atmos, I purchased Onkyo SKH-410 speakers. Enjoy the improvement in sound on Dolby 5.1 sources which are now 5.1.2.
This years Onkyo models are a no-go for me since they dumped Audyssey. Atmos for Audyssey is a raw deal, IMO.

"For small creatures such as we the vastness is bearable only through love."

--Carl Sagan
sage11x is online now  
post #3939 of 3947 Old Today, 03:49 AM
Senior Member
 
david0406's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Florida
Posts: 313
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by Augerhandle View Post
I don't know which Onkyo remote came with your receiver, but the higher tier models have activity buttons and can learn to operate all your other equipment, so a Harmony remote would be superfluous. You can also order one of those learning remotes from OnkyoUSA. Since most of your activities used are with the Onkyo, and not with the TV, Set top Box, or Player, you won't need too many commands to be learned for them anyway.
Can the Onkyo higher tier remote also operate each function of the individual devices as the Harmony remotes can and not just turn the devices off and on? I am not sure what the issue was with the user's Harmony and the Onkyo was or is but I have 3 Onkyo's currently in service mated with Harmony's. 2 650's and 1 Harmony One. I have an SR508 and SR313 and a NR609. Also not sure why he is using the " learning " function of the Harmony as I have found my Onkyo's in the data base of Harmony and have never had to use the " learning " function. If the model can not be found, programming a similiar model into the activity list of the Harmony is usually a good workaround to that issue just to avoid the " learning " nonsense. The Harmony 650 is " activity " based as is the Harmony One. I can indeed state the NR 609 is in the database of the Harmony One.

Last edited by david0406; Today at 04:53 AM.
david0406 is online now  
post #3940 of 3947 Old Today, 05:11 AM
Advanced Member
 
JRWalker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 513
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 19 Post(s)
Liked: 44
Quote:
Originally Posted by sage11x View Post
This years Onkyo models are a no-go for me since they dumped Audyssey. Atmos for Audyssey is a raw deal, IMO.
I try not to play the "Would Have ..., Could Have ..., Should Have ..." game against myself, but since you brought it up, I think that I made a good decision at the time. When I chose the newer model instead of the fix, the offer was going to expire this February, it is now extends until 2018.

My problem only appeared the first time the 609 was powered on. Power cycling just the 609 a couple of times and it was good for the whole day. Had I known that the offer was going to be extended until 2018, I might have put up with power cycling until total failure. Don't know how long that would have been but my wife was starting to complain because she is usually the first to turn on the system. She is happy now.

Last edited by JRWalker; Today at 05:29 AM.
JRWalker is online now  
post #3941 of 3947 Old Today, 06:08 AM
AVS Special Member
 
DocCasualty's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Northern Michigan
Posts: 1,038
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 130 Post(s)
Liked: 1261
Quote:
Originally Posted by JRWalker View Post
Don't know how long that would have been but my wife was starting to complain because she is usually the first to turn on the system. She is happy now.

"Dave, this conversation can serve no purpose anymore. Goodbye." - HAL 9000
DocCasualty is offline  
post #3942 of 3947 Old Today, 06:51 AM
Advanced Member
 
JRWalker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 513
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 19 Post(s)
Liked: 44
@DocCasualty ,

I have been married 47 years. Wish that I had know that on day one!

The other wisdom I would have liked to have known was: Men marry expecting their wife not to change, she will. Women marry expecting their husband to change, we don't.
sage11x, DocCasualty and old corps like this.
JRWalker is online now  
post #3943 of 3947 Old Today, 08:55 AM
AVS Special Member
 
sage11x's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Brighton, MI
Posts: 2,581
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 375 Post(s)
Liked: 585
Quote:
Originally Posted by JRWalker View Post
I try not to play the "Would Have ..., Could Have ..., Should Have ..." game against myself, but since you brought it up, I think that I made a good decision at the time. When I chose the newer model instead of the fix, the offer was going to expire this February, it is now extends until 2018.

My problem only appeared the first time the 609 was powered on. Power cycling just the 609 a couple of times and it was good for the whole day. Had I known that the offer was going to be extended until 2018, I might have put up with power cycling until total failure. Don't know how long that would have been but my wife was starting to complain because she is usually the first to turn on the system. She is happy now.
I think I would have chosen the free repair.

"For small creatures such as we the vastness is bearable only through love."

--Carl Sagan
sage11x is online now  
post #3944 of 3947 Old Today, 11:40 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Augerhandle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 2,823
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 102 Post(s)
Liked: 94
Quote:
Originally Posted by david0406 View Post
Can the Onkyo higher tier remote also operate each function of the individual devices as the Harmony remotes can and not just turn the devices off and on? I am not sure what the issue was with the user's Harmony and the Onkyo was or is but I have 3 Onkyo's currently in service mated with Harmony's. 2 650's and 1 Harmony One. I have an SR508 and SR313 and a NR609. Also not sure why he is using the " learning " function of the Harmony as I have found my Onkyo's in the data base of Harmony and have never had to use the " learning " function. If the model can not be found, programming a similiar model into the activity list of the Harmony is usually a good workaround to that issue just to avoid the " learning " nonsense. The Harmony 650 is " activity " based as is the Harmony One. I can indeed state the NR 609 is in the database of the Harmony One.
The OP stated that he liked to tweak his AV receiver regularly, which makes using the Onkyo remote a priority. That being said, my son uses the Onkyo remote to operate his Dish Box, TV, and other components with no trouble, and you won't see any other remotes in the room.

I personally only use my Mitsubishi TV remote, as it will work with all my components and also operate my PS3. Manufacturers have figured out that they can compete with Harmony, and fill a basic need for consumers themselves.

YMMV, IMO, My dog would have caught the rabbit if...etc

"The wise understand by themselves; fools follow the reports of others"-Tibetan Proverb
Augerhandle is offline  
post #3945 of 3947 Unread Today, 02:42 PM
Senior Member
 
david0406's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Florida
Posts: 313
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by Augerhandle View Post
The OP stated that he liked to tweak his AV receiver regularly, which makes using the Onkyo remote a priority. That being said, my son uses the Onkyo remote to operate his Dish Box, TV, and other components with no trouble, and you won't see any other remotes in the room.

I personally only use my Mitsubishi TV remote, as it will work with all my components and also operate my PS3. Manufacturers have figured out that they can compete with Harmony, and fill a basic need for consumers themselves.

YMMV, IMO, My dog would have caught the rabbit if...etc
Here was his original problem:
"- It seems odd the 650 won't work the Onkyo at all without any manual learning. BTW, the Onkyo RIHD setting was already to "OFF"
- It seems even more odd that the 650 doesn't learn the Onkyo signal or apparently even see it.

I took my 650 programmed to my Onkyo TX-SR313 and with the same power function, turned on my NR609 and my SR508 and my guess is if I programmed my 609 to the Harmony 650 every function of the 609 could be programmed into his 650 device list without having to do all the " learning" nonsense. User error IMO. Just my two cents. FWIW.
david0406 is online now  
post #3946 of 3947 Unread Today, 03:25 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Augerhandle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 2,823
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 102 Post(s)
Liked: 94
Quote:
Originally Posted by david0406 View Post
Here was his original problem:
"- It seems odd the 650 won't work the Onkyo at all without any manual learning. BTW, the Onkyo RIHD setting was already to "OFF"
- It seems even more odd that the 650 doesn't learn the Onkyo signal or apparently even see it.

I took my 650 programmed to my Onkyo TX-SR313 and with the same power function, turned on my NR609 and my SR508 and my guess is if I programmed my 609 to the Harmony 650 every function of the 609 could be programmed into his 650 device list without having to do all the " learning" nonsense. User error IMO. Just my two cents. FWIW.
He solved his original problem already. I was referring to this post:


Quote:
Originally Posted by gregger77 View Post
After a long period of finagling, it turns out...

1) I goofed. Looking at the diagram of how to teach the Logitech to learn commands, it looked like the two remotes are placed "head to head." In fact, the arrangement is "head to toe" (weird but cool, I suppose, that the Logitech has IR sensors at both ends).

2) Logitech goofed. They sell a product whose database of thousands of common home theater equipment still, after what I have discovered from many different web threads, is not that great with Onkyo receivers.

Logitech technical support walked me through "learning" every single command from the Onkyo remote that I need to watch TV, listen to music, etc. Eager to get me off the phone, he said, "That's all, right?" I said, "Well, sure, for now, but there are DOZENS of commands that I use the Onkyo remote for while doing these activites--change aspect ratio, change audio profile from Dolby to All Channel, etc. etc etc. Are you saying I your database doesn't know a single one of these...and that I have to teach all of them to the 650?" He said, yep, that's what I'm saying.

He'd "make a note of the issue" and they'd "let me know" when they get their Onkyo receiver commands database "fixed."

Ha.
He can operate everything he has with the Onkyo remote, just by entering product codes. It can also learn extra commands if needed. Of course, he would have to look up his components in a "list" rather than "online". If he wants to keep the Harmony, that's fine too. It ain't my house, it's his.

"The wise understand by themselves; fools follow the reports of others"-Tibetan Proverb

Last edited by Augerhandle; Today at 03:30 PM.
Augerhandle is offline  
post #3947 of 3947 Unread Today, 06:06 PM
Senior Member
 
david0406's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Florida
Posts: 313
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by Augerhandle View Post
He solved his original problem already. I was referring to this post:




He can operate everything he has with the Onkyo remote, just by entering product codes. It can also learn extra commands if needed. Of course, he would have to look up his components in a "list" rather than "online". If he wants to keep the Harmony, that's fine too. It ain't my house, it's his.
Well I have an old Harmony 700 just laying around that I no longer use because one of the buttons quit working ( same as the 650 only difference is it can control 8 devices instead of 6 and is rechargeable). I said aww what the hell. I will log on to mymarmony.com and log in to my account. I added the TX-NR609 to the device list of my Harmony 700 and after adding the NR609 to the Harmony 700 I looked to see that there are 15 pages of 4 functions per page totaling 60 different functions the Harmony 700 can control on the NR 609 and the is not with digging into the device for any personal programming of buttons. And guess what no "manual learning" was required of the Harmony. No putting one end of the remote to the other end of the other remote. I proceeded to walk over to the 609 and one of the functions on the Harmony device list for the 609 was 'Power on". I pressed it and guess what happened? Yep it powered on. Clearly there is NO DATA BASE problem for the ONKYO TX-NR609 with Harmony. User error. Now if the OP of this problem is not using a computer and can not create a My Harmony account, and relying solely on the functions of the Harmony " learning" the functions of another remote then maybe he might have an issue. Who buy these and does not have computer to sync it with? I know he fixed his problem in his own way but his problem does not lie with Harmony or a problem with their database.
david0406 is online now  
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors

Tags
Onkyo Tx Nr609 7 2 Channel Network Thx Certified A V Receiver , Onkyo Tx Nr509 5 1 Channel Network A V Receiver , Onkyo Tx Sr309 5 1 Channel Home Theater Receiver
Gear in this thread - Nr609 by PriceGrabber.com

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off